The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Trinifieds

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Trinifieds » October 14th, 2011, 2:37 pm

So it's jailbroken AND the Gevey sim works?

ryan99tt wrote:got mines activated using redsn0w instead an tethered jailbroken too...but i still havin problems gettin my backup to sync...hear wats d deal...i restored an wen i opened itunes all i gettin is to set up iphone, i not seeing any feature to chose restore from backup but wen i check the backups are still there, even the one i made before the restore...wen i plug it into the pc an launch itunes and right click on the phone, i am not seeing any tab to click restore from backup...any help wit this will be greatly appreciated...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 14th, 2011, 3:21 pm

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » October 14th, 2011, 3:25 pm

^^ Doesnt seem to be that much faster IMHO though.. :?

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » October 14th, 2011, 4:23 pm

^ it kinda funny tho i tested this IOS 5 on a 3gs and i shock dread the thing work almost like iphone 4 it real smooth and crisp with notifications and everything..

But u wrong tho partner look at angry birds the birds and they fly off the screenon iphone 4s before iphone 4 one loaded

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 14th, 2011, 4:34 pm

Vin Diesel (not really) wrote:Doesn't matter if you load by a second or a minute, loading's loading

------

Looks like post-Steve Apple is going to be all right.

iPhone 4S breaks pre-order records, sells out before launch, long lines at launch & now Apple's stock value has hit an all time high.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 14th, 2011, 5:11 pm

alright so I updated my iPhone 4 to iOS 5,
preserved the baseband with a custom ipsw in redsn0w, and restored
I didn't jailbreak it so I don't need to use redsn0w to boot

using a gevey pro

in my about screen
my carrier says 'Carrier Lab 11.0'
anyone ever see that before?

also, hotspot feature gone,
no option to input the apn for tethering : /

MMS, iMessage and FaceTime working

Postby M_2NR » October 14th, 2011, 5:48 pm

mojosodope wrote:also, hotspot feature gone,
no option to input the apn for tethering : /

lulz

that sox. another reason why im staying down until they get another untethered jailbreak. We /may/ need to use one of those "extreme" prefs crap in cydia to edit the apn... but i hear those things are tricky... as in... you can cause more harm than good using em.

___

friend of mines got his:

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 14th, 2011, 5:53 pm

nah I'm never jailbreaking , too many bugs for my liking

Once my edge works I'm good with that

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 14th, 2011, 8:57 pm

Trinifieds wrote:So it's jailbroken AND the Gevey sim works?

ryan99tt wrote:got mines activated using redsn0w instead an tethered jailbroken too...but i still havin problems gettin my backup to sync...hear wats d deal...i restored an wen i opened itunes all i gettin is to set up iphone, i not seeing any feature to chose restore from backup but wen i check the backups are still there, even the one i made before the restore...wen i plug it into the pc an launch itunes and right click on the phone, i am not seeing any tab to click restore from backup...any help wit this will be greatly appreciated...

yea bro, anyone cud help me with the problem i have? need dem contacts on meh fone...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 14th, 2011, 11:32 pm

got tru wit the problem, i had to restore the fone an activate it using an at&t sim....

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » October 14th, 2011, 11:44 pm

"Siri voice command system ported from iPhone 4S to iPhone 4 (video)":

http://t.co/HmJaDdBY

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 14th, 2011, 11:57 pm

the missing hotspot on gevey baseband preserved iOS 5 devices is due to a generic carrier: Carrier Lab 11.0.

as of now you can fix the bug on ultrasn0w unlocked phones by resetting the network settings, and resetting your phone

I haven't found a work around for gevey users yet.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 15th, 2011, 12:02 am

mojosodope, i realise that too and am trying to fix the problem...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 15th, 2011, 11:26 am

You knew it was coming...

RIP Antenna Gate?

iPhone 4 vs iPhone 4S (AT&T 3G)

iPhone 4 vs iPhone 4S (Wifi)

iPhone 4S vs Canon 500D/T1i

iPhone 4 vs iPhone 4S (Video)

iPhone 4S (AT&T, Sprint & Verizon 3G)

iPhone 4 (featuring Siri)

------

Boy Genius Report's Apple iPhone 4S Hands-On

Engadget's Apple iPhone 4S Review

------

One of the big new features in iOS 5 is liberation from your sync cable. Now, you can sync your music, movies, and apps all over Wi-Fi—albeit a bit slower than over USB. How much slower? We put it to the test to find out whether it was still fast enough to be worth your time.
While syncing your latest album, movie, or apps over USB is pretty darn fast, there's something to be said for the convenience of wireless sync. From anywhere in the house, you can just tap a button on your iPhone, iPod touch, or iPad to get them all sent to your device—without even having to get out of your chair. The only problem is speed. Wi-Fi is notoriously slower than wired connections, but we set out to see just how much slower—for music, movies, and apps—to see whether it was worth the waiting. Here's what we found.

How We Tested

We ran these tests on a Windows desktop over Wireless G with a 4th generation iPod touch. We ran three tests for each syncing medium: a music test in which we synced four albums of music, a music and movies test in which we synced those four albums plus a movie downloaded from the iTunes store, and an apps test in which we synced 7 apps from the App Store. We timed it from the pressing of the Sync button to the moment the Apple logo reappeared in iTunes' playback bar, when the sync ended.

The Results: Wi-Fi Is Slower, But Usable for Music and Apps

Syncing four albums only took about 28 seconds over USB, which increased to about 6 and a half minutes over Wi-Fi. That's a pretty big difference—as in it was 14 times slower—but 6 and a half minutes still isn't a long period of time, as long as you aren't rushing out the door. And if you have less than four albums to sync, it becomes even less noticeable.

Syncing four albums and a two and a half hour movie over USB took significantly longer than just syncing music, but still not so much that you'd get bored while it was running. Syncing it over Wi-Fi, though, was absolutely painful—it took over 20 minutes to sync. If you're just sitting around, I suppose you could sync a movie or two over Wi-Fi, but be prepared for it to take a long time.

Apps are a completely different beast altogether. Syncing 7 apps over USB took a little over a minute, which isn't bad, but was surprisingly long considering each app is only 10-20MB large. Syncing over Wi-Fi only took twice as long—a little over 2 minutes. It seems like large part of app syncing is probably the unpacking and installation, which takes place on iOS, and has nothing to do with your connection speed. As such, syncing apps over Wi-Fi shows a much smaller difference compared to USB than does syncing media over Wi-Fi.

Syncing four albums, a movie, and 7 apps took about as much time as you'd expect on each. Add up the values from the other test and it's about the same as trying to sync them all in one fell swoop—which, by the way, we probably wouldn't recommend doing over Wi-Fi unless you have nowhere to go.

Other Things to Consider

While music and movies take 13 times longer over Wi-Fi than over USB, it's still a relatively short amount of time—6 and a half minutes for 4 albums isn't bad. If you aren't rushing out the door, it's certainly worth the "not getting out of your chair" factor, and if you're only syncing one or two albums, it'll be even faster. This benefit grows with something like the iPad, which is more difficult to just keep docked at your computer all the time—instead of finding it and bringing it to your computer all the time, you can just hit the sync button on either device and let it go to town.

The other awesome thing about Wi-Fi syncing is that you can still use your device while you sync, which is awesome. If you want to sit in one room and listen to music on your iPod, or read your Instapaper queue on the iPad, you don't need to sacrifice any of that time futzing with sync cables—just hit the sync button and keep on doing what you're doing. A little sync icon will show up in the menu bar while it syncs, and disappear when it's done, too.

Lastly, there seems to be a misconception that your iPhone has to be charging for it to sync with iTunes over Wi-Fi. This is not true. You can sync when unplugged, as long as you have enough battery left in your phone and as long as iTunes is open. It will, however, automatically sync itself whenever you plug it in, which is a great feature.

Overall, Wi-Fi syncing is mostly what we expected—a slower version of USB syncing. However, if you're syncing a small amount of media, it doesn't make a huge difference, and if you're syncing apps, there's almost no reason to plug in at all. Also keep in mind that we were using a wireless G network, and if you're on the newer wireless N standard, you might notice even faster Wi-Fi times. And with the ability to keep using your device while you sync, it is very freeing to have Wi-Fi sync around, as long as you don't have anywhere to be.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 15th, 2011, 11:51 am

So bmobile is on Apple site as the Official iPhone Resellers in Trinidad and Tobago.
Untitled.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 15th, 2011, 1:36 pm

firstchoicett wrote:So bmobile is on Apple site as the Official iPhone Resellers in Trinidad and Tobago.
you expected differently?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 15th, 2011, 2:12 pm

firstchoicett wrote:So bmobile is on Apple site as the Official iPhone Resellers in Trinidad and Tobago.

Thats not news, they've been on there from about a week after the iPhone launched down here.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 15th, 2011, 5:12 pm

^ besides that, they are an authorised carrier. It's not like bmobile sneaking in unlocked iphones and selling them on their network with a plan. They are authorised by Apple Inc.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 15th, 2011, 6:40 pm

ImageImage

ImageImage

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 15th, 2011, 6:58 pm

No 3G toggle on iPhone 4S

may or may not be available on the U.S factory unlocked ones when they are released?

http://www.engadget.com/2011/10/15/iphone-4s-lacks-enable-3g-switch/

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 16th, 2011, 12:46 am

I guess the iOS 5 update fixed the caller ID problem but it didn't bring back personal hotspot :(

Postby S_2NR » October 16th, 2011, 12:49 am

ios5 started slowing down my ipod touch.
reverted to ios4 and all is well again

Postby M_2NR » October 16th, 2011, 1:06 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I guess the iOS 5 update fixed the caller ID problem but it didn't bring back personal hotspot :(

d, yuh still have the option to toggle 3G?

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 16th, 2011, 6:45 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I guess the iOS 5 update fixed the caller ID problem but it didn't bring back personal hotspot :(

I have mine......

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » October 16th, 2011, 8:08 am

Personal hotspot is a feature that is blocked by the carrier (bmobile) not Apple. I have no idea why bmobile would block it.

Postby pete » October 16th, 2011, 8:28 am

Factory unlocked iPhone 4 using Digicel, safe to upgrade to iOS5?

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » October 16th, 2011, 8:32 am

Factory unlocked always safe to upgrade no matter which carrier.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 16th, 2011, 8:59 am

^ correct

M_2NR wrote:

d, yuh still have the option to toggle 3G?
nope

from what i read, iOS 5 does not allow 3G toggle

src1983 wrote:

I have mine......
I take it you are either on digicel or you never did the bmobile carrier update

rawCpoppa wrote:Personal hotspot is a feature that is blocked by the carrier (bmobile) not Apple. I have no idea why bmobile would block it.
yeah I figiured as much since it disappeared when I did the bmobile carrier update. Wonder what it would take to get them to reactivate it?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 16th, 2011, 10:03 am

Contrary to what you may believe, the iPhone 4S was not the last project Jobs worked on. In fact, the next generation iPhone (iPhone 5?) was the last project Steve Jobs worked on before departing from this world.

For this article’s sake, I will refer to the next iPhone as the iPhone 5. With that, and the fact that it was the last project Steve worked on, its expected that this upcoming generation will be a complete overhaul of the phone with possibility of Long Term Evolution, or LTE, often referred to as 4G. I believe its safe to assume that the iPhone 5 will include a bigger screen and a slimmer profile just like it has been rumored in the past numerous times. It was said that Steve spent his last days working on this project; leaving the iPhone 4S to other teammates as he knew his time was short.

Ashok Kumar, an analyst at Rodman & Renshaw, expects that the iPhone 5 will become a ‘cult classic’ due to the fact that it was Steve’s last project. With that, I expect Apple iPhone sales will sky rocket and surpass the current iPhone 4S launch day sales.

It may be safe to say that the iPad 3 could pave the way for possible hardware upgrades coming to the iPhone 5. We could see the likes of a new processor, memory capacity, an improved gyroscope and accelerometer etc. Keep in mind it is purely speculation at this point in time, but we know it will be a major cosmetic and internal upgrade to what Apple is providing currently. Personally I look forward to updates to iOS and how they will support the new hardware and what new advancements it will bring. Will we see iOS 6 by then? Or will we remain on iOS 5 with some tweaks?

With talks about how large this project was, its understandable why the iPhone 4S remained as a subtle upgrade to its predecessor. The iPhone 5 should live up to the hype and continue to be the best phone on the market. Expect to see the newest generation of iPhone some time around Apple’s Developer Conference next Summer. Let’s hope that service providers will allow an upgrade option outside of the normal guidelines for those of us who have upgraded to the iPhone 4S on a 2-year contract. I guess we will have to wait and see! Oh what a long wait it will be!

------

Although Apple says that they will begin selling unlocked, contract-free iPhone 4S units in the United States in November, we have learned otherwise. Select Apple Stores in the United States have begun selling contract-free versions of the iPhone 4S.

Users can activate the contract-free iPhone 4S by simply plugging the device into iTunes. Once plugged in, the above iPhone 4S unlocked popup will appear. Troughton-Smith’s unlocked iPhone 4S in the United States successfully connected to T-Mobile’s EDGE network via an O2 SIM-card on roaming. The contract-free, unlocked iPhone 4S included an AT&T SIM card, which is of course removable. Apple sells this special iPhone 4S for $649, $749, and $849 for 16GB, 32GB, and 64GB, respectively.

I might the 16GB FU, if only I get the 6 lucky numbers...

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 16th, 2011, 10:58 am

Users on carrier lab 11.0 don't have personal hotspot but If it has carrier 11.0 you should be able to enable it.

The toggle for 3G is available for everyone except iPhone 4S users.