w.t.k. sluggish starting on a frontier

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
dj kev

w.t.k. sluggish starting on a frontier

Postby dj kev » August 19th, 2011, 2:51 pm

hey fellas. afternoon. i have a 4x2 frontier and i'm getting a very sluggish tumble from the engine when i'm about to start. can anyone help me out? the battery is ok, it reads 13.3. thanks.

Re: w.t.k. sluggish starting on a frontier

Postby sliderz1 » August 19th, 2011, 8:58 pm

give the glow plugs a check

brawnybro

Postby brawnybro » August 20th, 2011, 10:32 am

13.3 volts yes but how many cold cranking amps does your battery have ? that makes a big difference

dj kev

Postby dj kev » August 21st, 2011, 2:11 am

thanks. it is one of those maintenance free diesel bosch battery. i think it cranking like 1750. i will have to check

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » August 21st, 2011, 6:45 am

sliderz1 wrote:give the glow plugs a check

I agree the glow plugs is your best bet had the same experience and two glow plugs were bad , sluggish start and lots of white smoke

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 22nd, 2011, 7:08 am

when was the van last serviced? check fuel and air filters as well

Postby 3stagevtec » August 27th, 2011, 2:24 am

What voltage does the battery read in the morning, after an overnight rest? A reading of 13.3V suggests you measured the batt voltage just after driving the vehicle, which would give a false idea of it's current state.

Does the engine start properly when warm? If yes, then the glow plugs at fault.. If no, the the truck needs a service as biggy suggested.

TrEnD$eTt@

Postby TrEnD$eTt@ » August 30th, 2011, 7:23 pm

had the same problem even with a new battery .....the starter needed servicing ...and truss meh go get it serviced before it goes bad because the frontier starter is reduction drive and very expensive!

dj kev

Postby dj kev » September 2nd, 2011, 9:36 pm

thanks ppl. i will have to get it checked out. where can i go for a reasonable service? i"m from south, so somewhere in south would be preferred. thanks again

aliman

Postby aliman » September 13th, 2011, 12:27 pm

same problem, put in new batt, check all wires, no change! took out the starter did the service, bang like brand new , no more problems

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”