Why would an aircraft land from the opposite direction?

Seeker

Re: Why would an aircraft land from the opposite direction?

Postby Seeker » August 10th, 2011, 11:02 pm

pay1093 wrote:Badman doh lan plane from de wess

:lol: wind.....wind....wind!!!!!!

Just like aircraft carriers must turn into the wind to launch aircraft and retrieve them... at airports the plane must take off into the wind to develop enough lift and also land against it to create enough drag to slow for landing (I think) because hundreds of tonnes of iron in the air would love nothing better than to prove Isaac Newton's gravity theroy. (Is it Newton?? or Galileo?? ) Any physics buffs out there?? :?

Postby Bizzare » August 10th, 2011, 11:12 pm

shaq090 wrote:most likely the plan either engaged in a missed runway approach or the crosswinds we coming from west to east ( would have caused the plane to drift above the runway before touchdown)....but its no biggie....there are exit to taxi ways on either ends of the runway

Why the faces?? Don't you know shaq090 is a 17yr old and holds a Bachelor Degree in Computer Science from the most recognized tertiary institution in Trinidad and Tobago?

Marcos Dios

Postby Marcos Dios » August 11th, 2011, 12:46 am

This had to be during the day because runway 28 only has a visual approach. There is usually a crosswind prevailing from the north east (obviously). Tower control would have requested the change if the wind changed directions because trust me, yuh don't want a Boeing 777 landing with wind on its back, then it would be coming in too fast...so there is your answer, YES, planes do land in the opposite direction, as well as, take off.

dominicbunraj

Postby dominicbunraj » August 11th, 2011, 8:05 am

AN AIRCRAFT MUST LAND INTO WIND. THIS HELPS WITH KEEPING THE AIRCRAFT AIRBORNE AS IT REDUCES ITS SPEED TO LAND. IN PIARCO THE "NORMAL" LANDING IS FROM WEST TO EAST. BUT WHEN THE WIND IS BLOWING WEST TO EAST THE AIRCRAFT MUST LAND EAST TO WEST.

Postby RBphoto » August 11th, 2011, 8:25 am

To get to the other side... budum ching!! :)

Postby janfar » August 11th, 2011, 9:01 am

crossdrilled wrote:Re: Why would an aircraft land from the opposite direction?

repost... :drinking: :drinking: :drinking:

Postby RBphoto » August 11th, 2011, 10:39 am

Fack :x

devrat

Postby devrat » August 11th, 2011, 10:43 am

It was probably an unfixed wing aircraft....they tend to pull to the side with the unfixed wing.

Postby Sky » August 11th, 2011, 1:13 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Re: Why would an aircraft land from the opposite direction?

Yuh din read de ppl dem ched.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 11th, 2011, 1:49 pm

devrat wrote:It was probably an unfixed wing aircraft....they tend to pull to the side with the unfixed wing.

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 11th, 2011, 3:36 pm

:roll: this thread is mainly full of fail and some win

Postby Sky » August 11th, 2011, 7:31 pm

pioneer wrote:this ched is full of people who doh be in de airport regular :lol:

Or people from south, and seeing a boeing passin is real exitement.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 11th, 2011, 7:32 pm

why all these ads.. steups

RuMS

Postby RuMS » August 11th, 2011, 8:00 pm

tuner need a "like" option to comments :-P

Postby zoom rader » August 11th, 2011, 8:16 pm

Shane18 wrote:So we were in the airport on Monday afternoon, around 5:00 pm, when we noticed a British Airways flight come in and land from on eastern side of the runway. There was a CAL flight waiting to taxi and a Bristow chopper waiting to land, all had to wait until the BA plane landed. I was wondering if anybody here knew why they would be allowed to/have to land from the opposite end (always noticed all aircraft land from the western side).

Eh Dude I was on that plane 24-07-11 it was on Sunday and not Monday and we spent about 45min circling over Trini because of the bad weather conditions. The captain said it was dude to wind conditions.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 11th, 2011, 8:26 pm

dude?

Postby zoom rader » August 11th, 2011, 8:28 pm

zcarz wrote:dude?

Sorry dread a failed PNM education

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 11th, 2011, 8:30 pm

Shane18 wrote:So we were in the airport on Monday afternoon, around 5:00 pm, when we noticed a British Airways flight come in and land from on eastern side of the runway. There was a CAL flight waiting to taxi and a Bristow chopper waiting to land, all had to wait until the BA plane landed. I was wondering if anybody here knew why they would be allowed to/have to land from the opposite end (always noticed all aircraft land from the western side).

Eh Dude I was on that plane 24-07-11 it was on Sunday and not Monday and we spent about 45min circling over Trini because of the bad weather conditions. The captain said it was dude to wind conditions.

You think is only one flight they do, it was on Monday, I remember it passing over my house when I arrived home

pay1093

Postby pay1093 » August 11th, 2011, 8:33 pm

zcarz wrote:dude?

Dude :wink:

Postby zoom rader » August 11th, 2011, 8:34 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:

You think is only one flight they do, it was on Monday, I remember it passing over my house when I arrived home

Hmm ok Dude kool,

Shane18

Postby Shane18 » August 11th, 2011, 8:34 pm

Well according to the explanations for said event, wind direction is the reason, so is it possible there was a change in wind direction on more than one day? (I was also in one of the air-crafts and know the difference between Sunday and Monday. PNM & UNC education)

Postby zoom rader » August 11th, 2011, 8:38 pm

Shane18 wrote:

Well according to the explanations for said event, wind direction is the reason, so is it possible there was a change in wind direction on more than one day? (I was also in one of the air-crafts and know the difference between Sunday and Monday. PNM & UNC education)

Dude I left Post Primary In 1981 and PNM was in power then, eh no UNC education in that era

Postby Mark! » August 11th, 2011, 8:44 pm

planes have minds of their own dan, wham u never see jay jay the jet plane Image

Postby sliderz1 » August 11th, 2011, 9:23 pm

Mark! wrote:planes have minds of their own dan, wham u never see jay jay the jet plane Image

Mark jus save d ched :|

TK!

Postby TK! » August 12th, 2011, 10:10 am

nick009 wrote:the plane left hand drive

ah like dat one

TK!

Postby TK! » August 12th, 2011, 10:10 am

blacktriple_s wrote:Aircraft must take off and land into the wind hence most of the time in Trinidad and Tobago, they take off into the east (where our prevailing winds come from)

However, if the wind speed in the aerodrome is less than 5 knots, air traffic control will allow aircraft to depart or land on any runway the pilot wishes. Even though it's one physical runway, there are actually 2 - when an aircraft faces east (runway 10) and the other when it faces west (runway 28)

perfect explanation.

/thread

Seeker

Postby Seeker » August 12th, 2011, 3:41 pm

TK! wrote:
blacktriple_s wrote:Aircraft must take off and land into the wind hence most of the time in Trinidad and Tobago, they take off into the east (where our prevailing winds come from)

However, if the wind speed in the aerodrome is less than 5 knots, air traffic control will allow aircraft to depart or land on any runway the pilot wishes. Even though it's one physical runway, there are actually 2 - when an aircraft faces east (runway 10) and the other when it faces west (runway 28)

perfect explanation.

/thread
There is a tuner for every experience and phenomenon know to nature and mankind 8-)