The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

madman.devin

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby madman.devin » January 2nd, 2012, 3:17 am

does Bmobile have these new sim cards ? We just bought 3 iP 4s and none of them are working with the old sim cards.

Trinifieds wrote:Ok guys, I am posting this here for general information. If you are thinking about getting an iPhone 4S you will need to upgrade your sim card if it is the older version. I just found a discarded sim (newer version) and installed in my 4S and it worked perfectly. The original sim (8+ years old) will not work. I have posted a picture of what an old (left) and new (right) one looks like. Notice the contacts are a different shape. I dont know of any other way to tell which is the newer one. I hope this helps someone as it took me the past 20hrs to solve!

Parvin

Postby Parvin » January 2nd, 2012, 3:31 am

Yes they do. Just purchase them and go get them cut ... I don't think they will do it for you.

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » January 2nd, 2012, 3:41 am

Thanks man, I'll work on that tom, I'll try the partner store before i head into the main office. I already have a sim cutter so cutting isn't an issue. What i'm thinking i'll do is print out one of the pic with the sim side by side and carry it in with me.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » January 2nd, 2012, 8:44 am

Kool scene. No need to print out anything. The ones they sell are the latest as I had to re-purchase mine about 1 month ago.

casper

Postby casper » January 2nd, 2012, 10:21 am

Yea if u buy an iPhone from b-mobile they upgrade the sim for u and transfer ur number and also cut the sim as well for u..don't know if they will cut a sim for u jes so without buying a phone from dem tho

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » January 2nd, 2012, 12:06 pm

what he should do is use his own sim cutter and cut the sim himself it should work if he has the newer chip ...if not he could go in bmobile to get the sim upgraded

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 2nd, 2012, 2:07 pm

^ I cut two old sims with a scissors over the Christmas weekend for two 4S devices and both working

just used a manicure nail file to neaten it up.

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » January 2nd, 2012, 2:27 pm

Thanks for all the help guys, Here is the problem, I've got a ip 4 sim works fine in it but doesn't work in the 4s, so i'm guessing i've got the old sim card type.

I've had this same sim since bmobile went gsm.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 2nd, 2012, 3:41 pm

Ryan Petrich has released an update to DisplayRecorder, an app that lets you record the screen of your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch.

What's New In This Version:
● Increase maximum and default frame rate
● Fix timing accuracy
● Full support for recording in h.264 on iPhone 4 and iPad
● Fix file permissions on installation (to work around long standing PkgBackup bug)
● Support orientation and grayscale for h.264 encoding

You can purchase DisplayRecorder from the Cydia Store for $4.99.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 2nd, 2012, 5:07 pm

madman.devin wrote:Thanks for all the help guys, Here is the problem, I've got a ip 4 sim works fine in it but doesn't work in the 4s, so i'm guessing i've got the old sim card type.

my personal sim is an old sim (large contacts) and I've been using it for over a year now in my iPhone 4. I placed it in a 4S and it didnt work, which is what I expected after reading some of the comments on the net and in this thread, however I hard reset the phone with my sim in it and it started working in the 4S with no problems - which is why I was confident to cut the other two older sims to each work in a 4S and they are working fine.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 2nd, 2012, 7:01 pm

rookie wrote:Putting the lifeproof case to the test

This real bess ya have meh studyin to make the switch 8-)

Happy New Year everyone

Postby M_2NR » January 2nd, 2012, 8:57 pm

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » January 3rd, 2012, 12:17 am

I tried a hard reset and it didn't work.
First i just restarted it, then i hard reset it followed by a network reset and then a full settings reset after all that didn't work i did a full restore thru itunes, and still nothing.
And i'm sure the phone is working because i had a tmobile sim in it on Sunday.

madman.devin wrote:Thanks for all the help guys, Here is the problem, I've got a ip 4 sim works fine in it but doesn't work in the 4s, so i'm guessing i've got the old sim card type.

my personal sim is an old sim (large contacts) and I've been using it for over a year now in my iPhone 4. I placed it in a 4S and it didnt work, which is what I expected after reading some of the comments on the net and in this thread, however I hard reset the phone with my sim in it and it started working in the 4S with no problems - which is why I was confident to cut the other two older sims to each work in a 4S and they are working fine.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 3rd, 2012, 3:36 pm

Over the course of the past year, Samsung has shamelessly stolen Apple’s design on everything from the iPod touch, the iPad 2 Smart Cover, iOS’s homescreen, and more. Heck, they’ve even the actresses who star in Apple’s current iPhone 4S commercial!

Having apparently run out of new Apple products to rip-off, Samsung has decided to examine Apple’s past portfolio of devices for new designs to flagrantly plagiarize. The latest? Meet the Galaxy Ace Plus, Samsung’s new entry-level Android phone that looks just like the three year old iPhone 3G design!

This is just beyond parody at this point. Next up? Samsung announces the Galaxy Tab 8.5 Noir, which shamelessly violates the design of the 1993 Apple Newton.

I have to admit, at first I gave Samsung the benefit of the doubt but when I saw things like their chargers looking almost exactly like an iPhone's, just in black & now this, I shall say I stand corrected, but add not like Motorola's any better...

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 3rd, 2012, 4:34 pm

^^^ But yet Samsung is the best phone.

car

Postby car » January 4th, 2012, 10:14 am

I see 4S going to launch on Jan 13th 2012 in Trinidad.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 4th, 2012, 10:25 am

car wrote:I see 4S going to launch on Jan 13th 2012 in Trinidad.

http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/04/ipho ... next-week/

Apple has announced that the iPhone 4S will be making its way to China and 21 other countries beginning next Friday, January 13th. The smartphone will reportedly launch on China Unicom just before the Chinese New Year, which will be celebrated on Monday, January 23rd. Pricing has not been announced in local currencies, but is listed as $199, $299 and $399 for the 16GB, 32GB and 64GB models, respectively. Apple China is clearly the most notable of the bunch, but other countries include Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bolivia, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Grenada, Guam, Guinea Conakry, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Kenya, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritius, Niger, Senegal, St. Vincent and The Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos and Uganda. Jump past the break for the full PR from Apple.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 4th, 2012, 10:32 am

I wonder which network will be launching this phone?
I remember a Digicel dealer telling me that they would be bringing it, but he claimed not as restricted as Bmobile was doing it.

car

Postby car » January 4th, 2012, 10:34 am

So how does Apple launch a product in a country that doesn't have an apple store?
I assume you buy online with your Trinidadian account but how do you get it from the online store?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 4th, 2012, 10:39 am

gosh i hope it is Digicel!!!^^^^^^

Postby nemisis » January 4th, 2012, 11:05 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:gosh i hope it is Digicel!!!^^^^^^

It's going to be through their local partner ie bmobile

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 4th, 2012, 11:09 am

car wrote:So how does Apple launch a product in a country that doesn't have an apple store?
I assume you buy online with your Trinidadian account but how do you get it from the online store?

I was thinking that a local dealer registered with Apple would be selling these phones, namely one of the two Mobile Companies operating locally.
I'd love someone with inside info to clarify though.

scientist

Postby scientist » January 4th, 2012, 11:11 am

it will be bmobile/lime as they are the ones with a carrier deal with apple. digicel doesnt

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 4th, 2012, 11:11 am

nemisis wrote:

you know that for sure or is that your opinion?
Jus wondering nah.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 4th, 2012, 11:12 am

PapaC wrote:I wonder which network will be launching this phone?
I remember a Digicel dealer telling me that they would be bringing it, but he claimed not as restricted as Bmobile was doing it.

PapaC you have any inside info?

SRASC

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby SRASC » January 4th, 2012, 11:13 am

PapaC wrote:
nemisis wrote:

you know that for sure or is that your opinion?
Jus wondering nah.

Yup it would be bmobile. Digicel has nothing in place as far as I know at this time

Postby M_2NR » January 4th, 2012, 1:12 pm

I still surprised they are so narrow minded (Digicel) because claro has it up the islands, wait, why im i b!tching.... i have a BB plan on my iPhone and not being hampered. Let me be happy yes! I'm sure they have the system in place like AT&T to track what phone is using what properly and if so, I'll be screwed. :lol:

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 4th, 2012, 1:12 pm

No inside info,
when i went to pay my bill today i was trying to pick the CSR mouth, but to no avail.
And I was told by more than one person in Digicel that they are testing the iPhone4 in Jamaica already, that is since last year November.

SRASC, what had to be in place to bring the iPhone4 by Digicel? A crate of sim cutters?

casper

Postby casper » January 4th, 2012, 2:18 pm

not to spam or anything but i got touch screen styluses to sell if anyone interested...i using one for myself on my ipad2 and it working really good for handwriting and drawing...also my co-worker has a playbook i leant him my stylus this morning and he rel like it too...it even works good on small touch devices like iphones etc... :D

:oops:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 4th, 2012, 3:03 pm

According to a report from USA Today, a source that worked at Apple said a 42-inch “or larger” LCD TV is being worked on and locked down in Apple design guru Jonathan Ive’s workspace. The source claimed Ive’s studio is currently home to “a slick 50-inch TV”.

This goes against most recent reports from Asian supply chain watcher DigiTimes who claimed 32- and 37-inch variants were being prepared for a summer 2012 launch. Reports from the New York Times in October claimed Apple was in the process of prototyping an Apple television after large parts suitable for an HDTV were discovered moving around Apple’s supply chains.

Apple is continuing having problems securing licensing deals for content with major cable companies and content providers preventing them from creating an “à la carte iTunes TV service”. The report cited an interview with an unidentified person close to the “Apple TV group” and two “television industry sources”. In November, CBS’s Les Moonves commented at the company’s earnings call that they had turned down a streaming deal with Apple for the Apple TV.

According to the report, anticipation of an Apple smart TV is getting “big buzz” leading up to the International Consumer Electronics Show slated to kick off Jan. 10. Apple Cofounder Steve Wozniak weighed in and said he too expects Apple to enter the living room with an Apple branded HDTV

The rest of the industry is definitely taking notes on what Apple is rumored to include in their first HDTV. Director of new product development at LG Tim Alessi said the company is paying close attention to what Apple has done with user interfaces.

Microsoft’s general manager of content acquisition and strategy also commented on Apple’s introduction into the TV business: “We do not discount what they are going to do in the space — they are going to come on strong.”

Latest reports from the Wall Street Journal claimed Apple was in talks with media companies regarding a Siri powered HDTV with iCloud, Airplay, and DVR functionality.