Postby wheelbarrow » August 21st, 2011, 6:54 pm

Yeah so ah buy one online....

here...

Did i waste meh money????
anybody have one??
sum reviews pls...

Re: Anybody gettin ah HP Touchpad too???

Postby Stephon. » August 21st, 2011, 7:01 pm

Thanks for making this topic, today I heard of the price drop and was unable to get one because I kept seeing them for 350. Ordering 2 now, hopefully it's as good as the reviews said it is.

EDIT: Thank you, your order has been placed. *dances*

Postby ismithx » August 21st, 2011, 7:09 pm

allyuh do know it will be worthless if modders don't find a way to run another OS on it?

Postby nemisis » August 21st, 2011, 7:11 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:Yeah so ah buy one online....

here...

Depends on if the fact its a dead product app and support wise matters to you or not.

anybody have one??
Nope being an early adopter is very risky usually good to wait for the 2nd gen of a product don't want to buy it then tomorrow you find out its dropped by its manufacturer, wait wut...

sum reviews pls...

http://www.engadget.com/2011/06/29/hp-touchpad-review/
Last edited by nemisis on August 21st, 2011, 7:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Stephon. » August 21st, 2011, 7:12 pm

Lol whats with all the random Indian pictures?
*Cancels order until wheelbarrow gets his*

Edit: I changed my mind, it's good enough for what I need it for.

Postby M_2NR » August 21st, 2011, 7:15 pm

i thought no one else was getting one. DAMIT

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » August 21st, 2011, 7:22 pm

The reason the touchpad is so cheap is that HP announced last week that it's pulling out of the WebOS business. They also intend to spin off their PC business (however they're going to do that). Therefore the touchpad and WebOS phones would not be made by them anymore or ever again. Basically a fire sale is going on where ever their products are still being sold.

Lack of any future manufacturer support or updates may not matter as we probably wouldn't have access to their official support down here anyway. So the touchpad may not be a waste of money. After all it's US$99. Some developers may decide to bring out updates themselves, never know.

Postby Stephon. » August 21st, 2011, 7:25 pm

A similarly bright volume rocker lies just around the corner, and if you move further down the right edge you'll find a little blanked-out spot that could make room for a SIM in future iterations.

:lol: I guess HP had other plans

Not that I care but, you can't take pictures with this tablet? :lol: WTF?
The camera is only for ooVoo etc.

@nemisis the second video on that page was funny :lol:

Postby M_2NR » August 21st, 2011, 7:58 pm

OOS probably temporarily... hopefully all gone :lol:

Postby Kenjo » August 21st, 2011, 8:10 pm

check precentral.net.i have like one of the only palm pre in trinidad.they are a loyal bunch but HP real kill off things today for tomorrow but for 100us it is a decent price.kindle app on the touchpad still suspect but the homebrewers are real active so it is worth a try but most of the 100us ones are more or less finished at best buy and other companies

[EMIN∃M]

Postby [EMIN∃M] » August 21st, 2011, 8:30 pm

From amazon
$100 can get you little in terms of electronics. The screen itself on this device is an estimated about $90. Even if you don't want it. 1) Sell it. 2) Easy present right here. 3) Take it apart and try to use the hardware. 1.2 ghz duo core processor, 9.7 inch screen, 1 gb ram, 16 gb sd memory, wall charger, usb cable, wi-fi chip, camera, microphone, buttons, and more.

Want to keep it? Well............

Watch TV on it
Watch videos
Go on the internet
Listen to music
Use it as a monitor
Use it to check the weather
Use it as a clock
Use it as a surveillance camera monitor
Use it as a tv
Use it as calendar
Use it as a schedule keeper
Use it as a note keeper
Use it as an alarm
Use it as a radio
Use it as a coaster
Use it as a poster
Use it as a food tray
Use it for no reason
Use it when it's dark out
Use it with a fork out
Use it as a GPS
Use it as a private jet
Use it to watch porn
Use it in your dorm
Use it like it's cool
Use it like a fool
Use it like it's hot
Use it like it's not
Well why not?

Postby Stephon. » August 21st, 2011, 8:33 pm

:rofl: :rofl:

Postby S_2NR » August 21st, 2011, 9:12 pm

not me and anything with an HP branding ever! low quality

Postby nemisis » August 21st, 2011, 10:47 pm

S_2NR wrote:not me and anything with an HP branding ever! low quality

this!!!

Postby M_2NR » August 22nd, 2011, 1:51 am

You can get them right now at barnes and noble's website. in stock ATM.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 22nd, 2011, 5:49 am

In nod to IBM, HP overhaul minimizes consumers

Hewlett-Packard's decision to surrender in smartphones and tablet computers and possibly get rid of its personal computer business underscores how Apple has transformed consumer electronics in just four years.

HP's new CEO Leo Apotheker is now trying to turn the Silicon Valley stalwart into a twin of East Coast archrival IBM Corp. In doing so, he is acknowledging that his company has failed to balance the demands of both the consumer and corporate markets. As a result, it needs to exit most of its consumer businesses, just as IBM did six years ago.

Apple is the hottest consumer electronics company on the planet. The iPhone's debut in 2007 brought ease of use and an intuitive design unmatched by predecessors, including smartphone pioneer Palm, which HP bought last year in hopes of getting a foothold in mobile devices. Apple followed in 2010 with the iPad tablet computer and managed to persuade people to buy a product they never knew they needed.

Rather than remain locked in a futile fight with a company that seems to have found the magic touch on making hit consumer products, HP is whittling its competition to the other business technology specialists -- namely, IBM, Oracle Corp. and Cisco Systems Inc.

HP's effort to jettison its PC business is another concession to Apple's increasing dominance of consumer electronics, said Shaw Wu, an analyst with Sterne Agee. The PC division also had become a drag on HP's stock even though it still accounts for about 15 percent of the company's earnings, Wu said.

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/In-nod-to ... 2.html?x=0

Postby SUPAstarr » August 22nd, 2011, 10:28 am

At first i was thinkin its a waste, but now im thinkin you can buy one an wait till android is ported on to it an like yuh self. looks like its about to happen in two days on this guy's channel

Yeo

Postby Yeo » August 22nd, 2011, 10:37 am

US$100 for the 16gb and US$150 for the 32gb...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 22nd, 2011, 6:05 pm

I'm thinking of getting one...maybe two or three if I feel for more touching.

Postby M_2NR » August 22nd, 2011, 7:11 pm

word is... the one on amazon was oversold... expect cancellations like mad.

Postby Stephon. » August 22nd, 2011, 7:20 pm

M_2NR wrote:word is... the one on amazon was oversold... expect cancellations like mad.

Don't say that nah!

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 22nd, 2011, 8:27 pm

Stephon. wrote:
M_2NR wrote:word is... the one on amazon was oversold... expect cancellations like mad.

Don't say that nah!

*checks amazon*

Shipment 1 of 1
Shipping Soon
Delivery Estimate: August 25, 2011 - August 30, 2011

hope ah doh get any cancellation emails....

Postby Stephon. » August 22nd, 2011, 8:28 pm

Shipment 1 of 1
Shipping Soon
Delivery Estimate: August 23, 2011 - August 24, 2011

Postby X2 » August 23rd, 2011, 12:27 am

Hot damn that's a good price for a functional tablet.

Even if it lasts 1 or 2 years... by then there will be something better for the money anyways. Wish it wasn't so 'sold out'... i'da given it a run.

Postby RBphoto » August 23rd, 2011, 7:02 am

Pricesmart did not get the memo....they still have it for over 3 gran :?

Postby SmokeyGTi » August 23rd, 2011, 8:18 am

here...

anybody have one??
sum reviews pls...

the price dropped because nobody buying it

nobody buying it because nobody want it
nobody want it because is sheit.

Postby Stephon. » August 23rd, 2011, 9:32 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:

here...

anybody have one??
sum reviews pls...

the price dropped because nobody buying it

nobody buying it because nobody want it
nobody want it because is sheit.

u r sick
u have no clue
praying 4 u
be blessed

Postby M_2NR » August 23rd, 2011, 1:47 pm

word is that onsale (amazon) orders that are >1 are on hold. <1 you are more than likely to get your order... why did i order 2... :?

FML.

Postby Stephon. » August 23rd, 2011, 2:35 pm

That is an old article, ignorance, get off my timeline!