Re: Do you tip and if so how much?

Postby Bizzare » August 9th, 2011, 1:05 am

uncle sam wrote:
Bizzare wrote:
Especially if I gone by the station with the Big Maxi. I always bounce up somebody I know from UWI in the gas station and most likely they'll assume I wukkin maxi taxi.....

1. huh? :?
2. So what if u wukkin maxi taxi? :|

Yea the way I said it that came out wrong. If people see you driving a maxi d first thing they think is he work's maxi. Not that anything is wrong with that, cuz I wish I coulda work dat big maxi to hold ah $xxxxx.00 month end at this age..... but, I rather avoid people askin me if I doz work maxi etc. Or someone I know from school days see me and think that's all I've done with my life, work maxi :(
Cuz that's the first impression they'll get and next thing everybody I bounce up, they'll be like "I hear you working maxi now" :|
Everybody knows maxi men pay nice, but there's a stigma attached to it that I rather avoid seeing that I don't work maxi....

Postby RASC » August 9th, 2011, 1:23 am

I honestly think the extremely poor customer service is actually manifesting from classism.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 9th, 2011, 1:25 am

service charge = no tip from me....no service charge, tip depends on bill...

the others = 0

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 9th, 2011, 1:28 am

Ah setta cheap fawks on here boy...

Waiter- 10% if bad service, 15-20% if great service
Gas attendant- $1 for every $25 he pump ($150 USD to fill my tank)
Store worker who bring my stuff to my truck- $5, but I'll do $10 if is fridge, stove etc and he help to put in vehicle

BTW, anyone ever tip ah villa ting? Serious talk
Last edited by RoTaRyBoYz on August 9th, 2011, 1:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » August 9th, 2011, 1:29 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:service charge = no tip from me....no service charge, tip depends on bill...

the others = 0

damn u cheap! :lol:

.. and yes i know it is your money
...and yes i know u could do whatever u want with it!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 9th, 2011, 1:42 am

no not necessarily cheap.......they are being paid to do what they do...do it to the best of their ability!

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 9th, 2011, 1:45 am

^ Interesting point of view.. In the US, most restaurant workers don't get paid that much and others don't get paid at all. They make their money based on tips. The same goes of supermarket bag packers

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » August 9th, 2011, 1:46 am

Rainman wrote:i pump my own gas

same hwere. dem muddaclunts dus feel my car dus use super n dey quick on d draw to full it 2 yunno. almost had a day when i nearly made one of dem take a straw and drink out that super if he did only press d trigger

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 9th, 2011, 1:55 am

for me it all depends on the extra effort that has to be made.....I not gonna be tipping the trolley boy who just have to walk a 50 feet with my groceries, in a trolley...if he has to walk a 500 feet and more then that's something else....bellhops and dem does feel you are duty bound to tip them, but it all depends on their general deportment, effort put out and currency exchange rate.....if I could easily do it then I don't see why I am obligated to tip generously....

again in restaurants, once there is service charge then definitely no tip......no service charge, well it would be anywhere from $40 upwards

Postby Bizzare » August 9th, 2011, 2:01 am

Yuh know what I hate..... workers who think its a must that you give them a tip.

NO, I'M NOT OBLIGATED TO TIP YOU. IF I DON'T GIVE YOU A TIP YOUR ATTITUDE MUST NOT SHOW IT. I GIVE TIPS OUT OF GOOD WILL, NOT CUZ I HAVE TO.

ALSO, DON'T BEG FUH TIP
"Oh god daddi, we pack yuh tiles neat fuh yuh. Lewwe drink something narr..."

Fuh some reason negro Tyre shop workers always vex when yuh ain't tip them and Injun warehouse workers always beggin fuh ah tip....... :?
[/rant]

Postby sharkman121 » August 9th, 2011, 2:04 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:$150 USD to fill my tank

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 9th, 2011, 2:06 am

true Bizzare, ent they getting paid to do those things? why de arse I must pay more after being raped by your employers' high prices!!!!!

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » August 9th, 2011, 2:19 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:Bizzare, ent they getting paid to do those things? why de arse I must pay more after being raped by your employers' high prices!!!!!

cheap skates gonna skate :lol:

.... on a serious note employers take advantage of employees in terms of wages because they consider tips as an addition to income..

these employees flat salaries is real dog money

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 9th, 2011, 2:30 am

but is these same 2nrs here does want to always know "dais yuh best price?" in the classifieds.....if money doesn't seem to be a problem then such a question should never be asked!!!

for me it's all about frugality.....

Postby De Dragon » August 9th, 2011, 3:44 am

Bizzare wrote:Yuh know what I hate..... workers who think its a must that you give them a tip.

NO, I'M NOT OBLIGATED TO TIP YOU. IF I DON'T GIVE YOU A TIP YOUR ATTITUDE MUST NOT SHOW IT. I GIVE TIPS OUT OF GOOD WILL, NOT CUZ I HAVE TO.

ALSO, DON'T BEG FUH TIP

Fuh some reason negro Tyre shop workers always vex when yuh ain't tip them and Injun warehouse workers always beggin fuh ah tip....... :?
[/rant]

How dat soundin' TileItish so?

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » August 9th, 2011, 4:56 am

i've never tipped pump attendants .. except if they clean my glass etc $5

waiters/waitresses $5-10 ... or nothing if they're rude & forgetful

Postby cinco » August 9th, 2011, 7:18 am

i tell them to buy gold
that is the best tip i can give them

Postby SmokeyGTi » August 9th, 2011, 7:34 am

people does tip for gas?
allyuh serious?

yuh supposed to?
wda, just now i hadda tip the friggin kfc cashier...

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 9th, 2011, 7:38 am

Come na Pio doh tell meh yuh never see them strolling back inside counting they tips in TM car park or liming by the front door/cubicles as you walk in Tru Valu Trincity..

But tell me sumtin, if I or the cashier start bagging my groceries (sumtimes the cashier takes over coz i pullin stones trying to open the fackin bags) and halfway through the trolley boy show up, doesn't he deserve half of the tip? Isn't part of his job to pack your bag at the counter?

All I saying is it have more deserving ppl in the grocery to give my tip to.
Merchandisers usually have to show up before the place open or stay back after the store closes to repack shelves. And ah man who think is ok tuh pack cold meat with a bag of flour getting my tip?

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » August 9th, 2011, 7:40 am

I tip Trolly boys, and waitressess.
The restaurant tip depends on where I'm eating. Since I consider all Ruby tuesday/Fridays etc to buy like KFC ; and they charge service charge they get 0% Tip generally. If the person serving me did a fantastic job, I may consider leaving $30-$40 depending. I dont see how the value of my meal determines the tip. You still hadda bring the plate.

More expensive restaurants, I tip the same.

LikaStick

Postby LikaStick » August 9th, 2011, 7:46 am

i dislike pumping my own gas so i always tip pump attendants...usually between $5-$10
trolley person the same
waiter/waitresses $20 upwards
when i used to eat kfc i would occasionally tip as well depending on if the person was pleasant on not cause the majority of them are terrible when it comes to service

Postby ronsin1 » August 9th, 2011, 7:48 am

depending on the service I get I will tip
Remember one time the tip was $100.00 service was great

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 9th, 2011, 7:57 am

A tip isn't mandatory imo.
If the service improved the experience, then a tip should be given to the service provider.

Postby Stephon. » August 9th, 2011, 7:59 am

Bizzare wrote:Yuh know what I hate..... workers who think its a must that you give them a tip.

ALSO, DON'T BEG FUH TIP

[/rant]

Honestly, never go to Canada.

Postby Chimera » August 9th, 2011, 8:10 am

don't really tip a percentage, if it's me alone eating dinner and they just hadda bring drinks and food once...a $20-$30 tip

if it a group of 4-5 or more and the waiter/waitress hadda be constantly bringing food and drinks then they guh prolly get a $100 tip from the group

gas station attendants...i don't really give tips but once when the new gas station opened in st Augustin, the attendant was so nice and polite i give him a $20 tip when i put $80 gas but that was really because he told me that don't worry to get up and pay the cashier that he will go do it

in medford (where i mostly full up) i hadda get out meh car and go pay the cashier...den u )(the attendant) jus hadda press start and put the nozzle in the tank..and u wha a $5 or $10 tip...na man.....

had a indian fella in medford used to INSIST on a tip, REAL annoying, men who insist on tip don't get a freaking thing. the fella in medford use to say "aye daddi put a $5 in d basket to buy a lil sweedrink na..eh...come na..a lil doubles self nah daddi....eh....aye...i jus wha buy a lil lunch daddi"

kfc...no tip....daz fast food..it have a set price...u as the cashier just collecting money and handing me food.

in the rare event i have someone carrying groceries to my car, they guh get a $5

altec

Postby altec » August 9th, 2011, 8:32 am

curious... people get paid to do a job... if they impress you with their personal service, you give them money... nothing happens if they are bad. it is almost to the point of being a requirement. Tips are coward tax for consumers :lol: Hope it doesnt reach to the point of sabotaged food etc if the peson does'nt "like" you.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 9th, 2011, 8:34 am

r3iXmann wrote:i tip trolley boys and waitresses (only when i get good service)

customer service seems to be non existent here in trinidad :|

woman watching yuh with a hard hard gunta face and mumbling

"higooddaywelcometoxyzrestauranthowmayihelp? :fist: :fist: "

x2.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » August 9th, 2011, 8:36 am

Hear nah, if you getting paid to do a job why the furry balls I must tip you, that is your employer's job!! My clients don't tip me and they don't expect that I am looking for one. If I furry balls up on my job then no bonus for me, so do yuh damn job and do it well and get yuh recognition.

And if yuh boss furry ballsin up and not payin ah bonus then ride the furry balls out! If yuh cyar ride the furry balls out and that is all yuh could do then yuh have ah choice - stay or do sumting so yuh could get the furry balls out!

Bottom line is doh expect no tip from me if that is yuh job, especially if it have service charge on it!
Last edited by Bareback on August 9th, 2011, 8:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby AllTrac » August 9th, 2011, 8:39 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:the fella in medford use to say "aye daddi put a $5 in d basket to buy a lil sweedrink na..eh...come na..a lil doubles self nah daddi....eh....aye...i jus wha buy a lil lunch daddi"

after all dat beg u eh bless up de man daddi?? :?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 9th, 2011, 8:45 am

crazychinee wrote:I tip Trolly boys, and waitressess.
The restaurant tip depends on where I'm eating. Since I consider all Ruby tuesday/Fridays etc to buy like KFC ; and they charge service charge they get 0% Tip generally. If the person serving me did a fantastic job, I may consider leaving $30-$40 depending. I dont see how the value of my meal determines the tip. You still hadda bring the plate.

More expensive restaurants, I tip the same.

sorry, should have been clearer....I meant if there are many more people in the group which required more work on the part of the waiter/waitress, then the tip would be adjusted accordingly....the total value of the meal would be higher than if it were me alone.....that's what I meant when I stated "cost of meal".