India trip question..re the govt's party

Re: India trip question..re the govt's party

Postby AllTrac » January 12th, 2012, 9:48 am

she setting herself up nice, when she is no longer the PM she still would be living large, and charging a hefty amount with the SILK. Cant blame her, since when politicians cared about the people and their country? is dog eat dog out dey and we have no one but ourselves to blame. Not voting next elections, ill tell you that.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 12th, 2012, 9:59 am

AllTrac wrote:she setting herself up nice, when she is no longer the PM she still would be living large, and charging a hefty amount with the SILK. Cant blame her, since when politicians cared about the people and their country? is dog eat dog out dey and we have no one but ourselves to blame. Not voting next elections, ill tell you that.

I'm sure she lived large before being PM and even if she didn't become PM she would have continued to live large. Her personal house was substantially complete before elections ever called and we know how palatial that is. All I see is less jet setting or rather jet setting to less exotic locations.

Postby Habit7 » January 12th, 2012, 10:10 am

"Aye...Aye but Manning waste money in trips too!"

Manning spends $1m on 32 foreign trips
RICHARD LORD
Published: 28 Oct 2009

Prime Minister Patrick Manning has spent in excess of $1million on 32 foreign trips between January 2007 and March 31 this year.

This was revealed by Finance Minister Karen Nunez-Tesheira in a written response to a question on yesterday’s Senate Order Paper. The cost of the trips related to airfare, advanced allowances and hotel accommodation. The question was asked by Opposition Senator Wade Mark. More than $1million was spent on trips to countries including Ethiopia, the US, Jamaica, Venezuela, Cuba, Uganda, Mexico, the UK, Brazil, Spain, Nicaragua, Germany and the United Arab Emirates.

Manning’s visit to Ethiopia, Tanzania and Jamaica, from January 27, 2007 to February 7, 2007, cost $201,638.55. He went to Ethiopia to take part in an Ethiopian summit from January 29 to 30; paid an official visit to Tanzania from February 1 to 3 and took part in a joint meeting of the Prime Ministerial Sub-Committee on the CSME and external trade negotiations in Jamaica from February 5 to 6.

Manning’s visit to Uganda from November 20 to 27, 2008 for the last Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) from November 23 to 25, cost the state more than $174,000. In excess of $600,000 was used by Energy Minister Conrad Enill during the same period, the answer revealed. Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister Dr Lenny Saith spent more than $720,000 and Nunez-Tesheira, over the period March 2008 to March, this year, spent more than $368,000 in overseas travel. Tourism Minister Joseph Ross spent over $366,000 in foreign travel for the period March 2008 to March 2009.

http://test.guardian.co.tt/index.php?q= ... ips&page=1

Postby RASC » January 12th, 2012, 10:11 am

I could just imagine the sheer number of treads on this forum, strife with PP apologists, would've been if Manning took a contingent to South Africa, or Nigeria.

That being said, PNM abroad's running commentary on FB is bordering on racist. IMHO... No need for us to stoop to their level. Racism and Prejudicial behavior is solely a UNC trait... Let it remain there.

Cid

Postby Cid » January 12th, 2012, 10:16 am

why allyu vex for?

tanty feel to travel , she travel,

tanty wa spend we hard earn money to go on ah ego trip to india who stopping she?

she wa carry she ban...ah mean pandit who to say no ?

she getting old she cya rem all dem thing she promise so long ago about new politcs, reform ,country first , all dem tears she shed when she was begging for power doh matter now cuz she on de inside ......she eeen ...

Is all about she now ....go tanty go ......live it up...

Postby RASC » January 12th, 2012, 10:23 am

I sometimes read the PP manifesto just to remind myself at how utterly retarded and stupid PP supporters are.
It was so laughable, so pie in the sky... You kept asking yourself HOW IS BEING PAID FOR... And across the board you see tax breaks and taxation cuts. But the treasury empty.

Comical.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » January 12th, 2012, 10:24 am

CID i hope that was a sick joke :?

Postby RBphoto » January 12th, 2012, 11:25 am

To the chessbunnist and them, PNM or PP, travel for diplomatic and trade reasons are very important. As for the CAL flight... it could be seen as a strategic opportunity since the PM is there to send an executive to seek out opportunities. This is how the world works. Get used to it.

Postby crazybalhead » January 12th, 2012, 11:30 am

Yes but Crossdrilled, why every damn indian does want to go to India??? Why not Germany? or Ghana (A country with similar oil and gas and geological profiles to the offshore south america region)??? And why the HUGE contingent???

When I'm going on a business trip, is usually just me. WTF Pundit and reporters going for???

Postby Greypatch » January 12th, 2012, 12:26 pm

baba have swag too dan

Postby Habit7 » January 12th, 2012, 3:03 pm

Seeing that we spend $10 million of our own money on trip, plus the business people who paid their way, plus the Indian gov't who helped out because it is a state visit, why didn't we just charter a B777 or A330. I think it might have been cheaper, and the PM would have looked so elegant as a female world leader descending the stairs from such a regal aircraft, much like other great world leaders. :)

Postby wagonrunner » January 12th, 2012, 3:07 pm

amazing but not surprising.
regal is the new term? word.

Postby teems1 » January 12th, 2012, 3:29 pm

Habit7 wrote:Seeing that we spend $10 million of our own money on trip, plus the business people who paid their way, plus the Indian gov't who helped out because it is a state visit, why didn't we just charter a B777 or A330. I think it might have been cheaper, and the PM would have looked so elegant as a female world leader descending the stairs from such a regal aircraft, much like other great world leaders. :)

Sometimes it is better to err on the side of caution. Remember T+T is a developing country at the end of the day.

The use/owning of a private plane or even chartering of an entire jumbo jet can also make her look like the a classless leader of a oil/banana republic who don't think long term and have no idea how to spend their money. Kinda like those Arab sheiks....

Postby Habit7 » January 12th, 2012, 3:45 pm

Yeah but why should we give BA and Air India the money when we could spend the money on a direct flight in total luxury.

I think I heard this idea before, but run with me...

Seeing that the PM needs to travel with her entourage to market and reintroduce the country to leading economies, why don't we seek to acquire a private aircraft. It can be bought, operated and maintained by CAL and be used by the PM and other government officials to provide smooth, efficient and luxurious travel that would help the PM seal up deals with investors. Plus it would make the country look professional and modern.
When the PM is not using the aircraft, it could be available to any VIP locally or regionally to charter so that it can be an income earner. This would stop capital flight and keep the capital within the country. Think about it. :)

Postby teems1 » January 12th, 2012, 4:49 pm

yeah, because a private jet will automatically make us look modern and professional... like the Arab sheiks, or Gaddafi, or Mugabe.

Want to really know what will make us look modern and professional? If our corruption index increased instead of decreased. Or even if our gross peace index were to get better, that would have 100x more impact, than the PM stepping off a jet.

Postby RASC » January 12th, 2012, 6:15 pm

Oh what a Novel Idea :!:

Funny could've sworn I seen this somewhere before. Funny how things just magicalllly poof, become reinvented :lol:
Habit7 wrote:Yeah but why should we give BA and Air India the money when we could spend the money on a direct flight in total luxury.

I think I heard this idea before, but run with me...

Seeing that the PM needs to travel with her entourage to market and reintroduce the country to leading economies, why don't we seek to acquire a private aircraft. It can be bought, operated and maintained by CAL and be used by the PM and other government officials to provide smooth, efficient and luxurious travel that would help the PM seal up deals with investors. Plus it would make the country look professional and modern.
When the PM is not using the aircraft, it could be available to any VIP locally or regionally to charter so that it can be an income earner. This would stop capital flight and keep the capital within the country. Think about it. :)

Postby pioneer » January 12th, 2012, 6:22 pm

allyuh eh ketch de sarcasm? :lol:

Postby pioneer » January 12th, 2012, 7:00 pm

wha bout devant maharaj who carry he young gyul on de trip an all...nuh even he wife...and kamala ban she from all meetings/parties etc? :lol:

and she geh some big wukk an all

Postby pioneer » January 12th, 2012, 7:02 pm

Oh yeh she's de CEO of radio jagrati

Postby Cjruckus » January 12th, 2012, 7:06 pm

Who? She?

Postby K74T » January 12th, 2012, 7:18 pm

always thought she was like 27/28

then was told that she's only 22

Postby pioneer » January 12th, 2012, 7:20 pm

Def case of ah good wukkin ole ting better dan ah young ting, anytime.

Postby rfari » January 12th, 2012, 7:27 pm

Aunty K should make the best of the trip and bring back some indentured labourers. Agriculture in a woeful mess.

Postby Habit7 » January 12th, 2012, 7:42 pm

I just hope in the future, if we ever have a PM that is a descendant from the Moon colony, that they won't want to go with an entourage to receive awards, touch feet, seek out roots and relax by searching out business. I just perceive we might not be able to afford that trip.

Postby pioneer » January 13th, 2012, 7:03 pm

Habit7 wrote:I just hope in the future, if we ever have a PM that is a descendant from the Moon colony, that they won't want to go with an entourage to receive awards, touch feet, seek out roots and relax by searching out business. I just perceive we might not be able to afford that trip.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 16th, 2012, 8:52 am

I WILL ACCOUNT
Kamla promises full report on India trip
By Carla Bridglal carla.bridglal@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jan 15, 2012 at 10:50 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 15, 2012 at 10:50 PM ECT

A full report on the Prime Minister's state visit to India will soon be submitted to Parliament.

Kamla Persad-Bissessar said she would account for the mission and achievements of the visit, as well as the cost and the number of people who participated as members of the Trinidad and Tobago delegation.

"Each time we travel, we have reported and indicated what we will do, and on our return, we have been accounting to the people through Parliament and media briefings.

"When Parliament sits, we will continue with good governance measures to report to you all," said Persad-Bissessar, speaking at a media conference in the VIP Lounge at Piarco International Airport on her return to Trinidad yesterday evening.

She said she did not know exactly how many people were part of the mission because she did not see everyone, but added that the report will be put together and submitted as soon as the Ministers of Foreign Affairs and Trade and Industry returned.

Persad-Bissessar was scheduled to return to Trinidad at 4.30 p.m. on a British Airways flight out of London, via St Lucia, but arrived at 5.45 p.m. Some Cabinet members had taken an alternative route through New York and had not yet arrived.

Persad-Bissessar gave an overview of the achievements of the trip, which, she said, included 200 meetings, the signing of 50 memoranda of understanding and 50 joint trade meeting.

Defending the duration of the 12-day trip, she said much of the time was spent in travel, with four days allotted for flight time alone.

Persad-Bissessar also made a statement on the widely debated Senior Counsel issue, saying the green paper suggested by the Attorney General should shed some light on the way forward.

She added that she "respected" the decision of Chief Justice Ivor Archie and Justice of Appeal Wendell Kangaloo to return their instruments. "Some of the commentators are very learned gentlemen of the legal profession who indicated they felt it was a conflict of interest for these judges to have accepted it. The judges took a decision and we respect that decision. But as far as I am advised—and I am advised because I wasn't here—there are only two persons calling for the removal of the silk, the Opposition leader and Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj, SC.

"But it is most interesting that many of the people who are making the most noise gave themselves silk in the first place and there was no noise. What is even more important is that should you take that route, then it means that every person who received silk under those criteria for the past 50 years, are you then saying they should all give it back? And I think the answer to that is no," she said.

She responded to the Opposition leader's allegations of the Commissioner of Police being too involved with the Government, saying there was nothing further from the truth.

Persad-Bissessar was critical of Keith Rowley's statements, and had harsh words for the previous administration's handling of the crime situation, accusing Rowley of "mischief".

"The (PNM) has absolutely no authority to speak on (these) matters. They have interfered in every single way with the Police Service.

"In answer to the mischief being created by (Rowley), my answer is what you're doing is each time you speak is condemning the very administration to which you belong," she said.

So we await the official audited report.

Postby rfari » January 16th, 2012, 10:35 am

you know aunty K's back when you remember that we have helicopters in the country. national security helicopters were busy yesterday afternoon into night

Postby Habit7 » January 16th, 2012, 11:00 am

Would the benefits of the 2 week India trip come before or after the 2 week Brazil trip?

Postby Habit7 » January 16th, 2012, 11:59 pm

Well this trade mission WILL bring success, the PP government has after almost two filled the empty treasury and dealt with crime in 120 days.

The benefits of the India ARE trip coming, right before the Venezuela trip, but not before the Australia trip, and who could forget the Brazil trip?, ah but the London trip was excellent (right Machel!?!) and probably the one that would lead the way is the Miami trip. As Kamla SC said T&T ready for trade boom.

Don't listen the PNM pessimists like Keith Rowley and Central Bank Governor Ewart Williams, the economic outlook is just dipping so it can jump back up again.

tarzan

Postby tarzan » January 17th, 2012, 12:03 am

tax payers money helping them buy coach bag and sit in first class seats.....hungry people.....imagine kamla pundit on the board of CAL and he went down india also with his wife.....all expenses paid....smh