T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

scotty_buttons

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby scotty_buttons » January 14th, 2012, 8:26 pm

for 340k you say? hmmm..
last time i checked N&M, the WRX STi was around 325k..not sure which faster though..STi or GTI :lol:

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 14th, 2012, 9:23 pm

hmph...if its an sti it should be faster well thats according to the specs on paper, but the golf has only 210hp and about 230lb/ft....i dont think it will be as fast as a 300hp sti

Postby equipped2ripp » January 14th, 2012, 9:30 pm

that would be $325K for the WRX, the STi would be more.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 14th, 2012, 9:53 pm

ahh, thanks. was starting to doubt myself cuz, even though im not a fan of scoobys, 325k for an STi would have been a definite option for another vehicle. oh well.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » January 14th, 2012, 10:09 pm

last time i checked N&M, the WRX STi was around 325k..not sure which faster though..STi or GTI

At rougly 290 hp, the STi outpowers the GTI. A GTI is more a competitor to the WRX, which is around the 325 price range, as stated above.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 14th, 2012, 10:33 pm

^^wasn't even aware that the company brings in wrx sti subies....strange!

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 15th, 2012, 8:32 am

since we on this topic, Diamond Motors still has the Evo X ridiculously priced at half a mil? Which model Evo X they sell here at the firm? What about the price of a RORO one?
I know it's a 280+ hp car, but still...

Postby SUPAstarr » January 15th, 2012, 12:56 pm

They actually sell FQ models in the showroom which is why i can understand the price, you can get standard models RORO for 290kish

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 15th, 2012, 1:46 pm

you know which FQ?

Postby SUPAstarr » January 15th, 2012, 3:47 pm

you can order all, from FQ 360, to 400, the prices of all were posted in ole talk some time ago.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » January 15th, 2012, 7:24 pm

^^wasn't even aware that the company brings in wrx sti subies....strange!

They have. In fact, I know of two local new model STI's ...hatches....rolling around. Plus they've sold a couple of wrx hatches.....saw a blue 2010 wrx sedan in POS already.

Postby equipped2ripp » January 15th, 2012, 9:28 pm

Fortuner - $510K
Prado - $729K and $820K (fully loaded)

capstar

Postby capstar » January 15th, 2012, 10:05 pm

the evo x starts at 545K & goes all the way up to 700k or so the salesman said :S

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » January 15th, 2012, 11:49 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:Fortuner - $510K
Prado - $729K and $820K (fully loaded)

The 'Baby' Porsche Cayenne is coming soon, to be priced in the $500K bracket.

Fortuner, Q5, X1, X3, Discovery 3, Pajero, Murano, Pathfinder, watch out!

Postby equipped2ripp » January 15th, 2012, 11:58 pm

The Cajun is coming out next year, and I doubt they would price that around $500K, it would be more.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 16th, 2012, 12:57 am

^^ x 2

No way that Porsche gonna be less than 500K; it gonna reach Trinidad late 2013 into 2014 if it's released next year.

and a base FQ for 545k?? seriously??? the FQ400 priced at around 50,000 quid in the UK.
Only in Trinidad yes..

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » January 16th, 2012, 12:42 pm

I guess we'll see.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 16th, 2012, 2:49 pm

stephon could you give me a comparison between the new jetta and the new mazda 3. What are your views between the two? Pros and cons maybe? Also, since the vw is more expensive, is it justified over the mazda? Tell us if you don't mind, what led you to buy the mazda over the new buzz elantra, thanks much.

fortuner for 510k? LOL which idiot would buy a ladder frame SUV with rear drum brakes, a dated diesel engine and 2 airbags for such a price? steups and the prado worse yet for that 820k price

Postby Stephon. » January 16th, 2012, 4:10 pm

The Jetta is definitely faster, it takes off and starts running passing everything without the slightest bit of effort, the speakers are better quality, I think he said it had 10 speakers, the touch screen and bluetooth capability is also really good for the price.

The Mazda3 is really fun to drive, it doesn't really have anything that the Jetta doesn't have, it has a 4 speed automatic, whereas we were getting 7 (or 6 I'm not really sure nor can I remember correctly) speeds with the Jetta. They're both solid cars IMO, the Jetta is better in terms of features and what's under the hood, but I guess it comes down to preference, I loved the new Mazda3s ever since I saw the grill, I don't understand all of the hate that it gets :lol: :D

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 16th, 2012, 4:21 pm

^^its fugly and its a womans car thats why

Postby Stephon. » January 16th, 2012, 4:39 pm

That explains why my gf likes it more than I do, I've only gotten to drive it a few times actually, she decided to keep her ASX (give it to me) and keeps the Mazda keys lol. I've gotten "permission" to drive my Mazda today though :p

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » January 16th, 2012, 5:13 pm

Stephon. wrote:The Jetta is definitely faster, it takes off and starts running passing everything without the slightest bit of effort, the speakers are better quality, I think he said it had 10 speakers, the touch screen and bluetooth capability is also really good for the price.

The Mazda3 is really fun to drive, it doesn't really have anything that the Jetta doesn't have, it has a 4 speed automatic, whereas we were getting 7 (or 6 I'm not really sure nor can I remember correctly) speeds with the Jetta. They're both solid cars IMO, the Jetta is better in terms of features and what's under the hood, but I guess it comes down to preference, I loved the new Mazda3s ever since I saw the grill, I don't understand all of the hate that it gets :lol: :D

Oh no. You've done it now. :shock: Get 'em Ace, get 'em!
V
V
V
V
V
**Steps back and awaits the fireworks! :lol: 8-)**

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 16th, 2012, 8:16 pm

I personally don't see anything wrong with the new mazda 3's design...it actually grew on me, its one of those cars that loves to show off its japanese heritage. I still feel the 3 is the best handling compact car by virtue of its expensive suspension setup, it may not have the straight-line velocity but it sure makes up for that when the road gets twisty. btw, the jetta has 7-speeds FYI. Congrats on the new car..

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 16th, 2012, 8:22 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:for 340k you say? hmmm..
last time i checked N&M, the WRX STi was around 325k..not sure which faster though..STi or GTI :lol:

whosoever driving the sti better know how to shift properly because in sport mode, the gti equipped with dsg has the capability to embarrass an STI or perhaps I should say surprise an STI. WRX on a roll WOT doesn't stand a chance against the GTI's DSG.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » January 16th, 2012, 9:38 pm

^^Compare apples to apples:

2010 GTi vs 2009 WRX (which is underpowered compared to the 2010 WRX, or the 2005-2007 WRX)

the gti equipped with dsg has the capability to embarrass an STI or perhaps I should say surprise an STI.

DSG will make up for a near 100 hp difference? Last time I drove a GTi, it felt almost exactly like a BEAMS 2000 4 cyl Altezza. Quick, but not spectacular.
of course, it wasn't a 2010 model. Was a 2005 I think.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 16th, 2012, 10:03 pm

rs200's are no match for gti's no matter the year IMHO. a simple apr ecu tune gti dsg will walk all over a wrx and tezza.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 16th, 2012, 10:43 pm

A beams 4cyl would not stand up to a new gti. DSG gearbox or not.
And lets not forget that we dont get the gti-r golf in trinidad, which is supposed to have around 270hp

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 17th, 2012, 12:59 am

saw lifestyle has a good few ugly looking tray vans.....I think its made in India.....not sure......think they are mahindra trucks.....

Postby S_2NR » January 17th, 2012, 1:17 am

Saw the 2012 Subaru impreza on TV tonight.
Dam. That thing is hideous.
The looks on the car went downhill from 2007 IMO.

aidan

Postby aidan » January 17th, 2012, 1:34 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:saw lifestyle has a good few ugly looking tray vans.....I think its made in India.....not sure......think they are mahindra trucks.....

Lol, yea is Mahindra. Those things are some serious workhorses though.

More info here:
http://www.mahindraautoworld.com/mahindra_pikups_doublecab_overview.aspx

Mahindra does also make those SSang Yong vehicles.