Police grab $2 mil worth of cars after Canadian street race

salvation4U

Police grab $2 mil worth of cars after Canadian street race

Postby salvation4U » September 2nd, 2011, 7:40 pm

This Lamborghini was among 13 high-end cars impounded by Canadian police.

This could be the plot for a movie, "Fast and Furious Canada," or maybe "Fast and Furious, the Young and the Rich."

Police in British Colombia say they impounded $2 million worth of high-end vehicles this week after witnesses reported the 13 cars racing on a metro Vancouver highway at speeds of 125 mph (200 kph).

The high-end race cars included a Ferrari, Lamborghinis, Maseratis, an Audi, an Aston Martin, Nissans and a Mercedes, according to a Royal Canadian Mounted Police press release.

Two of the racers would run side-by-side to block other traffic going in their direction on the highway while the others cars would take off in a race, witnesses told the RCMP.

"These drivers seemed to be looking for attention. Well, they definitely got the attention of police," Cpl. Holly Marks, spokesperson for the Lower Mainland District Regional Police Service, said in the press release.

What the racers, who police said are all under age 21, won't get is harsh punishment.

"Each driver will be charged with Driving without Reasonable Consideration and receive a violation ticket with a specified penalty of $196. Additionally, these drivers will be responsible for all associated towing and storage charges," according to the RCMP press release.

That's because police didn't actually catch them in the act and acted only on witness accounts. They weren't caught on radar, video or seen by a police officer, Superintendent Norm Gaumont, RCMP officer in charge of traffic enforcement for the Lower Mainland, told the Surrey Now newspaper.

"I know there's a lot of disappointment, wondering why we only charged them with an offence of $196. They fact of the matter is, we have to look at all the evidence we have and what we're able to prove," Surrey Now quoted Gaumont as saying. "That's why we've charged them with driving without due consideration for the public."

If police were able to charge the 13 drivers with more severe offenses, they could have faced forfeiture of their vehicles, according to a Vancouver Sun report.

The RCMP said most of the drivers were operating their vehicles on "N" class licenses, which means they had not yet attained full driving privileges. Only one of the drivers was the registered owner of the car they were driving, Gaumont told Surrey Now.

The drivers included 12 men and one woman, according to Surrey Now. Gaumont told the paper they were on their way to have a meal when they decided to race.

According to the Sun, the vehicles were:

2007 Ferrari 599
2010 Lamborghini Gallardo
2009 Lamborghini Gallardo
2009 Audi R8
2012 Nissan GT-R
2010 Nissan GT-R
2010 Maserati Turismo
2011 Mercedes SL63
2011 Mercedes SLS
2005 Aston Martin DB9

http://news.blogs.cnn.com/2011/09/02/police-grab-2-million-worth-of-cars-after-canadian-street-race/?hpt=hp_c2

Just kids racing with daddy's car

Re: Police grab $2 mil worth of cars after Canadian street r

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 2nd, 2011, 7:45 pm

were burger men present?

Postby K74T » September 2nd, 2011, 7:49 pm

:pwned:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 2nd, 2011, 7:53 pm

if they do that here some of u will riot like how dem ppl get orn in england

btw 21yrs old & u jiving 1 of those , daddy's $ so they probably eh mind ....

Postby Sky » September 2nd, 2011, 7:55 pm

Dem rich boys get away...

real_d20

Postby real_d20 » September 2nd, 2011, 8:03 pm

http://ca.autoblog.com/2011/09/02/ferra ... e_facebook

Dude, I think this vid tells a better story. They were all driven by really young asian dudes. Click the pic for the vid.

Lol, i know ppl that age going to school in TO that does ketch their ass to buy a TTC pass for the month!
Last edited by real_d20 on September 2nd, 2011, 8:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Bizzare » September 2nd, 2011, 8:05 pm

Wow their ages sour me.

jusme

Postby jusme » September 2nd, 2011, 8:06 pm

Oh how i wish i were the son a corrupt canadian cop rightnow

shady23

Postby shady23 » September 2nd, 2011, 8:10 pm

SL63... 1lick

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 2nd, 2011, 8:28 pm

daaaaamn, must have been epic

Rx

Postby Rx » September 2nd, 2011, 8:31 pm

dem Canadians gettin' orn !!!

Ah feel a Trini behind that...

Postby shogun » September 2nd, 2011, 8:35 pm

2007 Ferrari 599...lawwwd!

Postby rollingstock » September 2nd, 2011, 9:25 pm

Some sweet cars.

Nice video of some of the cars on this link.

http://jalopnik.com/5836512/mounties-im ... treet-race

[EMIN∃M]

Postby [EMIN∃M] » September 2nd, 2011, 9:28 pm

GTR's 0X

Postby foss » September 2nd, 2011, 9:30 pm

salvation4U wrote:
The high-end race cars included a Ferrari, Lamborghinis, Maseratis, an Audi, an Aston Martin, Nissans and a Mercedes, according to a Royal Canadian Mounted Police press release.

at first I was like :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

then I was like.....

salvation4U wrote:2012 Nissan GT-R
2010 Nissan GT-R

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 2nd, 2011, 9:39 pm

foss wrote:
salvation4U wrote:

then I was like.....

2010 Nissan GT-R

GTR be like

Postby Mark! » September 2nd, 2011, 9:52 pm

Wonder what the chick was driving.

and ched title misleading, I thought they had to forfeit their cars

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 2nd, 2011, 9:59 pm

lawdddddddd,the ages and the cars they driving.............

Postby stev » September 2nd, 2011, 10:14 pm

dont mind if d penalty for illegal racing in trinidad is gettin ur car crushed....

Postby foss » September 2nd, 2011, 10:56 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
foss wrote:
salvation4U wrote:

at first I was like :lol: :lol: :lol:

then I was like.....

2010 Nissan GT-R

GTR be like

i know Kurps... Nissan looked hella funny in that list compared to the rest.. Pictures of sunnys and 120y is all i saw when i read the list. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » September 2nd, 2011, 11:23 pm

Loved how the claw just ripped the engines from outta those cars like a knife through butter...
what a facking epic sight!
The police should give back the owners their compacted cars as a souvenir of their stupidity!

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » September 2nd, 2011, 11:36 pm

Ferrari 599 :shock:

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » September 2nd, 2011, 11:43 pm

foss wrote:
salvation4U wrote:

then I was like.....

2010 Nissan GT-R

in a good way or bad way?
Last edited by FugiTECH on September 3rd, 2011, 10:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby SR » September 3rd, 2011, 6:58 am

just came back from bc

the charge is 10k canadian and impounding of your vehicle once you are 50kph over the speed limit
also you can lose your license

as for the age group...............we were in the bmw dealorship and noticed most of the people buying high end cars were students mostly chinese whose parents and grandparents imigrated from hong kong when it losts its independece and went back to china in the 90's

i was informed that most came to canada with thier money and now the kids are spending it
most cant even speak english

canadian laws are strict on speeding
i am glad i dont live there

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 3rd, 2011, 3:27 pm

stev wrote:dont mind if d penalty for illegal racing in trinidad is gettin ur car crushed....

x3

xaira

Postby xaira » September 3rd, 2011, 5:21 pm

u under 21 and u jivin a sls.......alyuh men talkin bout them others but a freakin SLS

Postby brams112 » September 3rd, 2011, 5:26 pm

so what them syrians does drive here?

Postby Monk BANzai » September 3rd, 2011, 6:21 pm

this is funny though....cuz ppl quick to say "oh it was the rich and famous dey getaway" when they we're actually within the law..and honestly, im sure those kids knew it..

Reminds me of 2007 when Popo caught a whole set of us Evo and Scoobie and Vr4 and Rx7 guize on the foreshore "assembling to race" according to the police...after the Tuscon's blocked both entrances to the carpark, they then came up to the group of drivers and asked what we were doing..

I specifically remembering a whyte boy (wont say what car he drove) taking out an acoustic guitar and starts to play...men start singing "Kumbyah ma Lord" in unison!!

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA it was epic.....

Popo got upset and tell we "Look allyuh get allyuh arses home quick eh!!!"...

We were lucky dey didnt charge us for loitering..i think the Kumbyah bit was too much for them....

The cannonball run to Medford Gas Station after was epic though...

Godo ole days *rocks in rocking chair on veranda*......

Postby ismithx » September 3rd, 2011, 6:54 pm

^^ lol :lol:

but look at high end cars nah!

Computerman

Postby Computerman » September 3rd, 2011, 7:25 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:I specifically remembering a whyte boy (wont say what car he drove) taking out an acoustic guitar and starts to play...men start singing "Kumbyah ma Lord" in unison!!
Isn't playing a musical instrument in a vehicle illegal?