To keep it registered is 1k a year

Can't remember

I got 3 ppl there to do it for me

Charge the OP and have it done by your ppls for him. :D

Kish

Re: Self Employed...The Thread

Postby Kish » August 25th, 2011, 9:27 am

Just to share some input. I've recently registered my business and I must say it's kicking off better than I expected. The key to getting the business running is advertising. Online advertising helps alot and i've noticed that facebook ads are more responsive than the google ads, mainly cause facebook has a larger audience.

I'm looking to to some more non-internet based advertising and also need someone to make some signs for my store. My product line is not that big right now but hopefully by mid next year it will be in gear.

Another tactic I'm trying is to fish around to see which types of products would appeal to the consumers more so this has also helped with my product lineup.

Any tips on the advertising and signs?

^Pretty^

Postby ^Pretty^ » August 29th, 2011, 10:40 pm

Sanctifier wrote:
Sanctifier wrote:Financing... The ADB only gives loans with reasonable % for very secure projects...
e.g. If you want to go with a Greenhouse I heard they only offer 35% funding... I'm going to find out myself tomorrow.
I checked this morning... (26-05-11)
ADB terms for agricultural projects:
Ceiling on Principal.... = None... "open ended" :!:
Land purchase.......... = Can be included in loan.
Downpayment........... = 20%... (10% for used vehicles.)
Loan %................... = 80%... (70% for used vehicles.)
Collateral required...... = Real estate, fixed deposits etc... just like a commercial bank.
Interest Rate............ = 3-5% per annum.
............................ = 1% less for approved advanced technology :!: ...(minimum rate is 3%.)

A lot of paperwork is req'd, including Feasibility Study, Business Plan & Cash Flow projections... (Hire an Accountant.)
Still looks like a good deal IMHO.

My $0.02¢

Most ppl don't like to hire accountant's as they feel they have no real purpose to their business.

You can check Small Business Development Co as well....i think they provide 50% financing on business loans but the only thing that remain's constant with any financial institution, paperwork required is the same across the board.

Postby Redman » August 30th, 2011, 8:17 am

Most ppl don't like to hire accountant's as they feel they have no real purpose to their business.

This is a massive mistake.

Surround yourself with professionals-you are paying for their experience and knowledge, and in some cases their contacts.
Just be sure that you dealing with the right professionals.

Later

Skanky

Postby Skanky » September 8th, 2011, 3:27 pm

Somebody on here once gave me some info on trading Forex early last year or so.I took a year and educated myself from learning as much as I could find online and now I have become a profitable trader.
Anyway my search does not work or else I'd have asked in the forex thread but I can't search for some reason..for weeks now.
Do I have to pay taxes on any money I make from trading Forex?

^Pretty^

Postby ^Pretty^ » September 9th, 2011, 2:15 am

Skanky wrote:Somebody on here once gave me some info on trading Forex early last year or so.I took a year and educated myself from learning as much as I could find online and now I have become a profitable trader.
Anyway my search does not work or else I'd have asked in the forex thread but I can't search for some reason..for weeks now.
Do I have to pay taxes on any money I make from trading Forex?

Yes....you should speak to an accountant for further info.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » September 9th, 2011, 7:13 am

Thanks ^Pretty^.

Postby Rooki3 » September 10th, 2011, 1:00 pm

Redman wrote:Most ppl don't like to hire accountant's as they feel they have no real purpose to their business.

Surround yourself with professionals-you are paying for their experience and knowledge, and in some cases their contacts.

Later

damn good advice, sounds like an excerpt from rich dad poor dad

^Pretty^

Postby ^Pretty^ » September 12th, 2011, 8:47 am

I am looking for a part time data entry clerk located in the east.
If you know anyone who may be interested, please have them email a resume to:
expertaccountingsolutions@gmail.com

Thanks much.

NZE guy

Postby NZE guy » September 12th, 2011, 1:17 pm

As a fist time self employed person, should i register a limited liability company or small business ?

^Pretty^

Postby ^Pretty^ » September 12th, 2011, 1:23 pm

NZE guy wrote:As a fist time self employed person, should i register a limited liability company or small business ?

There are different factors you need to consider when making the decision to go limited liability or small business.
Speak to your accountant if you have one....if not as mentioned before...engage one from the beginning so as to guide you accordingly and help you make the right decisions.

Kronik

Anyone interested in having their own business??

Postby Kronik » October 6th, 2011, 11:40 pm

This is a feeler to see the interest. i know there are a lot of people out there who wanna have their own business but dont have the capital to start up. i know what it is like.

well i have an alternative i want to share with any motivate individuals. it's basically an opportunity where you can have your business and dont need a stack of cash to get started

anyone interested can pm me for more info

Kronik

Postby Kronik » October 7th, 2011, 7:11 am

^^interested persons, can see the details saturday, so if you contact me before that would be great

suffocate69

Postby suffocate69 » October 7th, 2011, 7:44 am

Redman wrote:Most ppl don't like to hire accountant's as they feel they have no real purpose to their business.

Later

I actually totally disagree with this, unless you're absolutely incompetant.

Do you have any idea how easy accounting is? It's just tedious. But any business owner should take an active role in their business's finances. Once you carefully research what you need to be doing and learn about the tax and banking systems. Then accountants are useless for any small business.

None will understand your buisness like yourself. If you have the time LEARN the accounts yourself. Do not let a 'professional' account fool you.

Postby Redman » October 7th, 2011, 8:02 am

suffocate69 wrote:

Later

I actually totally disagree with this, unless you're absolutely incompetant.

Do you have any idea how easy accounting is? It's just tedious. But any business owner should take an active role in their business's finances. Once you carefully research what you need to be doing and learn about the tax and banking systems. Then accountants are useless for any small business.

None will understand your buisness like yourself. If you have the time LEARN the accounts yourself. Do not let a 'professional' account fool you.

LOL

Not IncompetEnt breddo- just a different POV

If you are starting your own business-the best use of your time is in fact pushing and developing the business-not handling paperwork.

Do what you are good at and is the best for the business.There is a cost to your time-maximize the return.
Doing everything limits your ability to expand beyond a certain level.
Jack of all trades master of none.
But we all can do things how WE want to-thats the point of being SELF EMPLOYED-there are many ways to bell the cat.

Later

suffocate69

Postby suffocate69 » October 7th, 2011, 9:35 am

It comes down to me only trusting myself.

But honestly, I do outsource and but somethings I like monitoring myself.

napster16

WTK: Starting a Stage Lighting Business

Postby napster16 » February 26th, 2012, 10:06 pm

Just wanted to know if there's anyone around with experience in the Stage Lighting and Effects Business (incl. Tent Rental and so on) that would like to share any knowledge that they have.

Thnx...

napster16

Re: WTK: Starting a Stage Lighting Business

Postby napster16 » February 27th, 2012, 8:17 pm

:bump:

Postby ronsin1 » February 27th, 2012, 9:41 pm

all yuh need is a box ah match and yuh could light up the stage what you worried about

Postby gastly369 » February 27th, 2012, 9:48 pm

:drinking:

rankhl

Truck Business?

Postby rankhl » May 7th, 2012, 10:22 pm

Is now a good time to buy or own a Dump truck (6 or 10 wheeler)?

Thinking about making an investment, but the good ones cost an arm and a leg.

EXODUS

Re: Truck Business?

Postby EXODUS » May 7th, 2012, 10:35 pm

ammm y u doh consult yuh broker instead of posting on chuna. after all its an investment in a business U r making so who wud knw whats best...not U sir?

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 7th, 2012, 11:22 pm

rankhl wrote:Is now a good time to buy or own a Dump truck (6 or 10 wheeler)?

Honestly, if you going to be driving the truck and wake up 3am and reaching home after 7pm with hopes you have no repairs to be done, hell a overnighter or two in a quarry. Then maybe it could be a viable business once you are prepared to sacrifice for it.

If you going to be hiring a driver, I won't advise it, better you buy some land with the odd $3-400,000 you might be investing. Reason being, the market is over saturated with trucks, the bigger fleets are pushing the small man aside and running down Work to cover expenses etc. Your driver won't hustle work as hard as you would so unless u have some government Padna or sum it's not a viable option.

geometron wrote:ammm y u doh consult yuh broker instead of posting on chuna. after all its an investment in a business U r making so who wud knw whats best...not U sir?

How would a broker know what the local transport business is like? Apart from hear-say a broker wouldn't be able to relate to this man real world experience From tuners involved in the trucking industry. Think before you post na.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » May 7th, 2012, 11:29 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:

Honestly, if you going to be driving the truck and wake up 3am and reaching home after 7pm with hopes you have no repairs to be done, hell a overnighter or two in a quarry. Then maybe it could be a viable business once you are prepared to sacrifice for it.

If you going to be hiring a driver, I won't advise it, better you buy some land with the odd $3-400,000 you might be investing. Reason being, the market is over saturated with trucks, the bigger fleets are pushing the small man aside and running down Work to cover expenses etc. Your driver won't hustle work as hard as you would so unless u have some government Padna or sum it's not a viable option.

geometron wrote:ammm y u doh consult yuh broker instead of posting on chuna. after all its an investment in a business U r making so who wud knw whats best...not U sir?

How would a broker know what the local transport business is like? Apart from hear-say a broker wouldn't be able to relate to this man real world experience From tuners involved in the trucking industry. Think before you post na.

take ah bump

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » May 7th, 2012, 11:40 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:

ok wiki... i shal shaddap :D ...

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » May 8th, 2012, 6:32 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:

basically,wouldnt even tell you to invest,run far away as possible.Go into the food business

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 8th, 2012, 7:43 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:

^^^This and it is coming from someone IN the industry....

8-)

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » May 8th, 2012, 7:48 am

its a good business to get into im into it , but like everything else in this country , once you know the rite people , ull make alot of money with a dump truck .......... a ten wheeler dump is a good truck to make fast $$ with the rite amount of work .
Gd Luck with your investment if u decide to go true with it ...............

FullStop

Postby FullStop » May 8th, 2012, 9:10 am

if u need to ask if its a good investment then don't do it, the big guys in the industry who have the links still have trucks parked up...unless you have lots of links its very hard...and like someone said above, if u hire a driver chances are ur just going to end up with serious expenses...Additionally, you need to know about trucks and stuff pretty well to buy one, lots of schemers selling trucks built with mixed and matched parts, real failure waiting to happen...

FullStop

Postby FullStop » May 8th, 2012, 9:13 am

Food production is an epic good investment like ru$$el said...you should probably look at specializing at something though rather than attempting massive multi cropping...