SRASC

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby SRASC » October 17th, 2011, 1:53 pm

SRASC wrote:iPhone 4S lounder than iPhone 4
probably did that because of Siri, to be able to hear it better

I think the 4 also got louder. The alerts do seem a bit louder than they were under iOS 4.

------

Here's an interesting read concerning the iPhone 4S/5 & Steve's involvement with what time he had left...

Since CNET posted the iPhone 5 story this weekend…

…the iPhone 5 is a “complete redesign. This is a very large project that Steve dedicated all of his time to. He was not that involved in the 4S because his time was limited.”

(basically a repeat of an article I posted earlier)

…we thought it would be good time to tell you what our sources think happened to the iPhone 5 that some were expecting. We’ve heard from Foxconn managers as well as Apple employees and carrier partners on this and have tried to piece together the full story.

The iPhone 4S as you see it was originally planned to be released at WWDC with iOS 5, like every iPhone before it.

But something happened around February of this year that threw everything off. Apple was still integrating the Siri team and code into iOS and it was going much slower than planned. In February, Apple knew they weren’t going to be able to get an iOS 5 Beta to developers in April and they sure weren’t going to have a stable version by WWDC. They would be lucky to get a final version of Siri into customers’ hands by the holiday shopping season (Siri is currently in Beta in three languages).

At the same time, Apple’s iPhone 5 (teardrop) plans were moving along on or ahead of schedule and the first prototypes were testing well. CNet says that Steve Jobs was overseeing this project which sounds about right.

With mid-October being the earliest possible date of a Siri-fied iOS being ready – with “Apple-levels” of polish –Apple had to look at its options. Would they release the iPhone 4S at WWDC with a modified version of iOS 4? Without Siri and the other iOS5 improvements, the update might have seemed a little bland to the average customer.

Instead Apple chose a different route.

A decision was made to attempt to speed up iPhone 5 hardware development and try to get it built by the Holidays when iOS 5 would be launched. At the same time, the iPhone 4S was to be developed as either the flagship phone for 2011 or, if Apple could pull off the iPhone 5, the low cost alternative.

Along the way, there was pushback from Apple’s partners at Foxconn. In June, Foxconn founder Terry Gou was quoted by the WSJ as saying:

…the yield rate of Apple’s touch-screen devices hasn’t been satisfactory and has hurt its profitability. “The touch-screen devices are so thin. It’s really difficult to install so many components into the iPhones …”

Does that sound like he’s talking about building an iPhone 4S which is mostly identical to the iPhone 4 save for an updated camera and Apple’s A5 chip? Foxconn had been producing the iPhone 4 for over a year at that point.

No. He’s talking about trying to build the iPhone 5.

The iPhone 4S is neither thinner nor lighter than the iPhone 4 which the WSJ’s usually reliable Yukari Kane had sourced the “people with knowledge of the matter” in the same article as saying:

The new iPhone is expected to be similar to the current iPhone 4, but thinner and lighter with an improved eight-megapixel camera.

Foxconn obviously did have prototypes of the iPhone 5 (which eventually landed in the hands of the iPhone case designers and spawned the whole iPhone 5 case fiasco). But it turns out that building the iPhone 5 in necessary yield rates couldn’t be done in time for a holiday 2011 release.

Just like the third generation iPod with camera prototypes (below) were floating around China and wound up in the hands of case manufacturers, so did the iPhone 5. Apple never made that device, instead releasing an third generation iPod touch without a camera and eventually releasing a retina fourth generation iPod touch with not one but two cameras.

By early September, it started to become clear to us that these iPhone 5s weren’t going to make the cut.

It appears that the tear-drop shaped iPhone 5 with larger screen and thinner, rounder body is seeing continued design and production delays.

At some point, probably about the time Gou made his remarks, Apple decided it wouldn’t be possible to get this device (again, with Apple levels of polish) into the hands of the public before the holidays. It stopped development on the 5 and ramped up the 4S. Unlike previous years, Apple will likely have enough stock of iPhone 4S’s at launch and rollout to satisfy the even heavier demand.

As Hard Candy cases CEO Tim Hickman said:

After three separate manufacturing partners in China sent him detailed 3D models of an iPhone with a widened, pill-shaped “home” button and a slightly tapered back, Hickman decided to roll the dice. “The data we got came from somewhere.”

For what it is worth, our Foxconn contact says that iPhone 5 is currently planned for Summer 2012, but as we know, things can change.

Makes sense to me. If I remember correctly looking back earlier this year there were fires at Foxconn & I do also remember the stories about them talking about how difficult it was to make the iPhone. At the time I didn't think about it, but the article makes sense when it points out that they had been making iPhone 4s with the same external design for about a year at the time, so it clearly couldn't be the 4S, with that same design, he was talking about.
So technically production delays delayed the iPhone 5, but I guess you can't really call it a delay since Apple never said that the iPhone will always come out during a WWDC keynote. Can't call it a delay if it was never announced, unlike the white iPhone 4...

------

The inability of users to merge their Apple IDs has created a myriad of potential problems for some making the transition from MobileMe to its replacement, iCloud.

A number of users have reached out to AppleInsider to share their issues and frustrations as they have attempted to migrate from MobileMe to iCloud. One person explained in an e-mail that they have called AppleCare, used online support, and even asked for help at a local retail store.

"I bought a MobileMe subscription when they came out," the user wrote in their e-mail. "Until Wednesday I didn't (realize) this created a new (Apple ID). I asked (iTunes) support to add this MobileMe address to my current (iTunes Apple ID) as this was to become my primary email address.

"On Wednesday when iCloud came out it became apparent that this MobileMe email address could not be verified on the MobileMe account as it was in use by my old (iTunes Apple ID). So (I) went to appleid.apple.com to try to change the Primary email address to something different in my iTunes AppleID but it wouldn't let me." Calls made to AppleCare couldn't resolve the problem, they said.

It's a similar story for another user, who has one Apple ID used to purchase applications and music, which is separate from the e-mail address used for their MobileMe account. The person is in a position where they must choose between the e-mail address associated with their MobileMe account, or the Apple ID that they have used to purchase applications and music.

Another person said that upon setting up their iOS device, they were asked to create a me.com e-mail address, but they were unable to do this on an iOS device or a MacBook Air.

This person said after speaking with a senior technical support representative at Apple, they were told that Apple is "not allowing new me.com e-mail addresses," but only allowing MobileMe accounts to be converted to iCloud. The representative allegedly indicated that Apple has been receiving many calls about the issue, but they do not know when a fix will be available.

A similar list of headaches for MobileMe users making the move to iCloud was also detailed Monday by Chris Foresman of Ars Technica. He noted that the issues can also apply to users who have shared an Apple ID with family members, allowing purchases like software from the App Store to be installed on multiple devices -- a practice allowed with Apple's terms of service.

"Unless all devices are going to be synced to the same data store -- with everyone sharing contacts, calendars, and other information -- other users who were previously dependent on that account may have to re-purchase apps or music," he said.

Apple CEO Tim Cook allegedly indicated in an e-mail in September that Apple is working to allow users to merge multiple Apple IDs. But that ability has not yet arrived.

Apple launched its free iCloud service last Wednesday, along with the release of iOS 5 for the iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch, and an update for Mac OS X 10.7 Lion adding iCloud support. iCloud will back up users' personal data on their iOS device to Apple's remote servers in the cloud, and also keeps data, documents, calendars and contacts synced across a number of devices with the use of an Apple ID.

I can sure attest to that. Up to last night I was looking for solutions to iCloud related issues. Apple needs to make some changes to their Apple ID policy, like being able to merge & delete accounts. I have at least 3 @me.com addresses now because of this.

------

Remember just about two weeks ago, when some naysayers were sure that the iPhone 4S wasn't going to sell because it wasn't a totally new design and wasn't that different from the iPhone 4? As you learned on TUAW this morning, Apple sold four million of the new phones over the weekend. Federico Vittici over at MacStories.net created a nice visual representation of just how successful the launch of the iPhone 4S really was.

How good a weekend was it? The iPhone 4S sold more units during its launch -- four million -- than the previous device launches put together. Those kind of figures make me wonder if part of the "delay" in the launch of the iPhone 4S was due to Apple simply trying to manufacture enough of the devices to be able to meet demand for the first couple of months.

If the number of Siri-related tweets over the weekend is any indication, Apple has a real winner on its hands with the iPhone 4S.

------

Shawn Blanc (via The Next Web) calculated this morning that Apple is selling 16 iPhone 4Ss a second, or roughly 1,000 a minute. Blanc’s figuring comes after Apple announced this morning that there were 4 million iPhone 4Ss sold its opening three day weekend. Figures are also expected to expand as the iPhone 4S is introduced in 22 more countries on the 24th.

Reaching this milestone, Apple is on tract to pass Microsoft’s Kinect as the fastest selling consumer device of all time. Microsoft sold 8 million Kinects in the first 60 days, a number Apple could theoretically pass in the first two weeks.

The success of the iPhone 4S is most likely helped by a few factors:

The availability on three U.S. carriers: AT&T, Verizon, and Sprint. AT&T and Sprint both announced opening day sales records on Friday. The iPhone 4 was only on AT&T in the US.

iPhone 4 was released in 5 Countries. iPhone 4S was also available in Canada and Australia in addition.

iPhone 4 saw serious product shortages while it appears that Apple made plenty of iPhone 4S’s

There was a longer than normal wait time between the iPhone 4 and 4S

iPhone 4S is amazing.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 17th, 2011, 2:23 pm

streetlifestyle wrote:jailbroken on ios 5.

used redsnow to boot tethered.

but now my gevey keeps saying no service.....................

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 17th, 2011, 2:45 pm

mojosodope wrote:
streetlifestyle wrote:jailbroken on ios 5.

used redsnow to boot tethered.

but now my gevey keeps saying no service.....................

u dont need to reboot it all the time, u cud just remove the sim an place it back in and play with the airplane mode...it gets easier as u do it ah few times..i placed my sim in, accepted the gevey sim agreement, waited about 10 sec, the called 112 for 2 sec then put on the airplane mode and take it off immediately, 2 errors came up...press ok and put it back on an take it off...keep doin this until u see carrier comes up...then wait...if it doesnt work jus start over...by d way, make sure bluetooth and all your 3g stuff are off in settings...

Postby TRAE » October 17th, 2011, 2:54 pm

this is epic:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 17th, 2011, 3:14 pm

LOL

check these

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 17th, 2011, 3:23 pm

any rumbles as to the launch of the ipad 3? I waiting on that...with my luck I'll get impatient and buy the i2 and the 3 will be released the next week.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 17th, 2011, 3:43 pm

Question - What's the best phone?

Answer - The one you're holding !!!

WIN !!!

mojosodope

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby mojosodope » October 17th, 2011, 5:26 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:any rumbles as to the launch of the ipad 3? I waiting on that...with my luck I'll get impatient and buy the i2 and the 3 will be released the next week.

iPad 3: A6 processor, retina display, etc. Expected release date Q1 or Q2 2012.

In all honesty I wouldn't upgrade to the 2 right now, the next iPad is probably months away but it's still too soon to buy an iPad 2. I still have my original iPad 1 which I've had since release and I couldn't be happier as it serves the purpose.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 17th, 2011, 5:31 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ once you backed up your phone before doing the update, it will restore your backup automatically after updating. All your SMS, contacts, photos, apps, everything will be there on the new OS.

not here... mine not restoring. I getting some error. :x

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 17th, 2011, 5:35 pm

streetlifestyle wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ once you backed up your phone before doing the update, it will restore your backup automatically after updating. All your SMS, contacts, photos, apps, everything will be there on the new OS.

not here... mine not restoring. I getting some error. :x

Whats the error #

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 17th, 2011, 6:01 pm

mojosodope wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:any rumbles as to the launch of the ipad 3? I waiting on that...with my luck I'll get impatient and buy the i2 and the 3 will be released the next week.

In all honesty I wouldn't upgrade to the 2 right now, the next iPad is probably months away but it's still too soon to buy an iPad 2. I still have my original iPad 1 which I've had since release and I couldn't be happier as it serves the purpose.
iPads usually get launched around the end of March each year

so expect the iPad 3 to be available for sale around April 2012.
that's nearly half a year away.
I'd still buy an iPad 2 now if I was looking for a tablet. IMO it is too long to wait for the iPad 3.
Besides iOS 5 is spectacular on the iPad 2 (keep in mind the new iPhone 4S and the iPad 2 have the same processor and ram)

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 17th, 2011, 6:32 pm

mojosodope wrote:

I'd still buy an iPad 2 now if I was looking for a tablet. IMO it is too long to wait for the iPad 3.
Besides iOS 5 is spectacular on the iPad 2 (keep in mind the new iPhone 4S and the iPad 2 have the same processor and ram)

X2!!!

And Siri has been ported to the iPad 2 ! ....when its fully complete it will be released , I estimate around November ......he was asking for people to help him test the siri files on the iPad 2 ... I didn't offer to help though I was just observing

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 17th, 2011, 6:38 pm

^ who ported Siri to the iPad 2?
will this require jailbreaking?

casper

Postby casper » October 17th, 2011, 7:20 pm

mojosodope wrote:

I agree with Duane...I jes bought an iPad2 last week myself...vexx dogg if u buy one now u have an entire 6mths of enjoyment till ipad3 comes out next year April...u can always sell ur ipad2 and use the money to put towards an ipad3 so it's not like ur money dead...u can at least get back some

I'd buy another ipad2 if I had d extra money right now...its that good :)

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » October 17th, 2011, 7:37 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ who ported Siri to the iPad 2?
will this require jailbreaking?

http://twitter.com/#!/SonnyDickson

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 17th, 2011, 8:27 pm

How to activate iMessage and FaceTime?????

I just have to get that up and I good to go.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 17th, 2011, 8:48 pm

^ activate it? not sure what you mean

if you have an iPhone 4 then facetime is not a separate app but it's part of the Phone app.
iMessage is also not a separate app, it is built into the messages app, which is also used to send SMS.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 17th, 2011, 9:20 pm

u have a factory unlocked i4 duane????

i jailbroken and using a gevey sim.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 17th, 2011, 10:24 pm

streetlifestyle wrote:u have a factory unlocked i4 duane????

i jailbroken and using a gevey sim.

How did you activate the phone?

Make sure your connected to wifi and your apple id is signed in

Switch the toggle on FaceTime and iMessage on and off. Wait till it activates.

casper

Postby casper » October 17th, 2011, 10:34 pm

Now update meh iPhone to ios5 :) it sweeet

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 17th, 2011, 11:28 pm

streetlifestyle wrote:How to activate iMessage and FaceTime?????

u need ah at&t sim card to activate those stuff then u can use your normal sim...

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 18th, 2011, 5:59 am

ok updating itouch now

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 18th, 2011, 7:27 am

ryan99tt wrote:

u need ah at&t sim card to activate those stuff then u can use your normal sim...

Hactivated it with snowbreeze. @duane

So who lending me their AT&T sim????

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 18th, 2011, 7:57 am

i have one i cud lend u but u need to meet me in south

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 18th, 2011, 8:44 am

Redsn0w updated for windows ... still tethered BUT it updates the bb as well ... ruining chances of an unlock

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 18th, 2011, 10:12 am

I suppose there will be a Windows version of this guide coming out soon if not later today?

This sentence caught my eye

For the uninitiated, Ultrasn0w is a program created by the iPhone Dev-Team which lets users unlock their iPhone so that they can use it on carriers other than the official ones.

Seeing that bmobile is now an official seller of the iPhone, I wonder if/when an unlock for them to work here would no longer be necessary? The Caller ID & Format Fix is no longer needed...

Speaking of the green b...

It is in our plans. The exact time of its arrival however is to be confirmed. We will let you know when. Stay tuned for updates

Re: iPhone 4S availability locally

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 18th, 2011, 10:34 am

about the siri on ipad 2 , i think the only way to get siri working would be to have access permission to the root filesystem which require jailbreaking.

---------------------------------------------------------------

So these kids bought 2 iPhone 4S at launch and sent it to space while recording !!

check the video out !

Postby pete » October 18th, 2011, 11:13 am

Once the 4S is the same price the 4 is selling now when it releases I think I'll just get one from bmobile.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 18th, 2011, 11:17 am

streetlifestyle wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:

Hactivated it with snowbreeze. @duane

So who lending me their AT&T sim????

i have one but located in the st augustine region...

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » October 18th, 2011, 11:20 am

pete wrote:Once the 4S is the same price the 4 is selling now when it releases I think I'll just get one from bmobile.

yea i feel thats your best bet rite now , things up here in a mess , apple store iphone wise.

anyway i keep forgetting to post this video so ill post it now

WIN !