HELP: Heavy vibration from my transmission.

washie

HELP: Heavy vibration from my transmission.

Postby washie » November 11th, 2011, 6:08 pm

Fellers, ah getting real problems with my premera, it has a SR20 engine and tranny, everything was fine until my first transmission the clutches were burnt, so I bought a foreign use one and had it changed. The change out process took beyond 7 days, so my warranty was up. The problem is when driving and the speedometer reaches 40 KM/H I am feeling a real heavy vibration on the left side front wheel, First the mechanic said to have the left side axle changed, which was done, no change in vibration, the car was visited by 3 different mechanics they all said the transmission was the problem, approximately 3 weeks ago I bought another transmission, it was installed and the same identical vibration, I was advised to changed the right side axle, which was also done, same problem. I was advised the check the wiring of the sensors which was done and found correct ( by the way it’s a cable type transmission) Several things were changed, engine and transmission mounts, 2 transmission, both right and left side axles, stay bar bushings, steering rack. I must say these things are not cheap.

Could anyone help me solve my problem

Re: HELP: Heavy vibration from my transmission.

Postby wagonrunner » November 11th, 2011, 6:12 pm

no clue. have you tried swapping your front wheels left to right?

Postby sliderz1 » November 11th, 2011, 6:25 pm

^^agreed

check if the balance weights could have fallen out.--> speed balance

washie

Postby washie » November 11th, 2011, 8:28 pm

I will keep that in mind, but if my tyres need balancing, would I feel it at high speeds and wouldn’t it show-up on my steering wheel ?

Additional info, there is no issue with shimming in the steering system.

Any more feedback is welcome ----- lol

Postby wagonrunner » November 11th, 2011, 10:04 pm

you changed everything else, so yuh say.
lewwe eliminate the wheel nah.

Postby sliderz1 » November 11th, 2011, 10:10 pm

did you have hub centric rings prior to removing wheel?

washie

Postby washie » November 12th, 2011, 7:17 am

Sliderz1 - the car is orignal, if it didn't have "hub centric rings" installed from the firm, then there isn't any, By the way the rims are orignal.

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » November 12th, 2011, 7:42 am

could it possibly be the torque converter?
just a guess as i don't know too much about trannies.... :lol:

http://www.partshp.com/ConverterInstructions.htm

washie

Postby washie » November 12th, 2011, 2:56 pm

Yeah fellers, the tyres which I had on the car had approximately 20 to 30% life still, but for argument sake, I went and bought new ones, the car has the original aluminum staggered rims. Same vibration.
The vibration which I am experiencing it’s felt more from the transmission, but closer to the left side.
Any more options ???

Postby wagonrunner » November 12th, 2011, 11:47 pm

did the rim change sides?
i didn't say tire. i said wheel.

anyhow a man mention torque converter. that's probably easier to eliminate.

washie

Postby washie » November 13th, 2011, 11:36 pm

i switched the wheel both front went in the back, still no improvement.

Postby BrotherHood » November 14th, 2011, 9:39 pm

Jenton's Transmission Specialist in El Socorro. I lost their number with my old phone which was lost but check the Directory. They will sort you out good and proper.

NELLY

Postby NELLY » November 16th, 2011, 1:48 pm

Check the cross memeber and see if it is bolted back up tight,sumtimes ppl tend to damage the bolt/threading,resulting in slack cross member bar.

NELLY

Postby NELLY » November 16th, 2011, 1:50 pm

Check the cross memeber and see if it is bolted back up tight,sumtimes ppl tend to damage the bolt/threading,resulting in slack cross member bar.

Postby cinco » November 16th, 2011, 3:41 pm

BrotherHood wrote:Jenton's Transmission Specialist in El Socorro. I lost their number with my old phone which was lost but check the Directory. They will sort you out good and proper.

u trying to send the man brokess???
go to the street before jenton and look for flash 3 houses down on your left

jack the car up SAFELY and drive it see if the problem is with the weight or not
also make sure your axles were correctly reinstalled and the nuts properly tightened

Postby BrotherHood » November 17th, 2011, 10:09 pm

^^^ :lol: Not trying to do that bruh. Just my two cents. They sorted me out when I had problems.

glacier

Postby glacier » November 21st, 2011, 1:16 pm

Flash good, he re-built my civic transmission and it works fine.

washie

Postby washie » November 24th, 2011, 5:36 pm

cinco - I took your advice I jacked up the car and put it on drive and the funniest thing happened, the ABS light came on.
Question ---- why did the ABS light came on?

Postby cinco » November 25th, 2011, 6:37 am

are the sensors clean and properly installed?

washie

Postby washie » November 25th, 2011, 5:18 pm

since i have this car i never had any reason to clean / replace any.
however the light only comes on when the car is jacked up.

Postby wagonrunner » November 25th, 2011, 5:27 pm

I'm guessing that when the car is lifted and put in drive, it detects all wheels not matching speed, and is unable to correct "those skid conditions".

Postby cinco » November 28th, 2011, 7:42 am

did u get the vibrations tho when you had it jacked?

washie

Postby washie » December 10th, 2011, 11:44 am

Thanks again, it was an electrical problem, although the overdrive connection was connected, the wires were dead, the electrician sort meh out and D vibration gone.

Postby cinco » December 11th, 2011, 8:49 pm

thanks for posting the solution good to know you sorted out