AbstractPoetic wrote:In no way should I be bound to one contractor, especially if that contractor is not getting the job done the way we discussed.
rfari wrote:OP, you contradicting yourself unno. variation 'fees' part of final discussed fee?????? wha??? you talking about a provisional sum or contingency? what really going on???
Rory Phoulorie wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:In no way should I be bound to one contractor, especially if that contractor is not getting the job done the way we discussed.
AP, that is why you need to have a proper set of Tender Documents prepared by someone who knows what he/she is doing before you even start construction. Some important parts of the Tender Documents are:
1) Conditions of Contract (FIDIC Short Form of Contract is highly suggested)
2) Bill of Quantities (prepared in accordance with SMM7 - Standard Method of Measurement for Building Works or an approved equivalent)
3) Drawings (stamped by a registered Architect and Engineer and which have been approved by the relevant statutory agencies)
4) Specifications (defines scope for each work item, material requirements and workmanship requirements)
The Conditions of Contract are what will protect you from poor performance by the Contractor. You can define the Time for Completion of the Works, delay damages to be imposed on the Contractor if he does not finish within the Time for Completion, the warranty (Defects Notification Period) that you want on the work performed, and the like.
AbstractPoetic wrote:Rory Phoulorie wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:In no way should I be bound to one contractor, especially if that contractor is not getting the job done the way we discussed.
AP, that is why you need to have a proper set of Tender Documents prepared by someone who knows what he/she is doing before you even start construction. Some important parts of the Tender Documents are:
1) Conditions of Contract (FIDIC Short Form of Contract is highly suggested)
2) Bill of Quantities (prepared in accordance with SMM7 - Standard Method of Measurement for Building Works or an approved equivalent)
3) Drawings (stamped by a registered Architect and Engineer and which have been approved by the relevant statutory agencies)
4) Specifications (defines scope for each work item, material requirements and workmanship requirements)
The Conditions of Contract are what will protect you from poor performance by the Contractor. You can define the Time for Completion of the Works, delay damages to be imposed on the Contractor if he does not finish within the Time for Completion, the warranty (Defects Notification Period) that you want on the work performed, and the like.
Isn't this something the PM can do on my behalf?
AbstractPoetic wrote:rfari wrote:OP, you contradicting yourself unno. variation 'fees' part of final discussed fee?????? wha??? you talking about a provisional sum or contingency? what really going on???
Estimate cost of project + Estimate cost of variations =
Final non-negotiable fees associated with completion of project.
This is separate from PM fees.
X2 wrote:You still haven't said how complex this project is, so a PM or contractor will only be talking out thier pie hole till then.
X2 wrote:Keep thinking you can go in and bark at contractors and refuse to pay for variations and you will see just how fast a contractor will walk off on the project with all thier staff... PM in place or not.
X2 wrote:I have worked on many projects in Trinidad with some of the 'best ' Pm's in TnT, USA and Europe from top construction and architectural firms from around the world and I will tell you that even the best make mistakes and can't avoid variations sometimes...even on small projects like homes. I do not know Rhatid's work, but the BEST bet is an experienced contractor with PM certs, which is what he seems to be. The only real way to avoid major variations is to have a great, trustworthy contractor and a good PM to help run the show. Unfortunately, Trini contractors typically make a living from variations..they almost expect and rely on having vars in every contract.... it's like bribery in India.
Execting a PM to hire the contractor and control all costs is a bit over enthusiastic tho... I wish you luck in your project, but as you mentioned, you will be away... and that managing a project from abroad will roughly equate to what I say about cars.... Fast, Cheap, Reliable... you get to pick two.
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:AP ,
A couple questions regarding your plans.
Can you state the approximate square footage of the project?
Can you also state the proposed date for completion?
Thanks in advance.
SR wrote:for someone who claims to be educated you are using an old talk forum to do your reserach to hire someone.................
together with the freshwater yankee attitude
suggest you find your ass down to trinidad and conduct interviews yourself
crossdrilled wrote:If she has a reputable builder and a PM who is looking ater her best interest, there is no need for her to be present. What she needs is propper plans, cost estimates and a registered contractor with assets, then things should go nice. Also, she has to get her head around the fact that variances do occur during a project, and if you try to squeeze a contractor, they will make up in another area. Sometimes more money have to run.
X2 wrote:OP... if you want to be an absent owner during construction in Trinidad... you better be a wealthy owner...otherwise go hire your mexicans or chinese or whoever you think is superior and see if it gets you any further.
You still haven't said how complex this project is, so a PM or contractor will only be talking out thier pie hole till then. FIDIC, tenders, contracts, yadda... it all comes down to what YOU know and how hands on your PM is. many PMs in Trinidad are scholastic heros with little real management experience and lots of certificates and paperwork. Mostly theory experience!! There will be variations... which can come from material theft, inclement weather, errors from engineers, unforseen problems after estimates. Keep thinking you can go in and bark at contractors and refuse to pay for variations and you will see just how fast a contractor will walk off on the project with all thier staff... PM in place or not. You wont be able to control that aspect, variations will always occur.
I have worked on many projects in Trinidad with some of the 'best ' Pm's in TnT, USA and Europe from top construction and architectural firms from around the world and I will tell you that even the best make mistakes and can't avoid variations sometimes...even on small projects like homes. I do not know Rhatid's work, but the BEST bet is an experienced contractor with PM certs, which is what he seems to be. The only real way to avoid major variations is to have a great, trustworthy contractor and a good PM to help run the show. Unfortunately, Trini contractors typically make a living from variations..they almost expect and rely on having vars in every contract.... it's like bribery in India.
Execting a PM to hire the contractor and control all costs is a bit over enthusiastic tho... I wish you luck in your project, but as you mentioned, you will be away... and that managing a project from abroad will roughly equate to what I say about cars.... Fast, Cheap, Reliable... you get to pick two.
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:For a $3m+/- project, and with this particular client, i'd really like to see the outcome of this.
Good luck to all involved.
rfari wrote:X2, Shut ur whoring mouth! AP wants to rain money on us lowly 2-bit trinis. By all means let her.