**The Tuner Christmas Thread**

Re: 2011 Christmas thread

Postby MG Man » November 24th, 2011, 10:46 am

rfari u ever try groing cabbages with your hydroponics setup?

Postby rfari » November 24th, 2011, 10:59 am

i did once actually. quite recently. dunno exactly what went wrong. it remained stunted. i suspect that it might have been root shock.

Postby MG Man » November 24th, 2011, 11:14 am

hydroponics is ms def something I wanna get into once the house is completed.....in theory around July 2012
and mos def cabbages :)

Postby rfari » November 24th, 2011, 11:52 am

Cabbage is a flick in hydro. Can't say that I never taste cabbage with a malathion after taste. Matter fact all leafy veggies. Btw, who have de sorrel jed? I eh see sorrel yet for the season.

Postby MG Man » November 24th, 2011, 12:11 pm

yuh wah some sorrel owah?

Postby K74T » November 24th, 2011, 12:11 pm

fuhthawin

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 24th, 2011, 12:20 pm

CABBAAAAGGEEEE!!!

Postby MG Man » November 24th, 2011, 12:21 pm

AH??????????????

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 24th, 2011, 3:45 pm

Peeps :twisted:

Postby MG Man » November 24th, 2011, 4:55 pm

Postby rfari » November 24th, 2011, 6:45 pm

MG Man wrote:Image

That wench could come by me for christmas breakfast and lunch. Season of sharing :evil:

Postby shogun » November 24th, 2011, 11:49 pm

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 25th, 2011, 1:04 am

^^ Very nice o_o

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 25th, 2011, 2:51 pm

Pastelles: A brief history

If you asked the average Trini about the components of a good Christmas meal, I’m positive they’ll mention ham and turkey but their eyes will light up with delight when they mention pastelles.

Pastelles are small meat-filled polenta (cornmeal) pies that many believe were introduced by our Spanish colonisers who ruled between the late 15th and early 18th centuries.
They exist in some form or another throughout Latin America and are more commonly known there as hallacas, pronounced hayacas.
The origins of pastelles are unclear but there are two definite theories about how they came into being.
One view is that Spanish colonists who settled in the region made them as a substitute for one of their favourite delicacies – empanada gallega.
Empanada gallega and pastelles both have heavily spiced meaty fillings but pastelles are made with cornmeal while the empanada is more like a typical pastry as it’s made with white flour.
Interestingly, just up the Caribbean archipelago in Puerto Rico, there’s a delicacy similar to empanada gallega known as pastelillos.

The other theory of pastelle origin is that Spanish plantation owners in Venezuela gave their servants and slaves the leftovers from the Christmas meal.
The slaves used polenta to make a ‘foo foo’ type mixture they stuffed with the meat and cooked in banana leaves.
The use of bananas leaves to cook pastelles has been attributed to the African slaves as that method of cooking had been in use in Africa for centuries.

http://www.cancookmustcook.com/2006/11/ ... f-history/

Postby rfari » November 25th, 2011, 4:08 pm

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » November 25th, 2011, 9:26 pm

rfari wrote:[img]<a href="http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_W2fLUxpwJTw/TVIMO6cJwyI/AAAAAAAAAMg/igh96rgHGJ8/s1600/1978-Jacob-Miller_Natty_Christmas.jpg[/img" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" title="Link added by VigLink" class="vglnk">http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_W2fLUxpwJTw/TVIMO6cJwyI/AAAAAAAAAMg/igh96rgHGJ8/s1600/1978-Jacob-Miller_Natty_Christmas.jpg[/img</a>]

Last xmas .. zeriam felt sorry for me coz I was home alone so he brought vincy for me .. :)
we smoked it in front my house ....listening to trance n eating choclates ... BEST FCUKIN CHRISTmas evor !!!!! :mrgreen:

Postby rfari » November 26th, 2011, 6:39 am

Herb on christmas. Never tried that one. Season of sharing so it could work.

Postby Stephon. » November 26th, 2011, 8:59 am

eurogirl wrote:Last xmas .. zeriam felt sorry for me coz I was home alone so he brought vincy for me .. :)
we smoked it in front my house ....listening to trance n eating choclates ... BEST FCUKIN CHRISTmas evor !!!!! :mrgreen:
Holy sheit I want a Christmas like that :lol:
But with Arizona. :|

Postby rfari » November 26th, 2011, 9:32 am

IB4board warning sent to me for encouraging ganja ched :P
Putting up creche by grandmom. Will post pics later.

TriP

Postby TriP » November 26th, 2011, 5:24 pm

Instrumental Xmas Soca

TriP

Postby TriP » November 26th, 2011, 5:36 pm

wine wine wine for the christmas...!!

Postby shogun » November 26th, 2011, 8:14 pm

rfari wrote:IB4board warning sent to me for encouraging ganja ched :P
Putting up creche by grandmom. Will post pics later.

hope yuh put another coat of varnish, dred?.....looked like it needed one.

Postby rfari » November 27th, 2011, 5:06 am

^^ yup I did. Used dark oak instead of the light oak to give it a deeper colour. Just to decorate it.

TriP

Postby TriP » November 27th, 2011, 10:14 am

this Christmas melody rel bad..!!!!!

ImageImageImage

Postby rfari » November 27th, 2011, 10:58 am

creche basically completed. just to decorate. pics before varnished.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 27th, 2011, 4:57 pm

Does anyone remember the name of a parang video that used to show on Ch4 regularly around Christmas - the guy was in tall rubber boots and I think a straw hat, and sung the whole thing in spanish?

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 28th, 2011, 1:25 pm

must lose wight must lose wight must lose weight

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 28th, 2011, 8:45 pm

Christmas Candles
History and Legends
Christmas is the season of lights, and Christmas candles have always been central to lighting the Christmas season.

The tradition of placing Christmas candles in windows dates from the beginning of Christianity. A large candle was lit on Christmas Eve, symbolizing Christ, the light of the world. It burned throughout the night to mark the nativity--lighting the way for Mary and Joseph. This ancient custom continues today in European countries such as France, England, Ireland and Denmark.

The Legend of the Christmas Candle
Many years ago an old cobbler and his wife lived in a little village in Austria. Although very poor, whatever they owned they shared with others. Each night they placed a lighted candle in the window of their cottage as a sign of hospitality to any traveler needing shelter.

Through the years, war and famine plagued this little village. Yet, as though some mysterious charm guarded them, the cobbler and his wife suffered far less than their neighbors.

One evening, on the night before Christmas, the villagers gathered to discuss their plight. "There is something special about the cobbler and his wife," said one villager. "They are always spared our misfortunes. What do they do that we do not? Let us put a candle in our windows too. Perhaps that is the charm."

That night every home lit a Christmas candle in each window, and lo, before the sun rose, a messenger brought great news to the village. Peace had come! The villagers gave thanks to God for this blessing of Peace and vowed to always light candles on Christmas Eve.

This beautiful custom spread throughout the world, and each year millions of Christmas candles light up the world with a message of love and everlasting joy.

Current Uses of the Christmas Candle
Today, there are several common uses of the Christmas Candle. Historically, the Christmas candle is a single large candle that is lit on Christmas Eve to burn throughout the night. Its representation is usually Christ, "The Light of the World," but it can also represent the star of Bethlehem. People in some countries place the Christmas candle in the middle of an Advent wreath with four smaller candles around the wreath. Each of the small candles is lit every week that leads up to Christmas then the large Christmas candle is lit on Christmas Eve.

Many people hold to the tradition of placing a Christmas candle in each front window of their houses as a welcoming symbol of friendship.

Germans used to place their Christmas candles on the shelves of wooden pyramids in their homes. Today, they place their electric candles on their Christmas trees.

Giving Christmas Candles as Gifts
In the 1800s, grocers and candle makers in England gave loyal customers a large Christmas candle as Christmas gifts. Today, Christmas candles continue to be a great gift at the holiday season. With the Christmas candles' variety of scents, shapes and sizes, the giver can always give a unique gift. And of course, the Christmas candle's history and traditions make it a popular gift idea.

Today, the danger of fire from Christmas candles is greatly reduced by electronic Christmas candles, which flicker as if with a flame, and Christmas candle warmers, which warm the wax and spread the candle's aroma throughout the room.

Postby rfari » November 28th, 2011, 8:55 pm

Anybody still light advent candles?

Postby gastly369 » November 28th, 2011, 9:08 pm

got this for some one hope they like :?

DC Women's Court Graffik Vulc SE Sneaker