Anybody knows anything about planting garden?

spinner

Anybody knows anything about planting garden?

Postby spinner » December 23rd, 2011, 1:38 am

As the topic states, I am on holidays like "waw", actually 5 weeks and I am thinking about planting some cucumbers. The only problem is, I have no experience in the field...literally. Any advice will be appreciated.

O, I, Thinking about planting 1 acre.

Re: Anybody knows anything about planting garden?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 23rd, 2011, 7:13 am

google......

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 23rd, 2011, 8:58 am

Dig hole, plant seed, wait 5 weeks, eat cucumber.

/end ched

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » December 23rd, 2011, 9:02 am

ok they doh plant ah garden as uh topic says they plant seeds or plants .

get some good soil buy plants , spray them when they get big cook it.

patchoi , sweet pepper baigan , cucumber ochro easy 2 grow doh really need no special care

Postby Ted_v2 » December 23rd, 2011, 9:05 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:Dig hole, plant seed, wait 5 weeks, eat cucumber.

/end ched

this

oh and water it a bit too :|

Postby r3iXmann » December 23rd, 2011, 9:12 am

notsureifgooglebruk

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 23rd, 2011, 9:23 am

I used to plant small backyard at one time, but then I took an arrow to the knee.

Postby crazybalhead » December 23rd, 2011, 9:25 am

This is about digging in somebody back garden?

Postby cinco » December 23rd, 2011, 9:27 am

i cud show yuh how to sow seeds

Postby supercharged turbo » December 23rd, 2011, 10:43 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
Dig hole, plant seed, wait 5 weeks, eat cucumber.

/end ched

xauss

Postby xauss » December 23rd, 2011, 10:55 am

Strauss wrote:I used to plant small backyard at one time, but then I took an arrow to the knee.

Postby stev » December 23rd, 2011, 11:30 am

OP, u can save rel money plantin stuff yuh know. it wud decrease yuh market bill. my parents used to save like $200 a week wen dey had a small garden with seasoning and stuff. normal market bill was over $500.

Postby rfari » December 23rd, 2011, 11:33 am

OP. you typical agri shop would be able to help you out. I bought some seeds last week (approximately 1/2 lb) for $5. the agri dude said that its real easy to start. haven't done it yet

spinner

Postby spinner » December 23rd, 2011, 8:53 pm

Thanks alot fellas...maybe in a matter of weeks you'll be buying my cucumber and not even know it!!! Peace.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 23rd, 2011, 9:12 pm

OP this is my trade here is what you need for an acre or so..

at least $6000 capital tops..depending on how the land is this would cover brush cutting and rotovating...you would need at least 100 bags of manure...use chicken manure though,it's cheaper,but you would need to threat it..

listen of chemicals/nutrients/equipment you may need..

at least 2pk seeds (different varieties exist,it's up to you.)
crates,for setting seeds (pro mix,rhizolex,miracle grow) that would take ah 2wks or so..

for planting and general use.

blau korn( best plant food) apply just before flowering...about 4 applications for the entire crop
12-24-12 rooting salt (after about 2wks in the ground)
thiovin-worms
ph plus
repel-downey mildue(disease)
bountiful harvest/greenstem (plant food)
bee scent (attract more bees/insects for increase pollination
bio 20 (booster)
pronto 35( white flies)
ethrin insecticide

different varieties of cucumber inclue: odyessy,rockingharm,vlaspick..etc etc..I have planted all and have experience in all...for further info..send pms if you like...

btw cucumber is an "iffy" crop,you could make real plenty or loose real plenty as well..

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 23rd, 2011, 9:58 pm

shakes, ppl does charge for that level of advice

Postby rfari » December 23rd, 2011, 10:10 pm

shakes, yuh geh orn rell bad dey dan! i hadda check u when i doing my stuff.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 23rd, 2011, 10:10 pm

^^ so I have heard...but giving the advice is one thing...actually doing the action to perfection is another...

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » December 23rd, 2011, 11:45 pm

dude...don't plant an acre of anything if u don't have experience....especially cucumbers..
try planting jus a little first....trust me, u will learn wayyy more from that experience than anyone can ever advise...

**shake d livin wake d dead** covered most of the basics btw...and he's right...giving advice and actually doing it is completely different...

Postby rfari » December 23rd, 2011, 11:53 pm

As we on the topic. What opinion you agri guys have on growing crops at certain phases of the moon? I know that the moon affects tide and soil but is it a noticeable difference when it comes to crop yield?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » December 23rd, 2011, 11:55 pm

spinner

Postby spinner » December 24th, 2011, 6:10 am

shake d livin wake d dead , thanks I really appreciated your advice. jramsarran, I understand your point. I am doing it for entertainment and experience, if I happen to make money in the process that wil be all good too. Thanks again everybody...pictures in a timing???

On another note, went Paramin to get some chive, the hill is sooo steep that you could actually pick cabbages and chive without bending!!!

Postby skylinechild » December 24th, 2011, 6:11 am

see my sig ....

neals

Postby neals » December 24th, 2011, 6:41 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:OP this is my trade here is what you need for an acre or so..

at least $6000 capital tops..depending on how the land is this would cover brush cutting and rotovating...you would need at least 100 bags of manure...use chicken manure though,it's cheaper,but you would need to threat it..

listen of chemicals/nutrients/equipment you may need..

at least 2pk seeds (different varieties exist,it's up to you.)
crates,for setting seeds (pro mix,rhizolex,miracle grow) that would take ah 2wks or so..

for planting and general use.

blau korn( best plant food) apply just before flowering...about 4 applications for the entire crop
12-24-12 rooting salt (after about 2wks in the ground)
thiovin-worms
ph plus
repel-downey mildue(disease)
bountiful harvest/greenstem (plant food)
bee scent (attract more bees/insects for increase pollination
bio 20 (booster)
pronto 35( white flies)
ethrin insecticide

different varieties of cucumber inclue: odyessy,rockingharm,vlaspick..etc etc..I have planted all and have experience in all...for further info..send pms if you like...

btw cucumber is an "iffy" crop,you could make real plenty or loose real plenty as well..

this. or for seed- u could pass in my asasco and get seedlings by the crate

Postby De Dragon » December 24th, 2011, 6:41 am

rfari wrote:OP. you typical agri shop would be able to help you out. I bought some seeds last week (approximately 1/2 lb) for $5. the agri dude said that its real easy to start. haven't done it yet

Allyuh eh easy nah! :lol: :lol: :lol:

neals

Postby neals » December 24th, 2011, 6:45 am

rfari wrote:As we on the topic. What opinion you agri guys have on growing crops at certain phases of the moon? I know that the moon affects tide and soil but is it a noticeable difference when it comes to crop yield?

not really. i does just plant when ever the beds ready and the plants there. cant wait for a moon phase. no real difference to me. the most i cud see the moon acting on is proberly water in the soil. regardless if it hadda water i would toat buckets or run drip hoses

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 24th, 2011, 7:20 am

neals, it much cheaper to buy a pack of seeds than to go asasco, tomatoes are an easier crop though

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 24th, 2011, 8:06 am

rfari wrote:As we on the topic. What opinion you agri guys have on growing crops at certain phases of the moon? I know that the moon affects tide and soil but is it a noticeable difference when it comes to crop yield?

this is an ole skool method and yet a very good method..using the mc donalds book is a guide works for me...it all depends on what you planting though...different root types are planted at different stages...

personally planting 3 days before or after the full moon does the trick...planting in the dark night or last 1/4= wasting money...

as for the OP..you may also need spray cans,mist blower etc..well you would need...
also,what about irrigation? how do you plan on watering the plants..I hope by not waiting for rain to fall... :| cucumber is a crop that needs a lot of water..if you're pumping water from a river,or pond then you should be ok...do you have hoses and pipes...if not then you would need way more than $6000..

I also forgot to mention that you would encounter bachak...so you would need to get some bachak bait and place it near the nest...otherwise you would be seeing pieces of cucumber leaves..another important point to note is to ensure that enough breeze passes through the beds and in between the plants...therefore remove any unwanted grass that will be inside there...this is to ensure that wind pollination takes place..I may be wrong but I believe we used "agil" to remove unwanted weeds..I'd have to check..

be prepared for birds,wildlife,to eat a few cucumbers,you can't help that..if you see an agouti call meh :lol: we go deal with that.........
as for the varieties of cucumber: vlaspick= great yields but only 2 weeks of picking...picks of diseases really fast....rather cheap though,about $65 ah tin.

odessy= most expensive about $200 ah pack..but it is one of those that lasts longer in the field because it was designed in a way to fight of most diseases...fruit is rather nice though...rockingham,imo same story as vlaspick..you won't believe how much I laugh when I hear people say all cucumber is the same...

be very aware for white flies...they are usually present under the leaf,when these appear be very concerned,because they would Fack up your crop...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 24th, 2011, 7:31 pm

btw OP,it would be cheaper to buy seedlings by the pack and set them in crates,rather than buying them from ASASCO..however,if you don't know about setting seeds it's best you buy,because you may not know how to mix the nutrients..

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » December 24th, 2011, 8:43 pm

plant cucumbers "direct seed" FTW....not seedlings...
u always get a stronger plant and it adapts much faster. plus...not transplant shock/stress.

yes...you may need to supply <replant> a couple that dont germinate...but that's really insignificant...

@ shake...try that bro...^^^...u will be surprised at the performance.
and btw...i harvest vlaspic more than 2 weeks... :o