delete

Re: Tiida vs Accent vs Fiesta

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 22nd, 2011, 11:34 pm

bushwakka wrote:go with the tiida...i still find the hyundai interiors very cheap feeling like they gonna fall off in 2 yrs time altho i admit the accent is far nicer and comes wit more features....jus concerned abt longevity

Since Renault took over Nissan, their mainstream cars' interiors are even cheaper looking than Hyundai's.

I had a first generation Hyundai Accent and the only interior problem was cracking of the dashboard. I have seen Nissan Maximas which cost tens of thousands of dollars more than the Accent with cracked up dashboards also.

As with any car, proper maintenance is the key to longevity. That Accent I had which was bought new, I had it for 10 years and 343,000km with no significant problems whatsoever.

My picks from the listing would be:
1) Hyundai Accent
2) Ford Fiesta
3) Nissan Tiida

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 22nd, 2011, 11:35 pm

Mark! wrote:Image

B-B-B-B-B-BOAR!

That Tiida is looking like a minivan with a bodykit and front splitter.

Postby Trini Hookah » December 23rd, 2011, 12:11 am

*raises up rock*

I didn't even know we had Fiestas available locally.

And the Tiida Mark posted, there's a similar one that's always around Chasevillage, was up for sale on tuner too.

*crawls back under rock*

Postby Habit7 » December 23rd, 2011, 12:26 am

Ever considered this Italian Stallion? Small car but big interior.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 23rd, 2011, 12:31 am

Habit7 wrote:Image

Ever considered this Italian Stallion? Small car but big interior.

Is that the windscreen seal raising up at the top edge?

Postby Habit7 » December 23rd, 2011, 12:45 am

this is a better pic

Postby Morpheus » December 23rd, 2011, 3:22 am

sound boy 64 wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:with some effort the tiida could look pretty good.

this

The hatchback can look quite good actually. The sedan? :?

And to correct an earlier comment. The ugliest car since the first Yaris has to be the Suzuki SX4 sedan. OMG VOMIT!!!

Postby Dizzy28 » December 23rd, 2011, 8:32 am

foss wrote:I'm not impressed by Fords range of cars...

they all look like they were hit with the ugly stick and left to die.

Nah the new Mondeo decent looking

agent007

Postby agent007 » December 23rd, 2011, 9:00 am

delete
Last edited by agent007 on April 19th, 2012, 8:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 23rd, 2011, 9:08 am

Morpheus wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:with some effort the tiida could look pretty good.

this

The hatchback can look quite good actually. The sedan? :?

And to correct an earlier comment. The ugliest car since the first Yaris has to be the Suzuki SX4 sedan. OMG VOMIT!!!

the sedan orglie dan :|

Postby crazybalhead » December 23rd, 2011, 9:14 am

I doh care what yuh do to a Teedah. IT STILL ORGLY.

But, given the choices, I would still buy one.

Postby rfari » December 23rd, 2011, 9:56 am

cinco wrote:buy the tiida you goin an get marrid perfect car to show you just lost your balls

Postby Habit7 » December 23rd, 2011, 10:10 am

agent007 wrote:The Fiat Punto is actually a bargain with those safety features but we need a trunk. Thanks for posting the add habit.

Its funny that you say that because in Europe hatchbacks are more popular than sedans. You may think that a trunk offers you more space but with the seats folded down, a hatchback is almost like a covered van tray.

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » December 23rd, 2011, 10:35 am

Accent !!

In my opinion....The new generations of hyundais are a class above........

1. Value for money
2. Ergonomics of the vehicle
3. Reliablility - tucson doing 160,000k and nothing major done to drivetrain or suspension and it still is crisp and tight as with a low mileager.
4. Long lasting Bodies - 14 year old accent that refused to rust.....parks in rain and dew...paint gone but no rust...

snowman

Postby snowman » December 23rd, 2011, 11:17 am

Tiida.

Postby bushwakka » December 23rd, 2011, 9:21 pm

slimshiney wrote:Accent !!

1. Value for money
3. Reliablility - tucson doing 160,000k and nothing major done to drivetrain or suspension and it still is crisp and tight as with a low mileager.
4. Long lasting Bodies - 14 year old accent that refused to rust.....parks in rain and dew...paint gone but no rust...

park by nu iron nah

Postby Habit7 » December 23rd, 2011, 10:11 pm

bushwakka wrote:
slimshiney wrote:Accent !!

1. Value for money

park by nu iron nah

THIS

zando

Postby zando » December 24th, 2011, 2:53 pm

No one answering my question!! does the new accent come with the 1.6 GDI as atleast an option?? also how much power does that 1.4 make?

zando

Postby zando » December 24th, 2011, 3:43 pm

I answered my question, but i'll put the info here incase anyone wants to know also, i talked to someone from Hyundaitt and they said the Accent only comes with either the 1.4 gas engine or the 1.6 turbo diesel, i'm thinking that diesel is the best way to go, 126 hp and 191 ft-lb of torque(conversion i did) the gas engine is about 107 hp and about the same torque nos.

Postby Hook » December 24th, 2011, 5:32 pm

a 1.4L n/a gasoline engine putting out the same torque as it's 1.6L turbo diesel counterpart? srsly dawg? srsly? :|

Postby sliderz1 » December 24th, 2011, 7:44 pm

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » December 26th, 2011, 1:50 pm

sliderz1 wrote:
Hook wrote:It's between the Tiida and the Accent, so go with the Accent.

Tint, mats and alarm you can get for yourself for under $2500 and roadside assistance you can get as a TTAA member...which pretty much leaves 15" alloys and a stereo with come kinda ol' skool headphone jack input, both of which most Tiida owners change anyway...not cool for a vehicle that runs on Premium.

Take the Accent.

HR15de runs on a minimum of 91RON
super will work fine

True. But the local Tiida comes with the HR16DE. If you check the manual, the HR16De is spec-ed to run a minimum of 95 RON only. Check one if you don't believe me.

That said, many owners use super in the 1.6's.

And btw..Accent > Tiida. The Tiida being sold by N&M is a design that's been out since late 2004. It's been replaced by the new model Versa/Tiida in the int'l market. So the OP would be buying a car that's already "outdated" so to speak.

At least the Accent and Fiesta are current models.

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » December 29th, 2011, 12:31 am

They are all good choices that are quite capable of filling the traffic meister void. Let's see if we can find a few poignant details to make the choice even harder.

• The Tiida is the 1.6 of the bunch, prob the fastest and handles well in rainy annual 'dexes in Tobago as was proven by the driver of the oddly popular "Mom's Tiida". Hypo-allergenic a/c filter. If you get sinus and allergy probs, this is your best bet. I say style it like the racecar and shove an SR16VE in there when you get a chance. Nissan reliability is usually ridiculously good.

• The Accent Blue 1.4 - newest car in the lineup. Supposed to give ridiculously good fuel economy. Baby-Sonata bodystyle is an absolute winner in this group, look at the lines from any angle and you'll notice new details each time. Rims, tint and music might make it a decent ride. Real peeps pumping it stock tho. Strangely, they call the gas engine the Blue and the $180k diesel one the CRDi. And if you calculate the price difference of $30K you'll realise that it comes close to the fuel savings of diesel vs gas at current prices over 5 years. Go figure. Diesel is the more exciting drive though, keeps up with the average 2.5TD pickups and will clock 170km/h+ easily.

• The Ford Fiesta. Believe it or not this is a real driver's car, not for the acceleration but the handling. Whip it hard into a corner and get ready for under, neutral then oversteer. I want to see Devi or Kirk push this car around a 'dex course. Oh and that 5-year warranty deal covers nearly everything except tires. You get brake pads, engine mounts, wipers whatever for 5 whole years/100,000km. Sound system upgrades will be challenging/interesting with their proprietary deck and dashboard display. 2.6 turns to lock on the steering wheel - google that and see which other cars are similar. Hatchback version should be prettier and not sure we are getting the most current model.

• And since someone threw in the Punto, it's a very interesting car with that funky semi-auto manual gearbox. Good deal on the price. Handling is stiff for such a little car. Both combine to make it all videogame-ish to drive. Let's put a turbo on and see what happens.

agent007

Postby agent007 » December 29th, 2011, 9:12 am

delete
Last edited by agent007 on April 19th, 2012, 8:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby cinco » December 29th, 2011, 9:17 am

no the rio is cheaper
and the cerato is the same price

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » December 29th, 2011, 9:45 am

True cinco and don't forget the Suzuki Swift 1.4 and the Chevy Aveo hatch...

agent007

Postby agent007 » December 29th, 2011, 10:06 am

delete
Last edited by agent007 on April 19th, 2012, 8:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby cinco » December 29th, 2011, 10:18 am

wow about 3 months ago they told me the rio was 128 the 1.4
and well the cerato was 170 my bad i just realised you were looking at 150 flat

felix

Postby felix » January 1st, 2012, 6:32 pm

man if you looking at cost of maintenance and resale value none of those beats a nissan take my word for it 5 or 6 years down the road you wont regret buying a nissan you will ketch hell to maintain a fiesta and get next to nothing for the the accent and fiesta when you ready to sell

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 1st, 2012, 6:44 pm

felix wrote:man if you looking at cost of maintenance and resale value none of those beats a nissan take my word for it 5 or 6 years down the road you wont regret buying a nissan you will ketch hell to maintain a fiesta and get next to nothing for the the accent and fiesta when you ready to sell

since you is psychic, what is d lotto numbers :|