wtk door visor painting

SUPERMAN1325

wtk door visor painting

Postby SUPERMAN1325 » July 14th, 2011, 3:50 pm

Want 2 get my door visors painted and would like 2 know how much they cost 4 all 4 and where could I get it done good

Rahtid

Re: wtk door visor painting

Postby Rahtid » July 14th, 2011, 4:23 pm

almost any good paintman, just make sure they prep it good. Plastic primer and sand properly,,,

Postby MG Man » July 14th, 2011, 4:24 pm

duplicolour

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » July 14th, 2011, 4:57 pm

MG Man wrote:jus bombspray d damn thing nah man

:shock: :shock:

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 14th, 2011, 6:05 pm

anyone ever tried sticking vinyl on them?

rossi

Postby rossi » July 14th, 2011, 7:19 pm

Where is this door visor?

Postby MG Man » July 14th, 2011, 7:48 pm

on the door

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » July 14th, 2011, 8:34 pm

was thinnkin of vinyl but the tint man tel me no...stueps.

Postby nervewrecker » July 14th, 2011, 9:39 pm

smr_fingers wrote:was thinnkin of vinyl but the tint man tel me no...stueps.

he lie, I saw it done many times. Heat gun, vinyl, chamios, black teflon squeege & some skill = great outcome. I recommend getting it clear coated after though.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 15th, 2011, 12:55 am

^^^where did you see such being done? maybe you could pass on the name of the place to the OP!

rossi

Postby rossi » July 15th, 2011, 6:50 am

orrr..I now realise wha the OP talking about......OP I could do that for you, I was ah ole vinyl man in mih days.

Postby nervewrecker » July 15th, 2011, 9:23 am

smr fingers know the place & either me or rossi can sort him out if he wants.

SUPERMAN1325

Postby SUPERMAN1325 » July 18th, 2011, 9:54 pm

price 2 do it??

Postby nervewrecker » July 18th, 2011, 10:19 pm

paint or vinyl?

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » July 18th, 2011, 10:52 pm

idk de place jack...lol.... link scene na my visors looking real ugly with the sun...i will prefer the vinyl..cost for vinly??

Postby nervewrecker » July 18th, 2011, 11:42 pm

I not sure where sells vinyl off hand but I can do it for you after this semester finishes, just walk with the vinyl & 2 beers nah. I will link you from there :lol:

Postby Ted_v2 » July 19th, 2011, 12:06 am

nervewrecker wrote:I not sure where sells vinyl off hand but I can do it for you after this semester finishes, just walk with the vinyl & 2 beers nah. I will link you from there :lol:

how much vinyl? to do 4 doors?

rossi

Postby rossi » July 19th, 2011, 8:32 am

sound boy 64 wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:I not sure where sells vinyl off hand but I can do it for you after this semester finishes, just walk with the vinyl & 2 beers nah. I will link you from there :lol:

how much vinyl? to do 4 doors?

Well one front door visor is approx 4 feet and the back doors are shorter, 2 feet approx.....

Most vinyl rolls come with the width as 24 inches so you can link a 4 feet sheet...wouldn't cost much at all, maybe under $100.00.

SUPERMAN1325

Postby SUPERMAN1325 » July 19th, 2011, 5:51 pm

nahh i prefer the paint

rossi

Postby rossi » July 19th, 2011, 6:51 pm

kool....but make sure to get it properly painted. Make sure they use the correct primers because you won't like how it will look a year later when the paint cracks up and peels.

Postby Chimera » July 19th, 2011, 7:32 pm

smr_fingers wrote:was thinnkin of vinyl but the tint man tel me no...stueps.

he lie, I saw it done many times. Heat gun, vinyl, chamios, black teflon squeege & some skill = great outcome. I recommend getting it clear coated after though.

finish the car last night, still need to clearcoat

the rims are a work in progress.

no skill needed.

everything else that nerve listed is necessary
a heat resistant glove is also great as you can sometimes do better work with your hands than the squeege

Postby S_2NR » July 19th, 2011, 7:35 pm

good job ABA!
how long it took u to do all that?

Postby nervewrecker » July 19th, 2011, 7:39 pm

carbon fiber that could bend, interesting!

nice work on the hood btw, I see you wrapped in the ends under the rubber on the sides. Believe it or not plenty big names in the business just cut it on the edge. lets get some pics of the bonnet nah, open it leme see the edges, looks like the material easy to work with.

Postby Chimera » July 19th, 2011, 7:41 pm

nah boy..u guh cuss meh if u see the edges under the bonnet lol....

finish that late las nite, i hadda smooth out the edges yuh cant see lol

Postby Chimera » July 19th, 2011, 7:42 pm

@ S_2nr, I start the trunk and bonnet yesterday about 4pm, finished around 8pm

the bonnet I did last week saturday, took about 3-4 hours.

I not sure if to put back any badges on the trunk, i putting the trinituner chrome emblem for sure but I thinkin of getting a unique/custom badge instead of the sentra badge.

Postby nervewrecker » July 19th, 2011, 8:11 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:nah boy..u guh cuss meh if u see the edges under the bonnet lol....

finish that late las nite, i hadda smooth out the edges yuh cant see lol

or I can give you some pointers maybe. run the pics nah.

I'd say its a great outcome for a first attempt. :D

Postby Ted_v2 » July 19th, 2011, 8:38 pm

i sooo gonna do that to my rims eh but once it clear coat would it come out?

Postby Chimera » July 20th, 2011, 12:28 am

ah bored yes

Postby nervewrecker » July 20th, 2011, 6:58 am

hmmm, i'll have a look at them when I get home later. the pics are blocked here at work.

whats the retail per square foot on that vinyl btw? I may be looking to undertake a small project within the next few months.

Postby Chimera » July 21st, 2011, 2:43 pm

nerve i studying to do the dash and everything in front with the carbon fiber vinyl, wha u think?

not sure of local price for it, i brought in a roll in one of my containers from china.

I VAGUELY think motorcity say something about $100 or $150 per square foot but they have a silver and gray carbon fiber, not black.