Flow Internet Thread

Re: Slow FLOW

Postby S_2NR » May 21st, 2011, 1:01 pm

KLN Electronics wrote:Please explain the process of setting up and using this vpn that you speak of.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 7th, 2011, 7:51 pm

Zanzan2010 wrote:
furthermore FLOW is throttling torrent downloads...iv tested this with free online software and sites...just google it...

Solutions are tor and VPN....i maxed out my connection within seconds of connecting to the VPN check out my screan shot 2.7MB download using vpn and azureus no special configs....

Did you use glasnost to test?

And I tried using tor but idk how to get it operating correctly

How to set up the VPN thing?

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » June 7th, 2011, 9:52 pm

S_2NR wrote:
KLN Electronics wrote:Please explain the process of setting up and using this vpn that you speak of.

ruffneck_12 wrote:
Zanzan2010 wrote:
furthermore FLOW is throttling torrent downloads...iv tested this with free online software and sites...just google it...

Solutions are tor and VPN....i maxed out my connection within seconds of connecting to the VPN check out my screan shot 2.7MB download using vpn and azureus no special configs....

Did you use glasnost to test?

And I tried using tor but idk how to get it operating correctly

How to set up the VPN thing?

I just used the login details for this VPN and these instructions as an example to see if it would work.

I not sure if it is the same thing I think ZanZan2010 is talking about. I know those speeds are slow but that is because that VPN is free so they have certain speed/data limits.

I never used Tor but it is supposed to be better since Anonymous uses it but I don't think it caters for p2p/torrenting though, you might have to get a program called TAILS or there are others.

Postby M_2NR » June 8th, 2011, 12:14 am

^excellent post.

Thanks much for that VPN! was looking for an alternative to HotSpot Shield. The bandwidth even worse on iPhone though.

but it works!

found another one:
http://redvpn.net/

but this looks 100 times more shadier... I really dont think i want my data tunneling through them... but its much faster

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 8th, 2011, 2:06 am

^ thanks will try that when I get un-lazy

tried this
http://filesharefreak.com/2008/04/02/ti ... ad-speeds/
and it worked nicely, went from 12KB to 300KB

todd61

Re: Flow in Valsayn area

Postby todd61 » June 8th, 2011, 12:29 pm

zcarz wrote:Anybody else getting slowdowns with flow recently in valsayn/ environs.. i'm only getting about 1mb on a 5mb download connection.. upload speeds are fine

Yes me around 12pm to 4pm i get really slow download speeds only started to happen a few weeks now

achillies

Postby achillies » June 9th, 2011, 7:46 am

Zanzan2010 wrote:guys just to clear this up firstly...in trindad and tobago it is not illegal to download movies or anything from the internet pirated or not....there is no law against this...however there are laws that ensure that consumers get wat they pay for.....any more info on this aspect will be greatly appreciated..

so what are we gonna do about this illegal activity by FLOW...other providers throught the US have been sued for this....

Its not illegal to download, just like it's not illegal to drive, it's the content that is illegal, just like if you choose to transport something that is against the law to transport.

And our copyright law does make allowances for the protection of intellectual property for non residents, and works that were created outside of Trinidad and Tobago so that can be used against you if caught, You should read it

If you believe that what flow is doing is illegal, you should be the one to make a complaint with TATT, I'm gonna be honest and say that i wanted to but i don't have the courage, I for one would really like to see how such a complaint is handled since anything coming from TATT is given high priority

Postby M_2NR » August 17th, 2011, 6:45 pm

a lil slow u dont say.... :(

Postby Stephon. » August 17th, 2011, 6:51 pm

FLOW is slow for me today too :(

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 17th, 2011, 6:52 pm

just did mine,

TameTurtlez

Postby TameTurtlez » August 17th, 2011, 7:25 pm

flow throttling to long-time-blink speeds of 256k right now. all yuh cuss them nah

Postby M_2NR » August 17th, 2011, 7:26 pm

the once every so often glitches. ulyuh relax. by tmrw speeds will be back to normel.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » August 17th, 2011, 7:30 pm

TameTurtlez

Postby TameTurtlez » August 17th, 2011, 7:42 pm

i have vpn, that not helping right now either. ayte
i dont think that is a glitch. i feel that is some kind of bandwidth allotment
then throttle until you stop downloading plenty

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 17th, 2011, 7:49 pm

things normel on my 5Mb :|

Postby Stephon. » August 17th, 2011, 7:53 pm

fouljuice wrote:Image

things normel on my 5Mb :|
That's my speed, if you divide it by 10.

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » August 17th, 2011, 8:01 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:just did mine,

Dais good speed for a 5mb connection...I doh get that speed on my 5mb connection when I do the speedtest.

master.chief.777

Postby master.chief.777 » August 17th, 2011, 8:03 pm

i have the same turbo 5 flow package and using u torrent i get around 300- 600 kbps and using IDM i get up to 700kbps.....

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 17th, 2011, 8:07 pm

eViLwOn wrote:
wheelbarrow wrote:just did mine,

Dais good speed for a 5mb connection...I doh get that speed on my 5mb connection when I do the speedtest.

Yeah , but ah payin for ah 25mb connection... :?

Postby M_2NR » August 17th, 2011, 8:09 pm

:oops:

its not me alone though and i doubt wheelbarrow is 5mbit. watch his upload speed.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 18th, 2011, 8:02 am

Works fine here.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 18th, 2011, 1:34 pm

my 25MB connection was slow over the past two days, sometimes crawling to a stop yesterday; it seems better now but something is still wrong

TameTurtlez

Postby TameTurtlez » August 18th, 2011, 2:26 pm

As soon as I called them from a flow number, and talk to internet dept, the speed went up.. to about 1.6 MB/s then about a hour after it gone back down to a crawl. LOL
then playing game with we.
stand up nah all yuh. one voice.
they doesn't want to admit that they either throttling or have problem, always blaming the modem or your router, and to reset it like reading from a script oh so memorized by now.

achillies

Postby achillies » August 18th, 2011, 2:42 pm

There are precautions you must take on your end, make sure your PC is connected directly to the modem, if the slow speed is consistent, try doing the speed tests in SAFE MODE with Networking and for those with packages 25Mbps and up, be sure you have a Docsis 3.0 modem, its also better to have a Gigabit Ethernet card for the higher packages and a Gigabit router if you are using a router

Also to be extra thorough try doing a continuous ping Google and also a trace route to the Google, the results can tell you if the speed issue is due to a poor route and they can rectify that for you within a couple hours.

When calling them, it's better to have more information than the tech you are speaking to is expecting, if they don't assist you to your satisfaction, ask to speak to a supervisor. But you must cover all your bases if you go this far.

Postby Stephon. » August 18th, 2011, 2:47 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:my 25MB connection was slow over the past two days, sometimes crawling to a stop yesterday; it seems better now but something is still wrong

I'm getting 25 mbit for a while now, should be 50 :?
I get full speed early mornings, then back to 25 in the night.

TameTurtlez

Postby TameTurtlez » August 18th, 2011, 2:53 pm

All that yada dada. I getting full speed to speedtest.flowtrinidad.com what that tell you?
Is something throttling to all outside connections from FLOW side (downstream). Keep a eye on the uplink speed constant.

Postby M_2NR » August 18th, 2011, 3:52 pm

YEAAA FFFFFF YEAAAAA ONE VOICEEEEEEE :|

ohh and im on the old arris modem but im 5mbit.

things look like they are back to normal though.

pinging google is still a lil stuttery....
and pingtest ping a lil high, about 15ms up but this is ok, at least it isnt blink

___

EDIT: seems to be ok now though

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 19th, 2011, 12:05 pm

finally got Flow today. good riddance Blink!

Postby M_2NR » August 19th, 2011, 2:05 pm

WELCOME MITCH!!! lol

Flow back to normal btw. Used it this morning on my ups rofl. Because some other dumb@$& decide not to provide electricity. >_>

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 19th, 2011, 3:05 pm

man it feels like i've been upgraded from dialup all over again yes. finally i can get the speeds i'm actually paying for and not have to worry bout dropped connections a million times per day!

as soon as i get rid of Blink for good, think i'll be upgrading to Turbo 25