PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

ProgressiveTT

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby ProgressiveTT » November 16th, 2011, 9:42 pm

salvation4U wrote:anybody realize that harddrive prices gone up since the flooding in Thailand

Even super technologies store which boast in low prices have 500gig HD for TT$800+ This is ridiculous ....I am sad :cry: too much money

Hard-disk shortage hits consumer outlets

A 1TB Western Digital drive is priced at $224 at reseller CDW.

The fallout of the hard-disk drive shortage is now raining down on consumers, according to analysts and resellers.

The most immediate impact is rising prices and falling inventory of standalone drives, in the wake of the flooding in Thailand where roughly half of the world's drives are made. " :shock: Prices are going up. We're running out of stock and no longer taking back orders," said a sales representative at PC Connection, a major online reseller.
"We have half the stock we used to have," the sales rep added.

A sales representative at CDW, another major reseller, said prices have jumped as much as $100 on some HDDs.

A quick search at CDW, for example, of one terabyte (1TB) drives shows that many of the least expensive drives are listed as "call" (not immediately available) or showing lead times of between 3 and 11 days.

So, why is this happening? In addition to the most obvious reason--that hard-disk drive component factories in Thailand have been devastated by the flooding--other factors are now coming into play, both strategic and psychological.
"The hard drive manufacturers are doing everything they can to keep the big OEMs (PC makers) needs satisfied," said Jim Handy, an analyst at market researcher Objective Analysis.

"And that means that the little guys are bearing the brunt. And a lot of the little guys put together things like inexpensive external drives. That's the kind of thing that's more likely to go into shortage than PCs," he said.

And shortages lead to price hikes. "There are occasions of 180 percent price increases as compared to before the flood," said Tom Coughlin of Coughlin Associates, which tracks the storage industry.

Many one terabyte internal drives, for example, are now priced at $120 and up. These would have been $60 to $80 before the flood, Coughlin said. "Prices (before the flood) were as low as 4 cents a gigabyte, now we're seeing 12 cents. That's a 3X increase," he said.

Psychology is, not surprisingly, a big factor. "The immediate thing we're seeing is a price spike based on an actual shortage but also combined with people buying more than they actually need," said Coughlin.

"Uncertainty leads to more uncertainty that leads to people trying to take preventive measures to try to protect themselves. It's a natural human reaction," he said.

The upshot is that while the supply of standalone drives is being pinched, PCs are not being affected in a big way. And PCs--at least right now--are not seeing noticeable price increases because PC makers are cornering supply.

And, for some consumers, all of this could boil down to choosing between a standalone drive upgrade of an existing system or buying a new system outright, Coughlin said. The standalone drive will become disproportionately pricey while the price of a complete system may see much less of an increase as PC vendors--at least for now--are better able to keep prices under control.

Yep, time to get an SSD, prices get real ridiculous and they bracing you from buying more than one drive. Thought it was per order but looks more like a permanent thing.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » November 16th, 2011, 10:50 pm

Zeroman wrote:
salvation4U wrote:anybody realize that harddrive prices gone up since the flooding in Thailand

Even super technologies store which boast in low prices have 500gig HD for TT$800+ This is ridiculous ....I am sad :cry: too much money

Hard-disk shortage hits consumer outlets

A 1TB Western Digital drive is priced at $224 at reseller CDW.

The fallout of the hard-disk drive shortage is now raining down on consumers, according to analysts and resellers.

The most immediate impact is rising prices and falling inventory of standalone drives, in the wake of the flooding in Thailand where roughly half of the world's drives are made. " :shock: Prices are going up. We're running out of stock and no longer taking back orders," said a sales representative at PC Connection, a major online reseller.
"We have half the stock we used to have," the sales rep added.

A sales representative at CDW, another major reseller, said prices have jumped as much as $100 on some HDDs.

A quick search at CDW, for example, of one terabyte (1TB) drives shows that many of the least expensive drives are listed as "call" (not immediately available) or showing lead times of between 3 and 11 days.

So, why is this happening? In addition to the most obvious reason--that hard-disk drive component factories in Thailand have been devastated by the flooding--other factors are now coming into play, both strategic and psychological.
"The hard drive manufacturers are doing everything they can to keep the big OEMs (PC makers) needs satisfied," said Jim Handy, an analyst at market researcher Objective Analysis.

"And that means that the little guys are bearing the brunt. And a lot of the little guys put together things like inexpensive external drives. That's the kind of thing that's more likely to go into shortage than PCs," he said.

And shortages lead to price hikes. "There are occasions of 180 percent price increases as compared to before the flood," said Tom Coughlin of Coughlin Associates, which tracks the storage industry.

Many one terabyte internal drives, for example, are now priced at $120 and up. These would have been $60 to $80 before the flood, Coughlin said. "Prices (before the flood) were as low as 4 cents a gigabyte, now we're seeing 12 cents. That's a 3X increase," he said.

Psychology is, not surprisingly, a big factor. "The immediate thing we're seeing is a price spike based on an actual shortage but also combined with people buying more than they actually need," said Coughlin.

"Uncertainty leads to more uncertainty that leads to people trying to take preventive measures to try to protect themselves. It's a natural human reaction," he said.

The upshot is that while the supply of standalone drives is being pinched, PCs are not being affected in a big way. And PCs--at least right now--are not seeing noticeable price increases because PC makers are cornering supply.

And, for some consumers, all of this could boil down to choosing between a standalone drive upgrade of an existing system or buying a new system outright, Coughlin said. The standalone drive will become disproportionately pricey while the price of a complete system may see much less of an increase as PC vendors--at least for now--are better able to keep prices under control.

Yep, time to get an SSD, prices get real ridiculous and they bracing you from buying more than one drive. Thought it was per order but looks more like a permanent thing.

Wow now checked amazon, I bought a 2tb caviar black in July & paid $150us, the same drive is now priced @ $270us :shock: . Good ting I invested in the earlies. :mrgreen:

Humes

Postby Humes » November 16th, 2011, 11:00 pm

There was a thread about this on the front page two weeks ago.

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » November 16th, 2011, 11:36 pm

The shitty part is gonna get much worse as current inventory runs out and it's gonna affect the price of desktops/laptops as well.

Humes

Postby Humes » November 16th, 2011, 11:40 pm

Zeroman, yuh have any 1 TB 7200RPMs?

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » November 16th, 2011, 11:52 pm

Nah father. The internal prices get way too out a hand. Bess you get from who already have stock. Saw Altec55 and DJ slyfox selling for around $525 and $750 i think.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » November 17th, 2011, 6:58 am

The Wizz got hard drives Cheap 500GB---535.00 No one beat Wizz in these hard drive prices Wholesale thro.

The Hard Drive prices will drop in late Q1 2012, that is what WD told me when i contacted them since we are a register distributor with them.

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » November 17th, 2011, 8:19 am

firstchoicett wrote:The Wizz got hard drives Cheap 500GB---535.00 No one beat Wizz in these hard drive prices Wholesale thro.

The Hard Drive prices will drop in late Q1 2012, that is what WD told me when i contacted them since we are a register distributor with them.

That's good to know because it seems like WD was the most affected.
Like you said those prices for Wizz are wholesale which is significantly less than what they charge retail. Supertech is by far cheaper, but Wizz sells a lot of better products.

Postby rfari » November 17th, 2011, 10:33 am

fellas need some direction. i have a dell gx series pc that needs a new motherboard.
can someone recommend a local company that sells compatible motherboards (not dell) please?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » November 17th, 2011, 12:05 pm

Try prw/ digi data/ diamond systems...The yellow pages is ya best bet if you don't get thru with any of those

jm3

Postby jm3 » November 17th, 2011, 1:02 pm

lol should i sell all my hdd's for big bucks and buy ssd sexyness?

think i got 2x 1tb wd caviar 2x 640gb wd caviar 2x 250gb samsung.

actually thats a bad idea cuz i will fill the ssd in no time and then have to buy a hdd lol

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » November 17th, 2011, 2:37 pm

jm3 wrote:lol should i sell all my hdd's for big bucks and buy ssd sexyness?

think i got 2x 1tb wd caviar 2x 640gb wd caviar 2x 250gb samsung.

actually thats a bad idea cuz i will fill the ssd in no time and then have to buy a hdd lol

You buy an SSD for performance improvement, not for storage. It's like buying more RAM.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 17th, 2011, 9:49 pm

if you lookin for a motherboard for the dell

you will have to order it from online, we have done that many times in work for ours

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » November 17th, 2011, 11:37 pm

HOW GREAT!!!! my only 1tb hd jus gone where i had steam installed wit mw3.. only ssd running sigh!! not gonna buy another until price drop... if yuh know where selling gud price lemme know

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » November 18th, 2011, 10:22 am

is hitachi a good brand of hds?

B11 e16 bison

Postby B11 e16 bison » November 18th, 2011, 12:58 pm

rfari wrote:fellas need some direction. i have a dell gx series pc that needs a new motherboard.
can someone recommend a local company that sells compatible motherboards (not dell) please?

Those systems were plagued with bad capacitors a real pain.......but as Chiney said you might have to order it or try contacting dell (if i can remember correctly they have an office right here in trinidad.)

Yeh and Chiney whats the latest on your project...that XSPC kit is a real bargain good buy....do you have a fan controller or you'll be running them at full speed?

firstchoicett

PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby firstchoicett » November 18th, 2011, 1:43 pm

Most Likely he be using a fan controller .

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » November 19th, 2011, 12:53 am

mickey17 wrote:is hitachi a good brand of hds?

Ratings on amazon are four stars and above but I don't actually know anyone who used them. You will have to wait a long time for prices to come down.

xaira

Postby xaira » November 19th, 2011, 1:55 pm

hitachi is a good brand, bought a 500gb jan of last year and it still going strong

Postby M_2NR » November 19th, 2011, 1:57 pm

have a Hitachi from Chiney. works good.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 19th, 2011, 2:41 pm

have 2 in raid..works well

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » November 19th, 2011, 4:39 pm

ok kool might hadda buy da monday or something yes seagate and wd prices wanna kill meh.. 1000 up for a 1tb now.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 22nd, 2011, 4:51 am

What are you guys' views on the Corsair Vengeance memory with respect to the dominator?

xaira

Postby xaira » November 22nd, 2011, 7:28 am

corsair is a good brand of memory, just cant stand those dominator heatsinks

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 22nd, 2011, 8:19 am

the vengeance has been working well for me, even stood up to some high OC

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » November 22nd, 2011, 6:57 pm

what is a good keyboard to get?? i want a mechanical 1 but 1 that isnt loud.. so far the razer black widow stealth is what im looking at.. dont care for macro keys though makes keyboard longer for nothing for me.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 22nd, 2011, 10:41 pm

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 22nd, 2011, 11:22 pm

Nice!

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » November 22nd, 2011, 11:54 pm

Chiney wrote:http://www.overclock.net/t/1171833/project-i7-lt-5300-build-log-liquid-titan

Pretty nice so far bro, the black & white theme should look sic, can't wait to see it. Saw the Scythe fan on Amazon but @ $30us a pop :shock:

Got a Sapphire 6870 & a 2nd 23.6" Led monitor on the way. By nxt yr. I'll get another for crossfya & then a full eyefinity setup :twisted:

Gonna attempt the window mod myself when I clear the xtra panel, saw a dremel for about $72us with the necessary attachments, hopefully the price goes down a lil more. Thought plexi was readily available :?:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 23rd, 2011, 12:30 am

only if u buying a whole sheet dread
4x8ft