Re: ***The Official NBA Thread***

Postby Morpheus » December 11th, 2011, 5:17 pm

If LA get him is pressure....

Howard formally requests trade

ORLANDO, Fla. (AP) -- When Magic star Dwight Howard signed a contract extension in 2007, he joked that he and Mickey Mouse would be in Orlando forever.

Now Howard wants out, putting one of the NBA's most dominant big men on the block at the start of training camp.

Howard acknowledged for the first time Saturday that he has formally requested a trade. It came a day after the team granted New Jersey, Dallas and the Los Angeles Lakers permission to talk to Howard's agent, Dan Fegan, about possible deals.

The All-Star center is eligible to opt out of his current contract in July 2012.

Wearing a retro Magic hat, Howard spent a stoic half-hour explaining his reasoning and expressed empathy for a fan base that had to watch Shaquille O'Neal depart for the Lakers in 1996. Howard likened his trade request to a divorce that only one party wants.

http://www.nba.com/2011/news/12/10/dwig ... ef:nbahpt2

Postby Country_Bookie » December 12th, 2011, 3:30 pm

I getting to the point where I can't stand playes like Melo, Dwight Howard and CP3. You sign a multimillion dollar contract with a team for a specific length of time. Now u want to leave before time, and u want to tell me where u want to go as well. None of dem want to try and build a championship team around them, like Durant in OKC. Too much damn diva bizness.

Postby Country_Bookie » December 12th, 2011, 3:51 pm

KBergCBS Ken Berger
Baron Davis' agent, Todd Ramasar, says first priority for Davis is getting his back healthy. Seeking second opinion and will go from there.

Todd Ramasar sounds like either a trini or guyanese name. Wonder if it have Trini sports agents out there.

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » December 12th, 2011, 5:21 pm

Odom heads to Dallas
mavs is my #2 team so glad to see this

Postby sharkman121 » December 12th, 2011, 5:23 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:I getting to the point where I can't stand playes like Melo, Dwight Howard and CP3. You sign a multimillion dollar contract with a team for a specific length of time. Now u want to leave before time, and u want to tell me where u want to go as well. None of dem want to try and build a championship team around them, like Durant in OKC. Too much damn diva bizness.

This is nothing new in professional sports.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » December 12th, 2011, 5:29 pm

it's all a balance, when teams ready to get rid of players they do it, it's a business...

Postby Morpheus » December 12th, 2011, 11:52 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:I getting to the point where I can't stand playes like Melo, Dwight Howard and CP3. You sign a multimillion dollar contract with a team for a specific length of time. Now u want to leave before time, and u want to tell me where u want to go as well. None of dem want to try and build a championship team around them, like Durant in OKC. Too much damn diva bizness.

^^Hence the reason I liked Lebron James even less when he made his "decision". WOFT

No longer can a player be "the face of the franchise". There to the end good or bad.....Steups.

Postby sharkman121 » December 13th, 2011, 1:23 pm

what if a player doesnt want to be the face of the franchise, have all that pressure on him and he just want to play ball. Doesnt he reserve the right to want to change clubs without having the scorn of everyone on him, what makes him rooted to that club for that lengthy duration? All contracts have buy out clauses in them. Does player worth decrease if loyalty to a particular club isnt given?

Btw im not even a LBJ fan.

Postby Country_Bookie » December 13th, 2011, 4:38 pm

^ If he doesn't want to be the "face of the franchise" then he shouldn't demand a $100M plus guaranteed contract. The team commits to pay u that amount with the expectation that u will be the face of the franchise for the contract duration.

If he just wants to go somewhere and play ball then he should accept whichever team he is traded to, and not dictate to his team which cities he will accept a trade to.

Postby Morpheus » December 13th, 2011, 11:43 pm

^^Exactly....Imagine if Mike upped and left after Detroit was beating up on his arse and sending him home year after year...

And BTW if Lebron was only an above average player I would be a lot easier on him..... but he is one of the most all round gifted ballers ever-straight from high school! Bring a ship to Cleveland man!

Mike suffered 7 seasons before he got his first ring. Now if these guys don't get one within 4 seasons they wanna skate out. Weak if you ask me.............

ALSO....your team made 2 NBA Finals back to back and had the top regular season record both times. You're LBJ one of the most hyped players ever. You must have had a say!

Anyway that's a dead horse..... *the issue not LBJ. Calm Down :lol: Still don't want Miami win sheit! :lol:

Postby Morpheus » December 13th, 2011, 11:50 pm

sharkman121 wrote:what if a player doesnt want to be the face of the franchise, have all that pressure on him and he just want to play ball. Doesnt he reserve the right to want to change clubs without having the scorn of everyone on him, what makes him rooted to that club for that lengthy duration? All contracts have buy out clauses in them. Does player worth decrease if loyalty to a particular club isnt given?

Btw im not even a LBJ fan.

Ask VC about that...he was and is still forever crucified for similar to the above.....

Postby Morpheus » December 14th, 2011, 2:35 am

:shock: Mavs not doing too bad. They got 2 decent vets. Odom and VC.

They "old" now though :lol:

But hey, same thing was said by the media about the Celtics when KG went there, and we know what happened.

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » December 14th, 2011, 4:05 pm

VC wasnt a mav before?
Odom looks sad to go...cant wait to see first square off La vs Dal

Postby Morpheus » December 15th, 2011, 1:53 am

^^Nope. From Orlando he was traded to Pheonix

Of course Odom would have liked to stay, but he thought the Laker organisation was disrespectful to him and didn't want him, so he left. Said he couldn't play for them again.

At least he didn't go to a scrub team...

Kidd to Carter again? I wonder if that can still work? :lol: :lol:

BTW nice line-up ....on paper......

casper

Postby casper » December 15th, 2011, 9:41 am

$HIT!!!!!!!!!....dallas dun did it... :shock:

dem havva fackin big 5 yessss!!!! carter shud give up ballin and jus go in ruckerpark and dunk down d plce tho...he is rhelllllllllll sheit at shooting i fine...lolz

chris paul gone clippers...clippers lookin like they cud fack up miami LEVEL!!! :twisted: ...oh how i hate miami :(

Postby Morpheus » December 15th, 2011, 10:02 am

dem havva fackin big 5 yessss!!!! carter shud give up ballin and jus go in ruckerpark and dunk down d plce tho...he is rhelllllllllll sheit at shooting i fine...lolz

^^You fuh real??? He has one of the finest looking strokes ever. Look at how his 3's go in.Hardly catches rim :shock:

This is last season gone. If Mavs can't used that then I don't know nah.....

Agreed on the Miami part though :twisted:

casper

Postby casper » December 15th, 2011, 11:57 am

nah i was just joking bout the carter....i not a big fan of him i biased...he used to distort mc grady's talent in toronto when they both werer there...grady iz a much better player IMO...but at that time vince wanted all the spotlight to b on him...so since then i dont really much up on carter lolz

Postby Country_Bookie » December 15th, 2011, 12:52 pm

^Man still toting about shiet that went on in the 90's when VC and T-Mac were in TO yes. T-Mac had his own teams in Orlando and Houston for abt a decade and couldn't take them past the first round of the playoffs.
I still think Dallas needs a next big man to replace Chandler though. Hoedom is big, but he's not a shot blocker that could control the paint like Chandler does.

casper

Postby casper » December 15th, 2011, 2:15 pm

That was in the 90's :shock: Damn felt like just yesterday lol...time to stop totein now freal yessss :lol:

Postby Morpheus » December 16th, 2011, 2:06 am

casper wrote:nah i was just joking bout the carterBetter be :lol:

....i not a big fan of him i biased that's obvious

...he used to distort mc grady's talent in toronto when they both werer there...grady iz a much better player IMOthat only happened after he left

...but at that time vince wanted all the spotlight to b on him...so since then i dont really much up on carter lolz
The media and fans at large wanted Carter.........Carter sold tickets,not TMac

You must be used to cry when he used to sink TO time after time when he went back. :lol: :lol:

Anyway that was over a decade ago. Bring on the games!!!

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » December 17th, 2011, 8:47 pm

saw the mavs media open day
cant wait to see that match vs mia

Postby Morpheus » December 18th, 2011, 6:45 pm

^^^That is today right?

jusme

Postby jusme » December 18th, 2011, 7:52 pm

BOSTON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1!!

jusme

Postby jusme » December 25th, 2011, 2:03 pm

Knicks playing hard like they still coassin off that cocoyea broom treatment they got in the playoffs :lol:

Postby sharkman121 » December 25th, 2011, 2:18 pm

what channel alyuh seein the games on..... ah in grenada right now an dese ppl have cable but no TNT international.

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » December 25th, 2011, 3:16 pm

no tnt on flow but if you have Space your in luck

btw fack boston & rondo
wut a comeback in the 3rd

Postby sharkman121 » December 25th, 2011, 4:23 pm

miami come out with a bang 15 point lead, boston clawing their way back tho.

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » December 25th, 2011, 6:39 pm

hahaha watch how Walker wants to rush when a guy is holding him back
KG is a beast

jusme

Postby jusme » December 25th, 2011, 9:27 pm

i love my team :lol:

Postby Morpheus » December 25th, 2011, 11:59 pm

:lol: This evening I "buff up" someone on realgm.com for calling Dallas the reigning World Champions....

"NBA Champions. This isn't the World Championships...."

Allyuh think I should go back to check my beat down?? :lol: :lol: