The Official Car Care Thread

dok_tec

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby dok_tec » November 28th, 2011, 1:54 pm

clean engine bay then dress it, meguiars for the tyres, armorall for interior

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » November 28th, 2011, 2:36 pm

I like your pics ,, but try to get the Megs interior detailer, it will work much better than the Armor All

Postby Trini Hookah » November 28th, 2011, 3:12 pm

S_2NR wrote:as we on this topic..question for the detailing people..
the wash and wax car washes..what u guys think?
in comparison to a dedicated waxing product.

Turtle: Zip Wax addi realest

Haven't polished in ages but learning alot in this ched :D

rrotsmannick

Postby rrotsmannick » November 28th, 2011, 4:42 pm

Started of using Prestone Car Wax about 12 years. Then i moved to Rally Car Wax. Then i moved to Formula 1 Car Wax.
But for the last 6-7 years i have been using Mothers. I am in love with their products.
I have tried Turtle Wax in between, but i wasn't happy with the results.
I use some other poducts, but Mothers does it for me.
Will post pictures later :arrow: :arrow: :arrow:

aidan

Postby aidan » November 28th, 2011, 9:27 pm

dok_tec wrote:
dok_tec wrote:this thread makes me feel guilty about just 'washing' my car

the guilt really got to me.... im gonna meguiars those beetches weekend
(polish is meguiars also)

where you got your supplies man? locally? im contemplating if it really makes sense skyboxing detailing supplies.

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » November 29th, 2011, 2:30 am

got them in walmart last trip im sure somewhere must sell this stuff down here though

rrotsmannick

Postby rrotsmannick » November 29th, 2011, 11:54 am

I saw some Meguiars products selling in the Bamboo. Auto Image in Valpark has some (but they are super expensive) & Nu Car in West Mall has a few as well.

Prestone/Rally/Formula 1/Turtle Wax were the 1st 4 car waxes i used for about 3 years. But then i started to use Mothers.
I am really tempted to use the Meguiars products. But for now 'There's no shine like Mothers'

Postby cinco » November 29th, 2011, 12:34 pm

prestone is still super for removing tar and bug splatters

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » November 29th, 2011, 2:04 pm

rrotsmannick wrote:I am really tempted to use the Meguiars products. But for now 'There's no shine like Mothers'

When you use Meguair's you would not want to use anything else.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » November 29th, 2011, 6:18 pm

Still running on Autoglym (SRP with HDWax) stuff for now. No intention of changing soon so I have no idea what I would use next.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » December 2nd, 2011, 8:20 am

nemesis wrote:Still running on Autoglym (SRP with HDWax) stuff for now. No intention of changing soon so I have no idea what I would use next.

I for see in the near future you will be be a Meguiars Fan ...lol

chucky

Postby chucky » December 2nd, 2011, 10:35 am

cinco wrote:prestone is still super for removing tar and bug splatters

Agreed. The Prestone is really good for this. I suggest you try the Meguiar's Clay Bar kit. Just tried it out on my jeep and was blown away on how easy and fast it removed all the tar. Incredible performance and easy to use. Best part, you can use it even on your windscreen to remove any road grime. Makes your wipers work like new.

Postby crazybalhead » December 2nd, 2011, 10:42 am

sheit, clay bar to take off tar!!! DOH!!!!!!!!

next annual three stage I go organise a clay bar yes.

Postby cinco » December 2nd, 2011, 11:05 am

crazybalhead wrote:sheit, clay bar to take off tar!!! DOH!!!!!!!!

next annual three stage I go organise a clay bar yes.

i prefer to use the prestone
i find it is a waste of the clay bar to take off tar wid it because i break that piece off and trow it out before i scratch the rest of the car with the tar

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 4th, 2011, 6:16 pm

Karim Khan wrote:
nemesis wrote:Still running on Autoglym (SRP with HDWax) stuff for now. No intention of changing soon so I have no idea what I would use next.

We'll see! I don't doubt the Meguiars is really good, but I have real AG stuff to finish still. And as for testing products I sort of know what I'll buy next already. And it isn't Meguiars. Although I am open to trying them again. Haven't used Meguairs in years so I have no idea what their newer products do.

And why don't you all use something like the AG tar remover, or kerosene for the tar instead of trying to rub it off the car in it's hardest form.

Postby DVSTT » December 4th, 2011, 7:41 pm

turtle wax ice system!!!!!!!!! FTW!!!!!!!!!

Postby DVSTT » December 4th, 2011, 7:43 pm

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » December 5th, 2011, 6:36 am

nemesis wrote:
Karim Khan wrote:

We'll see! I don't doubt the Meguiars is really good, but I have real AG stuff to finish still. And as for testing products I sort of know what I'll buy next already. And it isn't Meguiars. Although I am open to trying them again. Haven't used Meguairs in years so I have no idea what their newer products do.

And why don't you all use something like the AG tar remover, or kerosene for the tar instead of trying to rub it off the car in it's hardest form.

Because even after you use tar remover, you STILL have to use a claybar to remove all the other embedded crap in your paint (filings from your brakes, fallout, etc).

Crap which tar remover/pitch oil will not remove.

Crap which can leave swirls in your paint if it gets caught up in your buffing pad, or at the least, limits the effectiveness of your wax.

Clays remove all that junk - INCLUDING tar....and if used correctly with a quick detailing spray....it pulls stuff away from the paint, and the QD spray forms a barrier between the car and the paint to prevent scratching.

And besides, tar remover strips wax (as do some clays....SOME).

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 5th, 2011, 2:21 pm

True but you'll need a lot of clay since each bit of tar you remove you have to throw away that piece of clay. At least when you can't fold it anymore, if you're even willing to take that risk.
So what I tend to do is use the tar remover where required. Usually on the lower areas that get more, and bigger bits of tar. Then clay and polish/wax etc. Whatever is required after. I personally find liquifying the tar with the remover first works better than trying to clay it out also. And if you use those clays that don't remove wax, chances are you won't get out all the tar either, so you still really need to do everything. But to each his own. I'm not too experienced with this stuff anyway! Sometimes there is more than one way to do it well though.

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » December 5th, 2011, 2:50 pm

pb blaster works awesomely on rim tar

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » December 5th, 2011, 2:57 pm

^ Is Purple Blaster the man say there :faint: :faint: :faint:

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » December 5th, 2011, 8:18 pm

^^^^nah lol wut? its a penetrant

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » December 8th, 2011, 8:39 am

Is that some kind an WD 40 ?

Postby cinco » December 8th, 2011, 8:50 am

yes its a more powerful version of wd40 in terms of loosening power

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » December 8th, 2011, 3:14 pm

Still not using it on anyone paint !!

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 8th, 2011, 9:23 pm

Ey, didn't know you could use dem ting on cars outside of the engine bay!
And allyuh WD40 is a specific name eh. Dat eh a type of WD40. That seems to be a revolutionary penetrating lubricant. And it's magnetic? interesting.

rrotsmannick

Postby rrotsmannick » December 18th, 2011, 10:57 am

You all know Mothers has a 3 step system. Step 1 Pre Wax Cleaner, Step 2 Sealer & Glaze & Step 3 Pure Carnuba Wax.

I am finding only Step 1 & Step 2 in Nu Car Auto Store in West Mall. For the longest while they do not have the Step 3. & i actually saw Step 2 in the grocery in Grand Bazaar.

Any 1 knows where sells all 3. Trying to get them for the longest while now.

aidan

Postby aidan » December 18th, 2011, 2:13 pm

^^hey man I saw step 3 in bobbys and in a parts place in curepe (on the southern main road closer to KFC side on the left if you heading north. It next to a dvd store). I can't get step 1 though lol.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » December 18th, 2011, 2:52 pm

Currently have Ziebart DiamondGloss on car, the previous started using this service. It works ok, noticed that the doors lost some of the "protection". Is it worth reapplying or is there better stuff readily available?

rrotsmannick

Postby rrotsmannick » December 18th, 2011, 7:45 pm

Hey thanks. Hmmmm well i will check Bobbys & that place in Curepe tomorrow or something.

I saw Step 1 & 2 in Auto Image in Valpark & Nu Car in West Mall.
The grocery in Grand Bazaar has Step 2.