RedJet cancels flights indefinitely - edit flights resumed

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 26th, 2011, 5:02 pm

details sketchy but red jet has just announced that they cancelled all services to T&T Guyana and other places until further notice........ they said something about their hydraulic system not functioning properly on the aircraft........ :roll: :roll: :roll: interesting eh......

REDjet, the recently launched low-cost airline, on Friday cancelled services on its three routes -Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados- because the plane developed a mechanical problem.
At least 620 passengers were affected on all three routes. This is believed to be the first major problem to have faced the carrier.
“In the interest of passenger and crew safety we have decided to cancel our service for now but are optimistic that our engineers, who have been working around the clock, we will ensure that we are up and running as soon as possible,” RedJet’s Chief Operations Officer, Kevin Dudley was quoted by the airline as saying.
No date was set for the resumption of flights with the airline only saying “until further notice.”
Dudley says approximately 132 passengers were impacted as a result of the cancellations on Wednesday and 488 on Friday.
REDjet said it issued affected passengers refunds on their tickets booked, while some passengers preferred to remain on standby with the airline until the resumption of the airline’s service.
Mr Dudley confirmed the airline’s call centres were contacting all passengers booked on the affected flights.
REDjet apologised for the inconvenienced that was caused to passengers as a result of the delays and cancellations. For further information passengers are asked to call the following contact numbers:- Barbados - 246 827-2727 ; Trinidad - 868 299-0888 and Guyana – 592-662-3000
http://www.demerarawaves.com/index.php/Latest/2011/08/26/redjet-cancels-flights-indefinitely-hundreds-affected.html
Last edited by shake d livin wake d dead on August 26th, 2011, 6:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Goolie

Re: RED JET PULL OUT!!!!!!!!!

Postby Goolie » August 26th, 2011, 5:04 pm

:lol: and it has started

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 26th, 2011, 5:07 pm

didn't take long ehh.........

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 26th, 2011, 5:11 pm

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 26th, 2011, 5:14 pm

word^^^ so it CONFIRMED..... back to CAL

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » August 26th, 2011, 5:15 pm

a set a refurbished jets they buy.

Postby Bizzare » August 26th, 2011, 5:28 pm

Karma is a b!tch. Red jet voodoo come back IDMC

Postby rfari » August 26th, 2011, 5:33 pm

wdmc. is one jet dem had on de route?????? wdf

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 26th, 2011, 5:35 pm

I do hope they can get their act in order though. More competition throughout the islands is good, especially since LIAT having doubts of their own now :?

Postby S_2NR » August 26th, 2011, 6:10 pm

thread title misleading.

Postby Bizzare » August 26th, 2011, 6:18 pm

I was about to say the same. Thought it involved Virgin Atlantic.

Postby foss » August 26th, 2011, 6:35 pm

rofllll... what suckers

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 26th, 2011, 6:37 pm

rfari wrote:wdmc. is one jet dem had on de route?????? wdf

yups as far as I understand is only one they had,not even a new one eh.....

Postby foss » August 26th, 2011, 6:39 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
rfari wrote:wdmc. is one jet dem had on de route?????? wdf

yups as far as I understand is only one they had,not even a new one eh.....

they came out as some pipers.. they could have at least leased two or three aircrafts...

Postby Stephon. » August 26th, 2011, 6:41 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote: back to CAL

Why even leave? :lol:

Postby SUPAstarr » August 26th, 2011, 6:41 pm

they did not pull out, just suspend flights until boeing helps them resolve the issue

Postby S_2NR » August 26th, 2011, 6:42 pm

CAL need some new air hostesses.
them ole thing they have now doh cut it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 26th, 2011, 6:50 pm

^^ NAH bai CAL rel step up,was in the airport for the pass few days and they have some sweet young women they eh,my lawddd,I figure that was a good tactic for people to stay wid them,hire some sexy gyal and only ah set ah bullerman,so none ah d man go breed the gyal there.......

Re: POOR RED JET,IT HAS BEGUN!!!!!!!!!!

Postby Stephon. » August 26th, 2011, 6:52 pm

I thought beautiful and young were requirements to being an air hostess. :?

Postby S_2NR » August 26th, 2011, 6:56 pm

they have some nice ones but they have to step it up a little.
the ones they have now old and does cake on makeup like theres no tomorrow.

Postby sliderz1 » August 26th, 2011, 7:37 pm

Stephon. wrote:I thought beautiful and young were requirements to being an air hostess. :?

then add 10-20yrs experience after getting the job :| :|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 26th, 2011, 10:49 pm

Stephon. wrote:I thought beautiful and young were requirements to being an air hostess. :?

usually the first thing they look for........

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 27th, 2011, 9:22 am

S_2NR wrote:CAL need some new air hostesses.

funny that less than two hours ago i was sitting at the bar with a cal flight crew and said to one of them ...why cal have so many old birds in the air .....

she look at me and say the 737 is only ten years old :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby sliderz1 » August 27th, 2011, 9:24 am

Michael Knight...

Re: RedJet cancels flights indefinitely

Postby Michael Knight... » August 27th, 2011, 9:58 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:details sketchy but red jet has just announced that they cancelled all services to T&T Guyana and other places until further notice........ they said something about their hydraulic system not functioning properly on the aircraft........ :roll: :roll: :roll: interesting eh......

REDjet, the recently launched low-cost airline, on Friday cancelled services on its three routes -Guyana, Trinidad and Barbados- because the plane developed a mechanical problem.
At least 620 passengers were affected on all three routes. This is believed to be the first major problem to have faced the carrier.
“In the interest of passenger and crew safety we have decided to cancel our service for now but are optimistic that our engineers, who have been working around the clock, we will ensure that we are up and running as soon as possible,” RedJet’s Chief Operations Officer, Kevin Dudley was quoted by the airline as saying.
No date was set for the resumption of flights with the airline only saying “until further notice.”
Dudley says approximately 132 passengers were impacted as a result of the cancellations on Wednesday and 488 on Friday.
REDjet said it issued affected passengers refunds on their tickets booked, while some passengers preferred to remain on standby with the airline until the resumption of the airline’s service.
Mr Dudley confirmed the airline’s call centres were contacting all passengers booked on the affected flights.
REDjet apologised for the inconvenienced that was caused to passengers as a result of the delays and cancellations. For further information passengers are asked to call the following contact numbers:- Barbados - 246 827-2727 ; Trinidad - 868 299-0888 and Guyana – 592-662-3000
http://www.demerarawaves.com/index.php/Latest/2011/08/26/redjet-cancels-flights-indefinitely-hundreds-affected.html

Well it makes sense "REDJET" not "REDJETS"

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 27th, 2011, 10:37 am

S_2NR wrote:CAL need some new air hostesses.

Postby ismithx » August 27th, 2011, 7:13 pm

the PLANE.....

so they had only one?????

nahhhhh coulda tell you this would have happen with them old thing...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 27th, 2011, 9:40 pm

ismithx wrote:the PLANE.....

so they had only one?????

nahhhhh coulda tell you this would have happen with them old thing...

the aircraft they were using is one old thing ehhhhh.......

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » August 27th, 2011, 10:12 pm

REDjet wishes to advise that all flights on Sunday 28th August and beyond will proceed as scheduled. REDjet is in the process of contacting all passengers on flights into and out of Barbados, Guyana and Trinidad to confirm same and will make futher contact should there be any changes to our operations. We thank you for your patience and again apologise for any inconvenience caused.

^^Taken from their Facebook Page.

Upcfordcruiser

Postby Upcfordcruiser » August 28th, 2011, 3:38 am

According to their profile they have two McDonnell Douglas MD-80's, both are ex-American Airlines aircraft. Gotta remember this is the airline business, not some maxi taxi operation. To keep the fares low, you have to keep costs low. New aircraft cost big money, which CAL can afford with their gov't subsidy (which Redjet doesn't get). Come to think of it, I don't think CAL actually outright owns any of their planes, they're all on long term wet leases if I remember correctly.