4G92 Engine Job

screwbash

4G92 Engine Job

Postby screwbash » October 5th, 2011, 10:00 am

guys,

My mechanic tell me yesterday that my engine buring oil. It is a CB2 lancer with a 4G92 engine. Ryotech adjusted the distributor and run diagnostic and also said that oil is coming onto the plugs that the ring seals need to change. Went by the mechanic and he said the car buring oil and have to change piston rings and other seals and stuff. Basically he said that it needs and engine job but he said the ring sizes and other needed stuff can only be determined after he takes out the pistons and that rings and stuff is impossible to get. What do you guys think about that? Is it really impossible to get the parts needed for an engine job for that engine? another option is to change the engine to a b14 engine and trans but I really doh want to go down that road. Does mitsu in TT sell the parts needed or where else can i get it. I dont mind paying top dollar for the parts once i can get it one time without having the car down for a long period. My job depends on my car so 2-3 days is the max it can be down for.

TechArt

Re: 4G92 Engine Job

Postby TechArt » October 6th, 2011, 8:36 am

........ Get a second opinion and after that maybe get another mech. If its just rings then why are you going for a full engine job, but if a full engine job is required then look a lil for a head n block and weight the options.

SCHOLARS

Re: 4G92 Engine Job

Postby SCHOLARS » October 19th, 2011, 11:28 pm

maturas in st james should have all the parts for the rebuild, it should run you about $1500 in parts for d complete job, planing in the job is everything if u putting in the hours it can be done in 4-6 days can be less based on certain factors, day1 lift out engine and parts out, day2 carry bare head and block by machine shop to re surface head, pressure test, deck the block and hone cylinders, while at the shop go buy yuh parts and engine kit to save time. if u pay ah extra 100- 200 they will do it one time. day 3 mount up and install engine, day 4-6 cater for some sheit to run over yuh time