THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

Re: This is what smoking does to your Heart.

Postby BrotherHood » October 12th, 2011, 10:16 am

AllTrac wrote:damn, then taking ah lil drink on a friday every weekend is not that bad then, i dont smoke, but i thought that a every friday drink up was making me an alcoholic.

Just what I do as well so I not bad at all.

Invisible

Postby Invisible » October 20th, 2011, 7:51 pm

Bumping this thread to ask the quitters a question.

I haven't smoked in about 2 weeks and I noticed that anything I eat with pepper burns my tongue like crazy. Mind you it never had anything like too much pepper before.

Any of you 'quitters' experienced this? Or do I have to go see a doctor?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 21st, 2011, 3:34 am

47 days clean....

Haven't noticed that burning with pepper...I usually have heavy pepper.

However I have noticed a strange taste in my mouth...no it's not bad breath....kinda like tastes like salt (or is it metallic taste.....nah not that) when I pass my tongue throughout my inside of mouth.....dunno..

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 21st, 2011, 9:01 am

when you quit smoking - your senses will resume to normal , smell touch taste etc will seem more sensitive but it really resuming to normal.

Stick with it peeps just watch to intake of food, you will tend to overeat

Postby Damien » October 21st, 2011, 9:42 am

when you get the urge drink some water instead of eating junk

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 21st, 2011, 9:52 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:oh and 301 days alcohol free

Ok I stopped reading this thread HERE.
*closes tab*

Zim

Postby Zim » October 21st, 2011, 3:32 pm

congrats on the quitters, vega, props to u pal! I'm really impressed!!
IMO it impossible for me 2 quit all of a sudden. I find it easier to quit by cutting down, then stopping. I've cut down quite a lot & i must say I'm proud. I also notice the cravings aren't as strong :)

good vid here too :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gmjjHkxTItE

Radix

Postby Radix » October 21st, 2011, 3:36 pm

Zim wrote:IMO it impossible for me 2 quit all of a sudden.

IMO, you've defeated yourself right here.

Zim

Postby Zim » October 21st, 2011, 3:46 pm

Radix wrote:
Zim wrote:IMO it impossible for me 2 quit all of a sudden.

IMO, you've defeated yourself right here.

No I haven't, sir. I've successfully quit before. Jus start back b/c I was under a great deal of stress. the sudden stop thing made the cravings stronger, swear!! I won't lie for something so petty :|

Radix

Postby Radix » October 21st, 2011, 3:58 pm

Zim wrote:I've successfully quit before.

Zim wrote:Jus start back b/c I was under a great deal of stress.

Then you didn't successfully quit my friend. :wink:
Successfully quitting means putting away the habit for good. It's no longer a part of you - meaning the craving isn't there whether times are good or not.
Your lungs are wishing that you'd be truthful to yourself :lol:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 21st, 2011, 4:17 pm

best and most effective way is stop all together , take your last smoke in the night and start your day without any cigarette. check each hour it take that you didnt smoke. then check each day that you didnt smoke. Tell youself you will throw away the last day , the last hour if you went back and smoke. Keep reminding yourself that you will have to start back at zero time from your last cigarette.

Thats what i did to successfully quit smoking. Also check how much money you spend on cigarettes - per month then for the year and plan something with the money that you saved. That will give you a huge moral boost that may help you kick the habit for good.

Zim

Postby Zim » October 21st, 2011, 5:21 pm

I assure u, Radix that I quit before. Again I'm not lying. If u don't want to believe it then I can't force u. I won't try either. Going cold turkey hast worked for me. Maybe some ppl but not me. I going to stop soon. I've made up my mind. Going cold turkey has increased my cravings. Slowing down however made me crave it much less.

I'll try those thinking methods civic minded. Thanks very much for ur input.

Postby rfari » November 6th, 2011, 9:31 pm

a few days clean. on that e-cig now.

Postby S_2NR » November 6th, 2011, 9:41 pm

just smoke a fresh mint.
went dong good.

Postby Stephon. » November 6th, 2011, 10:00 pm

I smoked a cig yesterday. My next step is to stop hanging out with my friends that do smoke every-time they want to lime. I saw one smoking and the menthols were right there and I lit one up.

After I was done I felt like crap tho like damn. It's funny though, it's my first cig in one day short of a month. I smoked my last cig before last night on the 6th of October, and ended up smoking again on the 5th of November. If I thought of that milestone before touching the pack I probably wouldn't have smoked.

I'll admit, I don't have a strong will, if me having to stop liming with the friends that smoke will help me fight the urge, then so be it.

Time to reset the timer. Hopefully I can make a full month this time around :(

Postby Trini Hookah » November 6th, 2011, 10:00 pm

rfari wrote:a few days clean. on that e-cig now.

What model?

Any here uses an EGO by chance?

Invisible

Postby Invisible » November 7th, 2011, 3:58 am

Today makes 31 days clean of that nasty cigarette. Cravings are gone. I can't believe I used to smell like that (people that smoke smell terrible). Taste has dramatically improved.

No one thought it could be done. My wife even said that she had to see it to believe it!

All thanks to God for the strength he has given me to kick that stupid habit.
Last edited by Invisible on November 7th, 2011, 4:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Invisible

Postby Invisible » November 7th, 2011, 4:10 am

vrampersad14 wrote:

What model?

Hey guys, while I applaud the effort being made by you guys and I'll encourage you to quit in any way I can, do a little reading on the effects of nicotine on the body.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nicotine

Check under the tab of 'Link to Circulatory Disease'

IMO quitting cold turkey is the best and safest way to go. Hey I did it and nobody thought I could.

Postby rfari » November 7th, 2011, 7:40 am

vrampersad14 wrote:

What model?

Me here eGo-T. Have tried the tobacco, vanilla and coffee, all high nico. How many cartridges a day u use?
Edit: @Invisible, ohhh goaaarrr ohhh goooaaar!!!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 9th, 2011, 2:44 am

resorting to these e-cigs won't help you to stop smoking......the nicotine is what you must rid your body of in order to effectively stop smoking.....

I painted a large wall yesterday afternoon and boy oh boy how I felt like smoking.....took me 3 hours to paint and that would have usually been over 10 cigs smoked...

However I kept taking my deep breaths, thought about other things in order to get my mind off the anger and frustration because of this thin arse paint I bought which kept dripping (and that would have encouraged me to smoke more) and had me large amounts of water....

Mind matters....that is what will enable success, a strong resolve and willing yourself to stop after having made the decision to stop for you. And as Invisible stated if you are a GOD fearing person a little communication with that ONE helps...

I am now 65 days smoke free, 334 days alcohol free and loving it all!!!! My quality of life has improved and things seem to be going very well.

And as civic suggested, count the money saved so:
65 x $17= $1105
334 x $50= $16,700 (minimum)

TOTAL= $17,805

Postby rfari » November 9th, 2011, 8:00 am

of course e-cigs can help you quit. it take a little less mental than quitting altogether tho.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 12th, 2011, 10:31 am

how's the progress going?

Postby BrotherHood » November 12th, 2011, 11:08 am

Vega I does rel respect you for that. Anybody could do it. A serious testimony that.
Vega for Quit Now President! :lol: :lol:

Postby rfari » November 12th, 2011, 6:23 pm

Since I'm on the e-cig, I stop smoking during the day. Only when I drink, I am back to my usual chain smoking self. Drinking will have to be stopped soon enuff. But overall I feel much better. Played football on friday and I was able to play without having to stoop and catch my breath. Its not back to my pre-smoking days, but its getting there.

Postby S_2NR » November 12th, 2011, 6:25 pm

didn smoke in a week.
not craving anything either.

going good so far.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 13th, 2011, 12:26 am

good going you two!!!! keep it up. I know it'll be especially difficult at this time of the year when there would be so many social festivities and one tends to want to take een ah blends when having some wonderful alcohol....
but keep the goal in mind and don't be put off if you fail once or twice.....just don't make it a habitual excuse.

lol @ BrotherHood.... I don't want nothing man....just glad to share and state that if I could do it then anyone of you guys can.....

Postby S_2NR » November 14th, 2011, 9:03 am

arghhh..just bought a pack and smoked..
couldnt take the withdrawal symptoms anymore..i was goin mad.

was getting level insomnia, cold sweats, anxiety, irritability and so much other sheit, it not even funny.

vega i dont know how u do it na :|

Postby rfari » November 14th, 2011, 9:23 am

they say that the first week is the hardest. after that the withdrawal symptoms decrease. dunno how true

Postby S_2NR » November 14th, 2011, 9:33 am

hoss i felt like i was going mad! :lol: :lol:

Postby rfari » November 14th, 2011, 11:39 am

keep at it homie. if you could reach that far once, u can definietly do it again. just don't make it a habit.
yeah, ah know, giving advice is the easiest thing in the world to do. :P