Almera dashboard crack problem

linkting

Almera dashboard crack problem

Postby linkting » April 12th, 2011, 10:19 pm

If yuh have ah almera for a while now i'm sure dat u have noticed that the dashboard cracks up more than a pot bake around the top pocket area. This is d pocket located in d top center of the dashboard right above the airconditioning vents. I went to the bamboo and wow what a shocker! These things cost $1000 + and they're sure to break again... Any other options or ways to fix this problem?? People say fibreglass it back but finding a good fibreglass man is like finding a pothound without tick. Either they too expensive or u cant find one at all.... HELPPPPPPPPPP MEEEEEEEEE

wingroad2443

Re: Almera dashboard crack problem

Postby wingroad2443 » April 12th, 2011, 11:11 pm

yeh hoss dats d only thing spoiling my almera..i tinking bout fillering it an painting it.but i doh no if it will hold

linkting

Postby linkting » April 13th, 2011, 8:09 am

a guy told me that once u have all ur pieces u can plastic weld it back together and putty it back so i wouldnt doubt it. The problem is mine cracked pretty badly so its likely i have to fibreglass instead. if it works out for u lemme know

linkting

Postby linkting » April 13th, 2011, 8:51 pm

anyone knows a good fibreglass guy who affordable? (cepep kinda affordable)

Postby Hook » April 14th, 2011, 9:53 am

The dashboard pocket always cracks on the left rear because of the high-tension spring on that side (one's black and the other's kinda silver, the black one is the problem here).

If you have all the pieces, simply have them all plastic welded together, filler/paint etc. and unhook the spring on that side. The pocket won't pop up when you unlatch it anymore, but at least you won't have that breaking off again.

Mine was broken in three larger-ish pieces, AND I'm a cheapskate so I used epoxy, then sanded it, then used a satin black spray paint (it KINDA matches) before removing the spring. It looks okay and it's holding out just fine the last few months.

If it's broken really badly, you can buy very small amounts of fibreglass resin+hardener at automotive paint shops or hardwares/boat supply shops (well, enough to botch it up a couple times at least) and re-form the shape with jersey material (but it's advised you buy the mesh), look up how to DIY on youtube and make a Sunday project out of it.
Take it you your favourite straightener to filler it, then u can sand, prime and paint it yourself.

Actually, if your straightener does minor fibreglass bodywork, you can ask them to do it for you, if not guide you through it.

linkting

Postby linkting » April 14th, 2011, 2:05 pm

Sweeeeeeeeeeeet.............Thanks for da help man! Before I know it I might build me a brand new center console lol...but my problem is i usually work on some weekends and that may not be an option for me...but thanks at least I have a fair idea of how to deal with this problem now

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » April 14th, 2011, 2:47 pm

Mine was broken in 5 pieces. I used some krazy glue to hold it from the back, then used some Hot Shot (Filler) on the top, sanded it and painted it. Looking gr8 now.

linkting

Postby linkting » April 16th, 2011, 8:34 pm

*strokes chin* hmmmmmmm.....trini men rel innovative yes...well i liking d options but the thing is i think mine cud be missing pieces cuz of how bad and small it was cracked up...everytime i jump in to drive i does shed a tear lookin at that thing smh

Postby Hook » April 19th, 2011, 11:10 am

LOL...look for one of them music men in the I.C.E. Forum who good with fiberglass and ask if they could repair it for you nah man!
I sure somebody have material leftover from a back-dash project or something and doh mind doing it for small money....yuh REAL lapsin' inno!

linkting

Postby linkting » April 22nd, 2011, 10:10 pm

lol for realzzzz...ah go try sum a guy has a fibreglass repair kit selling so i trying to learn how to use this ting without glassin meh hand into d dash ...thx hook ah go jumbie ah man on dat end

badmanbopeep

Postby badmanbopeep » May 14th, 2011, 6:33 pm

mine is just one small crack, an it aint reach over to the other side to break yet. but my problem is dat d pocket lid dont stay up anymore. cud i fix this? or does it have to say like this now?? wanting to scrap it out but not sure where to start...

linkting

Postby linkting » May 14th, 2011, 11:20 pm

By staying up I suppose u mean that the cover not closing properly or is it that da cover jus not staying open as in upright? Either way this could be that u have a crack from the inside that is interferrin wit ur shitz....i took mine to fix and if it works out well i will give yuh d guyz number and u cud carry urz or if u interested in fixing it on ur own what u cud do is pull it out and check the under side where the springs are and see if something is dislodged. D chupid spring does mash up the material and d pieces and dem does jam all kinda ting inside there so I suggest u deal wid dat quick before u reach my level and puttin together pieces of a puzzle

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » May 15th, 2011, 9:05 pm

Hook wrote:LOL...look for one of them music men in the I.C.E. Forum who good with fiberglass and ask if they could repair it for you nah man!
I sure somebody have material leftover from a back-dash project or something and doh mind doing it for small money....yuh REAL lapsin' inno!

good looking out hookman! 8-)

linkting

Postby linkting » May 19th, 2011, 10:57 am

thanks guyz got it fixed by fibreglassing....the finish is different but it looks a lot better now

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » July 12th, 2011, 10:38 pm

who where did it?

linkting

Postby linkting » July 13th, 2011, 12:35 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:who where did it?

pm loudsound as the guys said he fixed it back good enuf

he does really good work and a cool soldier too

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » July 18th, 2011, 7:25 pm

cool will do

kofdar

Postby kofdar » October 28th, 2015, 3:35 pm

if you lost a piece of the top centre pocket of your car can you still fibreglass it and who can I go to