THE COVE "Taiji"

zaria

THE COVE "Taiji"

Postby zaria » September 20th, 2011, 8:21 am

Looked at this documentary lastnight on Direc tv.
Guy(Ric) who trained the original flipper dolphins(think he said they used five for the series)unknowingly created a mulitmillion $ indutry where everyone wants to see dolphins so a small seaside community in Japan "Taiji"
now harvest dolphins by the thousands and sell,well those that don't sell are taken a few feet to a hidden cove and slaughtered for their meat.
Ric (now a protector of dolphins,trying to reverse the damage he did)is trying to film what goes on in the cove,so its a cat and mouse game involving his crew,the Jap fishermen,the jap police government,and IWC.
check the link for more details
http://www.takepart.com/cove

uncle sam

Re: THE COVE "Taiji"

Postby uncle sam » September 20th, 2011, 8:33 am

eh? :?

zaria

Postby zaria » September 20th, 2011, 8:39 am

uncle sam wrote:eh? :?

yuh wah sorrel or wah?

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 20th, 2011, 8:47 am

IMO people are too passionate about animals... why can't we eat d damn dolphin if we hungry... steuuupppssss...
Last edited by uncle sam on September 20th, 2011, 9:10 am, edited 2 times in total.

white_lion

Postby white_lion » September 20th, 2011, 9:00 am

:roll: ignorance is bliss...

"The Cove is a 2009 documentary film that analyzes and questions Japan's dolphin hunting culture. It was awarded the (2010) Academy Award for Best Documentary Feature.The film is a call to action to halt mass dolphin kills, change Japanese fishing practices, and to inform and educate the public about the risks, and increasing hazard, of mercury poisoning from dolphin meat."

Postby sliderz1 » September 20th, 2011, 11:10 am

IBTL...

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » September 20th, 2011, 12:15 pm

silver

Postby silver » September 20th, 2011, 12:40 pm

Japanese again huh....

Postby stev » September 20th, 2011, 12:50 pm

uncle sam wrote:IMO people are too passionate about animals... why can't we eat d damn dolphin if we hungry... steuuupppssss...

i kno a few countries in the world that wont mind eating u....no problem with that right?

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 20th, 2011, 5:10 pm

stev wrote:
uncle sam wrote:IMO people are too passionate about animals... why can't we eat d damn dolphin if we hungry... steuuupppssss...

i kno a few countries in the world that wont mind eating u....no problem with that right?

Nope!

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » September 20th, 2011, 7:17 pm

Oh my.. this is so disturbing!
:'(

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 20th, 2011, 7:48 pm

I have seen this before.....now I'm deeply disturbed again dammit!!!!!

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » September 20th, 2011, 9:09 pm

man have to eat a food too

Postby Mark! » September 20th, 2011, 9:17 pm

Hmmmmmmmmm If they breed and harvest these vast number of dolphins, is it really wrong that they are killing them to eat them? Wouldn't this be the same thing as chickens, cows and other fishes?

It is a whole other issue if these were simply from the wild and their numbers were becoming increasingly limited.

Guess it all comes down to what we are accustomed to and what seems acceptable to society.
I don't normally see this happening everyday and I am not happy about it.

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » September 20th, 2011, 9:23 pm

damn good documentary.

zaria

Postby zaria » September 21st, 2011, 7:43 am

dok_tec wrote:damn good documentary.

yes this is it.I love how they taped their convos with the jap popo,and then showed the jap guy the video,all he could say was "when and where you took this"

At the same time,if the dolphin pop is sustainable then I think its wrong for us to condem their eating habits.
The only people that should protest is the vegans,cause i'm sure if the japs made a docu on bovine/poultry slaughter it wouldn't be nice.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » September 21st, 2011, 9:02 am

dok_tec wrote:damn good documentary.

I watched the whole documentary last night..
I'm sorry but what the fishermen are doing is wrong..
These dolphins aren't being rared.. there is no telling if they are able to replenish their population as fast as they are being killed!

If these Taiji fishermen thought there was nothing wrong with what they were doing, then they wouldn't be hiding inside a cove, they wouldn't be running and chasing the photogs!

Let's not even mention the fact that dolphin meat is getting passed into our regular fish stock as regular fish. Imagine if I want to buy a can of tuna I as a consumer can't blindly pick up a tin, I have to look for this..

I want TUNA.. not a Tuna Casserole!! :evil: