Ministry of Agriculture buying Porsche vehicles

Re: Ministry of Agriculture buying Porsche vehicles

Postby 1UZFE » January 18th, 2012, 7:17 am

sharkman121 wrote:
bushwakka wrote:400k? well thas a steal of a deal....

exactly what i was thinking... i thought the price range was somewhere around 900k. somebody getting hoodwinked.

According to what d "Honourable Minister " said I will cost $400k with tax exemptions and the money needs to be used up before a given specific time period if it isnt used the money must be returned.
If thats the case "spend d money spend d money"
WTF buy an Overfinch!!!!

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » January 18th, 2012, 7:19 am

de phorqe

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 18th, 2012, 7:25 am

Aaaaand the bacchanal never stops. :D

Postby K74T » January 18th, 2012, 7:30 am

de vibes cyah done

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » January 18th, 2012, 7:33 am

geeze..... i guess this means that the local dealership was a finincial backer of the current govt in the last elections?

So i guess that means the shipment of "powder" that was found on their premesis is now history?

risley93

Postby risley93 » January 18th, 2012, 1:42 pm

they gonna use it for this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VbetkMgQJC8&feature=share

Postby equipped2ripp » January 18th, 2012, 2:08 pm

the Cayenne is more expensive to maintain than any Japanese SUV.

parts on the whole are expensive, even down to the tires would be more expensive over a Prado 18" tire because the Cayenne rolls on 21" wheels.

and I hope they bought the Diesel version, to work that 3.6 V6 gas for Ministry purposes would be madness, much less than for the V8.

Postby Habit7 » January 18th, 2012, 2:08 pm

Early the PP administration Jack Warner, pumping the PR machine, sold some Summit Prados in a display of thriftiness. Bharath now saying that his ministry wanted two of those vehicles and was denied :roll: Anyway as I said before, Bharath deserves the Porsche because he is one of the most classiest PP ministers there are.

But I love how Emmanuel George so quiet, its almost like he bought the 1.8 million one.
I am a serious worker and the truth will come out. In politics you have 100 things to do and you do 99 well and in the eyes of some people, one wrong and everyone remembers that one that is deemed to be wrong. Nobody (from the media) is calling to ask me what I am doing about water, electricity, etc. Giving people water, improving people's life appear to be of no consequence

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 18th, 2012, 2:59 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:the Cayenne is more expensive to maintain than any Japanese SUV.

parts on the whole are expensive, even down to the tires would be more expensive over a Prado 18" tire because the Cayenne rolls on 21" wheels.

and I hope they bought the Diesel version, to work that 3.6 V6 gas for Ministry purposes would be madness, much less than for the V8.

playing devils advocate here...
the 3.6 Diesel Cayenne base model comes with 18's..
what about the gas Parados and Land Rovers and Pajeros that the gov't has dozens upon dozens of already?? 500 to fill and being used by couriers to transport ppl and collect mail..
Call the firm and ask the price of some cayenne parts vs grand vitara parts.. you may be kinda shocked to learn some vitara parts cost more.. I was :shock:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 18th, 2012, 3:03 pm

the more important part of this is the moral issue, what the man on the steeet (or trinituner :lol:) would say.. Bharath should have known better and ordered some Auto 4x4 Ford Rangers or something... hmm but wait those are almost 300K each too :lol: and the police alreayd have dozens upon dozens of them on the road and write off in VMCOTT :lol:

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » January 18th, 2012, 3:06 pm

I read the title and thought the MOA bought a fleet already yes :? :lol:
Anyway, as for why he didn't opt of a Toyota; Dooks probably talked him out of it :lol:

Postby Habit7 » January 18th, 2012, 3:07 pm

Minister defends Porsche purchase
Wednesday 18th January, 2012

The Minister of Public Utilities, Mr. Emmanuel George says the Porsche SUV he drives was bought with his own money.

The Minister stopped by CTV's studios on Wednesday morning to register his disapproval at a newspaper article which stated that he and the Food Production Minister, Mr. Vasant Bharath, both have Porsches as their vehicles.

He said: "The vehicle I bought was bought with my money and it belongs to me. It is owned by me. It is not owned by the Ministry. I want to underscore that by saying that previously, I owned another vehicle which I sold recently before I bought the Porsche, and that vehicle was an even higher end vehicle. So I want to know what the fuss is about this Porsche."

Mr. George took issue with the approach taken by the media house.

"Call me, ask me about the service that the people are receiving. About complaints that we get from people who don't get service. On Tuesday, somebody died, Mr. Patterson, but there is no question about these things. A man died and another died last week. One would expect that you call the Minister and ask him about these questions. But how come somebody's loss of life is not as important as my purchase of a Porsche."

The issue surrounding the Porsche was raised by Opposition Leader. Dr. Keith Rowley, who criticised Minister Bharath for using a Porsche Cayenne SUV as his Ministry's official vehicle.

Dr. Rowley said Mr. Bharath was guilty of the same extravagance that he accused former Prime Minister Patrick Manning of displaying when Mr. Manning sought to buy a Bombardier private jet.

http://www.ctntworld.com/LocalArticles. ... witterfeed

Hurricane George clears himself

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2012, 3:07 pm

Habit7 wrote:Anyway as I said before, Bharath deserves the Porsche because he is one of the most classiest PP ministers there are.]
LOL

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » January 18th, 2012, 3:14 pm

Habit7 wrote:
I want to underscore that by saying that previously, I owned another vehicle which I sold recently before I bought the Porsche, and that vehicle was an even higher end vehicle. So I want to know what the fuss is about this Porsche."

http://www.ctntworld.com/LocalArticles. ... witterfeed

Anyone knows what it was :?:

Postby equipped2ripp » January 18th, 2012, 3:52 pm

Bezman wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:the Cayenne is more expensive to maintain than any Japanese SUV.

playing devils advocate here...
the 3.6 Diesel Cayenne base model comes with 18's..
what about the gas Parados and Land Rovers and Pajeros that the gov't has dozens upon dozens of already?? 500 to fill and being used by couriers to transport ppl and collect mail..
Call the firm and ask the price of some cayenne parts vs grand vitara parts.. you may be kinda shocked to learn some vitara parts cost more.. I was :shock:

Yeah, I know the 3.6 V6 comes with 18"s, the 3.0 V6 Diesel comes with 21" standard.
And the Govt Prados are 3.0 diesel, TTTL doesn't bring them in the gas version.
What parts for the Cayenne are similar to the GV?

Postby Habit7 » January 18th, 2012, 3:55 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:What parts for the Cayenne are similar to the GV?

yes I would love to know

Postby equipped2ripp » January 18th, 2012, 4:04 pm

similar in price*

Postby eliteauto » January 18th, 2012, 4:09 pm

what is the relevance is a comparison of a GV to a Cayenne anyway, how does that relate to the topic at hand?

Postby equipped2ripp » January 18th, 2012, 4:17 pm

nah I just want to know... because maintenance for the Cayenne isn't cheap.

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2012, 4:18 pm

people getting lost in the nittygritty of what vehicle costs $400k vs another

what the PP better realise is that there is a lot of discontent with how they are "perceived" as a govt compared to what the preached during elections.

Vasant going on a mic and defending costs does nothing to help this.

Driven

Postby Driven » January 18th, 2012, 4:24 pm

New PP anthem?

Postby Habit7 » January 18th, 2012, 5:33 pm

Seeing that George owns his Cayenne and Bharath is classy and requires such vehicle for transport despite it being "cheap," this is now a none issue.

However let's hope it doesn't happen again because Anil Roberts likes speed and rum, and he already almost write off a gov't Prado, a Cayenne would be overdoing it. And Dr Lincoln Douglas is known not to able to obey the laws of the land while behind the wheel, so a Cayenne might be too tempting.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 18th, 2012, 5:42 pm

Habit7 wrote:Seeing that George owns his Cayenne and Bharath is classy and requires such vehicle for transport despite it being "cheap," this is now a none issue.

However let's hope it doesn't happen again because Anil Roberts likes speed and rum, and he already almost write off a gov't Prado, a Cayenne would be overdoing it. And Dr Lincoln Douglas is known not to able to obey the laws of the land while behind the wheel, so a Cayenne might be too tempting.

you real brownnosing Bharath boy, if you knew what really going on in the ministry you would talk a lot more sense

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » January 18th, 2012, 5:43 pm

jeez people like to oversensitize everything *facepalm* Rowley knows the average Trinidadian is an idiot, and knows when they hear the word "Porsche" ppl would go apeshit.

but on the other hand, why are they buying expensive ass cars to share out hampers? where the fleet of cars that was bought for the summit 3(?) years ago?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 18th, 2012, 5:47 pm

Oh goaarrr, we is first world country now, man hadda jive big up SUV, dan.

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 18th, 2012, 6:06 pm

lol i want to work in a ministry one day,
firetruck hatin on em anymore may aswell join em.

Postby equipped2ripp » January 18th, 2012, 6:09 pm

Scoobert Bauce wrote:jeez people like to oversensitize everything *facepalm* Rowley knows the average Trinidadian is an idiot, and knows when they hear the word "Porsche" ppl would go apeshit.

but on the other hand, why are they buying expensive ass cars to share out hampers? where the fleet of cars that was bought for the summit 3(?) years ago?

Exactly.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 18th, 2012, 6:23 pm

I wonder if he going n transport dasheen and yam in that...

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 18th, 2012, 6:24 pm

what i cannot understand... is that pmkamla said that they are a govt of difference...and they were not goin to practice the wrongs of former adminis.. but when they do fkry like this they are quick to say ent mannign do that why cant we?...

Postby pioneer » January 18th, 2012, 6:31 pm

This is why the public service will always be in shambles, there is great disparity...the real public officers who buss their arse n get work done get nothing...but an ass-kissin politician gets all the salary and perks