WTK: What's the better application?

Postby BrotherHood » September 22nd, 2011, 10:56 pm

I have plans of building a backdash to accomodate four 8" and either four bullet tweeters or two drivers. So should it be the 4 tweeters or the 2 drivers? Whats the better application in terms of performace.
Car to be used is a CS3 Lancer. Amp to be used is the Quantum Audio 4260. I currently have two 8" Ciare big magnet speakers on lifters on my back dash. I also want to know what are the other two 8" speakers I should use?
All advice, choices, options and opinions both positive and negative are welcomed and will be appreciated.

Re: WTK: What's the better application?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 23rd, 2011, 11:18 am

whats d bassline looking like ? , reason i ask is to know y so much mids needed

not really a best choice of amps unless thats what ur budget allows

u need to look up d freq range of d products u wud like to put - drivers have a wider freq range than tweeters so imo id keep d 2 8s u have & pair them with a nice pair of drivers & have d back dash made with a space in d middle so u can see out ur rear window

also like i said b4 in other threads : license officers moving strict these days with back dash that block d rear view so take that into consideration b4 they ticket u ...

Postby BrotherHood » September 23rd, 2011, 3:38 pm

The baseline at present and which I will be keeping is two 12" JBL GTO 1202d powered by a Cadence Ultrashock A7+HC Monoblock and its bridged.
I already know what the backdash will look like. Had a similar one in my previous car and I want it built the same way which will enable me to have no problem seeing through the rearview/windscreen.
I want more performance out of my ICE. Want to upgrade and I think adding two more 8" will help. I prefer four 8" to two 10" because of the surface area. I more feel I will go with the drivers though.
Anything to add or imply?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 23rd, 2011, 4:18 pm

processing equipment?? plan on using any??

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 23rd, 2011, 8:13 pm

id go with d 2 drivers like selenium 220TI & id stick with 2 8s & use d $ saved to buy a much better amp like 1 of those ole skool ppi pcx 2200

i bet u wud never believe ur same 2 8s u had there cud sound so good\clear & be so loud ...

Postby BrotherHood » September 24th, 2011, 9:07 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:processing equipment?? plan on using any??

Not to familiar with any processing equipment and i will not be using any. the most my systems previously and presently comprise of are pre-amps and crossovers. so i tune my music with headunit, amp, pre-amp and crossover.

(...Rovin...) wrote:id go with d 2 drivers like selenium 220TI & id stick with 2 8s & use d $ saved to buy a much better amp like 1 of those ole skool ppi pcx 2200

i bet u wud never believe ur same 2 8s u had there cud sound so good\clear & be so loud ...

Yeah the two drivers are definitely what i will be going with. not saying that the ppi pcx 2200 isnt a good amp but i have alot of faith and confidence in the quantum audio 4260. have you checked the specs or is it that you are quite familiar?
and wont four 8's be louder and clearer than two 8's with the right amount of power? i really would like to use four 8's with my QA 4260, bridged that is.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 24th, 2011, 9:44 pm

well if thats what u want to do then go right ahead ... :|

Postby BrotherHood » September 24th, 2011, 10:01 pm

:lol: man i could do with advice. thats just what i had in mind. had experience with music but i am still and can always learn. i take it that you have much more experience than me.
i have one question............if not four 8's, what then? six 8's? the six 8's being 4 in the back and two infront i.e one in each front door.
two 10's??

I know two 8's can sound damn good but i want more. want to upgrade.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 24th, 2011, 10:48 pm

it seems u asking but u sounding as though ur mind already made up so it look like u hoping for somebody to agree with u & post something like " yeh hoss dat quantum amp go push dem 4 8s & 2 bullet tweeter rel bess" .... :lol:

what i trying to get at firstly was why u think u need 4 8s , unless u deaf or is 1 of dem who does park on top caura river carpark & blast it in everybody head or ur going carshow ? :|

2nd point was tell me this : what wud sound better (louder\clearer) , 4 so-so powered 8s crammed up in a backdash or 2 damn good powered 8s in a well fitting proper installed backdash ? , more cone area doesnt always necessarily mean better

have said this multiple times b4 & i not boasting but when i used to compete in gallery i refused to do like everybody else & spend a additional 10k+ to have 4 10s, 4 drivers & a additional mids amp , i make do with 2 10s & 2 drivers in some effective enclosures with some good clean power & was still able to keep up with everybody else

was trying to avoid bad talking what other ppl selling on here but imho quantum audio in about d same bracket as power acoustic , point i was making is that old skool amps such ppi \ usamps \ mtx \ rf \ kicker \ soundstream \ crossfire etc will walk over quantum in every which way with ease , why u think everybody nowadays running back to d older better sounding more powerful 2&4 chan amps

if u really want MOAR then read back my last post & put d 4 8s , 6 8s or whatever it is & if ever u get stop in a road block : hope d police & licensing officers are in a good mood when they peep into ur ride .... :lol:

*dont take it personal eh ... :lol:

Postby BrotherHood » September 25th, 2011, 12:08 am

:lol: na man, not taking anything personal. i not looking for anybody to tell me "bai, da quantum audio go rel push dem four 8's and put it bullets with it' lol....wasnt lookin for dat. i've had four 8's and bullets on a backdash in the past and police neva stop me.... :lol: :lol:

what i want out of my system is similar to going up caura river and blast it out for everybody. thats the output and performance i want. so i am thinking along those lines which is why i posted the question in the first place. not into the competing thing, more for my leisure and when i liming which does NOT include or involve going up caura. :lol:
i love anything to do with cars and its a hobby. its pleasure. but you make me rel laugh wit dat four 8's and 2 bullets talk

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » September 25th, 2011, 1:47 am

^^ in simple what he is trying to say is that quantum amp is boo compared to the ppi (no bashing intended its just reality).Meaning that if you really heard a good pair of 8's on serious power you may be amazed at its output and clarity.who knows it may even be enough for what you want.

Also pre amps and crossovers are processing equipment so thats what the guy up there was asking.Whats your bassline like?My advice to you would be to swap out that amp and get a higher quality one that can give you enough clean power for your speakers.

I believe that a pair of 8's and a pair of small drivers properly installed in your backdash will suffice (you can put a pair of tens with the drivers if you see fit)But again the main thing is that you properly power them and install them.I honestly dont like to put more than one pair of loudspeakers on a back dash as it takes up too much space most of the time not allowing each speaker enough volume to maximise output.Use two with drivers and if you need more use 6's on the doors.

Postby BrotherHood » September 25th, 2011, 3:24 am

viking1705 wrote:^^ in simple what he is trying to say is that quantum amp is boo compared to the ppi (no bashing intended its just reality).Meaning that if you really heard a good pair of 8's on serious power you may be amazed at its output and clarity.who knows it may even be enough for what you want.

Also pre amps and crossovers are processing equipment so thats what the guy up there was asking.Whats your bassline like?My advice to you would be to swap out that amp and get a higher quality one that can give you enough clean power for your speakers.

I believe that a pair of 8's and a pair of small drivers properly installed in your backdash will suffice (you can put a pair of tens with the drivers if you see fit)But again the main thing is that you properly power them and install them.I honestly dont like to put more than one pair of loudspeakers on a back dash as it takes up too much space most of the time not allowing each speaker enough volume to maximise output.Use two with drivers and if you need more use 6's on the doors.

Ok well then I am using processing equipment. Just a pre-amp. i've heard that using two or separate pre-amps sound better. you can tune front and rear separately depending on your setup. any truths or advantages to this? or is it just BS.

I see you mentioned using 6's in my front doors. 6's over 8's? please explain your reason for this.

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » September 25th, 2011, 1:13 pm

^^reason being most doors can fit 6" speakers with little or no modifications so its simple and effective.If you prefer the idea of fiberglass pods on doors for 8's by all means you can do so.I prefer neat and bearly visible but alot of ppl in trini like 8's and even 10's on doors.Just preference i guess.But again whats your bassline like so i can maybe tell you how much mids your gonna need or if what rovin and i are recommending will suffice.

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » September 25th, 2011, 1:15 pm

also i firmly believe that using 2 pre amps is a waste of time and money.Invest in a good quality one that can do the job and i would also recommend a good crossover (may not be necessary if your amps on board cross are good).

MONGO

Postby MONGO » September 25th, 2011, 1:28 pm

BrotherHood wrote:The baseline at present and which I will be keeping is two 12" JBL GTO 1202d powered by a Cadence Ultrashock A7+HC Monoblock and its bridged.

Postby BrotherHood » September 25th, 2011, 3:47 pm

^^^thanks for pointing out my baseline. Its there.. Thats it!

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » September 25th, 2011, 8:36 pm

actually i read that and i forgot clean sorry bout that.Well i find it difficult to think you will need more than a pair of 8's at the back and the 6's in the doors to compliment that bassline.Again proper power is the key alongside a proper install.

Postby BrotherHood » September 26th, 2011, 5:54 pm

^^^ well in that case I will just buy two selenium drivers and put two 8" in the front doors. I really want to be heard na... :lol: which is why I was thinking four 8's..
I already know I need more power by the way of amps! Will deal with it to suit.