things to do in barbados

cornfused

Re: things to do in barbados

Postby cornfused » December 5th, 2011, 4:30 pm

leave them Hook , you can also check out many of the cruises from Bridgetown , I went with Tiami , it was great .

South coast beaches would be ok but the west coast may begin to get a bit rough at this time of year to March

speedbird777

Postby speedbird777 » December 5th, 2011, 7:26 pm

thanks cornfused. i was checking out the cruises. i see jammin has a slide at the back of the boat to slide into the water.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 5th, 2011, 7:43 pm

I can tell you what NOT to do in barbados:

1. Avoid running around naked whilst flailing your arms wildly and singing "I'z a Trini"
2. DONT Mention the words 'trinidad' and 'flying fish' in the same sentence whilst talking to a native.
3. DONT Talk about Rihanna's forehead. Ever.
4. DONT ask them to speak english, or take the marbles out of their mouth when speaking
5. DONT laugh when you hear the price of gas in Bim.

Postby Hook » December 5th, 2011, 8:25 pm

^^^ yes! :lol:

speedbird777

Postby speedbird777 » December 5th, 2011, 9:26 pm

gas expensive?? how d hell bajans survive? i've heard that food n stuff expensive

Postby Hook » December 5th, 2011, 9:35 pm

^^^ doh convert d cost dan... dollar-for-dollar it's about the same as here (except the gas price)

a good Bajan salary is around $3000Bds/mth...try to live here on $3000TT/mth nuh...if yuh hadda eat, yuh hadda eat...just stay away from the doubles...tastes half as good as ours for 3 times the price

and don't buy anything dufree for any of those pipers on Broad Street...they smell tourists a mile away

Postby equipped2ripp » December 5th, 2011, 9:57 pm

speedbird777 wrote:gas expensive?? how d hell bajans survive? i've heard that food n stuff expensive

why are you surprised? :?

speedbird777

Postby speedbird777 » December 6th, 2011, 8:42 pm

i thought dollar for dollar it wouldnt have been too bad. oh well... that wat happens when you want to visit the people place.
nobody went on the submarines? too expensive? anyyyyyybody have any idea on d cost n stuff? n how they treat trini ppl there? cause i expect the crowd they looking for is the brits n white ppl

things to do in barbados

Postby Hook » December 6th, 2011, 11:59 pm

Off the bat, if you're indian-looking (and not the fair ones), they gonna presume you're guyanese :lol: yeah, it's THAT stupid...u gonna prolly get small talk abt how much they know abt Trinidad when they only know around town and Chaguanas...maybe an imp or two that'll try to convince you they're really from Trini, but they like to call places where they feel u don't know. I win money betting them on Trini trivia already.

I never went on the Atlantis tour tho, but a cross-country drive sampling the roadside food places and is real cool. Doh try to do it in a day and rush it. You won't really enjoy it. Just get a good road map and like yuhself.

The south coast beaches will make ours look like duck ponds so it's natural if u wanna go all apeshit and make sand castles and shriek like a moron. Check out the golf scn on the west coast if that's your thing.

Party scene and night life changed a bit since I was there last. Dunno where Jumbies move to now, but there's always the Gap, Boatyard, Harbour Lights, Party Stand, Xtreme and of course, Oistins (Friday is the fry-up, Saturday's significantly less busy but there's karaoke...karaoke's real big in Bim). There are party cruises on Sundays too, but is a daylight scn.
If u into strip clubs, ask ur cab driver...avoid "Matador" and any strip joint downtown, near The Garrison or in Husbands...mostly Jamaicans and local weirdos.

Postby wagonrunner » December 7th, 2011, 12:59 am

for atlantis.
http://barbados.atlantissubmarines.com/tours
dunno if the price changed, but that's why you have the site.

speedbird777

Postby speedbird777 » December 7th, 2011, 11:52 am

hmmm thanks hook.... will let you guys know how it went

Postby pugboy » December 7th, 2011, 4:30 pm

it is definitely worth the while to take a drive on both sides
paynes bay on west is one of the better beaches and could rank anywhere
along that area have the expensive houses with tall walls that flim stars and british royals rent for big money

Postby Habit7 » January 7th, 2012, 8:36 pm

If you are an aircraft aficionado (which by your screen name you are) try Concorde Experience, its really good I went this week, at the end you wish you could roll it down the runway and give it full throttle. Harrison Caves was cool too, wear something you won't mind getting wet or just a waterproof hat. Atlantis Submarines too expensive for my blood, it cost almost the same as the return flight to the island. And despite what some might say gas AND food is expensive, BDS$117 to full an empty Suzuki Swift tank and BDS$18 for a Zinger combo.

speedbird777

Postby speedbird777 » January 7th, 2012, 8:50 pm

Habit7 wrote:If you are an aircraft aficionado (which by your screen name you are) try Concorde Experience, its really good I went this week, at the end you wish you could roll it down the runway and give it full throttle. Harrison Caves was cool too, wear something you won't mind getting wet or just a waterproof hat. Atlantis Submarines too expensive for my blood, it cost almost the same as the return flight to the island. And despite what some might say gas AND food is expensive, BDS$117 to full an empty Suzuki Swift tank and BDS$18 for a Zinger combo.

yeah i do agree with the cost of gas and food. it is ridiculous. we spent almost $100US in food for 6 ppl in sheraton mall, and that was lunch alone from the food court...trinis do have it nice for real
how much was atlantis charging you? we did the submarines i believe for $55US and that was caricom rate. There is a caricom rate for a few things actually. Caves and concorde is flat rate. The concorde experience was really good.
The catamarans is also really nice, and they have a caricom rate as well
Oh btw, for those of you who mentioned driving around the island and exploring the east and west coasts, it was well worth it. thank you much. 4 days in barbados was not enough, next time i'd go for longer and do like typical trinis, rent a house, carry food stuff from here to cover most of the food costs. Gas however is ridiculous. we spent $165bds to fill a suzuki van...madness

speedbird777

Postby speedbird777 » January 7th, 2012, 8:54 pm

oh and crane beach is really nice too... as well as north point

Postby pugboy » January 7th, 2012, 9:11 pm

yeah, for a small place you can find a lot of things to do as a tourist for a good 4-7 days
you should try thinking how you would spend the same time here

Postby Habit7 » January 7th, 2012, 10:32 pm

I thought Atlantis was US$100 per person, oh well next time. Might not be going back soon though, not really my beat to much, too touristy, I like stuff with a little more rough edges.

Postby De Dragon » January 7th, 2012, 10:34 pm

Why do we insist on going where we are not wanted?

Postby Habit7 » January 7th, 2012, 10:47 pm

De Dragon wrote:Why do we insist on going where we are not wanted?

I would disagree with those who say bajans don't like us, I was treated fairly well specially when I pulled out my credit card. But it makes me grateful for the little oil we have here in T&T. Barbados basically has just made itself for a playground for all these British sun worshippers/leatherskins while they are pacified with an artificially bolstered society. My country ain't perfect but I love it, I could show off the beauty of my country to any tourist and if he doesn't like it, I can tell him to leave and don't ever come back .

Postby wagonrunner » January 7th, 2012, 10:54 pm

Agreed.
He may not be wanted. :lol:
Not because you could afford it, means others have to accept your way of thinking, especially if you're not willing to understand theirs.

I enjoy BIM every time, and overdue for a next visit.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 7th, 2012, 10:56 pm

S_2NR wrote:Image

ohhhhh geeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeedddddd

:faint:

:sick: :o :cry: notbess :|

speedbird777

Postby speedbird777 » January 8th, 2012, 10:04 am

Habit7 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Why do we insist on going where we are not wanted?

I would disagree with those who say bajans don't like us, I was treated fairly well specially when I pulled out my credit card. But it makes me grateful for the little oil we have here in T&T. Barbados basically has just made itself for a playground for all these British sun worshippers/leatherskins while they are pacified with an artificially bolstered society. My country ain't perfect but I love it, I could show off the beauty of my country to any tourist and if he doesn't like it, I can tell him to leave and don't ever come back .

i actually had great responses from bajans all over. never used my credit card. the people all over were nice, even in the country side where they dont see much tourist and dont have to be nice. they were very helpful in terms of directions and places to go and stuff. my first trip was nice and i will do it over again.
but my country is good enough for me. tobago has nicer natural things in terms of waterfalls and stuff. but bim beaches are the best
btw...there is one other thing that we did, zipline adventures....that was besss. if we had more time we would have done it again.
i recommend,
1) aerial trek - zipline adventures
2) cool runnings or jammin catamaran cruise
3) atlantis submarine
4) concorde experience
5) crane beach
6) north point, there is some cave out there
and west coast beaches and stuff
harrison caves is ok but i like stuff where i can go explore myself..

Postby sharkman121 » January 8th, 2012, 1:06 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I can tell you what NOT to do in barbados:

1. Avoid running around naked whilst flailing your arms wildly and singing "I'z a Trini"
2. DONT Mention the words 'trinidad' and 'flying fish' in the same sentence whilst talking to a native.
4. DONT ask them to speak english, or take the marbles out of their mouth when speaking

Came back from greenz last week, almost choked when i saw the price of gas...almost 10 times the price it is here.

speedbird777

Postby speedbird777 » January 8th, 2012, 7:45 pm

pressure....i think i see what the caribbean has to offer...i feel i gonna explore europe or something now yes

zcarz

Postby zcarz » January 8th, 2012, 8:54 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I can tell you what NOT to do in barbados:

lmao hahahahhahaha! i stealing this

zcarz

Postby zcarz » January 8th, 2012, 8:57 pm

always wanted to climb Mount Gay

Postby Habit7 » January 8th, 2012, 9:25 pm

I was disappointed in the road signage though, I thought I could save US$6 a day and not get GPS thinking its a small island like Tobago, nothing to worry about. I understood from the airport to Speightown on the major roads after 3 days, but my day on the east coast and daily stints in the interior was shoot and miss. The signs were unclear, small and hidden by trees. I now understand why the rental company dont accept liability to pothole incidents, tourists get smooth roads and locals get cheese graters.

I've done the US before and the German embassy and I fall out when I was getting my Schengen Visa (I waiting till T&T get exemption). South/Central America is they way to go, Costa Rica is best tourist destination I have ever been to. Unlike other places that roll out the red carpet for white tourists and then look at ppl of colour wondering "why they not wearing an apron like us", Latin America loves other ppl of colour or basically anyone who speaks english as a mother tongue.