Re: Return the SILK

Postby brams112 » January 4th, 2012, 6:33 pm

same sheit diffrent days,,,,

Postby wagonrunner » January 4th, 2012, 11:25 pm

eliteauto wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:some could admit they were fooled. others would see nothing wrong.

ahhhhhhhh a year ago posts like some here were immediately labelled as PNM or having political tabanca, because the PP was unquestionable, even though ppl like myself were doing it out of love for country and no allegiance to the opposition, now some hadda hush out of shame. Hopefully it will be understood now when it is said we get the Go't we deserve, sycophancy is as bad as corruption

[sheep]It is not true that you love your country, if you don't blindly follow Kamla et all.[/sheep]

Postby eliteauto » January 4th, 2012, 11:43 pm

brams112 wrote:nobody said nothing on behalf of john jeremy getting silk although as someone said he never tried a case,,,,,strange,,,i say sour grapes,,,,,,

is stupid ppl like you have the country how it is

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » January 5th, 2012, 1:09 am

^^ This ^^

Postby rfari » January 5th, 2012, 6:05 am

This rell blatant. PP govt must have known that it wouldn't sit well with the masses. I doubt ppl so stupid.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 5th, 2012, 8:29 am

rfari wrote:This rell blatant. PP govt must have known that it wouldn't sit well with the masses. I doubt ppl so stupid.

Politicians makes the unbelievable believable

Postby redmanjp » January 5th, 2012, 10:14 am

what exactly is dis silk dey talking about?

Postby Hook » January 5th, 2012, 10:45 am

Khan made a statement some years ago regarding the appointment to the office of CJ (and why he claims he'll never get that post), the "clique" that exists in the judiciary and the threat to it's independence, the bestowing of said "silk" (and the lickbamcie required) and his views on de La Bastide's role in the CCJ. T'was a really good read.

There's way too much to sift thru in the online news archives, but he's correct that this was an established practice. It doesn't make it right, but this is the status quo. Serious reform has been needed for some time now.

Postby RBphoto » January 5th, 2012, 10:50 am

Ok, I now get it.... Senior council Silk is given to practicing professionals, not judges or people who are lawyers but not practicing. I agree that it is a shame. That is like giving Patrick Manning a felowship in the international geological society... for nothing... thus cheapening the value of the instrument.

Postby 16 cycles » January 5th, 2012, 11:13 am

Hook wrote:Khan made a statement some years ago regarding the appointment to the office of CJ (and why he claims he'll never get that post), the "clique" that exists in the judiciary and the threat to it's independence, the bestowing of said "silk" (and the lickbamcie required) and his views on de La Bastide's role in the CCJ. T'was a really good read.

There's way too much to sift thru in the online news archives, but he's correct that this was an established practice. It doesn't make it right, but this is the status quo. Serious reform has been needed for some time now.

Israel Khan?

If so, isn't he a SC already?

Postby Hook » January 5th, 2012, 11:21 am

^^^ Was several years ago, but I believe he was SC then anyway. Besides, it was more about him not being able to ascend to the office of CJ than anything else.

Driven

Postby Driven » January 5th, 2012, 11:54 am

"No question now, what had happened to the faces of the pigs. The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which."
- George Orwell, Animal Farm, Ch. 10

Postby brams112 » January 5th, 2012, 5:58 pm

and yet nobody brave to comment on what i said,,,,,,oh the man who said my comment was stupid,,,i am as stupid as,,,,

Postby De Dragon » January 5th, 2012, 6:11 pm

What is needed is a new system whereby an independent commission evaluates and appoints SC's. Karl Hudson Phillip rush out to condemn, but also accepted SC while serving as AG in the NAR Government in the late '80's. Extremely poor judgement by PM and AG to accept SC. Sadly, they seem not to see that much more respect was to be had by turning down, or not even offering themselves up for 'silk'.

Postby pugboy » January 5th, 2012, 7:08 pm

Hudson-Phillips got his before the 80's, it was whilst we were a non-republic hence his is QC
he gives a good history of silk in the newsday

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,153136.html

all in all its a pappy show to give some people a subjective rating allowing them to charge two/three times as much
the whole legal profession have too much bobol and unwritten rules which they like to keep out of the common man

lawyers make money win, lose or draw, there is not even a standard schedule available for the public to know how lawyers charge fees

it good for them that they getting sullied, just like how the doctors were trying prevent inquiries

JWT

Postby JWT » January 5th, 2012, 11:14 pm

SILK should be returned and an independent body setup.

So far PP is doing ok not good but ok, better than what we had before.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 6th, 2012, 8:23 am

take back the silk and issue toilet paper.

Postby Hook » January 6th, 2012, 9:02 am

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » January 6th, 2012, 1:16 pm

Postby Hook » January 6th, 2012, 1:22 pm

^^^ well-played

Postby bushwakka » January 7th, 2012, 10:45 am

I find it absolutely ludicrous that judicial positions like this should be given out by political figures. All of this should come from within the judiciary.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » January 7th, 2012, 3:49 pm

bushwakka wrote:I find it absolutely ludicrous that judicial positions like this should be given out by political figures. All of this should come from within the judiciary.

What people fail to realize is that we donot have any separation of powers in trinidad, no matter how much we try to breah like donkeys that we do.

Postby Greypatch » January 7th, 2012, 7:47 pm

did anyone return the title ?

mistawheela

Postby mistawheela » January 7th, 2012, 9:32 pm

brams112 wrote:same sheit diffrent days,,,,

Same sheit different Azzs

Postby De Dragon » January 7th, 2012, 9:33 pm

Greypatch wrote:did anyone return the title ?

Archie and Kangaloo did.

Postby Greypatch » January 8th, 2012, 9:52 am

yea man did not see yesterdays papers...

time for the AG & the PM to follow suit..

The AG & PM on principle you cannot nominate yourself and have yourself/ boss approve..

The AG deserves it though...just NOT by his hand.

Postby Greypatch » January 9th, 2012, 8:39 am

Silk system ‘disturbs’ Ramesh

“And this is a process in which the Prime Minister gave herself silk because the Prime Minister makes the appointment and therefore I believe both the Prime Minister and the Attorney General, have a duty to tell the country what criteria was adopted. What they used in making the award of Silk.

Unless that is done, the population of Trinidad and Tobago would not have any confidence in the appointment,” he said.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,153393.html

Postby RBphoto » January 9th, 2012, 10:31 am

Greypatch wrote:The AG deserves it though

I don't think so.. but that is just me.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » January 9th, 2012, 10:39 am

is this not the process years now..... ?????

Postby Hook » January 9th, 2012, 10:54 am

ray786 wrote:is this not the process years now..... ?????

yup

http://www.guardian.co.tt/khan-don%E2%8 ... t-was-done

Khan: Don’t blame AG, it was done before
Published: Thursday, January 5, 2012Yvonne WebbYvonne Webb
Published: Thursday, January 5, 2012.

Attorney General Anand Ramlogan cannot really be faulted in awarding silk to two sitting judges because there was precedence in the matter. That view on the controversial matter was given by Israel Khan SC yesterday. “When it was first announced I didn’t give it much serious thought because there was precedence for a chief justice to take silk,” he said. Khan recalled that former chief justice Clinton Bernard was awarded silk in 1988 by the attorney general of then National Alliance for Reconstruction (NAR) government.

So too, as a matter of fact, was former NAR prime minister Arthur NR Robinson, he noted. Khan also pointed out that a very senior silk, Karl Hudson-Phillips QC, was awarded silk while he was attorney general during the PNM administration in 1971.
Hudson-Phillip has called on Archie and Kangaloo to forthwith return their instruments, bestowing the title senior counsel. He said the independence of the Judiciary was totally incompatible with holding a title which required service to the Crown/State/Government.

When Robinson and Bernard, not engaged in active practice at the Bar, were awarded silk in 1988, there also was public objection. Robinson, in a letter to the editor in September 1993, defending his acceptance of silk, said he made an application for silk as far back as 1981. He said he personallly delivered the application to the attorney general in the PNM administration at the time. Then attorney general Russell Martineau said he could see no objection, Robinson said.

He said years passed and he received no further official response and about 18 months after assuming the office of prime minister in the NAR Government then attorney general, Selwyn Richardson, presented him with an instrument appointing him to senior counsel. “Mr Richardson informed me that my application of 1981 was still lodged in the Red House with the comment ‘no objection’ on my letter,” Robinson said. Khan, commenting on the awarding of silk to Archie and Kangaloo said: “You really can’t fault the AG. He met precedent.”

Khan noted that he, too, was of the view that awarding silk to sitting judges ran against the separation of powers. “They are judges and are not representing people at the Bar. Silk is really for advocates.” Khan said there should be two categories in the awarding of silk. Heads of government departments should be awarded with honorary silk. Only advocates should be given real silk. He added: “It is with the greatest reluctance I say that the Chief Justice and Justice Kangaloo should consider whether they made a mistake in accepting silk.”