PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 23rd, 2011, 3:08 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:how much for a bess sound card?

i have a 5.1 i think it have 6 jacks to the back

wanna change it to a simple 3 jack type mike headphone and (line in i think idk)

Bess sound card lol :P

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 23rd, 2011, 3:08 pm

you could use your optical connection if your speakers/mobo have it, optical cables cheap too. The connection is the most optimal for a 5.1 system or hdmi

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 23rd, 2011, 3:11 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:anyone seen dual or triple monitor mounts selling locally?

Have my eyes on this stand

Postby Chimera » December 23rd, 2011, 3:36 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:anyone seen dual or triple monitor mounts selling locally?

ah yes...i saw it....that gonna cost no less than $2500 to bring down not so?

I studying to go buy 3 of the wall brackets that bhagwansingh has for $145/195 and just mount them side by side on the wall

much much cheaper....

Driven

New PC Build!!

Postby Driven » December 23rd, 2011, 5:52 pm

hai gaiz \o

I had posted a few months regarding my new build of a Mid-Range rig for gaming and here I am now saying I finally purchased the components! (from Newegg) :mrgreen: A friend of mine is building it up in the USA and then skyboxing it down to me (since complete systems not supposed to pay any VAT or Duty) and I thought I'd share the list of parts I ordered. (Prices are in USD)

COOLER MASTER HAF 912 Black Computer Case........................ $49.99
COOLER MASTER 120mm Case Fan 4 in 1 pack.......................... $12.99
COOLER MASTER Megaflow 200mm Red LED Case Fan................. $17.99
Intel Core i5-2500K 3.3GHz LGA 1155 Processor......................... $219.99
ASRock Z68 Extreme4 ATX Motherboard.................................. $174.99
CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) 1600 (PC312800) RAM............... $42.99
MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti -448 Cores Twin Frozr III Video Card......... $309.99
Patriot Pyro 120GB Solid State Drive....................................... $174.99
Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB Hard Drive.......................... $129.99 (friggin Thailand Floods :fist: )
ASUS 24X DVD Burner........................................................ $19.99
CORSAIR HX850 850W Power Supply....................................... $169.99
Total Cost ~ $1324

Peripherals:
Logitech G330 Circumaural Gaming Headset - $35.99
Logitech G500 Mouse - $29.99
Rosewill PCI Wireless-N Adapter - $14.99

Hoping to get it by mid-late January and I'll try to throw up some pics. I'm so excited!!!

Postby Ted_v2 » December 23rd, 2011, 5:56 pm

gracen wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:how much for a bess sound card?

i have a 5.1 i think it have 6 jacks to the back

wanna change it to a simple 3 jack type mike headphone and (line in i think idk)

Bess sound card lol :P

boidan hears my problem

my logitech z5300e sounds awesome on my laptop actually gets the whole place shaking with some brutal lows

but on my pc it sounds okk not how it should i dig up in my settings and its the same thing

(tried the same eq on the laptop and the pc and the same songs and it was totallllllllly diff.)

but come on cant i get something locally?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 23rd, 2011, 6:04 pm

Yea...I believe The Wizz has them^

Postby Ted_v2 » December 23rd, 2011, 6:07 pm

gracen wrote:Yea...I believe The Wizz has them^

estimated price?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 23rd, 2011, 6:12 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:

estimated price?

Knock yourself out :P

Postby Ted_v2 » December 23rd, 2011, 6:22 pm

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 23rd, 2011, 6:40 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:

estimated price?

Probably expensive :lol:

Try and doh buy a low end Creative sound card eh, support does be hard to get in terms of drivers for the latest OS.

I have one ah these:

http://www.amazon.com/Creative-Labs-Bla ... 941&sr=1-1

But i does use onboard sound now which quite sufficient.

Logitech Z-2300 on one pc and Z-5300e on d other. :mrgreen:

Humes

Postby Humes » December 23rd, 2011, 7:58 pm

Just a little update to the classic gaming project I described on this page.

I'm basically done.

Everything's on my htpc hooked up to my new TV. Toughest part was configuring everything...jeezan that was a day-wuk. Now I can start the front-end with my remote and control everything with my 360 wireless controller or remote.

For starters, I have full collections of MAME, Super Nintendo, Sega Genesis and Nintendo Entertainment System. I plan to add the original Playstation and the N64 next. I have those files, and a few games each, but they require some configuration.

Biggest surprise is how good the games look at that size and resolution. For games from 15-25 years ago, they look great! The secret is the rendering filters...they seem to work even better on TVs. The NES games, for example, just look very simple. Not pixelated...just simple.

I still have some configuration to do, but it's at a stage now where I can easily sink a few hours in. I'll take a video and post it up sooner or later.

Btw, I ended up going with GameEx instead. It's not as good-looking as Maximus Arcade, but it has tons more features, info and stats for enthusiasts. I particularly like the way it suggests similar games to whatever game you've selected.

It has media-playing features too, but I only use it for games. I use XBMC for media.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 23rd, 2011, 9:54 pm

^^Nice! :shock:

BTW you guys still sweat on.....COD4 :oops:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 24th, 2011, 10:49 am

Do you all use an Anti-Static Wrist Strap when working/building a computer? I just touch the back of the case, wear cotton clothing...my hands are always against the case as well but my case is all black :shock:

Kinda starting to worry me as I assembled my rig a while ago and it's expensive stuff im dealing with :(

and i dont wanna end up crying :oops:

Humes

Postby Humes » December 24th, 2011, 10:56 am

Just let your forearm or elbow touch the case at all times. I hear doing it naked helps as well.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 24th, 2011, 10:58 am

Cool. I think i'll pass on the naked part tho :shock: rofl

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 24th, 2011, 11:26 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:

ah yes...i saw it....that gonna cost no less than $2500 to bring down not so?

I studying to go buy 3 of the wall brackets that bhagwansingh has for $145/195 and just mount them side by side on the wall

much much cheaper....

Well bro thas an option I was comtemplating too, cause yea that mount gonna be ridiculous to bring een. Is just it cleaner & have more adjusatability. Goin Bhagw today & check what kina mounting solutions they having, will post up my eyefinity setup when I fin set it up :twisted:

Postby Chimera » December 24th, 2011, 11:31 am

this is rather interesting..and shouldn't cost much

http://techreport.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=70862

Postby Chimera » December 24th, 2011, 11:38 am

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 24th, 2011, 6:02 pm

^not a bad idea....Well Bhagwansingh ain't having what I want so I opted for this instead. Inexpensive with the adjustability I lookin for. Ordered 3, they're 3lbs ea. @ $20us ...

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 24th, 2011, 6:50 pm

anyone have a very high end computer that they would be willing to bring round to help me with a project before i spend the money on building a second one?

minimum spec:
intel i5 2500k
lots of ram 8gb+
ati 5870 crossfire
this is the minimum spec it needs to be more powerful than this as it is to test the concept.

this is what i am going to buy but i would like to see how it will perform maybe i can get away with less particularly the gpu
i7 2600k
16gb corsair vengeance
ati 6990.

if you have a gtx 580 or an ati 6970 in your system i would like to see if that is a good alternative to the 6990.
i iknow this is a strange request but it would help me greatly.; there will be a reward for helping me.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » December 24th, 2011, 7:20 pm

jm3 wrote:anyone have a very high end computer that they would be willing to bring round to help me with a project before i spend the money on building a second one?

minimum spec:
intel i5 2500k
lots of ram 8gb+
ati 5870 crossfire
this is the minimum spec it needs to be more powerful than this as it is to test the concept.

this is what i am going to buy but i would like to see how it will perform maybe i can get away with less particularly the gpu
i7 2600k
16gb corsair vengeance
ati 6990.

if you have a gtx 580 or an ati 6970 in your system i would like to see if that is a good alternative to the 6990.
i iknow this is a strange request but it would help me greatly.; there will be a reward for helping me.
why are you going after the 6000 series when the 7000 should be out next month?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 24th, 2011, 7:22 pm

jm3 wrote:there will be a reward for helping me.

i7 2600k :twisted:

But seriously it have a alot of info/videos online for you to scrutinize & help you make a decision.

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 24th, 2011, 7:27 pm

i need to know if it will do what i need it to do it will be working along side another computer its for a very extreme multi monitor setup i was just reading the 7000 series is due but will they have an eyefinity 6 version on release they dont normally get that for a few months.

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 24th, 2011, 7:30 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:

But seriously it have a alot of info/videos online for you to scrutinize & help you make a decision.

it is not for a normal computer setup i need to actually see its performance in my setup because it is very taxing on the hardware.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 24th, 2011, 9:39 pm

jm3 wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:

it is not for a normal computer setup i need to actually see its performance in my setup because it is very taxing on the hardware.

Check Chiney for dat one yes.

I still running the 1st gen i7 cpu and a 5xxx series radeon card. 8-)

SPRANG_A

Postby SPRANG_A » December 24th, 2011, 10:51 pm

anyone encounter this problem? because i baffled

i'm having a problem for the last 2-3 days where my Radeon hd 6950 works normally until i try opening team fortress 2 , at which point the video card will shut off (no signal to monitor) but the rest of the computer will remain on. I have updated to the latest driver pack, swapped in another 6950, and moved to another pci-e slot with the same results every time. Ran gpu-z with log and reproduced the error, temps remain between 47-49 celcius, so i know its not a heat issue, also monitoring voltages with tools that came with the mobo also with no irregularities...specs - hd 6950, asus m4a89td pro, aoc monitor, rosewill bronze 1000w power supply (or is it a team fortress problem? i've not seen any reports anywhere) anyways enjoy allyuh christmas

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 25th, 2011, 1:00 am

try reinstalling the game...

buddy5052

Postby buddy5052 » December 25th, 2011, 1:10 am

Most likely driver issues might have to revert back to older drivers for that game.I have the same issue with a gtx 470 but not in gaming from cold boot that exact same thing happens

Chiney

Postby Chiney » December 25th, 2011, 1:35 am

i dont think i will move my pc around for you to see the performance, but you can consider i did 38,000+ in vantage and 11k in pcmark 2011

2600k and 6990