I.T jobs and salaries in T&T

redeyez

Re: I.T jobs and salaries in T&T

Postby redeyez » July 30th, 2011, 6:48 pm

Very nice thread fellas getting some really good info keep it up.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 31st, 2011, 1:09 pm

Someone with MCSE, MCSA, NET+, Security+, A+on the networking path whats the easiest degree to pursue?

carmelo

Re:

Postby carmelo » August 1st, 2011, 11:40 am

Racegod wrote:3 yrs exp, Dip ICT-CNT, A+, Net+, MCSA...

currently starting BSc. ISM University of London...

I've worked, Tstt, GreenDot, Ministry of Labour, Fujitsu(current), IGL, BpTT.

All which i was either a Network Eng, Systems analyst, RF Eng.

None of which pay close to 12g's. Even with the BSc, i don't see that being possible in trinidad being in the technical field.

race god u say u work green dot , i worked there for sometime also in support when u left was vinay still there????

carmelo

Re:

Postby carmelo » August 1st, 2011, 11:51 am

acesinghit wrote:check this out:

Someone graduated with an undergraduate Geoscience Degree can get $20,000. and they are noobs.

A classmate of mine a few years ago JUST got an IT job (yes finally got IT job) and gets $5,000. a month and he's a noob.

A pallie however has been working in the IT sector for the past 15yrs and his salary is no more than $15,000. and has a graduate degree in IT.

3-4 years of hardcore studying results in $5,000. a month and I have to wait a sheit load of years just to pass the $10,000 mark yet a noob straight from UWI/UTT can bark out $20,000. a month? No wonder why SAM's and SBCS have a set of young BSc and MSc lecturers.

Only the frogs in IT running the show......little tad poles have no chance unless somebody pull a string or raise a skirt.

That's why I switched careers........hell no I waiting 10 years to make $10,000. and $10gs is nothing. After groceries, car payment, rent/mortgage......you have $100 left to buy phone card......sorry I mean extra Flour.

you could not have said it any better....... i have been working in the IT field for the last 7yrs and just barely over the 10k bracket i was one of the those ppl who hit the ground running then did some certs and stuff afterwards, however IT field now in trinidad is ridiculously over saturated , i have opted for a career change and working towards that . working for a 10k salary today is peanuts , cuz really after bill and groceries and stuff u really have nothing much $$$$ to live on , i my view it is better to work for urself than working for a company if we are to really live comfortable and to meet ur commitments at the end of the day.

carmelo

Re:

Postby carmelo » August 1st, 2011, 12:02 pm

mitsu4life wrote:
rodfarva wrote:
mitsu4life wrote:i don't have that much I.T experience, about a year and 6months but my learning curve was sharp. i have my mcse, net+ and several bicsi certs for structured cabling and fiber optics an i want to start CIS

what would be considered an average salary for what do because i think i am seriously being taking advantage of here?

Under $5000.00/mth

You have your MCSE, NET+, but no Degree. At the end of the day, its the Degree that commands your salary for you.

Usually I've seen IT BSc's start off at about $8000/mth with no experience.

you what's sad i personally know people with degree's who don't even know to join a machine to a domain

very true but what is worse is an IT manager who cant configure a server or crimp cat5 cable

Computerman

Re: Re:

Postby Computerman » August 1st, 2011, 1:13 pm

carmelo wrote:
mitsu4life wrote:
rodfarva wrote:
mitsu4life wrote:i don't have that much I.T experience, about a year and 6months but my learning curve was sharp. i have my mcse, net+ and several bicsi certs for structured cabling and fiber optics an i want to start CIS

what would be considered an average salary for what do because i think i am seriously being taking advantage of here?

Under $5000.00/mth

You have your MCSE, NET+, but no Degree. At the end of the day, its the Degree that commands your salary for you.

Usually I've seen IT BSc's start off at about $8000/mth with no experience.

you what's sad i personally know people with degree's who don't even know to join a machine to a domain

very true but what is worse is an IT manager who cant configure a server or crimp cat5 cable

If you've been in IT as long as you say you have this should not come as a surprise.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 1st, 2011, 2:00 pm

not sure why u say an it manager that cah crimp a cable is bad?

breds 14 years in IT at a senior level and i never pucnh nor crimp a dohtish cable
manager are not supposed to be technical. we are there for policy changes, improvments etc, management of individuals, governance and mentoring while guiding hte department to meet its overall objectives

Postby S_2NR » August 1st, 2011, 2:05 pm

i wanted to go into IT originally but my mother (she has a BSc in Software Engineering and a MSc in Project Management) rel get on and say it rel saturated and they dont pay.
So i stuck in engineering now. :roll:

Re:

Postby redmanjp » August 1st, 2011, 2:43 pm

saxman642 wrote:After reading thsi entire thread, I must consider myself lucky I have a job paying $8000/month and my only certs are A+, Net+ and MCSA on Windows 2000.

and I am essentially the IT Admin for a school...and a peon tech for the Ministry of Education.

Plan to spend 6 years there and oh, will I be enhancing my skills: MCSE, SQL, Linux, Unix, CCNA, Bsc, you name it....

I will have my degree by the time I finish my time there.. the money HAVE to come very nice after...

how do i apply for these jobs? i'm sure there is increasing demand for it as form 1 students getting laptops every year

Postby redmanjp » August 1st, 2011, 2:57 pm

my god if MCSEs locally getting $5000 monthly they are seriously underpaid!

check this out

http://www.payscale.com/research/US/Certification=Microsoft_Certified_Systems_Engineer_%28MCSE%29/Salary

Employees with a Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer (MCSE) Certification
Salary Ranges by Job
Job Title

National Salary Data (?)
$0 $70K $140K
Information Technology (IT) Manager $51,126 - $109,099

Information Technology (IT) Director $57,222 - $127,488
Senior Systems Engineer (Computer Networking / IT) $58,498 - $110,588
Systems Engineer (Computer Networking / IT) $40,512 - $90,952
Network Administrator, IT $37,943 - $76,141
PayScale
Country: United States | Currency: USD | Updated: 20 Jul 2011 | Individuals Reporting: 12,292

even the very lowest paid network adimn in the US getting US$3000 monthly -> TT$19000!!

the average however is above US$60k annually -> TT$30,000 monthly

Postby r3iXmann » August 1st, 2011, 4:22 pm

you expect to do mcse only and get paid? wha about experience etc etc?

thaz the problem with trini "IT men"..every tom dick and harry do some short cert course or a degree and feel they're bill gates and then wanna demand high dollars

what value you gonna bring to the organisation? and to the folks that already have mcse/other certs..are they updated?

carry on :lol:

Postby redmanjp » August 1st, 2011, 4:59 pm

we only demanding market rate breds, not even so much even 40% of what we would be getting in the US would be better than $5000- how do u justify that HUGE gap between US and TT IT salaries ?

and afaik MCSE is several modules that u would take several months to do if part-time no short curse there- not to mention the cost

Postby r3iXmann » August 1st, 2011, 5:04 pm

redmanjp wrote:we only demanding market rate breds, not even so much even 40% of what we would be getting in the US would be better than $5000- how do u justify that HUGE gap between US and TT IT salaries ?

the cost of living is higher in the US? they pay more tax than us?

and again..half the people demanding "market rate" aren't worth half of what they're demanding...worse yet comparing salaries to other fields (geoscience etc)

take all of these things into consideration before you start off about not being paid fair wage

i know there are in fact some companies that do take advantage of people but remember, most of the high paying jobs in this field come to you and not vice versa.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » August 1st, 2011, 7:54 pm

MadCrix wrote:not sure why u say an it manager that cah crimp a cable is bad?

breds 14 years in IT at a senior level and i never pucnh nor crimp a dohtish cable
manager are not supposed to be technical. we are there for policy changes, improvments etc, management of individuals, governance and mentoring while guiding hte department to meet its overall objectives

While I would like to agree with you I believe you're speaking from an arrogant point of view. Not because you're in management you can say 'that's not my job'.
Is it that individuals in management believe that they are above doing such tasks?
There was a time when technicians in TSTT went on strike and managers had to come out their office and fix cables and phone lines. Would a manager like you say he not doing it? Management attitudes like that is what have things in T&T in a mess. Take your head out of the sand realize that it takes much more to be at a senior level.

In response to an above comment we cannot compare our environment to the US as there is a greater demand than supply in the US. That's why the US created the H1B visa to fill the shortfall in the industry. There is also the factor of greedy dishonest companies and businessmen. I can name a couple to stay away from if you guys wanna know.

Postby redmanjp » August 1st, 2011, 10:44 pm

toyota2nr wrote:I can name a couple to stay away from if you guys wanna know

yes pm me if yuh doh want to post it publicly

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » August 2nd, 2011, 7:08 am

redmanjp wrote:
saxman642 wrote:After reading thsi entire thread, I must consider myself lucky I have a job paying $8000/month and my only certs are A+, Net+ and MCSA on Windows 2000.

and I am essentially the IT Admin for a school...and a peon tech for the Ministry of Education.

Plan to spend 6 years there and oh, will I be enhancing my skills: MCSE, SQL, Linux, Unix, CCNA, Bsc, you name it....

I will have my degree by the time I finish my time there.. the money HAVE to come very nice after...

how do i apply for these jobs? i'm sure there is increasing demand for it as form 1 students getting laptops every year

The Ministry of Educations (I heard) recently advertised posts for ICT Technicians in secondary schools. They will need them: a significant bunch left in the last year.

pay is nice ($8000 - $9400/month), but take heed of these warnings if you gonna apply (I jumped ship after just 2.5 years of my 3 year contract):

- Teaching staff who think because they name teacher they better than you and feel you is little more than an overpaid clerk.
- Teachers (especially Maths/IT teachers)will fight you down over control/authority of the computer lab and equipment
- Make the Principal your best friend early o'clock, else consider yourself screwed.
- Let no Head of Department (or any teacher for that matter) assume any rank over you. No matter what.
- Absolutely avoid being placed in a denominational school! (i.e. Fatima/ ASJA/Hindu schools, etc)...... unless you were a past pupil. They will do you what they like and the ICT division and HR will not do anything to help. (in fact, have a attorney on standby if you end up in such a school)
- MoE HR is useless.
- your time will be spent dealing with the endless broken laptops
- you will not be particularly challenged, unless you have your own initiative for developing IT in the school and the Principal backing you up
- you will hear/witness stories of ALL KINDS of 'incredible' student behaviour ... which will scar you in some way...

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 2nd, 2011, 8:45 am

was not arrogance, was pointing out that in 14 plus years i have never had a need to crimp a cable. not that i don;t want to do it, but as a manager you have other sheit to deal with. if i had to crimpo a cable google would be my best friend lol

Postby r3iXmann » August 2nd, 2011, 8:45 am

toyota2nr wrote:While I would like to agree with you I believe you're speaking from an arrogant point of view. Not because you're in management you can say 'that's not my job'.
Is it that individuals in management believe that they are above doing such tasks?
There was a time when technicians in TSTT went on strike and managers had to come out their office and fix cables and phone lines. Would a manager like you say he not doing it? Management attitudes like that is what have things in T&T in a mess. Take your head out of the sand realize that it takes much more to be at a senior level.

but crix is right..a typical business hierarchy and the military rank structure are the same. has nothing to do with being arrogant

would you ever see a commissioned officer walking the streets of POS on patrol? a manager does not need to be at all technical or hands on, once he has a basic understanding of the technologies involved, that is all.

i once knew an IT manager with a mechanical engineering degree and he ran a successful ship

the issue that we have in trinidad is that the peons (non management) have no understanding of how business works yet come out demanding ridiculously high salaries to contribute little/no value to the organisation

try doing a business management course and open your eyes a bit

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 2nd, 2011, 8:47 am

^ hit the nail on teh head

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 2nd, 2011, 8:58 am

in fact the best managers i know are not technical at all!!

in fact they have no idea on how to install a server lol. but they are fcuking great at being a manager or director.

Postby AllTrac » August 2nd, 2011, 9:21 am

Dont know why people think that just cause a manager cant change an ip address or promote a domain it makes them less of a manager. My position is managerial, i can say because i have worked my way up from a printer technician in the early days my staff cant BS me, i can fall into their position when need be, but I wont think less of any other manager who cant, because what they can do is manage. A manager job requires a lot more than crimping a cable, where as when you in a jam you have google, when I dont meet deadlines and i have to answer to the managing director its my ass and I cant google my way out of it. The constant job of motivating staff is tiring, the reports, setting objectives and meeting them, getting blow out infront of other managers cause you have to take it for your staff, if your staff didnt deliver then you have no one but yourself to blame and the meetings......oooooh those fcuking long ass meeting that they choose to put at 4pm Friday.
Managers work later hours and on weekends. They take their work home, while you beating up on a warning in your event viewer you could just check eventid.net, a manager needs to figure out how to cut down his department budget since the company is cutting cost without all his staff hating him and who to send on training and who not to, creating policies is the worst cause you know it would never be implemented, just filed away. I doing up one now and meh chest burning

Postby crazybalhead » August 2nd, 2011, 9:33 am

That's what the minions for. MUHAHAHAHAAHAHAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!

Postby r3iXmann » August 2nd, 2011, 9:44 am

crazybalhead wrote:That's what the minions for. MUHAHAHAHAAHAHAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!

papoy?

Postby crazybalhead » August 2nd, 2011, 9:45 am

Papoy!!

mitsu4life

Re:

Postby mitsu4life » August 2nd, 2011, 10:08 am

mitsu4life wrote:i didn't really want to bump an old thread so don't flame me...please lol, but i wanted some advice on what's an average salary i should be getting because i think i am very much unpaid after reading this thread

its just me in the I.T dept of a small company and i manage an maintain a sql server and the application running on it, exchange server, firewall, everything related to the phone system, the dc's, all end user problems, all the pc's (about 35), the companies payroll software, all backups, all network issues and recently apparently relocating linx lines have fallen under my responsibility :?

i don't have that much I.T experience, about a year and 6months but my learning curve was sharp. i have my mcse, net+ and several bicsi certs for structured cabling and fiber optics an i want to start CIS

Haha i posted this in 2009, its 2011 I have just completed year 1 of my Bsc in C.I.S....getting results this month actually, since that time I haven't gotten a raise...yes I can justify why I should have received one, I did mention to them that I will be getting a diploma in a matter of weeks (provided I pass) and they already start to cry....I also held on for 3 months as an accounts receivable clerk because someone walked out on the job and barely got so much as a pat on the back.

Maybe its just this company but to be honest I am losing interest in I.T very quickly, thinking about going an do auto cad or something design related...was always good at that kinda thing

Postby AllTrac » August 2nd, 2011, 10:13 am

r3iXmann wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:That's what the minions for. MUHAHAHAHAAHAHAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!

papoy?

definitely a tear jerker, will be in my bluray collection soon :oops:

Computerman

Postby Computerman » August 2nd, 2011, 10:14 am

MadCrix wrote:manager are not supposed to be technical.

AllTrac wrote:My position is managerial, i can say because i have worked my way up from a printer technician in the early days my staff cant BS me, i can fall into their position when need be, but I wont think less of any other manager who cant, because what they can do is manage.

Although being 'technical' may not be a fundamental requirement for being an effective manager, having the technical knowledge is a great asset. It especially helps in managerial and other senior staff meetings to minimise the idiotic decisions that would otherwise be spawned from these monstrous debacles.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 2nd, 2011, 10:22 am

ok my bad i mean tot said managers don't necessarily need to be technical to be a great manager, it helps thou :)

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » August 2nd, 2011, 11:59 am

mitsu4life wrote:
mitsu4life wrote:i didn't really want to bump an old thread so don't flame me...please lol, but i wanted some advice on what's an average salary i should be getting because i think i am very much unpaid after reading this thread

its just me in the I.T dept of a small company and i manage an maintain a sql server and the application running on it, exchange server, firewall, everything related to the phone system, the dc's, all end user problems, all the pc's (about 35), the companies payroll software, all backups, all network issues and recently apparently relocating linx lines have fallen under my responsibility :?

i don't have that much I.T experience, about a year and 6months but my learning curve was sharp. i have my mcse, net+ and several bicsi certs for structured cabling and fiber optics an i want to start CIS

Haha i posted this in 2009, its 2011 I have just completed year 1 of my Bsc in C.I.S....getting results this month actually, since that time I haven't gotten a raise...yes I can justify why I should have received one, I did mention to them that I will be getting a diploma in a matter of weeks (provided I pass) and they already start to cry....I also held on for 3 months as an accounts receivable clerk because someone walked out on the job and barely got so much as a pat on the back.

Maybe its just this company but to be honest I am losing interest in I.T very quickly, thinking about going an do auto cad or something design related...was always good at that kinda thing

You aren't alone, when I finished my CIS I landed this job,right now where I am, I'm thinking I.T. means IT Man, once IT needs to be done I am called no matter what IT is. My boss actually refers to me as the Jack of All Trades, I lost interest in IT a while back and am currently looking to finish my BBA.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » August 2nd, 2011, 12:14 pm

^^ Agreed with what's posted. It's very easy to get demotivated here in TT because IT is treated like a bastard child. I'm hoping things will change since we like other countries will be pursuing a 'knowledge based' economy .... as much as you don't like it, IT is here to stay and is one industry that will continue to expand.

I've always said the best approach to this industry is specialization. Even going beyond what is considered specialization in our region. When you get involved in product beta testing, R&D and such then you're really going to earn. Again don't limit urself to TT. If you can't see yourself going this way then you need a solid technical foundation upon which you can add a post grad degree like an MBA. This will get you to senior tech mgmt level.... and on to consultant. Having a natural interest and affinity for technology also adds to the mix. It's good to have this combination, I've encountered many of the IT types who want to boast their technical understanding yet be irrelevant when looking at business processes, evaluating solutions and speaking to senior management.