Government Increases Age On Importing Used Cars

Re: Government Increases Age On Importing Used Cars

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 22nd, 2011, 12:22 pm

PariaMan wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:like me....my car was 26k, bought in Jan '08....yet when collected had to change rear shocks (dealer paid for that) and then a couple months later had to change 3 door actuators @ $1100+ each, then front cradles @ $2200 each, and then about 18 months after purchasing had to change alternator....then earlier this year I had to replace the radiator......the amount of money I spent on that car to have it working as it is now.... :roll:

Spoke to a used car dealer he said that he has stopped bringing in cars from singapore because that is widely practiced there. He said the used car business is not properly regulated in Singapore.

Japan on the other side is fully regulated by the government. It is a serious crime to roll back the milage there

I myself have noticed that about Singapore cars which are usually stating about 20k milage.Yet when you look at the car it is obviosly not that

So stick to Japan and and you should be ok .

Notice how you would see vehicles with as much as 100K milage

mine did come from Japan....only afterwards I heard that the dealer started doing this...

Postby Stephon. » July 22nd, 2011, 12:24 pm

At least yuh have them fancy motion side mirrors.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 22nd, 2011, 12:26 pm

^^ 8-) 8-)

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2011, 12:27 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:the RORO dealers do it locally eh.

every now and then in the classifieds you see people selling the computers/whatchamacallits to reset the odo's

Which is why I picked my car from a Japan site. Got all the details printed there including endgine and chassis number grade and milage and I went to the port to see the vehicle come in at which pont I matched it to the information printed.

Also remember you can always bring down your own car!

Plus Vega add up the money you spen does it eqall 100,000 + service by dealer for three years plus insurance for 100,000 dollars more?

Postby buzz » July 22nd, 2011, 12:32 pm

The level of stupid in this thread is most astounding

carry on children :arrow:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 22nd, 2011, 12:32 pm

care to elaborate buzz?

PariaMan, no it doesn't add up, but the point was that some of these dealers aren't doing the honest thing......I could have understood all those failures and changes that I had to do, had the odo read, say 70,000km....

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2011, 12:36 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:no it doesn't but the point was that some of these dealers aren't doing the honest thing......I could have understood all those failures and changes that I had to do, had the odo read, say 70,000km....

Well as I said my advice is to select your own car from a reputable Japan site (you can get a list from the Japanese Embassy), print out all the details, let a dealer bring down the car for you, be on site when the car is released from the port, match up the details to what you had printed and you should be ok

It is up to customers to be savy and not to be fooled!

Postby buzz » July 22nd, 2011, 12:38 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:care to elaborate buzz?

sorry was referring to the comments on the first two pages only now notice the thread has moved on 3 pages later :oops:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 22nd, 2011, 12:38 pm

^^ok cool

PariaMan wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:no it doesn't but the point was that some of these dealers aren't doing the honest thing......I could have understood all those failures and changes that I had to do, had the odo read, say 70,000km....

Well as I said my advice is to select your own car from a reputable Japan site (you can get a list from the Japanese Embassy), print out all the details, let a dealer bring down the car for you, be on site when the car is released from the port, match up the details to what you had printed and you should be ok

It is up to customers to be savy and not to be fooled!

noted in case there's a next time.

Postby buzz » July 22nd, 2011, 12:41 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:Hmmm, well check thing. More old junk on the road now.

Habit7 wrote:that is madness eh!

Our government wants more unsafe, less fuel efficient and less technologically advanced cars, God help the children...

^^^ these and others

Postby Stephon. » July 22nd, 2011, 12:46 pm

:rofl: @ god help the children. Is Armageddon awa?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 22nd, 2011, 12:49 pm

Our government wants more unsafe, less fuel efficient and less technologically advanced cars, God help the children...

Not sure if serious.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 22nd, 2011, 12:50 pm

Stephon. wrote::rofl: @ god help the children. Is Armageddon awa?

Postby buzz » July 22nd, 2011, 12:52 pm

Strauss wrote:

Not sure if serious.

yeah i was wondering if teh sarcasm slipped past me

Postby K74T » July 22nd, 2011, 12:53 pm

ok shotta 20

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » July 22nd, 2011, 1:17 pm

eliteauto wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:DC5 time :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

dis have push to start fyahs
http://www.tradecarview.com/used_car/ja ... a/7596542/

the new swift that lifestyle selling 2

john101

Postby john101 » July 22nd, 2011, 1:45 pm

nicess
mitsubishi_lancer_evolution_IX-TEIN_USA_Inc.-1.jpg

Postby Stephon. » July 22nd, 2011, 1:47 pm

All da missin is Lamborghini doors and yuh orn.

Postby cinco » July 22nd, 2011, 1:54 pm

Postby Stephon. » July 22nd, 2011, 1:56 pm

So wit yuh cud jus go online an buy a car up to six years old now an it comin to yuh house?

Postby r3iXmann » July 22nd, 2011, 2:00 pm

Stephon. wrote:So wit yuh cud jus go online an buy a car up to six years old now an it comin to yuh house?

yep..Fyahz delivered to your door

Postby Stephon. » July 22nd, 2011, 2:04 pm

Postby S_2NR » July 22nd, 2011, 2:06 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
Stephon. wrote:So wit yuh cud jus go online an buy a car up to six years old now an it comin to yuh house?

doh make joke!
time to upgrade d fyahz! :drinking:

Postby cinco » July 22nd, 2011, 2:06 pm

r3iXmann wrote:

how long for my wagon dan?

Postby K74T » July 22nd, 2011, 2:36 pm

Postby Stephon. » July 22nd, 2011, 2:48 pm

prutoonkman

Postby prutoonkman » July 22nd, 2011, 2:50 pm

Hope the price of new cars will drop or better yet the warranty of new cars increased if the prices do not drop. One thing for sure is that the people bringing down these 6 yr old F.U.Cs will be making a bigger profit and smile even more on their way to the bank.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » July 22nd, 2011, 2:52 pm

Stephon. wrote:The nze is the best car on the road? Look boi.

Much better than the Renault, Peugeot.........wait nah is a euro you driving?

I will include you in my prayers.

:evilbat: :evilbat: :evilbat:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 22nd, 2011, 2:59 pm

dais wah we fkn talkin 'bout!!!! sweet!