The Official Car Care Thread

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby crazybalhead » September 14th, 2011, 9:44 am

Mother's three step. Once a year.

Postby SR » September 14th, 2011, 10:09 am

karim khan detailing services

once a year its well worth it

turtle wax car wash from pricesmart when ah feel to wash d car

mothers products for in between if i feel like

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » September 14th, 2011, 10:27 am

Rainman wrote:Every 3 Months
Wash with mothers california gold car wash
Mother's clay bar system
Rewash to get rid of clay residue
Meguiar's Ultimate Compound
mother's Sealer and Glaze
mothers FX Syn Wax (2 Coats) (will be swapping this with the Wolfgang Fuzion that i ordered)

Once a Week
Wash with Mother's california gold car wash
Mother's quick detailer

mothers car wash suds really nicely.

however, you should give Meguiars Gold Class a shot. It's that good. Lots of suds, little chance to swirl your finish if you use a good approach.

btw, two coats of Synwax is pointless Rainman. Synwax has mild cleaners in it, so applying a second layer essentially removes the first. Mothers Pure Carnauba can be layered since it has no cleaners.

i don't see the point in layering - read a thread on a foreign forum where they showed that minimal thickness of wax was achieved by layering. the detailing forums recommend using a good wax, one thin and even coat, and maintain after washes with a spray wax.

I always found that car wash was rubbish. Little suds (suds help with lubrication during removal of dirt, minimizing swirls), smelt weird, and the one I had (wash and wax) probably had the wax portion missing :S

Postby SR » September 14th, 2011, 10:43 am

been working well for me on a black car

Postby Rainman » September 14th, 2011, 10:44 am

DSM_05 wrote:
Rainman wrote:Every 3 Months
Wash with mothers california gold car wash
Mother's clay bar system
Rewash to get rid of clay residue
Meguiar's Ultimate Compound
mother's Sealer and Glaze
mothers FX Syn Wax (2 Coats) (will be swapping this with the Wolfgang Fuzion that i ordered)

Once a Week
Wash with Mother's california gold car wash
Mother's quick detailer

mothers car wash suds really nicely.

however, you should give Meguiars Gold Class a shot. It's that good. Lots of suds, little chance to swirl your finish if you use a good approach.

btw, two coats of Synwax is pointless Rainman. Synwax has mild cleaners in it, so applying a second layer essentially removes the first. Mothers Pure Carnauba can be layered since it has no cleaners.

i don't see the point in layering - read a thread on a foreign forum where they showed that minimal thickness of wax was achieved by layering. the detailing forums recommend using a good wax, one thin and even coat, and maintain after washes with a spray wax.

I always found that car wash was rubbish. Little suds (suds help with lubrication during removal of dirt, minimizing swirls), smelt weird, and the one I had (wash and wax) probably had the wax portion missing :S

I'm using a foam gun now so i use that throughout the washing process, don't really have much of an issue with suds anymore. The second coat to me is mainly to pick up on any spots i missed out but i see your point.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 14th, 2011, 10:44 am

Karim Khan wrote:
moti wrote:
Rainman wrote:
moti wrote:Autoglym Super Resin Polish

^^ for the Hilux

^^ for the corolla (1981 TE71 corolla) ole car thing

Does not compute!!

I recommend this combo for the two cars.

you would not be disappointed

this is an excellent product,,...

PM sent

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » September 14th, 2011, 10:49 am

I'm using a foam gun now so i use that throughout the washing process, don't really have much of an issue with suds anymore. The second coat to me is mainly to pick up on any spots i missed out but i see your point.

Ah ok. well in that case you will get a pretty good suds-ing layer on your car when washing - maybe i'll get me one of those :)

does one still need the 2 bucket method with a foam gun?

Postby Rainman » September 14th, 2011, 10:53 am

DSM_05 wrote:

Ah ok. well in that case you will get a pretty good suds-ing layer on your car when washing - maybe i'll get me one of those :)

does one still need the 2 bucket method with a foam gun?

Nope, that's the beauty... i don't have to worry about the soap bucket being contaminated from double dipping. I use two sheepskin mitts one for the upper half and one for the lower half of the car. Both are thoroughly cleaned after every wash.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » September 14th, 2011, 11:40 am

nice! Which brand sheepskin? I have used the Mothers mitts - love the plush feel. Both feel about the same. right now however, I am using a microfibre "noodle" mitt .

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » September 14th, 2011, 1:07 pm

Just some of the stuff I use. The Autoglym super resin polish is good for the average person, but the 3m 3 stage process when used with the white, black and blue waffle pads followed with the farecla hand glaze and a pure carnuba or even mothers reflections top coat makes a black car look better than when it was just painted.

Karim if you want to try out some of the stuff I have check me and we will comapre them to your products.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » September 14th, 2011, 1:19 pm

The Autoglym super resin polish is good for the average person

I was under the imp[ression it is one of the best AIO's out there.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 14th, 2011, 1:24 pm

33 Hert
I dont mine I will let you know when next I coming across. But if i am visiting its for Fun.

The 3M Perfect it system is really good.

I know of Farecla very well check out the pic below

Karim Khan.jpg

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » September 14th, 2011, 1:36 pm

^ There is a difference between consumer products and body shop brands. The body shop products usually produce much better results than the consumer products but are more difficult to work with and can even damage the paint totally if you dont have the proper tools/knowledge on how to use it.

You won't be able to find the 3m or farecla products easily and most people would not get very good results from them because you need a machine polisher, special pads and proper technique. Most people won't spend the $2500 or more to acquire all of this and even bodyshops who have the equipment don't spend the necessary time to complete the job properly.

The Autoglym SRP is the best consumer product I have used so far and it is almost impossible to damage you paint with it, but it can't compare to a complete buff with 3m or farecla products.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 14th, 2011, 1:38 pm

33 hertz wrote:^ There is a difference between consumer products and body shop brands. The body shop products usually produce much better results than the consumer products but are more difficult to work with and can even damage the paint totally if you dont have the proper tools/knowledge on how to use it.

You won't be able to find the 3m or farecla products easily and most people would not get very good results from them because you need a machine polisher, special pads and proper technique. Most people won't spend the $2500 or more to acquire all of this and even bodyshops who have the equipment don't spend the necessary time to complete the job properly.

The Autoglym SRP is the best consumer product I have used so far and it is almost impossible to damage you paint with it, but it can't compare to a complete buff with 3m or farecla products.

Well Said 33

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » September 14th, 2011, 1:39 pm

Very nice Karim. I am actually in Trini till Novemeber. Any idea where I could get the Farecla glaze for dark colours around Marabella?

Ended buying all of those products after my car came back from a 'professional' buffing covered in light swirls.

Postby nervewrecker » September 14th, 2011, 1:41 pm

its been awhile now since I polished or anything because my coworker digs up my paint with her car door & rubs her fat ass along the boradside when the car is dirty so the sand scratches it up. Plus new looking car = bandit watching it.
Autoglym super resin polish is the shizznet for me as well as the bodywork shampoo & conditioner.

& yes, I agree with Mr. Khan's 60 - 40% statement....

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 14th, 2011, 1:49 pm

I have a virtually brand new bottle of Farecla glaze of Dark Colours, call me and we can arrange a price and a place to meet

Seeker

Postby Seeker » September 14th, 2011, 2:00 pm

Karim pm meh nah........ my car need a pampering bad.
Its white and I have some issues with waxing and polishing (technique, patience & time). Need to give somebody de work.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 14th, 2011, 2:27 pm

Call me 784-9290 if you are interested in quality work !

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » September 14th, 2011, 2:47 pm

Karim Khan wrote:
33 hertz wrote:^ There is a difference between consumer products and body shop brands. The body shop products usually produce much better results than the consumer products but are more difficult to work with and can even damage the paint totally if you dont have the proper tools/knowledge on how to use it.

Well Said 33

Understood.

I am interesting in moving up to a DA polisher. I understand that LITERAL swirl removal by hand is near impossible - since the only products that help are the ones that "fill", and essentially minimise their appearance by removing finer ones and filling the "bigger" swirls.

yes I like Super resin for it's ease of use, and filling abilities. plus it has a decent sealant and makes a nice base for a wax.

Ended buying all of those products after my car came back from a 'professional' buffing covered in light swirls.

Similar experience as well. Just in my case I had mild holograms.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 14th, 2011, 3:37 pm

DSM_05 wrote:
Karim Khan wrote:

Well Said 33

Understood.

I am interesting in moving up to a DA polisher. I understand that LITERAL swirl removal by hand is near impossible - since the only products that help are the ones that "fill", and essentially minimise their appearance by removing finer ones and filling the "bigger" swirls.

yes I like Super resin for it's ease of use, and filling abilities. plus it has a decent sealant and makes a nice base for a wax.

Similar experience as well. Just in my case I had mild holograms.

I have 2 Meguiars DA polishers for sale.. This is a must have if you serious about taking car of your car !!!
Last edited by Karim Khan on September 14th, 2011, 6:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » September 14th, 2011, 4:47 pm

[quote="DSM_05"]

yes I like Super resin for it's ease of use, and filling abilities. plus it has a decent sealant and makes a nice base for a wax.[quote]

The DA polisher is a good investment. What I like about the 3m system is that it does not fill, so the swirls are actually removed completely and then you wax to protect the finish, unlike the autoglym which fills.

Of course you need to be careful as the 3m is more abrasive and you can cause more swirls if you are not careful.

syntax

Postby syntax » September 14th, 2011, 7:43 pm

^^ tru dan........

anyways i shipped Meguiars hot tire shine from walmart and aeropost held it for combustible goods

im sure someone here has shipped some polish or tire shine without any probs?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 14th, 2011, 7:55 pm

syntax wrote:^^ tru dan........

anyways i shipped Meguiars hot tire shine from walmart and aeropost held it for combustible goods

im sure someone here has shipped some polish or tire shine without any probs?

This product has solvents which are combustible ,,especially if its the one in the aerosol tin

syntax

Postby syntax » September 14th, 2011, 8:24 pm

oh mannnn i should have read its contents.. and its the trigger bottle..

BTW wha products can i bring in eg polishes etc

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 14th, 2011, 8:29 pm

actually its more economically viable to get your products here...

but if your really want yes you can import polishes but before you buy check the seller to determine if the product can be shipped via air.

Postby BrotherHood » September 14th, 2011, 8:59 pm

SR wrote:karim khan detailing services

once a year its well worth it

mothers products for in between if i feel like

x2. daz me dey self.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 14th, 2011, 10:32 pm

pioneer wrote:Automotive Art has a wide range of Meguiars products

Automotive Art is disappointing.

beric

Postby beric » September 15th, 2011, 1:37 am

Hi Guys, I'm in tune with some of what is said to this question. Someone spoke about the importance of prep work being about 60% important to the final finish; that's pretty true. You've got to polish (which may involve pre-compounding if condition is bad enough) in the right sequence, technique and tools. Claying is a 'must' in most cases unless condition is very good.
Today, of course, the use of 'nano' polishes and compounds which keep breaking down into finer and finer particles the more you work it, saves a lot of time and product. The quality of the product makes a big difference.

But here is what is really important; before you go rushing for a great shine with a wax as LSP, a premium sealant is what locks in the main shine fellas. If the proper steps and products are used before, your basic shine should be there, to be followed with a quality glaze and a high class sealant. I mean great shine, that some enthusiasts think is too 'hard' or sterile. So they want that "wet look" that only a high grade Carnauba wax can produce, imo. So, in short, a premium sealant is a must before you go to your favourite wax.
Wax, think 3 to 6 weeks, max, in good conditions. Even less with lesser products. Quality sealant - think 6 to 8 months!

beric

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » September 15th, 2011, 6:48 am

Karim Khan wrote:
pioneer wrote:Automotive Art has a wide range of Meguiars products

Automotive Art is disappointing.

Haven't been there in a while though...damn those bajans

Its not the bajan, when the Bajan had it , Business was good ,, Now the Trini has it and well alll i can say is that i prefer to import my own stufff...

Word is Meguiars will be out in full force in TnT and hopefully really good technical support !