Container Apartments - UWI

Re: Container Apartments - UWI

Postby Trini Hookah » July 9th, 2010, 12:49 am

^ with a house like that in Trinidad, you're practically begging to be robbed...

liquidmetal

Postby liquidmetal » July 9th, 2010, 12:53 am

lol well with not all that glass

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » July 9th, 2010, 12:54 am

^^^not if u use a very thick piece of acrylic glazing either a single monolithic piece or several layers laminated together. And if you want glass you can use several layers of glass and polycarbonate laminated together.

Trust me nobody breaking that unless they probably drive into it with a tractor.

xtech

Postby xtech » July 9th, 2010, 2:17 am

liquidmetal wrote:hmm I've looked at some cool home designs done with containers online this week..and at this point..I thinking that this may be a good option to look at for someone that young and just building up themselves.
right now i seriously thinking of getting a lot of land to build a house out of 4 or 6 containers

you think those people left the containers intact like what these local couple doing ?

they took out the steel plates an kept the 4 posts the floor frame an the steel roof. All the rest is dry wall. With a steel earthquake proof frame bolted on a solid foundation Not even a bulldozer could move it. Who cares to use regular wood.

An those containers are given away overseas expect local prices to skyrocket if this catches on. An the prices are already high on the local market.

great condition 5 year old 20ft container in USA port $800-$1000USD no bobol here

dent up rusty 15 year old 20ft unit makes 10,000th trip an retired here in TnT by shipping agents $1,500-$2,000USD+VAT+DUTY

Postby Chimera » July 9th, 2010, 10:25 am

vrampersad14 wrote:in Trinidad, you're practically begging to be robbed...

fixed

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » July 9th, 2010, 10:46 am

the container apartments is always a good idea...just u cant just have one door for in & out...and wha about windows?..proper stairways..etc.. ..u know it eh going to have all dat..

it go jus look like curepe chinese living dong bedassie..

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » July 12th, 2010, 11:47 pm

in event of an emergency, 1 entrance aint cuttin it. Must have an emergency exit. Would really like to see the finished product tho.

Postby cinco » July 12th, 2010, 11:49 pm

no beatout vid yet
steups

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » July 13th, 2010, 12:33 am

noice

Postby Trini Hookah » July 13th, 2010, 12:37 am

if yuh roomate fart...tuff luck :|

Postby pugboy » July 13th, 2010, 8:02 am

it is good that the attempted bad PR by the guardian article has backfired and the facts show that nothing is wrong with container housing

21 apts at $3k = $63k month revenue
the owners have plenty bribe to pay the regional corp people if they hope to get the plans passed

Postby Habit7 » August 11th, 2011, 11:06 am

I saw these apartments the other day... they look noice!

It put all the small minded naysayers to shame.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 11th, 2011, 11:33 am

^ VERY modern, but at a price. $3500 a pop.

Postby Stephon. » August 11th, 2011, 12:18 pm

The nay Sayers shamed themselves from the time they pressed submit. But how I not seeing any? I does be by the wrong side of uwi awa? :?

Postby Habit7 » August 11th, 2011, 12:37 pm

Stephon. wrote:The nay Sayers shamed themselves from the time they pressed submit. But how I not seeing any? I does be by the wrong side of uwi awa? :?

I think the road name is Bedissie St., it's on the southside of UWi close to SAGHS.
vrampersad14 wrote:^ VERY modern, but at a price. $3500 a pop.

Is that 1br with A/C? I guess it's worth it...

Postby K74T » August 11th, 2011, 12:41 pm

Sky wrote:
cinco wrote:hmm imagine how loud a uwi beat out go sound echoin in there

UGH! UGH! UGH! UGH! UGH!

YES! YES! YES! YES! YES!

GIMMEH! GIMMEH! GIMMEH! GIMMEH! GIMMEH!

Something like that I suppose. Not too pleasant for the other tenants.

rofl :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 11th, 2011, 12:41 pm

So the talk about an affordable option was bullsheit then

Postby Stephon. » August 11th, 2011, 12:56 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Stephon. wrote:The nay Sayers shamed themselves from the time they pressed submit. But how I not seeing any? I does be by the wrong side of uwi awa? :?

I think the road name is Bedissie St., it's on the southside of UWi close to SAGHS.

Is that 1br with A/C? I guess it's worth it...

Gonna be in/around uwi today. Will look out for it.

Postby honda hoe » August 11th, 2011, 1:30 pm

damn :shock:

Postby Kenjo » June 18th, 2017, 1:07 pm

any recommendations on companies that would supply a single unit living space container and costs?

aidan

Postby aidan » June 18th, 2017, 1:55 pm

Kenjo wrote:any recommendations on companies that would supply a single unit living space container and costs?

Wana know the same

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 18th, 2017, 7:31 pm

I workin on that right now.. contact me at 388-7700

Postby Kenjo » June 19th, 2017, 8:13 am

Where did you source the container ?

Postby RedVEVO » June 19th, 2017, 9:48 am

Did Gov't approve this ?
Last time the Gov't had shut this private project down .

Some "white boy" had marry a "rich" Indian girl and come to put
UWI students in a "container dorm" to support his party lifestyle.

The Gov't should be ashamed to allow UWI students to live in a "container."

UWI have so much land and vehicles rotting away - they cannot build more dorms for UWI ?

Republic Bank put up a massive building in front of UWI yet no dorm facilities for UWI students ?

Orr horr - now I see when Cujoe say " We in charge now ! "

UWI in TT will look like Beetham Estate - Is this the PNM's UWI housing model ?

Postby Kenjo » June 19th, 2017, 11:58 am

To have a temporary private single container for when home renovations are being done , will town and country approval be required ?

Postby adnj » June 19th, 2017, 1:31 pm

I'm pleased to see the containers being used for architecture. I visited this container home. I found it impressive.

http://image.theoaklandpress.com/storyimage/OP/20160311/NEWS/160319882/AR/0/AR-160319882.jpg&maxh=400&maxw=667

nos_specialist wrote:I workin on that right now.. contact me at 388-7700

With owner fabricated windows.

Postby RedVEVO » June 19th, 2017, 1:48 pm

adnj wrote:I'm pleased to see the containers being used for architecture. I visited this container home. I found it impressive.

http://image.theoaklandpress.com/storyimage/OP/20160311/NEWS/160319882/AR/0/AR-160319882.jpg&maxh=400&maxw=667

Impressive ? I bet you have a scrubbing board to wash your clothes ..

It is not a house .. :roll:

It is not a home ... :roll:

It is a container .. :roll:

Like a water container, a juice container,

A "poor-zee" container ..

Get some bricks, galvanize and steel and build a real caribbean house for your children and wife.

(Wet foot Grenadian :roll: )
Last edited by RedVEVO on June 19th, 2017, 1:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » June 19th, 2017, 1:52 pm

Last edited by adnj on June 19th, 2017, 1:52 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby RedVEVO » June 19th, 2017, 1:58 pm

adnj wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
adnj wrote:I'm pleased to see the containers being used for architecture. I visited this container home. I found it impressive.

Impressive ? I bet your wife have a scrubbing board to wash clothes ..

It is not a house .. :roll:

It is not a home ... :roll:

It is a container .. :roll:

Like a water container, a juice container,

A "poor-zee" container ..

Post a picture of where you live so we can all decide for ourselves.

The Gov't try that photo ting and they get shut down .

To be direct - that is not your bee wax muffin man.

Every where you go these days - Wet foot Grenadians .

Postby RedVEVO » June 19th, 2017, 2:11 pm

These "container homes" will be used a a rental but it can create "ghetto type" housing which
we already have as you enter Port-of-Spain.

Ghetto Type housing scars a nation - see the Beetham Estate development . Do you want to see
another with " container type houses " or " trailer park communities" ?

Have a look at Sea Lots as you enter POS from the East . See the politics - see how tax payers
money is going to build a " walk over " from Sea Lots to POS Central Market and ask yourself
who going to climb those stairs or ramp. It is a waste of tax payers $$$.

Gov't panders to these people - so these quick rich schemes with housing is going to create more problems
and this was one of the reasons it was shut down close to UWI.

Why do you want to rent this type of container houses to UWI students ?

UWI students are our brightest and our wealth - so do not lower their expectations for a quick dollar.