Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby mediahouse » December 19th, 2011, 8:04 am

siri on iphone 4 waw...

who need 4s now eh?

Postby M_2NR » December 19th, 2011, 1:55 pm

welcome to the past mediahouse... geez hoss...

Don't rely on any port besides the one from chpwn and the steve guy... they cracked the keys and you need that as well, not just the files

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 19th, 2011, 5:18 pm

prop wrote:@ Parvin...

When I restored just used the backup data, not the new option. What did you use?

Iused a back-up as well but my device was new when i synced it and never had anything installed until after the update

SRASC

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby SRASC » December 19th, 2011, 6:15 pm

That's a class I'd like to be part of
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1324332878.759605.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 19th, 2011, 6:33 pm

As I now use mostly a browser and Adobe CS5 suite to do all my work, I'm seriously contemplating making the jump to Mac.... But I have jitters

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 19th, 2011, 7:45 pm

The iPhone Dev-Team has updated RedSn0w for iOS 5.0.1 and added some new useful features.

What's New in RedSn0w 0.9.9b9:
● native support for 5.0.1 (no need to point redsn0w at 5.0 IPSW or use command-line args). Support automatically extends to all of redsn0w's various functions: "Jailbreak", "Just boot", "Fetch blobs", "Stitch blobs", "Recovery Fix"
● iBooks fixed in 5.0 and 5.0.1. This is a targeted fix that doesn't remove entire sandbox mechanism. 5.x users already using redsn0w "Just Boot" can just use the new version without redoing entire jailbreak again
● 3GS old-bootrom owners can now create custom IPSWs without blobs
● ultrasn0w compatability update (i.e. same baseband requirements) for 5.0.1 will be available on Cydia Monday
● support for newer 8GB iPhone4 (which until now had problems with "Fetch blobs"). Thanks to @JKjeepnJeff for loaning us one of these newer i4 units for testing!
● allows Windows users (not just OS X users) to use the "Custom" button to create IPSWs without baseband updates
● accommodates APTickets in 5.x (until next Apple countermove). APTickets are crypto-verified before submitting to Cydia, just like the main blobs. Cydia server support for sending back the APTickets is upcoming. For now, use stitched IPSWs for 5.x. Due to APTickets, stitched 5.x IPSWs now require user to start in "Pwned DFU" mode
● Support added for stitching 4.x blobs to iPad2-GSM IPSWs. Similar to @notcom's TinyCFW but doesn't require lots of RAM or a TSS-assisted restore. Won't work for iPad2 5.x blobs (or iPhone4S at all) until a bootrom-level exploit is out
● top line now shows whether (and where) a redsn0w update is available, or if the version being run is the latest. Uses DNS TXT record to alleviate any concerns about snooping
● no 5.1 beta support at this time (major apps like Cydia are not yet compatible)
● @pod2g has been doing a great job porting his 5.x untether…check his blog for updates!
● Owners of newer 3GS iPhones must not flash the iPad baseband. The iPad baseband will not work on 3GS iPhones built later than 2011 week 35.

You can download the new version of RedSn0w from here.

------

While hackers have already managed to figure out how to get a tethered jailbreak working for any iOS device released before the iPhone 4, and there’s even an untethered jailbreak on the horizon thanks to jailbreak master pod2g.

But what of the iPhone 4S and iPad 2? Thanks to security enhancements made to the A5 CPU, they are tougher nuts to crack. But hope is in sight, thanks to the efforts of pod2G, who thinks he’s almost managed to successfully jailbreak the iPhone 4S… except for one little hiccup.

The untether fails right now because I’m having processor cache issues.

I’m close, but I can’t figure out what happens. It certainly has something to do with the Cortex-A9 cache management.

pod2g promises that there’ll be another update tomorrow, but things sound like they are coming along nicely, and an untethered jailbreak may well be within reach. And if the iPhone 4S goes untethered, you can expect the iPad 2 under iOS 5.0.1 to come right after.

------

Research in Motion's struggles in the smartphone market have driven its stock price so low that the company is worth less than the estimated value of just Apple's App Store.

At a price of $13.44, RIMM stock finished last week at a total value of just $7.04 billion. That's less than the $7.08 billion that Apple's App Store is estimated to be worth, as noted by author Brian S. Hall.

An analysis from Trefis places the value of the App Store at 2 percent of Apple's market cap. AAPL stock has a market cap of $354 billion, or more than 50 times greater than RIMM, and 2 percent of that means the App Store contributes $7.08 billion to Apple's market cap.

"The App Store is probably worth more than BlackBerry," Hall wrote. "All of BlackBerry. Just the App Store. Nothing else. Not the iPhone or iPod. Not Mac. Just the App Store."

RIM's stock has plummeted since the company announced last week that BlackBerry shipments saw a slight decline year over year while the company managed to sell just 150,000 PlayBook tablets last quarter. Meanwhile, Apple's iPad is likely to soon eclipse RIM's BlackBerry in total sales, with RIM guiding shipments of between 11 million and 12 million BlackBerry units next quarter, while Apple sold more than 11 million iPads last quarter.

RIM also announced last week that its forthcoming next-generation smartphone operating system, BlackBerry 10, has been delayed until the second half of 2012. That has prompted some analysts to wonder if the new platform will be too little, too late to the high-end smartphone market.

Apple's iOS App Store has been a key component in the company's continued success for the iPhone and iPad. One report last week indicated that iOS applications bring in 300 percent more revenue than their Android counterparts.

Apple's iTunes Store and App Store reportedly cost as much as $1.3 billion a year to operate. The company has maintained for years that makes little profit from the storefronts. Developers have received $2.5 billion in payments as a result of the App Store.

Oh how the mighty have fallen

------

Whoa. Apple just won a big court victory against HTC that could force HTC to stop selling its Android phones in the United States. The United States International Trade Commission ruled that HTC was infringing on an Apple patent that effects HTC Android devices running Android 1.6 to 2.2.

The devices that may be banned from being sold in the US is basically a who's who list of Android phones: Droid Incredible, Evo 4G, T-Mobile G2, Nexus One and a bunch of older Android devices. The patent that the courts ruled HTC was infringing on (#5,946,647) is potentially a big one. According to Fortune, who took a deep look at the specific patent, it works like this:

When an iPhone receives a message that contains a phone number or an address — e-mail, Web or street — those bits of data are automatically highlighted, underlined and turned into clickable links.

Click on the phone number, and the iPhone asks if you want to dial it. Click on the Web address, and it opens in Safari. Click on the street address, and Maps will display it.

That's huge, not only because it's an important feature in smartphones but because it could mean Apple could go on to attack other Android phone makers because it's the OS that's infringing the patent, not the hardware. However, if HTC Android phones removed that feature (unlikely) or implement it in a different way (which we expect HTC to do), they could keep on selling. And that's pretty much what HTC expects to do, HTC, which has responded to this decision with rainbow colored unicorn tears, reached out to us with this statement:

This decision is a win for HTC and we are gratified that the commission affirmed the judge's determination on the ‘721 and ‘983 patents, and reversed its decision on the ‘263 patent and partially on the ‘647 patent. We are very pleased with the determination and we respect it. However, the ‘647 patent is a small UI experience and HTC will completely remove it from all of our phones soon.

Yes, the patent in question is a fixable problem but I'd hardly categorize the court's decision as a win for HTC. If HTC doesn't fix this issue however, the ban on HTC Android phones in the US is set to take into effect on April 19, 2012. That's not winning.

There are still some real moves left for HTC to make to avoid the import ban (a Presidential veto is an option) but this is sure setting up for a major stateside war (thermonuclear, even) between Apple and Android phone makers much like with what's happening with Apple and Samsung Tablets in Europe and Australia.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 20th, 2011, 6:17 am

Some help needed, I jailbroke my ipod touch, cydia is installed, how do I go about adding apps that are on my pc, every time I try to do it through itunes I keep getting a failed to install msg

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 20th, 2011, 8:38 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Some help needed, I jailbroke my ipod touch, cydia is installed, how do I go about adding apps that are on my pc, every time I try to do it through itunes I keep getting a failed to install msg

Add this repo

Code: Select all

http://cydia.hackulo.us

and download Installous

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » December 20th, 2011, 10:27 am

Make sure and set installous to automatically install downloads so you won't have to go through the headache of manually pressing each app for it to install

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 20th, 2011, 10:43 am

Man has iCloud become a StormCloud for me lately.

Photo Stream now only stops uploading to the computer but updates fine on the phone
(I think this is also iCloud related), that my contact pictures disappear & don't show up even after using apps like SmartSync to get them back (though they show up under the Contacts app)
& not to mention my previously mentioned Mail issues where I don't get notified of new email unless by chance or I check the app manually
& Bookmarks never being synced unless I basically turn off & on iCloud.

(sigh)

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » December 20th, 2011, 1:25 pm

The ultrasn0w 1.2.5 update coming either today or tomorrow .

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=10.410621,-61.471246

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » December 20th, 2011, 5:16 pm

I have been getting this error when jailbreaking 3GS phones. Ultrasnow failing to load . I feel the Dev Team updating it .

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=10.410475,-61.470329
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1324415679.863790.jpg

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 20th, 2011, 8:00 pm

Questions here

1. Does Twitter notifications work? I don't get any.

2. Is theer any way to add a world clock to the Notification Center?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 20th, 2011, 9:15 pm

Parvin wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Some help needed, I jailbroke my ipod touch, cydia is installed, how do I go about adding apps that are on my pc, every time I try to do it through itunes I keep getting a failed to install msg

Add this repo

Code: Select all

http://cydia.hackulo.us

and download Installous

iDynamic wrote:Make sure and set installous to automatically install downloads so you won't have to go through the headache of manually pressing each app for it to install

thanks 8-)

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 21st, 2011, 11:59 am

firstchoicett wrote:I have been getting this error when jailbreaking 3GS phones. Ultrasnow failing to load . I feel the Dev Team updating it .

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=10.410475,-61.470329

Yea got that too, had to install it manually

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 21st, 2011, 7:11 pm

Anyone know if there is a fix for the GPS of an iPhone 3G with the iPad baseband?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 21st, 2011, 7:38 pm

Ultrasn0w 1.2.5 released for iOS 5.0.1

http://www.redmondpie.com/unlock-ios-5. ... -tutorial/

Postby M_2NR » December 21st, 2011, 8:04 pm

SRASC wrote:Anyone know if there is a fix for the GPS of an iPhone 3G with the iPad baseband?

na none. talking about that too... most new 36th week 2011 3GS, DO NOT Flash iPad Baseband to it. it wont work ;)

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » December 21st, 2011, 8:06 pm

firstchoicett wrote:The ultrasn0w 1.2.5 update coming either today or tomorrow .

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=10.410621,-61.471246
Posted yesterday and confirmed today with the unlock.

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby M_2NR » December 21st, 2011, 8:49 pm

oh.. that unlock is a mere UPDATE. No new basebands are supported ;)

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 22nd, 2011, 3:24 pm

This real bad ... lol

PapaC

Postby PapaC » December 22nd, 2011, 5:01 pm

Parvin wrote:This real bad ... lol

Lol hat was hilarious

And FYI
Whatsapp is free on the App Store right now. So if you don't got it, get it.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 22nd, 2011, 5:03 pm

Also look up LogMeIn. Great app to remotely log into your computer from your iOS device

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 23rd, 2011, 8:29 am

One of the unfortunate byproducts of owning an iOS device is that your Home button can become a little sluggish over time. When you get your new iPhone or iPad and use it initially, the Home button works smoothly, but it can eventually become less responsive.

Fortunately, there’s a subtle trick in iOS for recalibrating your Home button. After performing this tip on your personal iOS device, you should notice that your Home button is considerably more responsive when you’re navigating throughout iOS.

iDownloadBlog passes on an incredibly helpful tip that many probably don’t know about. It’s actually a very simple process to recalibrate your Home button; simply open a stock iOS app (Weather, Stocks, Clock, etc.). Once the app is open, press your iPhone’s power button until the ‘slide to power off’ screen appears. From that screen, press and hold your Home button until iOS force quits the stock app you have open. You’re done! No rocket science required.

------

LogMeIn has released a free version of their Mac/PC remote control software for the iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch. The free version will let you control your computer but pro features such as HD video and sound streaming costs $39.99/year.

Remotely control your PCs and Macs over WiFi/3G with the free LogMeIn app on your iPad or iPhone. It works with LogMeIn's free award-winning software installed on as many computers as you like. You can remotely access your files, run your applications and control your desktops from anywhere. With everything at your fingertips, you're finally free to go.

Free Features:
• Access your home and work computers on the go.
• Control your Mac or PC as if you're sitting right in front of it.
• Get to your computer files and edit them from your iPad or iPhone.
• Remotely run any application on your computer from your iPad or iPhone.
• Fix computer problems remotely for business or personal IT.

Pro Features:
• HD video and sound streaming for seamless remote control from any device or Pro enabled computer (available for Windows, Mac coming soon)
• My Cloud Bank integration that links your LogMeIn app with popular cloud services
• File Manager for transferring files and folders between computers and saving them to your device
• Remote printing to any AirPrint compatible printer
• Photo App Management for accessing and transferring photos from/to your iPad or iPhone photo library

How does the in-app subscription upgrade to LogMeIn Pro work?
• Downloading the app is free, and includes FREE remote control of all your computers
• If you choose to upgrade to a LogMeIn Pro subscription, simply select yearly ($39.99)

You can download LogMeIn from the App Store for free.

------

pod2g has handed over his A4 untethered jailbreak to the Chronic Dev Team in order to concentrate on Apple A5 chipset devices, namely the iPad 2 and iPhone 4S. The Chronic Dev Team will test and finish his A4 untether for release as soon as possible.

This comes after accomplishing an untethered jailbreak for all A4 devices as well as overcoming a cache issue for A5 devices.

There are tons of users on both Apple A4 chipset and A5 chipset devices. While many people are waiting for an A5 jailbreak, A4 users have been waiting even longer. It also makes sense that no jailbreak developer wants to burn an exploit that Apple may patch in iOS 5.1.

biggz1985

Postby biggz1985 » December 23rd, 2011, 9:25 am

Where sells(In Trinidad) Apple Video Cable Adapter for TV???? Put your slides, movies, photos, and everything else that fills your screen on an even bigger screen a VGA-equipped TV, monitor or external projector for video mirroring. The Apple VGA Adapter mirrors exactly what you see on iPhone so that everyone in the room can enjoy it.
The Apple VGA Adapter supports video out (only) for iPad, iPhone 4, or iPod touch (4th generation).

PapaC

Postby PapaC » December 23rd, 2011, 9:57 am

Can someone give me screenshots of the Cellular Data Settings to in put to use Digicel prepaid Data Bundle on an iphone4?
I was told just put internet in the apn and that doesn't work.

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 23rd, 2011, 10:03 am

See attached
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1324648969.178013.jpg

Postby Redman » December 23rd, 2011, 10:24 am

Would those be the same for post paid?

Im still trying to figure out the settings to get the data service.

Im on the BB unlimited plan post paid.

Thanks!

Later

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » December 23rd, 2011, 10:28 am

SRASC wrote:One of the unfortunate byproducts of owning an iOS device is that your Home button can become a little sluggish over time. When you get your new iPhone or iPad and use it initially, the Home button works smoothly, but it can eventually become less responsive.

Fortunately, there’s a subtle trick in iOS for recalibrating your Home button. After performing this tip on your personal iOS device, you should notice that your Home button is considerably more responsive when you’re navigating throughout iOS.

iDownloadBlog passes on an incredibly helpful tip that many probably don’t know about. It’s actually a very simple process to recalibrate your Home button; simply open a stock iOS app (Weather, Stocks, Clock, etc.). Once the app is open, press your iPhone’s power button until the ‘slide to power off’ screen appears. From that screen, press and hold your Home button until iOS force quits the stock app you have open. You’re done! No rocket science required.

Thanks, This has been a problem for quite a while!

PapaC

Postby PapaC » December 23rd, 2011, 10:31 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:See attached

worked like a charm.
first thing i did was turn off data in Settings before i get a $400 data bill, the amount of times this phone does try to refresh something, be it mail or whatever.