Local Rock Music & Bands - Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Local Rock Bands

Postby Cjruckus » April 24th, 2011, 11:42 pm

aidan wrote:Hey guys, it has come to that time. We are releasing the video for our single "Desolation Valley". Check it out, hope you all like it. We did everything ourselves since we don't have a bunch of money to hire pro video people.

Thanks.
Aidan.

things were going good up until the back to back semi 80s harmony guitar in the end. The hell is up with that?

other than that, the video seems disjointed. Doesn't really speak to me or have anything to do with the song. But its local so I didn't expect much, but defiantly better than most stuff out there.

Will check you out if you do a show.

Snags

Postby Snags » April 25th, 2011, 12:47 pm

Loooool@Cj, good video Aidan, definitely alot better than the majority of stuff we have out here, good song, I'd probably check out a show if you guys do one also.

Postby Cjruckus » April 25th, 2011, 12:55 pm

Snags wrote:Loooool@Cj, good video Aidan, definitely alot better than the majority of stuff we have out here, good song, I'd probably check out a show if you guys do one also.

no im serious. It would have been better without it. It just feels like they threw it in there because they had to or else they wouldnt get any credit in chaguanas for not being technical enough for metal.

Postby Sky » April 25th, 2011, 1:24 pm

I'm with CJ on the back to back thing. wtf lol :lol:
I wanna see you guys live. The music lacked presence and I blame the producer and/or mixer man.
But the song was good and you have the song tight, something 99.999999% of the local bands lack right now.

aidan

Postby aidan » April 25th, 2011, 1:25 pm

Thanks for the feedback guys. As I said, we did he video ourselves with 1 camera and within 1 day, without any experience in video making.
And that's just how we express ourselves in our music, the harmony in the end is actually for a good friend of ours who passed away, and that's the stuff he liked. Also one of our influences is Avenged Sevenfold, that's where the cheezey back to back stuff came from.

More stuff coming soon.

Cjruckus, and i don't know if you remember but thanks for the advice you gave me back in 2006 when I was lost in my understanding of gear/equipment.

Postby Cjruckus » April 25th, 2011, 1:35 pm

aidan wrote:Cjruckus, and i don't know if you remember but thanks for the advice you gave me back in 2006 when I was lost in my understanding of gear/equipment.

Yup, and I'm glad you took the advice cause your tone isn't bad at all.
The Guitar sounded great in the mix...Not over done like most bands.

Postby Hook » April 26th, 2011, 12:12 am

:lol: Ditto on the 80's back-to-back thing, but in all a pretty good song. I'm guessing the drug/alcohol abuse is supposed to symbolize being trapped in one's addiction (and wanting freedom I guess), right?
w.r.t the drums, what's up with the hi-hat work on the verses and hitting the crash at the end of every bar like that? The guitar lick at the end was a nice touch there as opposed to in the middle where it usually appears (but plug in the cables next time). Good stuff meng.

aidan

Postby aidan » April 26th, 2011, 11:27 pm

Hook wrote::lol: Ditto on the 80's back-to-back thing, but in all a pretty good song. I'm guessing the drug/alcohol abuse is supposed to symbolize being trapped in one's addiction (and wanting freedom I guess), right?
w.r.t the drums, what's up with the hi-hat work on the verses and hitting the crash at the end of every bar like that? The guitar lick at the end was a nice touch there as opposed to in the middle where it usually appears (but plug in the cables next time). Good stuff meng.

Lol, come nah the back to back thing wasnt that bad. Yea Hook you're right on the interpretation, that's pretty much what its about. No matter the addiction. We thought that sort of drums would be different and give a different vibe to the song, and make it a bit spanish like, and sorta progressive. Thanks for the feedback man.
Lol @ the cables, we were not planning on using the last scene, since it was really dark when we filmed it, we just did it for kicks but it ended up coming out pretty good so it went in.

aidan

Postby aidan » November 18th, 2011, 12:27 am

A new one..... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
May be much different from the first

As with the last video, this one was shot one evening and edited the next day.Not much planning went into it.

Postby meccalli » November 18th, 2011, 1:17 am

my eye is on breaking ground.

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 18th, 2011, 5:24 pm

(Hear the screaming in this one :shock: )

https://www.facebook.com/pages/LYNCHPiN/251187990430

Saw a live performance aready, PHORQIN EPIC :evilbat:

Postby meccalli » November 18th, 2011, 11:04 pm

sievan taught me IT in form 5..lol

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 18th, 2011, 11:55 pm

same

d man, is a bawse

Postby MG Man » November 19th, 2011, 12:35 am

good grief............people still singin cookiemonster rock?

Postby Hook » November 19th, 2011, 12:38 am

apparently :roll:

Postby meccalli » November 19th, 2011, 7:48 am

It ain't cookie monster when you actually learn to scream properly -as good as men like randy blythe.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

Rassyroots

Postby Rassyroots » November 19th, 2011, 10:18 pm

Postby meccalli » November 20th, 2011, 12:02 am

O.o i saw megan played in shallun's band for apma.

Postby MG Man » November 20th, 2011, 9:33 am

Hook wrote:apparently :roll:

the chaguanas is strong in this ched

Postby Sky » November 20th, 2011, 9:38 am

My friend's nephew got himself in a lil band (the one with all the hair).

Postby Hook » November 20th, 2011, 11:26 am

^^^ not bad...not a bad attempt at all 8-)

Postby st7 » November 20th, 2011, 11:38 am

the krytonite cover good. the vocalist did well

Rassyroots

Postby Rassyroots » November 30th, 2011, 3:26 pm

Incert Coin playing tonight at Woodford Chag, vibes ittt!
https://www.facebook.com/events/279617115413723/

Postby Hook » November 30th, 2011, 3:28 pm

BODOW! Who else dey in dat?!

Postby Hook » December 5th, 2011, 8:20 am

locally done, but not a local band...YET

but there are guys here that are capable of doing this...it's just to get them all in one place lol
you can hear elements of Meshuggah, Animals As Leaders, Periphery etc. in this track

aidan

Postby aidan » December 5th, 2011, 6:59 pm

Hook wrote:locally done, but not a local band...YET

but there are guys here that are capable of doing this...it's just to get them all in one place lol
you can hear elements of Meshuggah, Animals As Leaders, Periphery etc. in this track

Sounding rel good!

ElectricoS

Postby ElectricoS » December 5th, 2011, 8:58 pm

aidan wrote:Hey guys, it has come to that time. We are releasing the video for our single "Desolation Valley". Check it out, hope you all like it. We did everything ourselves since we don't have a bunch of money to hire pro video people.

Thanks.
Aidan.

well done. hope ya'll make it big

aidan

Postby aidan » December 5th, 2011, 9:10 pm

ElectricoS wrote:

Thanks.
Aidan.

well done. hope ya'll make it big

Thanks a lot for the support man!
Check out our latest one here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xvyOMY4repE

Postby st7 » December 6th, 2011, 9:58 am

u guys fail with that video... i couldnt even feel the fun allyuh was trying to have in it. it was like allyuh try real hard to do genuine sh1t but end up with epic sh1t

no offense

Postby Hook » December 6th, 2011, 10:51 am

:lol: waay Stefan, u real harsh boy :lol:

I wasn't really taking on the video too much nuh, but the music isn't half bad. My bands for some reason usually sound way better live (not my words BTW) than in recordings (I'm probably too critical of my own work to be satisfied with the end result, which is probably why I tend to agree with that POV), so I'm reserving judgement until I see these guys live. Usually live playing has a feel and an energy and tightness that you don't get in recordings unless you have a full jam type studio set-up as opposed to tracking each instrument separately (which tends to sound very mechanical and sterile).

What irks me tho is the drummer's high/low/twisted-up set-up...reminds me of long-time panman styling (yuh know dem so who does call it a "traps set") who doh really use toms, but it still there so the kit looks like a kit, but it doh matter how it set up, once it there.

He needs to experiment and find an arrangement that works for him both ergonomically and aesthetically.
eg. here's part of my set-up...I rarely use the whole kit at gigs unless I'm the only one playing it and I have roadies to help me move it, but I carry as much of it as the drum booth will allow for recording...mostly cymbals tho, since we use midi triggers anyway.

excuse the dull looking plates :lol: I jam dem with some autosol after wards
IMG00292-20110630-1550.jpg
see? everything within easy reach and the presentation looks professional