Couva interchange opens.......wais d feedback?

MBC Autotronix

Couva interchange opens.......wais d feedback?

Postby MBC Autotronix » December 23rd, 2011, 7:14 pm

http://www.mowt.gov.tt/general/notice.aspx?noticeID=67

The Ministry of Works and Infrastructure wishes to advise the general public that a new traffic management plan is to be implemented in the vicinity of the Couva/Preysal Interchange.

This plan will take effect from Friday December 23, 2011, as a result motorists are advised to comply with the following:-

Proceed with caution
Observe all barriers and directional signs.
Adhere to instructions from Police Officers or Traffic Wardens in order to have this plan successfully implemented.

COUVA/PREYSAL INTERCHANGE
TRAFFIC DIVERSION PLAN PHASE I

Route #1
Vehicles traveling along the southbound (SB) lanes of the Solomon Hochoy Highway (SHH) wishing to access Preysal/Gran Couva should use the existing exit ramp and proceed east.

Route #2
Vehicles traveling along the SB lanes of the SHH wishing to access Balmain/Couva/ Rivulet Road /Point Lisas should exit unto the newly constructed ramp south of the overpass and proceed unto the loop and continue west unto Couva Main Road (CMR).

Route #3
Vehicles traveling along the CMR wishing to access the SB lanes of the SHH should do so by turning south at the newly constructed intersection located east of the overpass.

Route #4
Vehicles traveling along the CMR wishing to access Balmain/Couva should continue west along the CMR while vehicles wishing to access Rivulet Road/Point Lisas should turn south unto the Point Lisas Link Road (PLLR) and continue west at the roundabout.

Route #5
Vehicles travelling east along the CMR wishing to access the northbound (NB) lanes of the SHH should turn north at the existing entrance ramp to the highway.

Route #6
Vehicles traveling along the NB lanes of the SHH wishing to access Rivulet Road/Point Lisas/Balmain/Couva/Preysal/Gran Couva should exit at the newly constructed exit ramp. Vehicles wishing to access Balmain/Couva should proceed further west and turn north at Milton Road and PLLR Junction to the CMR.

Route #7A
Vehicles traveling along the PLLR wishing to access the northbound lanes of the SHH should proceed east from the roundabout, continue along the newly constructed entrance ramp and continue to the SHH.

Route #7B
Vehicles traveling along the PLLR wishing to access Preysal/Gran Couva or the SB lanes of the SHH should proceed east from the roundabout and continue north staying left to the existing ramp to the CMR.
couva interchange.jpg

zcarz

Re: Couva interchange opens.......wais d feedback?

Postby zcarz » December 23rd, 2011, 7:16 pm

couva ha roads?

Postby supercharged turbo » December 23rd, 2011, 7:22 pm

it ah lil confusing..needs some getting used to but once yuh follow de signs yuh orn!!

Postby pete » December 23rd, 2011, 7:26 pm

Damn and I avoided there lunch time cuz it hadn't been opened this morning. Ah well, hopefully it'll cut down my commute home by 10-15 mins :)

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 23rd, 2011, 7:51 pm

This evening had people driving on the wrong lanes/directions etc. I think it needs more signs.
But it was a very good design imo, let's see how it works out next week.

flower95

Postby flower95 » December 23rd, 2011, 8:03 pm

now pass a rta there . crv and a toyota. roads kinda confusing in the night.

nick009

Postby nick009 » December 23rd, 2011, 8:34 pm

got out of pt lisas in record time today around 1pm thou
not much ppl on the road , but still it was good to not have to stop

kingkdr

Postby kingkdr » December 23rd, 2011, 8:45 pm

more lighting needed......visibility is poor at night

TriP

Postby TriP » December 23rd, 2011, 9:01 pm

yuh see that route 3 ..straight back onto the solomon hochoy highway ..south bound..that exit rel longggggg..thatsss's ah sweeet drive...!! :lol:

axe

Postby axe » December 23rd, 2011, 9:17 pm

jacka$$e$ taking the east exit from the south bound and turning west almost write me off! why people just refuse t do the right thing?

Postby supercharged turbo » December 23rd, 2011, 9:18 pm

TriP wrote:yuh see that route 3 ..straight back onto the solomon hochoy highway ..south bound..that exit rel longggggg..thatsss's ah sweeet drive...!! :lol:

same thing i was thinking when i pass

Postby K74T » December 23rd, 2011, 9:24 pm

once I could still reach Alpine I eh really business nuh :drinking:

TriP

Postby TriP » December 23rd, 2011, 9:25 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:
TriP wrote:yuh see that route 3 ..straight back onto the solomon hochoy highway ..south bound..that exit rel longggggg..thatsss's ah sweeet drive...!! :lol:

same thing i was thinking when i pass

yea ..it a long stretchh..u can build up enough speed to fly out an timed the cars coming ..on the highway ..to exit..!!

Postby De Dragon » December 23rd, 2011, 11:34 pm

K74T wrote:once I could still reach Alpine I eh really business nuh :drinking:

Eh?

Postby UML » December 24th, 2011, 7:26 am

axe wrote:jacka$$e$ taking the east exit from the south bound and turning west almost write me off! why people just refuse t do the right thing?

is not they refuse to do the right thing......ppl like myself were caught unaware that the interchange had opened....nothing in the papers.....so when u done gone up the ramp as you do everyday you realize that you just exited the wrong way and had to turn to head west. the public was only informed at 7pm during the news.

Eh?

search the best food thread.

link

Postby link » December 24th, 2011, 7:51 am

is not they refuse to do the right thing......ppl like myself were caught unaware that the interchange had opened....nothing in the papers.....so when u done gone up the ramp as you do everyday you realize that you just exited the wrong way and had to turn to head west. the public was only informed at 7pm during the news.

did u break the law & cross the solid white lines at the top to 'head west' (like all the other ja's) ?
OR
did u do like in the States & Canada...u miss d turn ?? then drive 5 miles down to the next exit & come back....
the point here is...if the road signs say Preysal / Gran Couva and u want to go Balmain...why u turn ??? ent u know 'they' progressively bringing the interchange lanes into force. buh u still operate like if nuttin' happenin' ??
allah u all who stop at the top & 'cutback' to go Balmain shoulda get ah $1000 ticket to celebrate 2012.
stop the sheitin' complaining & embrace progress, man...WITH YR EYES OPEN

link

Postby link » December 24th, 2011, 7:54 am

That being said, I see that there is still one traffic light in force. I thought that ALL lights would have been eliminated...

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » December 24th, 2011, 7:56 am

^^ i think that is because only part of the interchange is completed and opened. The final thing is due to be completed in April 2012

Postby UML » December 24th, 2011, 7:59 am

link wrote:

did u break the law & cross the solid white lines at the top to 'head west' (like all the other ja's) ?
OR
did u do like in the States & Canada...u miss d turn ?? then drive 5 miles down to the next exit & come back....
the point here is...if the road signs say Preysal / Gran Couva and u want to go Balmain...why u turn ??? ent u know 'they' progressively bringing the interchange lanes into force. buh u still operate like if nuttin' happenin' ??
allah u all who stop at the top & 'cutback' to go Balmain shoulda get ah $1000 ticket to celebrate 2012.
stop the sheitin' complaining & embrace progress, man...WITH YR EYES OPEN

actually i did go to preysal side and turn around....but wudnt that be breaking the law too? :|

do u read the road signs every journey you take? the motoring public didnt think preysal and gran couva had moved

ok you were informed...i wasnt.

YUH WANT AH FIG?!!

(afraid of exciting RASC)
Last edited by UML on December 24th, 2011, 8:24 am, edited 2 times in total.

RuMS

Postby RuMS » December 24th, 2011, 8:00 am

it was in the papers thurs i tink......or dayb4

Postby UML » December 24th, 2011, 8:09 am

ok thanks for the correction. i must have missed it. :cry:

Postby SmokeyGTi » December 24th, 2011, 1:07 pm

ah sorry eh but this almost resembles a the male reproductive system :lol:

Postby Mark! » December 24th, 2011, 1:14 pm

lets just say i was really surprised when i passed there to go couva yesterday :lol:

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 24th, 2011, 1:40 pm

relatively smooth traffic flow
only a couple confused people doing toots, but there should have been a couple traffic wardens to continue to guide the noobs.

Postby bushwakka » December 24th, 2011, 1:57 pm

long leeeev Jack!

Postby black start » December 24th, 2011, 2:12 pm

*plots graph of increased traffic flow vs cost of project*

discussion

waste of tax payers forking money.....ah does wonder who does design dat kinda sheit for them unno sumhow i feel is bridge or bryan cuz is no common sense at all.....buh daz just me.....

Postby brams112 » December 24th, 2011, 4:15 pm

anyway trinis does ever read signs and follow the rules of the road?

Postby A172 » December 24th, 2011, 4:57 pm

this new design is great, much needed for that flyover

TalkNahs gon' cyak....phoqin illiterate cvnts

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » December 24th, 2011, 10:09 pm

It works well imo. Many drivers are not obeying the signs though. I would like to see how well it works at peak hours.

Postby Team Loco » December 24th, 2011, 10:53 pm

Its a good design, but because this is just phase 1, I forsee some traffic where the one traffic light remains. As for proper signage, its all there, no excuses. People need to read a bit, too much idiots bumping their gums