Re: Accident by Macoya lights

Postby TRAE » July 31st, 2011, 1:07 am

i swear people does see rain falling and feel the car is still in all control

Postby eliteauto » July 31st, 2011, 4:54 am

thesnake11 wrote:
eliteauto wrote:damn!! I nearly bought 1100 once turned it down because of the lack of availability of body parts

A yaris ryte?

no a Corona

Postby redmanjp » July 31st, 2011, 5:43 am

trini mk5 wrote:streetbeastINC...stop sounding like an ass nah. Do you know the circumstances that caused the crash, or are you just assuming that the evo was speeding cus its an evo?? :?

the driver said he hydroplaned- doesn't that usually happen above a certain speed? in any case he should be driving slower on wet roads

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 31st, 2011, 6:11 am

^ do some research before making such statements

There is no precise equation to determine the speed at which a vehicle will hydroplane. Existing efforts have derived rules of thumb from empirical testing. In general, cars hydroplane at speeds above 45 MPH (72 km/h), where water ponds to a depth of at least 1/10 of an inch (2,5 mm) over a distance of 30 feet (9 meters) or more.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydroplaning_(tires)

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_speed_do ... hydroplane

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 31st, 2011, 7:41 am

btw, who hit who? primera looked like the one at the very front....then corona and evo? but who hit the evo?

Aquarius

Postby Aquarius » July 31st, 2011, 8:14 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:btw, who hit who? primera looked like the one at the very front....then corona and evo? but who hit the evo?

X2 :?:

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 31st, 2011, 8:42 am

MISHI wrote:Hold on, I just viewed the news online regarding the smashup... is this for real?

Honestly... Glad everyone ok, but you can't tell me you picked up a skid, applied for brakes and hydroplaned... and dunno about other people talking about speeding? REALLY?

Picked up a skid and mashed brakes... sounds a bit "off" but:

That's a GSR; it has Brembos and that also means it has ABS... unless it isn't working I can't see how it DIDN'T stop if he was driving LEGAL speed limit...

Seriously:

So the car picks up a skid... fine. But how does one who supposedly claims indirectly he wasn't speeding NOT SLOW DOWN at a traffic light with cars stopped? Where would one have to start slowing down from speed limit 80 to not run into and cause the exensive damage to that Toyota?

He could own a Lamborghini for all I care... that was dumb driving on his part and dumber excuse... especially if that camera was up and running at the time.

Thats the first thing that I thought of.

How could ABS not stop this car if he was driving within the legal limit?

ABS usually stops the CS2 at approx 15ft @100k

Hydroplane would not of been a problem if he was not speeding.

Postby X_Factor » July 31st, 2011, 9:17 am

if he was really using toyo R888 that would hydroplane like abitch!

when i passed the accident, police didnt arrive as yet...so lets say it happened about 15-30mins before...
prior to that it rained bucket a drop in the area so the amount of water on the surface of the road would have been more than usual

so probably excessive amt of water on surface, those specific tires, speeding & that corner = result happened

Postby Stephon. » July 31st, 2011, 9:44 am

lol @ how much excuses people were making for him (just because he's known) before even after he was on the news, until a mod came in and said something sensible.

shogun wrote:
Stephon. wrote:He never say wha speed allyuh stop jumpin to conclusions na! a car cud hydroplane @ 40 km/h inno

Freal! you don't have to be going that fast to hydroplane...lots of factors involved.

I was being sarcastic btw, he was obviously doing sheit.

I wonder how different this thread would have been if no one knew the driver of the EVO.

Postby eliteauto » July 31st, 2011, 10:05 am

^^^much different, the flames in here would have rivaled a BK Whopper ad

TK!

Postby TK! » July 31st, 2011, 10:19 am

X_Factor wrote:if he was really using toyo R888 that would hydroplane like abitch!

when i passed the accident, police didnt arrive as yet...so lets say it happened about 15-30mins before...
prior to that it rained bucket a drop in the area so the amount of water on the surface of the road would have been more than usual

so probably excessive amt of water on surface, those specific tires, speeding & that corner = result happened

i was going to say that bout the r888s.... but i think if the evo was wrong, there's a good change that he broke one of my three rules:

1. know the driver
2. know the car
3. know the environment (road conditions etc)

the bes brakes, tyres, and wing aint help hamy this morning in the hungaro. wet road and he still spin out.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » July 31st, 2011, 10:35 am

redmanjp wrote:doesn't that usually happen above a certain speed?

Then:
Aaron_2nr wrote:^ do some research before making such statements

and then:
Aaron_2nr wrote:In general, cars hydroplane at speeds above 45 MPH (72 km/h)

W2J

Postby W2J » July 31st, 2011, 10:41 am

what business is it for any of you to be criticising another person's property? some want facts others trying to analyze what happen... FOR WHAT? there is always some fight down

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 31st, 2011, 10:46 am

Its only cause d man have a fass lancer that any of this talk is going on.

btw hows your lancer going?

Postby rollingstock » July 31st, 2011, 10:50 am

Watched this on the cctv last night, evo driver at full blame but i won't say anymore cause of de big pappy 2nr's who would want to ride my ass over any statement i make against their fren.

Postby eliteauto » July 31st, 2011, 10:50 am

W2J wrote:what business is it for any of you to be criticising another person's property? some want facts others trying to analyze what happen... FOR WHAT? there is always some fight down

same way ppl read the news and form opinions, they're entitled to

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » July 31st, 2011, 10:58 am

rollingstock wrote:Watched this on the cctv last night, evo driver at full blame

Why is that not surprising.....

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 31st, 2011, 11:02 am

W2J wrote:what business is it for any of you to be criticising another person's property? some want facts others trying to analyze what happen... FOR WHAT? there is always some fight down

Bro all due respect while I understand your point people all will have an opinion.

The "for what" isn't hard to answer: That corona could have been carrying someone dear to you; your wife, daughter or somebody important. If they got injured it wouldn't have been a fight down as I'm sure you'd have dealt with that differently.

Postby Stephon. » July 31st, 2011, 11:44 am

rollingstock wrote:Watched this on the cctv last night, evo driver at full blame but i won't say anymore cause of de big pappy 2nr's who would want to ride my ass over any statement i make against their fren.

:lol: ent!

Same situation but different people = 4 pages filled with blame
This situation = oh goar fine out d facts first na allyuh was dey?

Postby Stephon. » July 31st, 2011, 11:46 am

I shocked nobody came in here yet and say "The government really hadda do something bout all this rain yes, it is the leading cause of accidents in Trinidad and Tobago, yet the government not doing anything to prevent the amount of rain that falls in this country."

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 31st, 2011, 11:55 am

^^you just did, showing how retarded you really are. Thank you for confirming that.

yuh wanna buy a fass up lancer too??

Postby Stephon. » July 31st, 2011, 11:58 am

idgaf

Postby AllTrac » July 31st, 2011, 12:09 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:^ do some research before making such statements

There is no precise equation to determine the speed at which a vehicle will hydroplane. Existing efforts have derived rules of thumb from empirical testing. In general, cars hydroplane at speeds above 45 MPH (72 km/h), where water ponds to a depth of at least 1/10 of an inch (2,5 mm) over a distance of 30 feet (9 meters) or more.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydroplaning_(tires)

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_speed_do ... hydroplane

but doesnt greater speed increases this risk, intensify the damage and lessens the chance for safe recovery?

Postby A172 » July 31st, 2011, 12:52 pm

no brains.....will gee.

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » July 31st, 2011, 1:11 pm

Le Fires must be released no matter what.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 31st, 2011, 1:54 pm

ZeroOne wrote:
MISHI wrote:Hold on, I just viewed the news online regarding the smashup... is this for real?

Honestly... Glad everyone ok, but you can't tell me you picked up a skid, applied for brakes and hydroplaned... and dunno about other people talking about speeding? REALLY?

That's a GSR; it has Brembos and that also means it has ABS... unless it isn't working I can't see how it DIDN'T stop if he was driving LEGAL speed limit...

Seriously:

So the car picks up a skid... fine. But how does one who supposedly claims indirectly he wasn't speeding NOT SLOW DOWN at a traffic light with cars stopped? Where would one have to start slowing down from speed limit 80 to not run into and cause the exensive damage to that Toyota?

He could own a Lamborghini for all I care... that was dumb driving on his part and dumber excuse... especially if that camera was up and running at the time.

with ABS, if all 4 wheels lock up (start to slide in the wet), the ABS system will not read any problems because as far as it is concerned all sensors reading the same wheel rotation so there is no need to engage. same way the silver evo 8 from freeport (the parts place close to st marys junction) slide straight off the highway and up into the air.

if only 1 wheel or even two alone was skating, then ABS would have engaged for the two wheels that the sensor had read as not rotating

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 31st, 2011, 2:23 pm

He would have to be over 80km for that to happen with or without r888's or *insert whatever tyre brand/model here*

W2J

Postby W2J » July 31st, 2011, 2:48 pm

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:Its only cause d man have a fass lancer that any of this talk is going on.

btw hows your lancer going?

slow :oops:

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 31st, 2011, 2:54 pm

ZeroOne wrote:

Seriously:

WHAT!!!
Please clarify what is meant by this statement. There might be other unintelligent persons reading here...

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » July 31st, 2011, 2:57 pm

Kiro_lee wrote:saw a dead body covered on the UBH heading south, EPIC traffic.