Can i use kerosene with diesel in my engine

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
uniho46

Can i use kerosene with diesel in my engine

Postby uniho46 » August 26th, 2011, 9:22 am

I have a 2010 Ford Ranger TDCI Engine some say put a 5$ to a tank of diesel and that also take cares of any water, others say no that might harm my engine, which is it?

Also in a service on my ford ranger i heard the tech say he cleaned the strainer in the fuel pump is this something i can do on my own as maintenance, if so where and how is it done?

Re: Can i use kerosene with diesel in my engine

Postby 3stagevtec » August 26th, 2011, 1:43 pm

Dig through the stickies (Ranger Tech), it's been discussed before..

Postby sliderz1 » August 26th, 2011, 2:06 pm

:repost:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 26th, 2011, 9:10 pm

No dont put kerosene in the TDCi engine, it'll mess up the ECU and cause knocking/misfiring.

You can only get away with kerosene in a direct-injection diesel engine with a mechanical fuel pumping system, kerosone in a common-rail, electronically controlled system will play havoc with the diesel fuel's Cetane rating and thus mess up the ECU.

And no it's not advisable that you simply "clean the fuel filter", because that'll only remove the larger particles while the microscopic ones will remain embedded in the filter elements.
This will cause blockage and less efficient filtering, not to mention some of those smaller particles can break off and get into the engine.

Havoc

Postby Havoc » August 27th, 2011, 10:06 am

it'll play wat wit d fuel cetane rating LH??

Postby 3stagevtec » August 27th, 2011, 10:27 am

Havoc wrote:it'll play wat wit d fuel cetane rating LH??

better than playing Cuddles eh.. :lol:

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 27th, 2011, 1:11 pm

^^^ LMAO!

nick009

Postby nick009 » August 27th, 2011, 8:55 pm

uniho46 wrote:I have a 2010 Ford Ranger TDCI Engine some say put a 5$ to a tank of diesel and that also take cares of any water, others say no that might harm my engine, which is it?

Also in a service on my ford ranger i heard the tech say he cleaned the strainer in the fuel pump is this something i can do on my own as maintenance, if so where and how is it done?

The strainer should be cleaned , i have noticed that if you use cheap filters the filter element breaks apart and gets trapped in the strainer.
The strainer is located downstream of the filter and just at the inlet to the fuel pump. There is a 17mm bolt that u have to remove to access it. Look through the ranger tech post its in there

Havoc

Postby Havoc » August 28th, 2011, 7:48 am

well done 3stage, was startin to wonder hw long it was gonna take b4 som1 figured me out.....lolz

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 28th, 2011, 8:37 am

Hehhehe, I did that on purpose....

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 30th, 2011, 6:53 am

lighthammer wrote:No dont put kerosene in the TDCi engine, it'll mess up the ECU and cause knocking/misfiring.

You can only get away with kerosene in a direct-injection diesel engine with a mechanical fuel pumping system, kerosone in a common-rail, electronically controlled system will play havoc with the diesel fuel's Cetane rating and thus mess up the ECU.

And no it's not advisable that you simply "clean the fuel filter", because that'll only remove the larger particles while the microscopic ones will remain embedded in the filter elements.
This will cause blockage and less efficient filtering, not to mention some of those smaller particles can break off and get into the engine.

so then i could pitch oil down the bt ?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 30th, 2011, 5:12 pm

^^ yeah why not!?

If you fullin de tank, example: i'd say out of $100 to full, $70 in diesel and $30 in kerosene.... or whatever closest ratio u can come to.

Havoc

Postby Havoc » August 30th, 2011, 6:56 pm

i tink $80-$20 is a safer way to go.....but dats jus me being a lil paranoid bout d lubricity of d fuel and wear on meh fuel pump

Postby sliderz1 » August 30th, 2011, 7:23 pm

when i do i dont even put that much :| :|

Havoc

Postby Havoc » August 30th, 2011, 9:18 pm

las time i did d diesel/kero mix i put bout 4ltrs.....daz like $6 worth lol

Postby sliderz1 » August 30th, 2011, 9:38 pm

Havoc wrote:las time i did d diesel/kero mix i put bout 4ltrs.....daz like $6 worth lol

i still dont put that much :lol: :lol:
2litres gives enuffff powahh

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » August 31st, 2011, 5:07 am

i put a $60-$20 mix ussually...

Havoc

Postby Havoc » August 31st, 2011, 10:24 am

no wonder dat l200 hv so much fyah....ur cetane pts mus be off the charts!!

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 31st, 2011, 9:25 pm

speedaholic wrote:i put a $60-$20 mix ussually...

This is what im thinking since it takes 85tt to fill up my tank...How does it feel with this ratio dude ?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 1st, 2011, 12:10 am

Havoc wrote:no wonder dat l200 hv so much fyah....ur cetane pts mus be off the charts!!

haha! nah man... proper maintanance is key! :)

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 1st, 2011, 12:12 am

V2NR.... feels normal dude... but my engine is N/A! so i wont feel the difference like a turbo charged engine wud... try it and see.. ;) i ussually do the mix every other month or soo..

Postby sliderz1 » September 1st, 2011, 4:50 pm

^i find 2 litres makes a heck of a difference....................(3.2NA)

**imagines $20 worth

:D :D

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 1st, 2011, 7:20 pm

I placed 10tt worth of kerosene in the tank this evening and there was noted smoother acceleration. Will up to 20tt when this tank runs out...

Postby sliderz1 » September 1st, 2011, 7:37 pm

^usually my engine runs a bit more silent ( about 2L to a tank). the added power is a plus but my fuel finishes faster........
maybe cuz my foot gets heavier with the extra fire :lol:

Postby equipped2ripp » September 15th, 2011, 10:27 pm

sliderz1 wrote:^usually my engine runs a bit more silent ( about 2L to a tank). the added power is a plus but my fuel finishes faster........
maybe cuz my foot gets heavier with the extra fire :lol:

:roll: :roll: :roll:

Your fuel would finish faster with kerosene in the tank because it burns quicker than diesel because it's thinner.

Val

Postby Val » September 17th, 2011, 8:49 am

Not thinner, more volatile.

Postby equipped2ripp » September 17th, 2011, 8:12 pm

well I'm not an expert :D

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 20th, 2011, 11:21 pm

any results to report yet, V2NR?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » September 27th, 2011, 9:48 pm

what's the technical difference between diesel and kerosene as it applies to performance in the compression ignition engine? Compressibility and expansion during combustion i guess would be key factors affecting performance...
Would the kerosene clean the injector pump and injectors...somewhat??

bt50

Postby bt50 » September 28th, 2011, 8:07 am

Guy- filled up BT50 with 10 kero-70 diesel about 3 weeks ago. Van performed the same way. Only noticeable difference was I got 425km on the tank as opposed to the normal 540kms. Same acceleration etc

But then I use redline 85+ all the time (except when i put kero into tank) which would have kept my injectors clean.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”