Drag + TimeAttack Shootout - 27th Nov. PICS!!!

djaggs

Re: so the mine's r35...

Postby djaggs » November 28th, 2011, 6:16 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
honda hoe wrote:
Rensh wrote:Quite a bit of water you guys were in:

wtf? that is real sh!t

2 cars lost control and got damaged because racing was allowed to continue even though there was substantial water on the course surface. u cannot control a car if it is hydroplaning.

if this exact thing had happened in camden everybody would be quick to jump up and cyak dat TTASA don't care about safety of spectators or racers and only interested in depositing money in car trunk blah blah

Good points Brent...and im sure if Rawle Mahabir reads this he would be the first to admit the error in letting them run.... issa learning process....just as how im sure ASPL NOW realize they need tyre barriers along the edges of the course..more marshalls in the pit areaa....that kinda thing.....there was one run where Pornie ran Ronnie and the evo 9 was all over the track....under a less experienced driver with that amount of power the car may have ended up in the spectators area..... just as how no matter how many times you warned drivers, they still drove hard in the pits...like Pornie's last run where he ran with no helmet...X2's run where his competitor hit TWO cones and it was ignored....like The Professor;'s run against Jodi where it was clear he misses a clipping point to make up time.....it aint perfect...things slip through the cracks....so points well taken.

Only thing i would banter on you on is what i think is a comparison of TTASA's operations to ASPL's.... because the "money in the trunk" issue aside, for every error you chugg up on ASPL's side, there are 3 like errors on TTASA's side.

and to clarify...in Jodi's run the track was not drenched with water as in Shiv's incident...so you cant class the second incident to "driving conditions"...there was a Civic that ran through the barriers at that same point on a dry track as well.....

just clarifying the situation....[/fanboyism]

I agree with you, im sure in hindsight Rawle will recognize the mistrake. There should be a senior steward charged with the responsibility of monitoring track conditions. I think Nizam would have been a good person for that job. He has been around racing for quite a long time, longer than some of the guys making senseless comments here have been alive. If the GTR had hit the post full on dead center and the driver got seriously injured, evreybody would be singing a different story. It was just by chance that he hit it at an angle. Safety is always formost when it comes to racing. Its why we do not race on the street or support street racing.

We do not use full safety gear, we do not use hans devices, a head on impact at 60mph without a hans device can cause serious neck injury, even death.
Come on guys, we are in this sport because we love it..we dont need to take stupid risks. I would hate to see somebody get seriously hurt for no reason.

If somebody gets seriously hurt what do you think the authorities would do when we trying to get a public venue to race?

Tsuchiya

Re: Drag + TimeAttack Shootout - 27th Nov. @ ARC

Postby Tsuchiya » November 28th, 2011, 7:33 pm

paparazzi wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:it's making the fb rounds.
kudos to Sean's response as he was told the GTR

Hallmark of a true sportsman. Make no bones about it, he is a fierce competitor but when the sheit hit the ....umm lamppost he had my back.

aye aye...i was the 1st 1 on the scene but i didn't pass thru the timing lights so sean got their officially 1st. Sorry devi :P (really was cheering on that run like a baddis on the container) :lol:

i may not know some of the drivers personally but anyone who runs their car the hardest they can to their best ability without excuses...major respect!! even monkeys fall off trees.
so pap do wat u gotta do to get back out there

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 28th, 2011, 7:33 pm

Nexx video...another Suzuki putting dong ah wuk on ah Honda again....Chris dis time

Postby X2 » November 28th, 2011, 8:00 pm

DJaggs... what kinda chain up vids yuh showing there ?

I mean Chris knows how to do his thing eh... but that honda not pressing down the straight and basically stopped in the last 360 (does not show in the vid). And the first vid vs the red swift... well I drove that run and did not use 2nd gear at all so I could get some datalog info... 1st, 3rd... brakes...

sorry to buss d bubbles... :(

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » November 28th, 2011, 8:02 pm

woi look me!! ignis sport ftw!

mugen power

Postby mugen power » November 28th, 2011, 8:25 pm

X2 wrote:DJaggs... what kinda chain up vids yuh showing there ?

I mean Chris knows how to do his thing eh... but that honda not pressing down the straight and basically stopped in the last 360 (does not show in the vid). And the first vid vs the red swift... well I drove that run and did not use 2nd gear at all so I could get some datalog info... 1st, 3rd... brakes...

sorry to buss d bubbles... :(

My visabilty was very poor in the hatch,which caused me to make a wrong turn coming off the first corner, hence the reason I was not pressing.

SPEC S

Postby SPEC S » November 28th, 2011, 8:29 pm

Paparazzi, main thing is that you're ok. Parts could be ordered, life is one thing you can't put a price on. Have fun with the restoration project :)

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » November 28th, 2011, 8:39 pm

lol @ all the excuses by the honda crew....sucks being beaten by a suzuki huh lol

Postby wagonrunner » November 28th, 2011, 8:44 pm

umm fella. X2 was doing logs. Its what he does when not in comp.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 28th, 2011, 9:09 pm

Hey X2's car is twice as fast as mine, i just posted these vids to rile dem Honda fellars who seemed to be oblivious to the fact that the Suzukis were actually coming out on top. I didnt even realise that was X2 in that video. But anyway...here is a Honda victory over ah Suzuki, probably the most famous win !

Rensh

Postby Rensh » November 28th, 2011, 10:02 pm

look some more pics deh:

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » November 28th, 2011, 10:05 pm

I love the comments. A couple things for everyone to consider before getting their panties in a twist. This is not to defend or chastise the organizers but seriously folks there's some comments on this post which are so biased because of the TTASA vs ASA crap.

First off to Shiv - i hope you are OK and consider this a lesson in racing and an experience to learn from. Things happen and hopefully next time around this experience will make you a better driver when faced with a similar situation. That said very sorry to hear, coming from a man who has hit, rolled, hit and hit again from a go-kart to a rally car, i can honestly say i know how you feel.

To all the sh^t talkers.

There is a major responsibility of the organizers to provide a certain level of safety but before you say 'how they could make them race in those conditions?' consider the following:
- The track is designed with a 90 degree turn at the end of it that you probably have to take in 2nd gear, which means you can't carry excess speed into it. The driver needs to take it as he feels comfortable and that discretion is left up to him. You can't say the event was NOT safe because a car crashed. If that were so then every motorsport including F1 should be banned then....
- Changing conditions to WET - If the organizers forced the racers to race despite protests and threatened disqualification then i could understand, but as far as i am aware they both had the option to say we will wait for dry or we going in the rain. When it starts to rain while a race is in progress and the track becomes wet in karting, circuit, F1, and even Rally, you slow down, you don't go faster or maintain a 'dry' speed (before switching to wet or intermediates). That said there is a point where the organizers have to say that we need to cancel for now, but there will always be a time for the driver to make the best decision given the conditions as he is the one behind the wheel.
- Lets face it, and no disrespect to any driver out there but money, parts, and fast cars does not make you a race car driver. There will come a time when a car is just too modified to race in those types of events. A 1000hp car probably shouldn't attempt that event because there are times when the cars pitch and get loose and then aim in the direction of the timing tent, or the PITS. Its still a safe distance but ASA will at some point have to refuse a car and driver based on the drivers ability to handle a car that probably should be reserved for a full track. Also the part of the course which has the fastest speed is no where near any spectators and in this case the driver is a danger only to himself and possibly his competitor.
- SAFETY - As i mentioned before safety is to be put in place first and foremost to avoid damages to persons, property, competitors, and loss of life. But its really easy to say what you would have done when its already happened. Its a sad part of motorsport and life that you only put things in place after stuff has happened. Crashing your car however is pretty par for the course in any form of motorsport - its an accepted risk when you enter any event. This scenario involves a truly beautiful car so its more dramatic, would it have been the same consideration given to a fully prepped race car shell of a car that looks as though it was designed to handle a crash? Next SAFETY also brings into play what you have in place to deal with an accident, Ambulance, Fire Extinguishers, Marshals on spot etc etc etc. it varies depending on the type of event obviously.

At the end of it folks, the true safety of the event was to protect life and limb and there was no damage to any as far as i know. Cars can be repaired, and better things can be put in place next time. I attended the event and i like i am sure many other patrons had some suggestions for ASA, all of which i am sure will be taken into consideration tohopefully make the event better and safer next time.

So moral of this stop using incidents like this to fuel stupid arguments about who is better ASA or TTASA.
- Was Drag and Wine a safe event - for the most part yes?
- Is this accident going to reflect bad on the organizers - it shouldn't, but i am sure they will take the entire event into consideration when faced with similar conditions next time.
- Who is the better organization - Who cares?

At the end of the day let the competitors and spectators judge for themselves on the overall experience and let the free economy roll, and last time i checked people were free to decide where they want to go anyways.

best to luck on the future endeavors of this event

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » November 28th, 2011, 10:19 pm

Porn Star wrote:
SUPAstarr wrote:Look CHAIN UP AHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAAHHH, will we see a rematch on the 11th porn?

:lol: :lol: If god spare life.
I just trying to build up some excitement for the 11th. :lol: :lol:

lol, shawn sharelicks singh, like yuh want me to drop the 485whp map on with a set of wide rims and tyres like yours and change yuh middle name to takelicks or what.

Just kidding bro, ah have to find that funds first, cause ah sure real things go break

Doh study it, yuh is mih real boy, and yes you did make a faster time for the grudge match so take win dawg.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » November 28th, 2011, 10:29 pm

Oh no, not the 485 whp map!!!!!
I sorry boss.
8-)

Postby Monk BANzai » November 28th, 2011, 10:38 pm

rcadiz wrote:I love the comments. A couple things for everyone to consider before getting their panties in a twist. This is not to defend or chastise the organizers but seriously folks there's some comments on this post which are so biased because of the TTASA vs ASA crap.

First off to Shiv - i hope you are OK and consider this a lesson in racing and an experience to learn from. Things happen and hopefully next time around this experience will make you a better driver when faced with a similar situation. That said very sorry to hear, coming from a man who has hit, rolled, hit and hit again from a go-kart to a rally car, i can honestly say i know how you feel.

To all the sh^t talkers.

There is a major responsibility of the organizers to provide a certain level of safety but before you say 'how they could make them race in those conditions?' consider the following:
- The track is designed with a 90 degree turn at the end of it that you probably have to take in 2nd gear, which means you can't carry excess speed into it. The driver needs to take it as he feels comfortable and that discretion is left up to him. You can't say the event was NOT safe because a car crashed. If that were so then every motorsport including F1 should be banned then....
- Changing conditions to WET - If the organizers forced the racers to race despite protests and threatened disqualification then i could understand, but as far as i am aware they both had the option to say we will wait for dry or we going in the rain. When it starts to rain while a race is in progress and the track becomes wet in karting, circuit, F1, and even Rally, you slow down, you don't go faster or maintain a 'dry' speed (before switching to wet or intermediates). That said there is a point where the organizers have to say that we need to cancel for now, but there will always be a time for the driver to make the best decision given the conditions as he is the one behind the wheel.
- Lets face it, and no disrespect to any driver out there but money, parts, and fast cars does not make you a race car driver. There will come a time when a car is just too modified to race in those types of events. A 1000hp car probably shouldn't attempt that event because there are times when the cars pitch and get loose and then aim in the direction of the timing tent, or the PITS. Its still a safe distance but ASA will at some point have to refuse a car and driver based on the drivers ability to handle a car that probably should be reserved for a full track. Also the part of the course which has the fastest speed is no where near any spectators and in this case the driver is a danger only to himself and possibly his competitor.
- SAFETY - As i mentioned before safety is to be put in place first and foremost to avoid damages to persons, property, competitors, and loss of life. But its really easy to say what you would have done when its already happened. Its a sad part of motorsport and life that you only put things in place after stuff has happened. Crashing your car however is pretty par for the course in any form of motorsport - its an accepted risk when you enter any event. This scenario involves a truly beautiful car so its more dramatic, would it have been the same consideration given to a fully prepped race car shell of a car that looks as though it was designed to handle a crash? Next SAFETY also brings into play what you have in place to deal with an accident, Ambulance, Fire Extinguishers, Marshals on spot etc etc etc. it varies depending on the type of event obviously.

At the end of it folks, the true safety of the event was to protect life and limb and there was no damage to any as far as i know. Cars can be repaired, and better things can be put in place next time. I attended the event and i like i am sure many other patrons had some suggestions for ASA, all of which i am sure will be taken into consideration tohopefully make the event better and safer next time.

So moral of this stop using incidents like this to fuel stupid arguments about who is better ASA or TTASA.
- Was Drag and Wine a safe event - for the most part yes?
- Is this accident going to reflect bad on the organizers - it shouldn't, but i am sure they will take the entire event into consideration when faced with similar conditions next time.
- Who is the better organization - Who cares?

At the end of the day let the competitors and spectators judge for themselves on the overall experience and let the free economy roll, and last time i checked people were free to decide where they want to go anyways.

best to luck on the future endeavors of this event

you not from rong dese parts innit?

Postby Monk BANzai » November 28th, 2011, 10:41 pm

this car was ineresting though.....

"Period correct" plates
6 pots front brakes
i "think" 4 pot rears
but the CRIMS!!! GOOD GAWD!!! WHY MADCOW!! WHY?

Postby wagonrunner » November 28th, 2011, 10:44 pm

Dubs for chackshun yo.

Postby Monk BANzai » November 28th, 2011, 10:49 pm

Rensh wrote:look some more pics deh:

yunno these pics jus prove all we theories on "Safe driving" wrong right?.....lololololol gotta love chuna yes!!!

Wheh Mr. DCflip....lol

Postby Team Loco » November 28th, 2011, 11:29 pm

MG Man wrote:Unlike you, who make yuh chile eat camphor balls so yuh could say she sick jus to avoid cutarse

my daughter had a high fever and didnt want me to leave her side. we were afraid it may be the dreaded dengue

proably if you stop shooting blanks, you might have a child someday, then you'd understand.

but the camphor balls were in the gas tank :D :D :D

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » November 28th, 2011, 11:48 pm

All of the comments, especially those critical with a positive intent will be taken into consideration and action will be taken.

When this unfortunate incident occurred, we were not running any competition since the timing system had been shut down because of water interference.

On the other hand some would say nothing happening, do something. And the two drivers decided to have their own challenge.

When others were going through the water and getting the better of the elements, the response was great drive, that man can handle himself.

And then the lamp-post decide to jump in the fray.

Isn't it great to see the guys drifting through every little hole along the track successfully? But the minute they may hit or bounce something, the comments may very well be unrecognizable.

At the end of the day the competitors and patrons will have the final say in their analysis of the Event.
Last edited by AutoSport on November 29th, 2011, 8:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Team Loco » November 29th, 2011, 12:00 am

sounds just about right. i didnt know the run wasnt actually part of the competition

Postby wagonrunner » November 29th, 2011, 12:32 am

Look at the boards. No RT's. Vid shows Narend starting them also. No starting lights.

Postby Team Loco » November 29th, 2011, 12:47 am

true true. my father said he had a hard time being categorised but its all in good fun. he had a good time. imagine he calling me to say i missing out. i think he made it to the quarter finals but then lost

Postby wagonrunner » November 29th, 2011, 12:57 am

LOL. he didn't tell you he chettin me too? LOL
as RASTA say, more folks needed to be on the track, with better "comms" to the timing tent.

I like the bracket system as it makes car assessment so simple. But drivers CHOSE to not elect to run in higher classes, then unhappy when they run a faster time and broke out. :|

There's the flipside where you qualify to run in the lower bracket, would not do so in the higher bracket, so you pick the lower. So maybe that allotment could do with some work. But I'm hoping those who got the extra seat time enjoyed it, even though they were eliminated.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 29th, 2011, 1:13 am

no pics/vidz of the white s14 kouki? :(

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 29th, 2011, 1:38 am

gotta agree with some of the above statements. i was in line to run when the light system when down. when i reached up. the guy told me i can take a pass if i want to feel out the track or i can head back to the tent area and we will be notified when its good to run again. he said, if i went out for the run, it will not be recorded. its just a free run.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » November 29th, 2011, 6:55 am

love the shots of the NC miata. How did it fare?

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » November 29th, 2011, 7:05 am

now paparazzi, as you know, you and shawn sharelicks singh, are my buddies, but this event i had to back, mr shawn sharelicks singh, being the underdog and stuff, but for next the event, i want you to "wash" his ass out, to let these little boys know, when a man is knock down, he just gets on his feet, twice as strong...

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » November 29th, 2011, 8:47 am

kes_vtec wrote:now paparazzi, as you know, you and shawn sharelicks singh, are my buddies, but this event i had to back, mr shawn sharelicks singh, being the underdog and stuff, but for next the event, i want you to "wash" his ass out, to let these little boys know, when a man is knock down, he just gets on his feet, twice as strong...

Kes, worry not my friend. "sharelickssingh" will become "collectlickssingh" soon enough!
consider this his free pass to reign :lol: :lol: :lol:

On another note, I am certainly going to be up for the next event in December IF ONLY to see Porny and Ronnie duke it out PROPERLY this time. This runningforlanedensayin'1runonly ting ent right. We all know it's best of 3. Sean and I even ran best of 3 in the rain (but ended up being best of 2.5)

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » November 29th, 2011, 8:48 am

Team Loco wrote:true true. my father said he had a hard time being categorised but its all in good fun. he had a good time. imagine he calling me to say i missing out. i think he made it to the quarter finals but then lost

Because of the varying conditions, it was near impossible to have competitors set realistic times then be classified. We took what they put down and placed in respective brackets. Only to see some doing times 2 or 3 secs. faster, or in some instances slower. We recognized some were cutting the course, not necessarily deliberately, and thus the variations in times.

We explained this to all who questioned their times/class placement – some understood, others had too much water in their brains.

We will publish some notes on determining win/loss, penalty points to be added for bouncing cones, braking the time bracket.

At the end of the day we have absolutely no interest in favouring one competitor over the other – and many who came to the control tent to “argue their point” can attest to this. Note that what we are doing is combining areas of drag racing with dex to come up with a whole new concept. And this will take some time to be perfected.
(Can you do that among motor racing people???)