FORD RANGER PROBLEMS

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
civic minded

FORD RANGER PROBLEMS

Postby civic minded » October 30th, 2011, 6:22 pm

He pm me saying he will act up if I endanger his family, gezz and ages...lol

Re: FORD RANGER PROBLEMS

Postby sliderz1 » October 30th, 2011, 8:06 pm

^leave it as is
back down and let rant

civic minded

FORD RANGER PROBLEMS

Postby civic minded » October 30th, 2011, 8:10 pm

For true , leave crazy people alone

Postby sliderz1 » October 30th, 2011, 8:17 pm

lighthammer wrote:I personally dont believe there's a such thing as a lemon or bad batch, its simply a combination of problems that do have a solution per problem, it just takes logic, education and patience to sort them out - not ranting and raving hysterically and insulting people and saying you want to burn down their trucks.

shah23 wrote:Bossman firstly I never tell anyone I will burn down their their vehicle, some moron told me to go pour gasoline on mine and burn it and claim insurance money. I mention I will buy the gasoline for them to do the same.

he's right LH :| :drinking:

another thing.........since Ford Ranger = Mazda BT-50
have you spoken to anyone at Southern sales or any BT-50 owners to determine if they encounter the same problem?

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » October 30th, 2011, 8:56 pm

shah,

civic minded / slack / myself all have the same braking system you are talking about and we don't have the problems you're speaking of.

And yes, we all have pushed our vans to do all sorts of crazy things

All I want is that you start providing some proper details and facts.

Who in Ford has admitted to this problem? All our vans are under warranty and a manufacturer defect is proabably the only thing you can win them on. It's hard to believe that they have admitted a problem with the brakes on the Rangers.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 30th, 2011, 10:26 pm

I think the he was confused by the English language..

When i suggested to him to burn down his van to claim insurance , its means as a solution to his situation. If MY ranger was giving the problems he was describing, i would of done that... and of course he doesn't understand that interprets it as meaning i want to burn down his van...

Second point is when i ask for you to give me a name and van number, is for me to call up ford and inquire about your problem (as everyone knows the firm keep a record of service of each vehicle) - as there is always two stories to every situation and it would enable us on the forum to help you.
He interprets this as i am threating his family.

From these responses i have deduced that he is a Fake and do not want help from anyone and as a raving lunatic make wild accusations without any basis.

This is a forum where diesel heads get together, have a few laughs, discuss some problems and find solutions.
Yes i own a ranger, infact i own two rangers and they work perfectly without problems, and many others here own rangers and they don't have half of the problems your raving about.
I am not here to defend Ford. Its just another manufacturer. What i don't like is when someone, without enough knowledge and experience claim defects (and yes from previous threads you state that your this great driver from the USA and you know about the Ford trucks there, here is a secret buddy - we drive RHD vehicles here in trinidad and Ford Thailand supply the Ford trucks not USA Ford).
I know how the ABS system work, just like the other guys here, i did my share of offroading and my ranger handles beautifully. The ABS system in the rangers are great. just like the systems in other manufactured trucks.

So finally - if you want to rant and rave without any proof go to Woodford Square and have your rant there. Leave this forum for guys that are serious about their trucks.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 31st, 2011, 12:05 am

^^ agreed x2.

we want to help but if someone just wants to rant and rave, then act like a child then they'llgettreated like one.

Bossman, we trying to reason with you, how family get intothis? Ent youwanna fix the truck? We telling you how to fix it but all we hearing is how they lied to you and how you're such a great and experienced driver. Well you're definitely not a practical, hands on kinda guy cuz by now you woulda try something besides beat up ur head on MEM front door.

Hear what, im done. If you want to rant and rave and feel like we dishonoring your family likethis issome kinda kung fu movie,u go right on ahead. When uready to actually try something, then we right here.

Oh and dont put all your eggs in one basket - a warranty is just a promise with strings attached, its not a magic spell that can guarantee whether every single problem can be fixed.

homeboy

Postby homeboy » October 31st, 2011, 3:47 am

civic minded wrote:He pm me saying he will act up if I endanger his family, gezz and ages...lol

rofl.....man get emo after all that sheit talk......if it was my vehicle and still practically new that was going to block the driveway of the dealer and never move until i get something else........ you have to remember when dealing with a manager you are dealing with a human and not a machine that design to do exchanges......he will look for the easiest way out at the least expense even though it not coming from his pocket....

bt50

Postby bt50 » October 31st, 2011, 9:38 am

never get any brake fade on my bt50...117000kms and going strong...

maybe the guy should elaborate on where and how he got brake fade..situations will best determine the proper responses.

civic minded

FORD RANGER PROBLEMS

Postby civic minded » October 31st, 2011, 10:51 am

Bt50 - this is the whole problem- he made alot of threads in different forums and kept repeating the exact same thing , not elaborating, not explaining , just repeating over and over. Now tell me if it was any sane person would do that? Or is it really some kind of gimmic this guy who probably employed by another rival brand. At one point I thought it was badart I was talking too....roflmao!!

claries

Postby claries » October 31st, 2011, 11:06 am

dis is rel kickss yesss :lol:

badart

Postby badart » October 31st, 2011, 12:57 pm

civic minded when you were saying stuff about the hilux i made it clear tht if u dont own a hilux u should not make any comments about it. i dont own a ranger so why would i make such comments on something tht i dont really knw? i have better things to do than bad talk specific vehicles, and those who notice i only comment when ppl say stuff about the hilux which are basically misconceptions :D

civic minded

FORD RANGER PROBLEMS

Postby civic minded » October 31st, 2011, 2:36 pm

^^dude I was kidding , relax. And besides I never said anything is bad with the hilux. All I ever stated that I prefer the ranger over the hilux

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 31st, 2011, 6:48 pm

somehow i just read his posts and i do believe him .. not the part about all rangers defective as we own one going on 150k+ continually getting more licks and amazing me more than the hilux

however i do believe his own is giving trouble and there is a problem which the firm cannot fix

that being said have you checked anyone outside of the firm like private mechanics who are more than capable of fixing the problem ?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 1st, 2011, 3:20 am

^ daiz the same ting I saying, but like de fellar have a death grip on he warranty and INSISTS that they fix it.... But that like flogging a dead horse.

Well if de man don't wanna let go, leave him be. I not hurting my head over someone who refuses to allow himself to be helped - I'll save my energy for someone who willing to accept help.

shah23

Postby shah23 » November 12th, 2011, 10:21 pm

Ford Ranger Dangerous Brakes Failure and I have proof you .....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 12th, 2011, 11:15 pm

shah23

Postby shah23 » November 13th, 2011, 1:17 pm

Tell me what to do with the vehicle. I will love to drive a safe vehicle again. I cannot sell it yet I am still paying for it. When I went for my 20k service one of the madchanic told me to used a k&n air filter.
I bought one and took it on my 30k service, Another madchanic told me he check with some higher authority and said "putting the k&n air filter is considered modification and they will void the warranty. And since you all know about ABS so much, can you tell me what happens to a vehicle equipped with ABS, when you get Brakes Grabbing. Thank you.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » November 13th, 2011, 3:01 pm

ok so you have a mortgage on your van - so what? you can still sell it, pay off the bank then you have a deposit to buy another vehicle. I did this twice before already. Don't make that an excuse dude.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » November 13th, 2011, 3:06 pm

Call me and I will answer any questions that you have regarding ABS.

Apologies in advance guys, not feeling to type out an essay.

sureshot_james

Postby sureshot_james » November 14th, 2011, 2:16 pm

As you all know I had the black ranger and I put it through more shiet than it really should have ever seen. That being said the rangers do not have the brakes that "grab" as hard as some of the other trucks do. They do however stop just as well it is just a not as hard when you first step on it. this is to actually help the control on wet surfaces. The 3000 kg towing Braked does NOT mean that is what the truck will stop by itself THAT is the weight that the truck can TOW with a BRAKED TRAILER. If your putting allkinds of stuff in the tray or towing a unbraked trailer the truck WILL NOT stop as well. Period. I pulled a 20ft car hauler With electric brakes and the truck never gave me a once of trouble. Now I am not saying you are not having trouble but if you are take it to have it looked at.

If you want bring it by me as deal deal with M&M all the time with the modifications I do to the trucks. Ther have always honored the warranty on everything but what I actually changed "suspenion, bumper ect. A k&N filter will not void anything so don't take that crap answer either. You want advice and information on how to deal with the stealerships this is where to get it. All the bashing is not needed "sometimes fun though"

James

Postby sliderz1 » November 14th, 2011, 9:47 pm

.....+1

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » November 15th, 2011, 12:58 pm

Just go a call from shah23. Its an automatic Ford Ranger with EBD.

It was quite apparent that he is well acquainted with vehicles, being a part time mechanic and having a project turbo vehicle.
From that perspective as an experienced driver I believe him to be quite credible with his claims of poor braking on the automatic Ford Ranger.
On dry roads, the rear brakes lock up with minimal pedal effort. On the dry highway, while slowing to exit, the ABS kicks in.
Seems to me, that its a calibration issue that Ford needs to resolve, as the Ranger in question has EBD (Electronic Brake Distribution) which adjusts the braking effort to the rear wheels based on the weight at the rear wheels.
It may also be a case of an incorrect proportion valve being fitted at assembly.(not sure if the Ranger in question has one of these, given the EBD). I find this unlikely, but still possible. Too much fluid pressure to the rear wheels will cause them to lock up.

shah23 was also very willing to meet and have the vehicles issues replicated, but my take on this was that I, nor most of the tuners here, would be able to positively help resolve his brake issues.

I think we can all understand his frustration at the lack of response from McEnearney.

Postby Team Loco » November 15th, 2011, 2:00 pm

i could vouch for his anger to the stealership eh. up till now they cant get my ABS to work on meh lancer gt. telling me it not covered under warranty. when they say bumper to bumper warranty, they really meant it covers the two bumpers

civic minded

Postby civic minded » November 15th, 2011, 6:04 pm

Big Z wrote:Just go a call from shah23. Its an automatic Ford Ranger with EBD.

It was quite apparent that he is well acquainted with vehicles, being a part time mechanic and having a project turbo vehicle.
From that perspective as an experienced driver I believe him to be quite credible with his claims of poor braking on the automatic Ford Ranger.
On dry roads, the rear brakes lock up with minimal pedal effort. On the dry highway, while slowing to exit, the ABS kicks in.
Seems to me, that its a calibration issue that Ford needs to resolve, as the Ranger in question has EBD (Electronic Brake Distribution) which adjusts the braking effort to the rear wheels based on the weight at the rear wheels.
It may also be a case of an incorrect proportion valve being fitted at assembly.(not sure if the Ranger in question has one of these, given the EBD). I find this unlikely, but still possible. Too much fluid pressure to the rear wheels will cause them to lock up.

shah23 was also very willing to meet and have the vehicles issues replicated, but my take on this was that I, nor most of the tuners here, would be able to positively help resolve his brake issues.

I think we can all understand his frustration at the lack of response from McEnearney.

thanks for the explanation to the problem, i have this similar experience but only if i am driving at over 50Kmph and i slam on the brakes - ABS kicks in, which is normal and doesn't engage when driving normally and i brake slowly to exit a ramp. only when you brake violently will it engaged.
So it sound like a defect there -If the firm isnt helpful, check with Sureshot james and see if he can help you with this.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 16th, 2011, 1:26 am

^ that's what I said, long time ago.

Now that the dust settle, just get it done.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » November 16th, 2011, 5:01 pm

If you are going at around 30, 40Km/h and brake fairly hard, on dry road, the only way I feel the "locking/unlocking" is if one of the tyres are in mid-air. That is, if its over a pot hole or something of the sort.

Other than that, its fine to me. Not the best brakes out there, but its fine.

brawnybro

Postby brawnybro » November 17th, 2011, 2:18 pm

uhhhhhhm i have nerverrrr had a braking problem on my truck 2007 model mine must be special :)

shah23

Postby shah23 » November 23rd, 2011, 9:59 pm

Ford Ranger has Defective Brakes, Guys what! everyone can't say anything again.
Well I have an e-mail from a certain manager form M&M stating the Ford Ranger has a Grabbing Brakes issue and I think all you machanics know that Grabbing Brakes and ABS will have some serious problems.
Tell me what you all think!!! NB: When a brakes has grabbing effect, it also lock up.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 3rd, 2011, 12:04 pm

bt50 wrote:never get any brake fade on my bt50...117000kms and going strong...

maybe the guy should elaborate on where and how he got brake fade..situations will best determine the proper responses.

Thats because we have the best vans in the world !

(runs and hide now)...Lol

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”