CS3 Gas gage problem

mitisubishiboi22

CS3 Gas gage problem

Postby mitisubishiboi22 » October 5th, 2011, 3:17 pm

hey tuners i hav my cs3 lancer big headlight i havin a little problem wit my gas gage. Wen the gas tank is filled wit fuel its fine, once de fuel starts to go down my gage sumtimes while drivin drops straight to E. an stays ther till i fill back up now wit tis in mind the tank isn't empty. so i not sure if ne one can help me out tanks guys

washie

Re: CS3 Gas gage problem

Postby washie » October 27th, 2011, 7:54 pm

My advice – you have 2 option 1. don’t bother changing it, it’s a manufactures problem. You can average your gas mileage.
2. you can do some modification by replacing it with a CK2 fuel gauge, those work very well.

Postby sliderz1 » October 29th, 2011, 12:03 am

have you determined whether its the instrument panel or the unit in the tank (accessed from under the back seat) causing it?

mitisubishiboi22

Postby mitisubishiboi22 » October 29th, 2011, 8:50 am

i am not sure wats de problem is n i hav no idea who to go to to check it out an i doh want nobody digg out my eye if u kno wat i mean!

Postby sliderz1 » October 29th, 2011, 10:26 am

open the tank and fondle with the float and see what happens

mitisubishiboi22

Postby mitisubishiboi22 » October 29th, 2011, 2:18 pm

ok tanx man

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » November 4th, 2011, 7:54 pm

washie wrote:My advice – you have 2 option 1. don’t bother changing it, it’s a manufactures problem. You can average your gas mileage.
2. you can do some modification by replacing it with a CK2 fuel gauge, those work very well.

i've got a ck and its giving trouble :(

going to try cleaning it this weekend if i get time

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » November 5th, 2011, 7:33 am

I had this same problem.

You sure the needle is not lose??

Try removing the IP and the clear cover and gently press the gauge needle.

If not have the float in the gas tank checked.

If that does not work then the simplest way to solve this is to replace the gauge panel.

The gauge panel and circuit board are detachable.

Buy an IP in the bamboo, then replace the circuit board on it with the one you currently have.

Its easy to do, just don't touch the needles on the gauges as they are very sensitive.

portugeseking

Postby portugeseking » November 6th, 2011, 10:57 pm

your gas tank float is bad try taking a tie strap an holding it in place not to tight in the tank

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » November 13th, 2011, 2:33 pm

apparently the sliding resistor get dirty over time and thats what gives you the varying fuel gauge needle (problem i have currently). when i checked the resistance on mine it dropped at certain areas instead of going up.

here's a link i found giving a write up on how to service the sending unit.
not sure if the resistor can be accessed to be cleaned on the lancer though.

enjoy....i still haven't tackled it as yet. will let you guys know if it work out when i do

http://www.fiero.nl/forum/Forum2/HTML/092117.html

hard head

Postby hard head » November 13th, 2011, 2:58 pm

Had this same problem just change the gauge in the tank and uh in the game .Gauge sells aroung 500

mitisubishiboi22

Postby mitisubishiboi22 » November 14th, 2011, 7:37 pm

thanks alot guys hav quiet a few options here