4efte,4afe or 4age?

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

toyota_

4efte,4afe or 4age?

Postby toyota_ » June 12th, 2011, 9:00 pm

hey tuners. have a ae92 and was contemplating which engine would suit the car best. factors i'm considering is cost, gas consumption, ease of the swap and availability of parts, as the car is a daily driven vehicle. any assistance would be appreciated. thanks

corolladude

Re: 4efte,4afe or 4age?

Postby corolladude » June 12th, 2011, 9:48 pm

fte........................

RB25-DET

Postby RB25-DET » June 13th, 2011, 11:00 am

toyota_ wrote:hey tuners. have a ae92 and was contemplating which engine would suit the car best. factors i'm considering is cost, gas consumption, ease of the swap and availability of parts, as the car is a daily driven vehicle. any assistance would be appreciated. thanks

IMO the 4A-FE is for you,

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » June 13th, 2011, 3:25 pm

it depends on what you want from your engine, if yuh looking for boost and easy upgrade availability, 4efte is yuh mark. 4age is a good drop in power, don't have alot of experience with that engine so i cant give you much info on that, but i have a 4efte and it gives you decent enough power....again it depends on what you want from the engine, and what your future plans are...

toyota_

Postby toyota_ » June 13th, 2011, 8:18 pm

guys thanks alot for the feedback...well this is my first car and i really dont plan on parting with it so there will be future plans...progressively though...so i figure the 4efte seems to be the best option as i am really looking for something fun,reliable and something i could also learn from by working on it. thanks for your time and comments

lastminuteaudio

Postby lastminuteaudio » June 19th, 2011, 9:49 pm

what engine do u currently have in the car? the 4efte & 4afe are the less costly engines to initially purchase, but what u also have to consider is the engine mounts are different for both engines, so based on what u hav in the car presently shud help u decide what direction to go in. remember axles & stuff also hav to be taken into consideration.

new gt

Postby new gt » June 20th, 2011, 2:07 pm

axles are no big issue as for the mounts a-e or vise verser right front will have to shift,gearbox mount could bolt top or on the side

toyota_

Postby toyota_ » June 20th, 2011, 3:18 pm

the engine in the car currently is a 4AF

lastminuteaudio

Postby lastminuteaudio » June 20th, 2011, 6:45 pm

well the 4afe or 4age shud be drop in bolt up. if u not seekin power an speed much, i wid say 4afe, parts easy to get an plentiful(good an gas too). 4age will be more power but the parts mite be a lil more costly an well its sum good performance, fuel consumption will depend on ur driving habits i guess. the 4efte is the smallest cc engine in ur option range, parts are fairly easy to locate as a lot of 4e & 5e parts can work, main difference is the fte has low comp pistons and such. the room for upgrading leaves a lot of possibilities as power can easily be increased by upgrading turbo etc. they are very strong little engines.
ultimate decision is urs an what u want. the 4afe shud be the cheapest install
between the 4age & 4efte, the 4age will be the more the more expensive to purchase, but if u go 4efte u hav to remember, to setup the car well enough, its recommended u get at least boost gauge, turbo timer etc.
and well then we hav to take into consideration wat exhaust size u goin with as the 4age & 4efte will require larger bore exhausts to breathe properly an well larger bore means more cash to install.
electrical for all 3 engines should be around the same. but with the performance engines, u shud get a good fuel pump as well.
its all abt how far ur pocket can reach an what u honestly want. so don't lie to urself, figure out what ur goal is an make a wise decision...

Postby gt4tified » June 20th, 2011, 7:23 pm

4age.....IMHO best for performance, without the hassle of maintenance like a tobo engine, fuel consumption depends (also in the case of the 4efte) on how heavy your foot is.

toyota_

Postby toyota_ » June 20th, 2011, 8:39 pm

thanks guys......very insightful lastminuteaudio.....i really didnt consider all those factors you pointed out.....so thanks for the help. will let you guys no what i eventually decide

neals

Postby neals » June 25th, 2011, 9:41 am

i say hell no the the4e fte- i have one, finding parts is a beyotch, if you do go with ah 4efte- MAKE SURE YOU GET THE ONE WITH CLIP ON PLUGS NOT THE PUSH TYPE ( that's the one that parts are near impossible to find)

lastminuteaudio

Postby lastminuteaudio » June 25th, 2011, 12:38 pm

i'm curious neals, what parts so are hard to get? and what other differences are there in the clip type & push type 4efte...

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 25th, 2011, 12:46 pm

4afe with extractors and box is nice, 500km to the tank... hitting 180 normel, and runs super.
with the traffic on the road its the best option, part plentiful!!

new gt

Postby new gt » June 26th, 2011, 10:19 am

for real why isit every time ask about an engine 4efte does come up ,y no body tellin the true price of a engine , well 5500 /8000 thats how these so call small engine sellin for.

trd4life

Postby trd4life » June 28th, 2011, 3:59 am

dude the guys all said all good things about all these engines I personally like the 4age its a strong engine high compression the blacktop revs all the way to 8000rpm the silvertop to 7400rpm. Any performance engine you gonna put in will require bigger fuel pump at least an oil pressure gauge and if you like driving hard bigger brakes. Its about 8000 dollars roughly maybe a little more for a complete engine including foot pedals. Also because its a high compression engine you will have to use premium gas but like the fellas say its all about how you drive.

I have used both the blacktop and the silvertop engines both worked well for me and my new project will also be using this 4age engine

2 Towers Distribution

Postby 2 Towers Distribution » June 28th, 2011, 11:29 am

being a 4efte owner i can easily recommend the 4efte to anyone...as lastminuteaudio stated going turbo calls for some cash but its a nice decision and parts for 4efte are available :)

neals

Postby neals » July 11th, 2011, 8:47 pm

lastminuteaudio wrote:i'm curious neals, what parts so are hard to get? and what other differences are there in the clip type & push type 4efte...

difference is- clip on type easy to find- for me to find push type i had to rel look for a good month even try oredring online, still nun- i end up finding USED ones ( i check the whole north side grande to pos ( including bamboo too ), i guess other parts easy to find, but like i say, clip type.

Postby Hook » July 12th, 2011, 3:24 am

You quoted a question and still didn't answer it?

Come nuh man. If you're offering advice to a noob car owner looking to mod his existing ride, at least explain the difference between the two types of 4E-FTE engines (how to tell them apart, which parts were so hard to get etc.) so the person doesn't unwittingly buy the wrong one and end up in your situation.

new gt

Postby new gt » July 12th, 2011, 9:00 am

some noteable diffrences are injectors,intercooler,dizzy cap ,coolant temp and temp unit was made one unit,colour codes on harness,abv .these are some on the ep91.

Postby Hook » July 12th, 2011, 9:59 am

*facepalm*

K guys, what I need you to do is essentially differentiate the two.
It's like describing the difference between a melon and a pumpkin to someone who has never seen either one - you can't say "colour of the insides, size of the seeds, the oval shape, the thin skin and stripes" without designating each attribute to either one. That would be totally useless - Which pulp is red? What about the seeds? Which has an oval shape? Which skin is thinner? Which one has stripes?
C'mon fellas, we learned how to compare stuff in form 1 english class.

Did you know there are two different types of 4a-ge 20V silvertop engines?
If you asked me to tell u the difference and I listed "intake port size, manifold vacuum inlets, air flow meter, ECU, VVT..." without telling you which port size is bigger, which intake is the better design, what identification marks to look out for on the AFM and ECU, you could buy a "put together" engine on the ground and end up with a newer model silvertop with the old model ECU and it definitely won't pull as well as it should.

Return to “TOYOTA”