Government Increases Age On Importing Used Cars

PariaMan

Re: Government Increases Age On Importing Used Cars

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2011, 10:50 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:I think they should have tried to lower the prices of NEW vehicles, rather than allowing older stuff to come in....dais what I fine'

Palos the goverment has no way to controll the price of new cars except using price control. Which in modern day economies is not really acceptable.

Even if they were to lower the taxes on new cars there is nothing to stop the dealears from maintaining or increasing their prices! This is because they have only local competition.

However this used car business is international and any one can bring down their old vehicles. This keeps the RORO dealers honest

Imagine a corolla base model moved from 130,000 three years ago to 180,000

This really is the only way to get good condition vehicles to the small man at reasonable prices

Postby Stephon. » July 22nd, 2011, 10:54 am

Everybody seem to be happy with the new law so why reduce the prices of newer vehicles? Forget is trinidadians we dealin with here?

Postby RBphoto » July 22nd, 2011, 10:56 am

Dragular wrote:These RORO men dotish, they shoulda ask for the taxes on the engine CC or the import duty to be lowered.

^^^THIS!!!

BUT... They will actually make a killing on the older vehicles, as they are a lot cheaper at the source, while it will only be marginally cheaper down here.... consumer gets facked sideways. Over the pit my arse. Once money pass.... tings cool.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2011, 11:02 am

crossdrilled wrote:
Dragular wrote:These RORO men dotish, they shoulda ask for the taxes on the engine CC or the import duty to be lowered.

^^^THIS!!!

BUT... They will actually make a killing on the older vehicles, as they are a lot cheaper at the source, while it will only be marginally cheaper down here.... consumer gets facked sideways. Over the pit my arse. Once money pass.... tings cool.

Palos what you forgetting is the control which is the fact that any small man can go to the Ministry of Trade and get a liscence to bring down his own vehicle. As a matter of fact I know a man from arima will aloow you to select your own vehicle on the internet but charges a fixed markup of 5000.oo my sster got a Mazda 3 for ninety thou when they were selling for 105,000

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 22nd, 2011, 11:05 am

selling for $105,000 after prob a lil flash and 3 months warranty.....hmmmm not bad......

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2011, 11:10 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:selling for $105,000 after prob a lil flash and 3 months warranty.....hmmmm not bad......

Point is the Dealers/Stealers selling this vehicle for close too 200,000 that is where the real robbery taking place.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » July 22nd, 2011, 11:10 am

i see an evo 8 or 9 in my future.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » July 22nd, 2011, 11:12 am

Stephon. wrote:Everybody seem to be happy with the new law so why reduce the prices of newer vehicles? Forget is trinidadians we dealin with here?

Are u an American, lil Azzhole ? Is right fackin here u living, which makes u a Trini too ! Jeez, lil homos !

Postby honda hoe » July 22nd, 2011, 11:18 am

Stephon. wrote:Everybody seem to be happy with the new law so why reduce the prices of newer vehicles? Forget is trinidadians we dealin with here?

so keep new cars expensive so poor ppl cyah afford dem? :?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2011, 11:20 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:selling for $105,000 after prob a lil flash and 3 months warranty.....hmmmm not bad......

And this 3 year warranty is a big joke since you have to service by the company to keep the warranty valid.

For my hilux it was about 1000.00 every two months which will have worked out to more than eighteen thousand over three years.

At least with three months you have no additional cost.

Also think about these artificially inflated prices which you have to pay insurance on

Foreign used FTW

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 22nd, 2011, 11:23 am

PariaMan wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:I think they should have tried to lower the prices of NEW vehicles, rather than allowing older stuff to come in....dais what I fine'

Palos the goverment has no way to controll the price of new cars except using price control. Which in modern day economies is not really acceptable.

Even if they were to lower the taxes on new cars there is nothing to stop the dealears from maintaining or increasing their prices! This is because they have only local competition.

However this used car business is international and any one can bring down their old vehicles. This keeps the RORO dealers honest

Imagine a corolla base model moved from 130,000 three years ago to 180,000

This really is the only way to get good condition vehicles to the small man at reasonable prices

I hear what you saying...makes sense.

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 22nd, 2011, 11:28 am

PariaMan wrote:

Point is the Dealers/Stealers selling this vehicle for close too 200,000 that is where the real robbery taking place.

Let's see....a 4-door mazda 3 cost about $180,000 - $190,000 last time i checked...could be more now...

Mazda 3.............US Starting at $15,800......TT$101,910.00 (i'm sure it cost more)
Taxes @ 20% ...............................................$20,382.00
Shipping avg ................................................ $10,000.00
Registration @ 1599cc .....................................$7,995.00
Vat @ 15%....................................................$2,1043.05

Total............................................................$161,330.05

Warranty for 3 years on parts and body.....

That about a 10% mark up on the price....

There are many other hidden cost that dealers pay.....i honestly don't think this is such a bad price taking everything into account.....

Postby r3iXmann » July 22nd, 2011, 11:32 am

:lol: @ trinis complaining about import duty and tax

ignorance is bliss yes

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 22nd, 2011, 11:33 am

PariaMan wrote:

And this 3 year warranty is a big joke since you have to service by the company to keep the warranty valid.

For my hilux it was about 1000.00 every two months which will have worked out to more than eighteen thousand over three years.

At least with three months you have no additional cost.

Also think about these artificially inflated prices which you have to pay insurance on

Foreign used FTW

but as long as you use ORIGINAL toyota filters etc, toyota trinidad uphold the warranty for the 3 years, even if you don't service at the dealer....

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2011, 11:34 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:
PariaMan wrote:

Let's see....a 4-door mazda 3 cost about $180,000 - $190,000 last time i checked...could be more now...

Mazda 3.............US Starting at $15,800......TT$101,910.00 (i'm sure it cost more)

There are many other hidden cost that dealers pay.....i honestly don't think this is such a bad price taking everything into account.....

Palos the markup you have to count is against the $110,000. All other cost are simply passed on to the goverment except shippin.

That is close to a 30 percent markup!

Also remember that they will not be paying 100,000 since this is prolly the retail price!

My God!

Postby Chimera » July 22nd, 2011, 11:37 am

oooo

*goes to check kobemotors to and widen search parameters*

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 22nd, 2011, 11:39 am

start a petition to boycott new car dealers yes......

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » July 22nd, 2011, 11:39 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:
PariaMan wrote:

And what price you getting it foreign used with more features? about 100K right?.....sorry that's all the savings I seeing.

Postby Chimera » July 22nd, 2011, 11:40 am

wellll yes, kobe doh stick na

WEB : http://www.kobemotor.com

Dear Valued Customer,----- As you maybe already aware, customs relaxed the import age restriction from 4 years to 6 years for used vehicles. In order to purchase your vehicle needs promptly, we have increased our operating hours from 8.30am to 12.00 midnight (Japan Standard Time) and our sales staff will be able to assist you. We will also be able to give auction access to those customers wanting to do so or you can choose from our wide range of stocks(presently we have 196 units in stock now )--------------------- Thanks and regards / Kobe Motor Team.

Postby K74T » July 22nd, 2011, 11:40 am

shotta 20 wrote:

Are u an American, lil Azzhole ? Is right fackin here u living, which makes u a Trini too ! Jeez, lil homos !

emo danraj is emo

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2011, 11:42 am

New car $200000 doing 0km
Used car $100000 doing 25000km (about 1 year drivin in good roadsin Japan)

Saving equals 100,000 FTW

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 22nd, 2011, 11:54 am

^^^assuming a roll back was not done eh!!!!

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » July 22nd, 2011, 11:55 am

K74t wrote:
shotta 20 wrote:

emo danraj is emo

Danraj facked ur mama...

Postby Chimera » July 22nd, 2011, 12:02 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^assuming a roll back was not done eh!!!!

lol daz d funniest thing yes, men never find it suspicious that almost all RORO cars have under 40,000 KM on the meter

Postby Country_Bookie » July 22nd, 2011, 12:08 pm

LOL.....Good luck trying to get the new car dealers to lower their prices. As long as the upper crust of society still buying new cars, dey ent reducing sheit.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 22nd, 2011, 12:12 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^assuming a roll back was not done eh!!!!

lol daz d funniest thing yes, men never find it suspicious that almost all RORO cars have under 40,000 KM on the meter

like me....my car was reading 26k kms, bought in Jan '08....yet when collected had to change rear shocks (dealer paid for that) and then a some months later had to change 3 door actuators @ $1100+ each, then front cradles @ $2200 each, 2 engine mounts @ $2400 and $500 and then about 18 months after purchasing had to change alternator....then earlier this year I had to replace the radiator......the amount of money I spent on that car to have it working as it is now.... :roll:

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » July 22nd, 2011, 12:16 pm

This is great news. This is my chance to bring in a Z-tune! (they were stamped as MY2005)!!!

Postby Stephon. » July 22nd, 2011, 12:19 pm

shotta 20 wrote:

I'm not from Trinidad :| doh beat up

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2011, 12:20 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:like me....my car was 26k, bought in Jan '08....yet when collected had to change rear shocks (dealer paid for that) and then a couple months later had to change 3 door actuators @ $1100+ each, then front cradles @ $2200 each, and then about 18 months after purchasing had to change alternator....then earlier this year I had to replace the radiator......the amount of money I spent on that car to have it working as it is now.... :roll:

Spoke to a used car dealer he said that he has stopped bringing in cars from singapore because that is widely practiced there. He said the used car business is not properly regulated in Singapore.

Japan on the other side is fully regulated by the government. It is a serious crime to roll back the milage there

I myself have noticed that about Singapore cars which are usually stating about 20k milage.Yet when you look at the car it is obviosly not that

So stick to Japan and and you should be ok .

Notice how you would see vehicles with as much as 100K milage

Postby Chimera » July 22nd, 2011, 12:22 pm

the RORO dealers do it locally eh.

every now and then in the classifieds you see people selling the computers/whatchamacallits to reset the odo's