Is it possible to be under 18 and have a credit card?

Postby Stephon. » August 1st, 2011, 12:10 am

Just as the thread title says, for example; let's say that someone above the age of 18 has a credit card and wants to add someone on the card that is below the age of 18, (17 for example) is this possible or does everyone on the card need to be above the age of 18? If it is possible which bank can do this?

I called RBC but they said that you needed to go in on Tuesday to find out for sure :?
In other words the lady didn't know.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Re: Is it possible to be under 18 and have a credit card?

Postby RapToR » August 1st, 2011, 12:13 am

Yes..

Postby wagonrunner » August 1st, 2011, 12:13 am

add on to card?
yuh feel is pricesmart orrr?

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 1st, 2011, 12:17 am

stephon.. is a 17 year old u brush? damn.. much respect there!

Postby buzz » August 1st, 2011, 12:17 am

Ched cleanups ? who get Banzai vex ?

jus now man go get rough up

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 1st, 2011, 12:17 am

You can't add anyone on a card - you can get another card on the same account though, different signatory.

Postby M_2NR » August 1st, 2011, 12:18 am

RapToR wrote:Yes..

Postby Mark! » August 1st, 2011, 12:20 am

It hav a new gagas concert dvd on sale on amazon awa horse?
:D

Postby Stephon. » August 1st, 2011, 12:25 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:You can't add anyone on a card - you can get another card on the same account though, different signatory.

Lol that's what I meant.

M_2NR wrote:

RBC?

Mark! wrote:It hav a new gagas concert dvd on sale on amazon awa horse?

Nah, my gaga collection up to date 0X

Postby Stephon. » August 1st, 2011, 12:27 am

zcarz wrote:stephon.. is a 17 year old u brush? damn.. much respect there!

Oh Gorm shhhhhhh na boi.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » August 1st, 2011, 12:27 am

Stephon. wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:You can't add anyone on a card - you can get another card on the same account though, different signatory.

Lol that's what I meant.

M_2NR wrote:

RBC?

Mark! wrote:It hav a new gagas concert dvd on sale on amazon awa horse?

Nah, my gaga collection up to date 0X

Yes

Postby Stephon. » August 1st, 2011, 12:28 am

Thank you!

zer0xp

Postby zer0xp » August 1st, 2011, 2:44 am

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 1st, 2011, 9:14 am

bess tune!!!!

Postby S_2NR » August 1st, 2011, 9:19 am

dam :lol:

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » August 1st, 2011, 9:26 am

Stephon. wrote:Just as the thread title says, for example; let's say that someone above the age of 18 has a credit card and wants to add someone on the card that is below the age of 18, (17 for example) is this possible or does everyone on the card need to be above the age of 18? If it is possible which bank can do this?

I called RBC but they said that you needed to go in on Tuesday to find out for sure :?

There is nothing to 'find out for sure" , it can be done.
You're going to need to submit a normal application form ; go ask in the bank and do it; the people answering the phones tend to be useless.

Sometimes they give you the option sharing the limit, or the card holder can give you reduced access to their limit.
Bear in mind, this can have a negative effect on your credit rating if the main cardholder/or yourself dont make payments on time :)
Last edited by crazychinee on August 1st, 2011, 9:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 1st, 2011, 9:26 am

dan yes its possible im 16 and i got my own bank account its a debit card doh (linx)

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » August 1st, 2011, 9:30 am

smh sound boydanohgadoigeedemfyah 64

Postby K74T » August 1st, 2011, 9:31 am

eh soundboy64 how summer camp going dan?

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » August 1st, 2011, 9:31 am

wagonrunner wrote:add on to card?
yuh feel is pricesmart orrr?

Postby S_2NR » August 1st, 2011, 9:32 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:smh sound boydanohgadoigeedemfyah 64

wtf :lol:

Postby Stephon. » August 1st, 2011, 9:34 am

crazychinee wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Just as the thread title says, for example; let's say that someone above the age of 18 has a credit card and wants to add someone on the card that is below the age of 18, (17 for example) is this possible or does everyone on the card need to be above the age of 18? If it is possible which bank can do this?

There is nothing to 'find out for sure" , it can be done.
You're going to need to submit a normal application form ; go ask in the bank and do it; the people answering the phones tend to be useless.

Sometimes they give you the option sharing the limit, or the card holder can give you reduced access to their limit.
Bear in mind, this can have a negative effect on your credit rating if the main cardholder/or yourself dont make payments on time :)

Yeah it's a risky thing too.

S_2NR wrote:

rofl wtf.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » August 1st, 2011, 10:44 am

sound boy 64 wrote:dan yes its possible im 16 and i got my own bank account its a debit card doh (linx)

since this is a ducati, and i'm almost sure it isnt yours, because of your age...........she's just posing on it?
the fyah was not geed?

Postby Trini Hookah » August 1st, 2011, 10:50 am

S_2NR wrote:

bahahahha

Postby Mark! » August 1st, 2011, 11:59 am

:rofl: :rofl:

Postby tr1ad » August 1st, 2011, 12:04 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:dan yes its possible im 16 and i got my own bank account its a debit card doh (linx)

D man ask about a CREDIT CARD yuh dumb kant

Postby K74T » August 1st, 2011, 12:06 pm

Postby S_2NR » August 1st, 2011, 12:08 pm

tr1ad rel mean jed :lol:

daquijones

Postby daquijones » August 1st, 2011, 12:27 pm

yes it is possible...it's called a "co-applicant". the account balances are shared though i.e. if the credit card limit is $6000 TTD...u both share it & it's not that each will have $6000 available so even though u get ur own credit card number...they're both linked to the same account. the primary applicant would be responsible for the account basically.

if u want to shop online using a visa or something then i say get the vtm car from republic bank. it's a visa debit card where u load money onto it then use. activation fee is $10 USD and the card is valid for 5 years...the only fee u pay after that activation fee is the commission which is 1.15% of the TTD equivalent when u reload the card.

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » August 1st, 2011, 1:59 pm

According to another he made a mistake.