WTK: Jobs in Trinidad, why are they so difficult to come by?

pluggie

Re: WTK: Jobs in Trinidad, why are they so difficult to come

Postby pluggie » October 10th, 2011, 4:04 pm

dont know why they allow kids to do these management courses, thats only spoiling good minds... how much ppl you know with a degree in managment that works as a manager in a reputable company ? i believe these course should be targeted to ppl with +5 years experience and looking to advance to a management role.

but on another note, sometimes you just got to send out resumes and have patience...I have been working contract my whole life project after project, never got one permanent offer after all the resumes i sent out...it seemed tough at first but if i got the choice again, i wud change nothing... im a mechanical engineer but never worked as a mech eng since i left UWI...and now im currently in dubai, just left south africa..

Devourment

Postby Devourment » October 10th, 2011, 4:48 pm

pluggie wrote:dont know why they allow kids to do these management courses, thats only spoiling good minds... how much ppl you know with a degree in managment that works as a manager in a reputable company ? i believe these course should be targeted to ppl with +5 years experience and looking to advance to a management role.

but on another note, sometimes you just got to send out resumes and have patience...I have been working contract my whole life project after project, never got one permanent offer after all the resumes i sent out...it seemed tough at first but if i got the choice again, i wud change nothing... im a mechanical engineer but never worked as a mech eng since i left UWI...and now im currently in dubai, just left south africa..

People don't realize how useless a management degree is as your first degree. You are NOT learning anything of value. I've seen the syllabus at various schools in T&T. This will flyover the heads of youngsters, but even if it isn't, doing a degree like this teaches you no real skill.

These degrees are mainly meant for people with experience in the industry.

Postby De Dragon » October 10th, 2011, 5:46 pm

sharkman121 wrote:i swear if i had $1 for every person that asked me for a "link up" for a job where i work.

Thing is nepotism is extremely prevelent in todays society, even though i working there 13 yrs i cant pull any strings for you, it still comes down to who you know or who is yr family.

Not saying that u cant get a decent well paying job on yr own strength, as lots of ppl do so...but its definitely much harder given the population of the competition out there now.

Yuhunnahstan? Most I can do is get your resume to the right person.

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » October 10th, 2011, 7:04 pm

if you went sams then there you go..

But who does a management degree?? Those are not in demand hence your troubles in getting jobs,
Most companies just promote a worker in a management position weather he have ah degree or not since its not so demanding..

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » October 10th, 2011, 8:35 pm

is who you know and who know you will determine if you will get a job this time around.....

when you in a interview you say tings that they want to hear and it doesnt necessarily have to be true..

Look at 2year petrotrin graduate programme for university grads starting in November, I dont knw anyone in the company and I didnt get a call up to now and I have the qualifications.....friend and family getting through first then if it have space is the rest of we.......but I not hurtin my head for that....

What is for you is for you..

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » October 10th, 2011, 8:36 pm

I'm looking for a secretary and cant find one who can use a Mac. Did they only teach comp. lit on windows?

Postby S_2NR » October 10th, 2011, 8:47 pm

it all comes down to who u know in the end.

Postby BrotherHood » October 10th, 2011, 8:47 pm

The thing is, everyone wants a job and everybody wants a well paying job down to the people who just have secondary school education A next thing is that nobody wants to start at the bottom. The supply of job seeking citizens is just less than the demand and vacancies.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 10th, 2011, 9:17 pm

BrotherHood wrote:The thing is, everyone wants a job and everybody wants a well paying job down to the people who just have secondary school education A next thing is that nobody wants to start at the bottom. The supply of job seeking citizens is just less than the demand and vacancies.

I think you have it the other way around there

Postby BrotherHood » October 10th, 2011, 9:31 pm

BrotherHood wrote:The thing is, everyone wants a job and everybody wants a well paying job down to the people who just have secondary school education A next thing is that nobody wants to start at the bottom. The supply of job seeking citizens is just less than the demand and vacancies.

I think you have it the other way around there

BrotherHood wrote:The thing is, everyone wants a job and everybody wants a well paying job down to the people who just have secondary school education A next thing is that nobody wants to start at the bottom. The supply of job seeking citizens is just more than the demand and vacancies.

FIXED!
Thanks Dizzy.

Postby Bizzare » October 10th, 2011, 9:43 pm

No offense OP, but I does laugh at old friends when they tell me they doing Business Management and let em know they're wasting their lives / A-level qualifications....... Everybody and their dog doing a Business management degree. When I see the content of those BSCs, I ask myself if common sense is still common. Anyone who leaves school and isn't sure of what they wanna do, always end up doing..... Business Management or business something diploma at SAMS/UTT/SBCS :|

Any slacker you see on UWI's compound, wasting GATE, is definitely doing one of those Business Degrees. :lol:

Postby black start » October 10th, 2011, 9:58 pm

salvation4U wrote:is who you know and who know you will determine if you will get a job this time around.....

when you in a interview you say tings that they want to hear and it doesnt necessarily have to be true..

Look at 2year petrotrin graduate programme for university grads starting in November, I dont knw anyone in the company and I didnt get a call up to now and I have the qualifications.....friend and family getting through first then if it have space is the rest of we.......but I not hurtin my head for that....

What is for you is for you..

actually you have to be proactive, do what ever it is u can do to make youself more marketable. if it is u have a degree and the industry not biting, dont sit down and feel sorry go out and do something that gives u the edge over the competition. and yes cables have ah part to play but not always....

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » October 10th, 2011, 11:25 pm

Thanks for the advice guys!

...sooooo, anybody have a link? :lol:

TEMPO

Postby TEMPO » October 11th, 2011, 12:10 am

is not bout if yuh have just a link.....it depends on how much weight yur link has :wink: remember that.........

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 11th, 2011, 12:53 am

The hard truth is if you have a Maxi Red Band you make $1200 TT a day.

PH drivers does make $500 a day with ah B13

Man it has plenty ways to make money you just need to work ah lil hard at it. Mechanic does make plenty money also.

The world works on what people want. Example is wrecker business is huge in Trinidad you can become rich doing that. $500 to tow a Vehicle on Average.

I don't ever look towards getting some office Job. Infact I would love to become a Mechanic. I would trade everything I know in IT just to be a pro Mechanic.

Postby janfar » October 11th, 2011, 3:39 am

And some of these graduates come out thinking that they automatically deserve a management senior position when they applying for jobs. I had the misfortune of working with some fellahs with degrees... when they see how dirty the job was they ask me when would be time to go offshore... :|

OP... advice: start small... get yuh foot in the door of some big company and hard work would get you all the way to the top... the who u know and who know you stuff is for when yuh want jobs that yuh cant do... it have men right here on this forum yuh would see everyday on the road and yuh would be shocked to see their bank statement and the path they took to get there... basically.. yuh degree is nothing without experience... you get experience by learning all the rolls under you from the cleaner all the way up to the supervisors... and theirs only one way to to get that experience ***passes toilet brush and pine-sol to OP***

Hance Rampersad

Postby Hance Rampersad » October 11th, 2011, 9:34 am

You need to keep in mind also that in Trinidad there are many qualified returning residents from the USA and Canada looking for jobs in our market with foreign experience and they still cannot get a job. I know personally of one guy with an MBA and many years experience working for an international oil company abroad and cannot get a job in Trinidad to date that matches his qualifications and experience , he will have to settle for half his salary expectation compare to doing the same job abroad. The slump in the global job market is in fact impacting on our little island.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 11th, 2011, 9:52 am

Hance Rampersad wrote:You need to keep in mind also that in Trinidad there are many qualified returning residents from the USA and Canada looking for jobs in our market with foreign experience and they still cannot get a job. I know personally of one guy with an MBA and many years experience working for an international oil company abroad and cannot get a job in Trinidad to date that matches his qualifications and experience , he will have to settle for half his salary expectation compare to doing the same job abroad. The slump in the global job market is in fact impacting on our little island.

Why return? :?

Postby MG Man » October 11th, 2011, 9:57 am

pluggie wrote:dont know why they allow kids to do these management courses, thats only spoiling good minds... how much ppl you know with a degree in managment that works as a manager in a reputable company ? i believe these course should be targeted to ppl with +5 years experience and looking to advance to a management role.

what wrong with goin UWI straight outta A-levels to do a Management Degree?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 11th, 2011, 9:58 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
Hance Rampersad wrote:You need to keep in mind also that in Trinidad there are many qualified returning residents from the USA and Canada looking for jobs in our market with foreign experience and they still cannot get a job. I know personally of one guy with an MBA and many years experience working for an international oil company abroad and cannot get a job in Trinidad to date that matches his qualifications and experience , he will have to settle for half his salary expectation compare to doing the same job abroad. The slump in the global job market is in fact impacting on our little island.

Why return? :?

Where I work we have a Canadian and an American both of whom here cuz things hard across there. The Canadian was laid off 3 times in the last 3 years. And he has MBA and thing.

pluggie

Postby pluggie » October 11th, 2011, 12:58 pm

what wrong with goin UWI straight outta A-levels to do a Management Degree?

lol nutting wrong with that ... but chances are they might not even get a job as a manager in KFC :) :) :) ... I smiled but this is very true....