The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » October 31st, 2011, 7:36 pm

last time i dealt with that... i got the guy to hard reset. seemed to work. but then again i dont deal with themes much.

Exact details im unsure... may be iDynamic can lead the way. I tend not to do those type of devices unless i really have to. I think in the new redsn0w there is an update without updating baseband or something?

BTW this tethered thing is a headache... omg... I just did it... First time i booted... cydia was white... booted tethered, worked, now it was stuck on the apple logo.
Slipped it into DFU mode now an im doing my first tethered boot... fun times >_>

at least internet tethering is still there WOOHOO!!!!!!1

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 31st, 2011, 7:53 pm

Wasn't that bad for me. Got the white Cydia, redid it, used redsn0w & all was well from there on out. I think the digitizer has seen better days for this 3GS. Now I think its stuck on recovery mode. Oye...

Postby M_2NR » October 31st, 2011, 7:56 pm

ahh some interesting info here about to post it for u and saw u reply:
http://blog.iphone-dev.org/redsn0w-iOS5

recovery though? hmm.. odd.. oh and you made need an ATT Sim eh...

Ohh and no.. i need internet to boot tethered.. pointing it to the orginal iOS 5 is not working as well... i gonna get iOS 5 GM and see... its sooo hard to find a link to it... geez. and to top it off... its a DMG... FFS... >_> im on windows mengg...
EDIT: woohooooo http://techflipper.com/download-ios-5-g ... rect-link/

but wait na.. the GM.. is the exact same as the final... and... why... redsn0w... not detecting...it? d hell man..

EDIT2: that has got to be the easiest update i did... EVER. wow apple kudos! thanks for that. i hope i dont have to reboot anywhere... >_> i think i gone troubleshoot though... in case i do have to... and no net access

ohh and here was the error...
itunescarriererror.JPG
itunescarriererror.JPG (17.87 KiB) Viewed 1547 times

SRASC

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby SRASC » October 31st, 2011, 10:13 pm

Ahh yes, 3GS updated. Touchscreen useless though. Oh well. Not mine anyway. Good luck to owner.

Postby M_2NR » October 31st, 2011, 10:18 pm

hmmm... amazon sells those for cheap now i think?

i must say though... camera app loads a hell of a lot faster on iOS 5.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 31st, 2011, 11:17 pm

Speaking of which, double tap for camera in lock screen (I call it rapid fire) is nice helper for sure.

Just me or did the double tap to zoom for pics really get an upgrade?

Postby M_2NR » November 1st, 2011, 12:13 am

SRASC wrote:Speaking of which, double tap for camera in lock screen (I call it rapid fire) is nice helper for sure.

hehe that self! loads so quick now. in 4.3.3 there was literally seconds to load the camera and lags like wow!
Just me or did the double tap to zoom for pics really get an upgrade?

where in the actually camera or photo viewer?

Point to note... anyone who got tethering issues... after restoring from backup... two things:
1) Reset Network Settings - Yea you need to boot tethered after >_>
2) Change your phone name in About ;)

second worked well for me :)
it was telling me how to contact my carrier to set it up :?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 1st, 2011, 5:01 am

either or

Postby M_2NR » November 1st, 2011, 9:13 am

gah. Do not get a springboard crash into safemode in ios 5. My icon layout is fcked.

swipe right in camera app ;-)
boy oh boy I hope I remember everything from the beta

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 1st, 2011, 10:17 am

Concerning that 3GS no-touchscreen I mentioned, was wondering if there was anything I could to at least try to bring it back. I pretty much think its a goner but would just like to know I at least tried everything.

So far I've
Hard reset, DFU, & in the process did a clean restore, upgrade from 4.3.3 to 5.0

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 1st, 2011, 10:43 am

srry for the late reply people i just get some time to jump on tuner there........

@SRASC

Did you install any of themes on 4.3.3? because sometimes the themes f's up the screen and the iphone it self , sometimes causing it not to boot at times.

What is the baseband?

the usual way to go to iOS5 for a 3GS would be:

Downgrade 4.1

DFU restore to 4.2.1

Redsnow , install iPad Baseband

When boot , use greepoison to get it untethered.

From this point on for the rest of the 3GS life , it will only be able to restore to custom firmware.

So if you wanna go back up to 4.3.3 or 5.0 , you need to download the custom firmware for that firmware , either configure your host file or use the tinyumbrella

Then DFU restore , point iTunes to the CFW downloaded

Now if your on iOS 5 , there is a special method you have to use :

During the new setup screens you see when you start iOS5 for the first time, you’ll be asked about Location Services. Be sure to select “Disable Location Services” when asked! Later on in the setup, you’ll have the chance to turn on Location Services again when asked if you want to use “Find my iPhone”. It’s fine to turn it back on at that point, if that’s your desire (or you can always go in and enable it in Settings.app).

Then unlock with ultrasnow!!

BTW is this a White 16GB 3GS that was purchased on Amazon by Khaleel aka Joseph?

if so lol i was helping him a couple days ago but he is new to iphones so he was basically clue less

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 1st, 2011, 10:57 am

Well I was told it was a theme while on 4.3.3 that has the screen unresponsive, but having fully restored to iOS 5 I would have thought if that was the case then it would have been gone. Right now its on iOS 5, with the iPad baseband (I think, no way to verify, but it should be since that's what it had prior & I went through the process of preserving the baseband through redsn0w) & I don't think it is jailbroken. I would have gone through the process but since the screen is stagnant, well you know.
Oh & its black actually lol.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 1st, 2011, 11:33 am

Maybe December for bmobile

"Apple today announced that iPhone 4S will be available in Hong Kong, South Korea and 13 additional countries on Friday, November 11. Customers will be able to pre-order iPhone 4S beginning on Friday, November 4.

The full list of new countries the iPhone 4S will be available in is: Albania, Armenia, Bulgaria, El Salvador, Greece, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Malta, Montenegro, New Zealand, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Romania and South Korea."

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 1st, 2011, 11:49 am

SRASC wrote:Well I was told it was a theme while on 4.3.3 that has the screen unresponsive, but having fully restored to iOS 5 I would have thought if that was the case then it would have been gone. Right now its on iOS 5, with the iPad baseband (I think, no way to verify, but it should be since that's what it had prior & I went through the process of preserving the baseband through redsn0w) & I don't think it is jailbroken. I would have gone through the process but since the screen is stagnant, well you know.
Oh & its black actually lol.

dam well for sure its on the iPad Baseband ...once it was on it from before , did you restore to a stock 5.0 or a custom one made with snowbreeze???

also if it is the same phone , i told him when he bought it that he got scammed:

They stated it was factory unlocked (It was not)

They said it was brand new ( it was not , it was open jailbroken and unlocked with ultrasnow on the iPad baseband also replaced with a new housing to make it look brand new to any inexperienced person)

and who knows maybe there are more problems .

Never trust anything "brand new" outside an apple store yes.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 1st, 2011, 11:55 am

Made the custom through redsn0w. If those details are what they are, then was unfortunately destiny from the start. Apparently he says he still has a warranty (or 'warranty') for it. Not sure what would happen in that case.

Postby pete » November 1st, 2011, 11:58 am

The unlocked iPhone 4 was selling for the same price the 4s is selling for now right? Think that bmobile will have the 4s at the same price the 4 is now and will drop the price of the 4?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 1st, 2011, 12:04 pm

^^^ That's what the prices should be from bmobile, but who knows if it would be & yes the 4 sold for $649, $749 unlocked & the 4S sells for the same prices + $849 for the 64GB.

Postby pete » November 1st, 2011, 12:21 pm

Cool. Still trying to decide between the Samsung Galaxy S2 and the iPhone 4s if/when bmobile brings it down.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 1st, 2011, 12:45 pm

SRASC wrote:Made the custom through redsn0w. If those details are what they are, then was unfortunately destiny from the start. Apparently he says he still has a warranty (or 'warranty') for it. Not sure what would happen in that case.

yea very unfortunate , i told him to send it back , hopefully they will refund him

SRASC wrote:^^^ That's what the prices should be from bmobile, but who knows if it would be & yes the 4 sold for $649, $749 unlocked & the 4S sells for the same prices + $849 for the 64GB.

If bmobile get hold of the 4S before christmas , expect them to buss price for a while unless apple force them to make it the prices what the 4 was going at.IF you looking for contract price then bmobile is your way , if you looking for an all round phone i would say buy one factory unlocked from the powersellers here or attempt to buy it from apple directly

it should work out much less money being spent in the long run by buying it factory unlocked from the powersellers instead of bmobile on contract

Parvin

Postby Parvin » November 1st, 2011, 12:47 pm

iDynamic wrote:it should work out much less money being spent in the long run by buying it factory unlocked from the powersellers instead of bmobile on contract

THIS :idea: :idea: :idea:

Postby pete » November 1st, 2011, 1:59 pm

The iPhone basic plan from bmobile is almost the same that I'm paying for a blackberry package right now so I wouldn't look at the contract adding to the cost of the phone and the iPhone 4 16GB is just 3750 when you take that plan. I'll be in the US christmas so if bmobile is bussin price I will buy a factory unlocked 4S or maybe a samsung galaxy s2, depends on what people say about Siri in Trinidad.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 1st, 2011, 2:34 pm

Parvin wrote:
iDynamic wrote:it should work out much less money being spent in the long run by buying it factory unlocked from the powersellers instead of bmobile on contract

depends on your monthly bill.

Someone who has an unlocked iPhone 2 or 3 paying around $350 a month in bills can get an iPhone 4 for $2500 and pay $375 a month.

With that they also get unlimited EDGE data included and unlimited 4G data with the IYP device for free.

IMO much better off than they would have been if they bought a factory unlocked iPhone 4.

Buying a locked phone is a real pain inthe a$$.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 1st, 2011, 3:43 pm

iDynamic wrote:
SRASC wrote:Made the custom through redsn0w. If those details are what they are, then was unfortunately destiny from the start. Apparently he says he still has a warranty (or 'warranty') for it. Not sure what would happen in that case.

yea very unfortunate , i told him to send it back , hopefully they will refund him

Apparently the fact it is on iOS 5 voids the warranty... :| No SHSH blobs. :| x2

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » November 1st, 2011, 4:41 pm

siri on iphone 4

Postby M_2NR » November 1st, 2011, 6:18 pm

Parvin wrote:

Someone who has an unlocked iPhone 2 or 3 paying around $350 a month in bills can get an iPhone 4 for $2500 and pay $375 a month.

With that they also get unlimited EDGE data included and unlimited 4G data with the IYP device for free.

IMO much better off than they would have been if they bought a factory unlocked iPhone 4.

correction duane that's not unlimited edge eh. the 4G data from the HS is... Edge from the network isnt. Now what i don't know is if bmobile can now check how much kB you used or not.
http://www.bmobile.co.tt/plans/iphone-plans/
unless you gonna pay for the 750$ plan...

---

In all honesty though, i know everyone has a product to sell. But for a person who does not plan to EVER travel in their life (well for the time of the contract :P )... and does not hate the green network as much as i do... a bmobile plan /may/ work out well for them ae. Even better if the company is paying. :lol:
Remember... you have to work it out for yourself.. you are paying $4k-$6k for an iPhone factory unlocked... and then NOW you have to bundle on a plan or... prepaid and spend x amount of $ on top of that initial cost.
remember according to apple, bmobile is supposed to have the unlocking facility as well. so may be after the contract is over one /may/ have it unlocked (i dont know why i even considering taking bmobile side here). But then again... its bmobile, they don't know their a$$ from their hand. May be one day when i want to have another lulz I'll give them a call and ask again about what i saw on apple site and they in fact do offer that service to their own iPhone users.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 1st, 2011, 7:55 pm

SRASC wrote:
iDynamic wrote:

Apparently the fact it is on iOS 5 voids the warranty... :| No SHSH blobs. :| x2

yuh was not able to pull the blobs when he gave it to you??

if not you need to do the downgrade without blobs on it asap

because as the warranty stated " DO NOT UPGRADE"

so once you get it back to 4.3.3 he will be safe and he could send it back one time , they will never know he was on ios5

Hint : downgrading without blobs on a 3GS would require you to tinyumbrella server and you need to go all the way back down to 4.0 or 4.1 for it to pass successfully.

it gonna be a pain in the arse so brace yuhself a bit

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 1st, 2011, 8:01 pm

M_2NR wrote:
Parvin wrote:

correction duane that's not unlimited edge eh. the 4G data from the HS is... Edge from the network isnt. Now what i don't know is if bmobile can now check how much kB you used or not.

---

In all honesty though, i know everyone has a product to sell. But for a person who does not plan to EVER travel in their life (well for the time of the contract :P )... and does not hate the green network as much as i do... a bmobile plan /may/ work out well for them ae. Even better if the company is paying. :lol:
Remember... you have to work it out for yourself.. you are paying $4k-$6k for an iPhone factory unlocked... and then NOW you have to bundle on a plan or... prepaid and spend x amount of $ on top of that initial cost.
remember according to apple, bmobile is supposed to have the unlocking facility as well. so may be after the contract is over one /may/ have it unlocked (i dont know why i even considering taking bmobile side here). But then again... its bmobile, they don't know their a$$ from their hand. May be one day when i want to have another lulz I'll give them a call and ask again about what i saw on apple site and they in fact do offer that service to their own iPhone users.

correction duly noted - it seems they can check your data usage too

still a deal IMO

I wonder what criteria is needed for them to unlock it for you?

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » November 1st, 2011, 8:05 pm

M_2NR wrote:
Parvin wrote:

---

Correct , it all boils down to your personal life , if you gonna be out of the country regular , gonna switch to every new iphone that comes out each year / every couple months , planning on using it with all networks in trinidad both pre paid and post paid ...well factory unlocked is the way to go

If your a faithful bmobile customer , company paying everything , always using the post paid plans with no problem well then i would say bmobile is the way ...

either way they both have their advantages and dis advantages so its up the individual herself/himself on what they really wanna to use it for .

Another thing is , in terms of apple releasing new iphones every month , i don't know if bmobile would implement something where you can bring in your previous iphone and pay like $1000 to upgrade to the new one . That would be a plus(+) for them.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 1st, 2011, 8:06 pm

iDynamic wrote:
SRASC wrote:
iDynamic wrote:

yuh was not able to pull the blobs when he gave it to you??

if not you need to do the downgrade without blobs on it asap

because as the warranty stated " DO NOT UPGRADE"

so once you get it back to 4.3.3 he will be safe and he could send it back one time , they will never know he was on ios5

Hint : downgrading without blobs on a 3GS would require you to tinyumbrella server and you need to go all the way back down to 4.0 or 4.1 for it to pass successfully.

it gonna be a pain in the arse so brace yuhself a bit

As it was told to me the "Do not upgrade" was concerning using iTunes cause of the iPad baseband which is standard procedure in that case.

Oye...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 1st, 2011, 8:12 pm

check out TuneIn Radio
http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/tunein-r ... 87775?mt=8

you can get most of the local T&T radio stations streaming digitally and you get album covers, artist and song titles - you can even rewind a bit.

and it's free
Great for listening to radio on the iPhone, say you need to listen to local news on the hour