3ne2nr fishermen

Re: Are there any dedicated Bait and Tackle Stores in Trinid

Postby meccalli » October 8th, 2011, 11:06 pm

mankeys is right in luis street where curry masala is , walk down cross the avenue and a big blue house with a white electric gate. Usually you can see a ballyhoo pricing sheet way down at the entrance. Monarchs is in tunapuna, safe to say right opposite the market. Its where the old cinema used to be, there's a bunch of shops, just walk straight down, you'll see rods on a rack as you get closer.

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby gt4tified » October 9th, 2011, 4:20 am

Next week too far away...who throwing line in the morning?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 9th, 2011, 9:57 am

thanks Smeed

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » October 9th, 2011, 11:36 am

cease n sekkle!

Postby rfari » October 9th, 2011, 12:04 pm

how are the prices/variety at mankee's and monarch compare to online?

Postby Razkal » October 9th, 2011, 12:09 pm

online is definitely cheaper, for rods/reels/terminal tackle etc..check the major outdoor outlets and they always have a clearance section with really great prices.

mankees and reel tackle has the best selection of artificials locally imo, mankees seem to have the best prices among local retailers, but still not as cheap as online.

monarch has an average variety, great for the occasional weekend fisherman, not much artificials or atleast not a great variety. they have decent rods/reels at reasonable prices, but again, online is cheaper.

www.bassproshops.com
www.dickssportinggoods.com

i check both sites' clearance section every week.

Postby rfari » October 9th, 2011, 12:21 pm

thnx for the advice razkal. i normal go tackle shop in carenage but after i told some fellas DDI that and they had a hearty laugh, they said that i getting my eye jook out. mankee is close to where i work so i gonna check them out. i have basically no lures or sinkers after a failed fishing trip to toco.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » October 9th, 2011, 12:23 pm

Disclaimer for my comment is that I last visited Mankee in 2010 and Monarch in 2009. So my feedback is a little dated.

Mankee's beats Monarch in most in the price of most stuff and have a wider range of products.
The advantage of Mankee is that they are a supplier to "commercial fishermen" rather than hobbyist. The only place Mankee was losing the market was in "high end" stuff such as rods, ect. I know they were supposed to up their game in that area but I have not been by them in about a year.

The advantage of Monarch is that it is usually “close to home” (well for the East people) and prices are very good compared to Kennys, and Sports and Games. The guy is very knowledgeable in rod and reels and can assist in repairs since he usually stocks most parts.

If comparing the prices to online; it is cheaper to purchase your low end stuff in Trinidad (e.g. hooks, sinkers, ). It is cheaper to purchase the high end stuff online.

Postby Razkal » October 9th, 2011, 6:56 pm

^mankees is still top notch as far as local suppliers go man..i'd refer anyone to their business.
they do have a 'slight' rod/reel selection, but you can get competition penn reels and most other penn reels, by order i believe..they stock only a few, and the price is brutal.
you may pay the same price for a rod reel combo from penn online, as you would for just the reel at mankees.

i'll purchase hooks online also if given the chance, i started using circles only and the best selection is online imo...locally, i get 2/0 and 3/0 circles from Reel Tackle (Peakes), at $15/5 its kinda overpriced. but you catch EVERYTHING banking with them :lol:

rfari, toco can be a beyotch to fish if you're not accustomed or know the route, my luck there is dismal! :lol:

Energy0091

Postby Energy0091 » October 9th, 2011, 8:16 pm

Thanks guys. Project is due tomorrow. You guys have been very helpful.
Give yourselves a pat on the back. *joke*

Postby rfari » October 9th, 2011, 9:23 pm

I guess OP is finished with us :P. Good info here to merge with the 2nr fisherman ched mods.

Postby meccalli » October 9th, 2011, 9:38 pm

Anybody ever fish at la fillette? where the boats come in down the set of steps. Went to shoot a couple with a buddy with that view down there and never knew there existed. Saw a guy load up a big dolphin in he cooler O.o

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » October 9th, 2011, 10:34 pm

meccalli wrote:Anybody ever fish at la fillette? where the boats come in down the set of steps. Went to shoot a couple with a buddy with that view down there and never knew there existed. Saw a guy load up a big dolphin in he cooler O.o

dey aight!!....if u actually manage to go on a good day....with the little dev. on d hill...the slightest rain n d water gets red!! <<dirtyy>>

dolphin??....as in mahi mahi...or porpoise - dolphin??

wat u shoot tho??

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 9th, 2011, 10:44 pm

Smeed wrote:so guys i'm due back in trini next saturday.......wha's de plan?????????????????????? whey Ryan....ent we was talkin bout a mission to de table?

yea bro, i in once is ah saturday...d sunday does be hard now...la fillete does be alright and dat dolly hold outside not from shore...lol...but den again, i hearin ah story bout somebody ketch ah marlin in tobago from ah rock but i ent kno...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 9th, 2011, 10:44 pm

rfari wrote:I guess OP is finished with us :P. Good info here to merge with the 2nr fisherman ched mods.
the thread has been merged

Postby rfari » October 9th, 2011, 10:59 pm

Thnx duane.
Have to dedicate a week to go thru this ched. These guys on rell heights!

Postby meccalli » October 9th, 2011, 11:49 pm

jramsarran wrote:
meccalli wrote:Anybody ever fish at la fillette? where the boats come in down the set of steps. Went to shoot a couple with a buddy with that view down there and never knew there existed. Saw a guy load up a big dolphin in he cooler O.o

dey aight!!....if u actually manage to go on a good day....with the little dev. on d hill...the slightest rain n d water gets red!! <<dirtyy>>

wat u shoot tho??

I think i lead ya on bad there, a couple as in engagement shots lol. But like some fellas does come in to buy off fish and they offload a big mahi. I found it to look quiet and with all the rock structure, i was thinking there might be some action to be seen. You ever caught anything there?

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » October 10th, 2011, 12:30 pm

meccalli wrote:
jramsarran wrote:

wat u shoot tho??

I think i lead ya on bad there, a couple as in engagement shots lol. But like some fellas does come in to buy off fish and they offload a big mahi. I found it to look quiet and with all the rock structure, i was thinking there might be some action to be seen. You ever caught anything there?

...jus went a couple times when i had just started spearfishing....but yups...
my cuz n i shoot a small grouper (20lbs), and a couple carite...<nothing much>
oh and ah hog snapper...

there's a red fish bank rite outside la filette tho...i posted d "markings" a couple pages back.

Postby meccalli » October 10th, 2011, 7:17 pm

Oh nice, those rocks really looked like rock fish grounds. Thanks!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 11th, 2011, 9:06 pm

meccalli, was on ah mission up dat side ah while back but cudnt really find ah nice fishing spot where i was getting sum nice action...we reach blanchiches...really dunno how to spell dat...lol...i also went in d gulf on d weekend but d water was real dirty, only saw 2 tarpon roll and one huge snook pass...dat was d action for d day...

Postby meccalli » October 11th, 2011, 9:25 pm

lol them fish on a hiatus recently, I bought new lures for my dad and the tarpon disappear all of a sudden.

avenall

spearfishing

Postby avenall » October 12th, 2011, 10:54 pm

anyone spearfish here? and which part u go and whats the biggest fish u ever shoot .. post pics if u want

Re: spearfishing

Postby De Dragon » October 12th, 2011, 11:21 pm

Where can you buy good spearfish guns, besides S&G?

Postby meccalli » October 12th, 2011, 11:23 pm

there's a fishing thread.

Postby De Dragon » October 12th, 2011, 11:26 pm

meccalli wrote:there's a fishing thread.

We know, the man is asking specifically about spearfishing if you notice............

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 13th, 2011, 12:39 am

are crossbows illegal??????? some say no some say yes...

Postby meccalli » October 13th, 2011, 6:14 am

spearfishing is fishing **doh**, we talk about it quite often...jramsarran has put up pics recently of some catches on there.

neals

Postby neals » October 13th, 2011, 6:33 am

De Dragon wrote:Where can you buy good spearfish guns, besides S&G?

sports and games u say there O.o, 800 plus for them small as things jed, i have few places all located down chaguaramas , afaik. ricks and ah place by crews inn

Postby De Dragon » October 13th, 2011, 7:07 am

meccalli wrote:spearfishing is fishing **doh**, we talk about it quite often...jramsarran has put up pics recently of some catches on there.
So rather than make a few suggestions in a thread, you refer people to a multiple page thread? :roll:

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » October 13th, 2011, 8:17 am

sarjid 6819627
best prices on jbl's
looking to go speyside and do a little freediving next weekend