my single 12" system dun by riadb (lots of pics!!!!!)

casper

my single 12" system dun by riadb (lots of pics!!!!!)

Postby casper » September 12th, 2011, 8:47 pm

firstly....trunk with a spankin new make over thanks to SSC :D

please excuse the quality of pics...was taken wit meh camera phone :ashamed:

running stinger 0awg from the front battery to the back

^^^through d firewall!!! :D

inside d car now...passenger seat, glove compartment and back seat taken out

batteries i have so far placed in d back to start the build...need one more d3100 XS...already have 1 in the front and 2 in d back...jes need 1 more for the back now...

^^^box start to build (front view)

^^^back view

^^^battery box taken out to do some adjustments....bracing...cuz these batts are 76lbs each :(

^^^brace added

CARPET TIME!!!!

^^^front view...

^^^back view

^^^Side view

^^^front lid made and carpeted

^^^battery box back in the vehicle

time to wire these things up!!!

TIME TO PLACE BACK D LID!!!

MORE COMING SOON!!!!
Last edited by casper on September 13th, 2011, 10:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

casper

Re: my single 12" system dun by riadb

Postby casper » September 12th, 2011, 8:49 pm

^^^check bess voltage nah...and i still hadda put in d alternator and d next XS eh... :mrgreen:

^^^^voltage on cold start....

^^^voltage while drivin @ cold start

:o :o :o

:dance:

MONGO

Postby MONGO » September 12th, 2011, 8:59 pm

what 12" is it..and what brand meter? it looking real bright..

casper

Postby casper » September 12th, 2011, 9:13 pm

mongo wrote:what 12" is it..and what brand meter? it looking real bright..

audiopipe meter... :oops:

i actually prefer those over the stinger ones tho

casper

Postby casper » September 12th, 2011, 9:14 pm

its a TSNS btw... :twisted:

Last edited by casper on September 12th, 2011, 9:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

casper

Postby casper » September 12th, 2011, 9:17 pm

jes sum eye candy....

dunno which to use :lol:

casper

Postby casper » September 12th, 2011, 9:19 pm

^^^more progresss....powermaster 200amp alt installed

casper

Postby casper » September 12th, 2011, 9:20 pm

mids amps!!!

2 2000x for 4 10" mids and a usa400 for 4 compression drivers

casper

Postby casper » September 12th, 2011, 9:23 pm

MORE PROGRESS!!!!

^^^Hood liner before matting applied

^^^completed :D

thanks to Soundstream 626 for the help out...i did the left side and he did the right side so we finished extra fast...did the whole thing in less than 2 hours...

method used was blow drying the sheets of dynamat before applying....entire surface thoroughly cleaned with LACQUER THINNERS before installation of dynamat :D
Last edited by casper on September 12th, 2011, 9:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

casper

Postby casper » September 12th, 2011, 9:25 pm

^^^these are the mids MINUS the compression drivers....2 RCF L10750YK and 2 faital 700

casper

Postby casper » September 12th, 2011, 9:27 pm

me and riad went back and did some mods to d battery box while we added the 3rd and last battery...here's the pics

^^^INTAKE FAN IYMC!!!!

^^^1.25" VACUUM TYPE HOSE FOR EXHAUST

^^^^doh laugh at mey green hosey :oops:

casper

Postby casper » September 12th, 2011, 9:28 pm

BACKDASH IYMC!!!!!!!

:D :D :D :D :D

ya'll catch d concept???? :)

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » September 12th, 2011, 10:17 pm

damnn lookin good boi ghost.....awaiting the rest....

noise_maker

Postby noise_maker » September 12th, 2011, 11:16 pm

wrd lookin good !!! :shock:

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » September 13th, 2011, 1:39 am

looking besss

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 13th, 2011, 10:18 am

dammmmmm,waiting to hear it.....

riadb

Postby riadb » September 13th, 2011, 10:18 am

nice!!!

andyharricharan

Postby andyharricharan » September 13th, 2011, 10:20 am

saw this install for myself riad really does great work....

casper

Postby casper » September 13th, 2011, 10:33 am

PICS OF THE AMP RACK BUILD!!!!

^^^this was the first plan of d layout we came up with but we realised it wudda be relll hell to pass wires around an ting and d amps wudda be relll difficult to wire and tune...so we went wit d next layout

^^^this

^^^put the fans to see how they fittin too

^^^while riad was working on the amp rack me and sly was working on getting the rca's and power and ground run...

^^^2nd level of d flooring

^^^btw...i painted that outta timing greeen hose with black bom spray...lolz

^^^BOOM!!!!!!!!

^^^special guest visitor... :D

^^^some bracing for the flooring....

^^^cut 4 holes for 4 120mm fans to cool the amps under the flooring...

^^^fans fitted to see how it looks...

time to carpet... :D

^^^fans re-installed after carpted

^^^front view

^^^i finished doing all d wiring so now is time for riad to put his work of art together :D :D :D

^^^how it lookin???? :D :D :D

Sully

Re: my single 12" system dun by riadb (lots of pics!!!!!)

Postby Sully » September 13th, 2011, 10:59 am

Where does the hose vent to?

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » September 13th, 2011, 11:06 am

bessss

casper

Postby casper » September 13th, 2011, 11:24 am

Sully wrote:Where does the hose vent to?

it had small hole there and a couple other places ...looked like holes that were made by the car manufacturer and not intentionally done so we jes used one of those holes and pound it with a hammer and opened it up wide enough for the hose to fit through

the hose escapes at the bottom of the car...if u go under the vehicle u'll see the hose...it not too low as to be a problem factor WRT flooding...it just coming out the hole by an inch....the ridges on the hose itself keeps the ose in place in the hole cuz it actually locks in place in between each ridge

Postby cinco » September 13th, 2011, 12:10 pm

awesome the only out of place thing is that hose

casper

Postby casper » September 13th, 2011, 1:39 pm

progress on d backdash...

it just dun fiberglass...still hadda filler it and leather and sponge it down...but this is just the RAW state of it....will look wayyy better when completed though

so then we put it in d car to see how it fits....

casper

Postby casper » September 13th, 2011, 1:42 pm

SUB AND ENCLOSURE PICS....

casper

Postby casper » September 13th, 2011, 1:45 pm

Fillering on the backdash completed..now iz just to sponge and leather it down....all inside of the flares for the 10's have been fully fillered...backdash is SOLID AS A ROCK!!! :o

casper

Postby casper » September 13th, 2011, 1:47 pm

racfor compression drivers....check it out

ok now for completed pics of d backdash :D :D :D :D

casper

Postby casper » September 13th, 2011, 1:48 pm

^^^ all mids assembled...NOTHING ON D ROOF...everything inside the body of the car!!! lolz

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 13th, 2011, 1:51 pm

Nice work so far. A little LED work needed for that car show flavour.

Btw, I'm not sure if I missed it, but is there a fan connected to the hose?
My thinking is the battery gases are lighter than air, and actually rise. This would prevent them from flowing downwards out of the car through the hose. Probably if there is a fan pulling air at the outside end of the hose, it would work.

I'm also interested in why that kind of midrange enclosure was chosen.

casper

Postby casper » September 13th, 2011, 2:12 pm

silent_riot wrote:Nice work so far. A little LED work needed for that car show flavour.

Btw, I'm not sure if I missed it, but is there a fan connected to the hose?
My thinking is the battery gases are lighter than air, and actually rise. This would prevent them from flowing downwards out of the car through the hose. Probably if there is a fan pulling air at the outside end of the hose, it would work.

I'm also interested in why that kind of midrange enclosure was chosen.

yes there are 2 fans installed in the battery box....one blowing air through the battery box...see below

and another that was glued to the end of the hose inside the box sucking air at that point up and out the hose to outside the car...

the backdash design was chosen to allow more efficiency of the 10's...think of a compression driver with the flare...see pic below for example

^^^the design for the backdash was inspired by the 2 driver units in the middle u seein in this pic above...look at the shape of the flare for it....we tried to mimic that same concept with the 10's...

a compression driver by itself without a flare attached plays pure high tones....nothing that is audible to the ear really...but with the flare attached the frequency of the sound u hear is a lower frequency although it's cut at the same exact frequency as it was without the flare...so my theory was that this would apply with the 10's as well...these 10's in this backdash enclosure could have been cut at higher frequencies on the crossover and still deliver exceelent low mid tones cuz of the flare...we preffered this method of making the backdash with the flares for the 10's to cut higher to limit movement on the 10's but STILL get those low mid tones we wanted...